BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2013

Cox Toyota - Scion

Phone: (336) 226-6361Fax: (336) 226-6363

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
11/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged 249.00 for auto tinting on my Rav4 limited that is inclusive on all Rav4 limited vehicles sold at Cox Toyota.
I was contacted by Cox Toyota Internet manager, ***** ******* for the purchase of a Toyota Rav4. I told him I already had an offer at another dealership. He told me I could get a better deal with him in which for the same purchase price I would receive a "better" vehicle from their lot, meaning more options available to the value of approximately $31,000. He also stated I could receive special financing for the vehicle. When I arrived at the dealership they were able to match my offer I had previously received but was told the vehicle would not be made available until the next day, which they never disclosed that to me prior to me arriving. I was told they had the vehicle and to come in to the dealership to make the transaction. They did not allow the special financing, they stated it would be an extra $500.00, which I refused to pay because that had not been part of the deal when discussed previously. They agreed to place the clear paint film protection as a compromise. They installed the homelink and the clear paint protection by an outside vendor in which the clear paint film was placed improperly with debris and air bubbles in the film. The homelink was placed in the wrong location inside my vehicle. I asked about the auto tinting for my vehicle because I received my car at night and did not relize the car did not have tinting until I drove one day and notice the sun glaring inside my vehicle. I asked about the pricing on the auto tinting and I was told it was 249.00. I asked if they place auto tinting on the Rav4 limited edition vehicles. I was told by the salesperson and manager **** ****** and ******** ******** that they indeed tint all their Rav4 limited vehicles. I asked why my vehicle was not tinted and why I had to pay for a product the dealership apply to all the Rav4 limited vehicles. I stated I felt it was unfair I have to pay for a product you routinely place on all their limited vehicles, especially when I was told I was purchasing a vehicle from Cox Toyota and the validity of the offer could be verified by listening to the recorded conversation between ***** and I on 9/29/14. I was told by ******** ******** that he did not need to listen to the phone call and that he was not going to include the auto tinting in the transaction, I would have to pay for the service separately. Ultimately, the vehicle was misrepresented to me during my initial transaction with the dealership, I would like a refund for my auto tinting purchase of 249.00 because I purchased my vehicle from Cox Toyota and the application of the auto tinting is a standard practice and is inclusive in the purchase price.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of the 249.00 charge for the auto tinting.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@coxtoyota.com
I am responding to the letter dated 10/28/2014 with reference file number XXXXXXX.
Mrs. **** purchased her vehicle on 09/30/2014 after making contact with our internet department and coming to an agreed upon price of the vehicle. The MSRP on the vehicle was $30218.00 her purchase price was $25805.24 $4412.76 off MSRP.
Approximately 3 weeks after taking delivery Mrs. **** called her sales associate to ask what we would charge to apply window tint to her vehicle. The salesperson communicated with the New car manager of her request and extended her an internal cost of $249.00.
Mrs. **** agreed to the pricing and we applied the window tint to the vehicle at that time, because the vehicle was at the dealership taking care of a few minor concerns Mrs. **** had made once again.
Upon completion of the requested application Mrs. **** came to the dealership to pick up her vehicle and made a request that we give it to her for free. Her explanation of this unreasonable request is that we have tint on other vehicle like hers on the lot and hers should too. Management explained to her that her vehicle that she purchased was a transferred in vehicle and that the price of the tint was not negotiated in the purchase price. Management also explained to her that all vehicles on the lot had addendums applied to them if window tint is on the vehicle and that the addendum is an up charge.

Mrs. **** then went to point out that one vehicle did not have an addendum and had window tint. Our explanation to her is that the vehicle was just put on the lot and had not had the opportunity of applying the addendum. Mrs. **** has requested many unreasonable requests, that as a dealership we have gone above and beyond the normal. Mrs. **** negotiated a fair purchase price and agreed on that price and as a dealer we have signed contracts on the purchase and signed extended we owes that have all been met. Mrs. ***** further request for additional discounts and refunds is unreasonable.




As a dealership that has been in business since 1968 we take customer satisfaction very seriously and our high Better Business Bureau ratings are as such also. We believe this request is unjustified and ask that this request be dismissed.
Sincerely,


****** * *******
General Sales Manager
Cox Toyota Scion
3860 Danbrook Road
Burlington, NC. 27215

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I spoke with the customer service manager, ***** and she reviewed the phone call made by the internet manager and verified that the vehicle that was negotiated upon was presented as a Cox Toyota vehicle, in which management and the salesperson stated they install window tinting to all of their limited vehicles prior to placing them on the lot and she apologized for the misrepresentation of the vehicle but stated since the misrepresentation was "unintentional" they were not going to refund my money for the auto tinting. I disagreed with her refusing to refund the money back even when it was verified that the misrepresentation of the vehicle did occur. As a customer it is unreasonable to refuse a refund for a product that was presented to me during the negotiation of the vehicle. Futhermore, I was told that the misrepresentation of the vehicle did occur but because it was "unintentional" I will not receive a refund. The requests that I have made in relation to my vehicle have not been unreasonable. The only request I have made outside of the things that was to be installed on my vehicle is the removal of water stains on the back on my rear window that ultimately had to be mechanically buffed out by their detail department. Every request that I have made has been addressed aside from the window tinting, so these things did occur. I should not have to request things to be done that should have been addressed prior to me taking ownership of the vehicle. A customer requesting a clean vehicle and things being installed properly and as promised is not an unreasonable request. This is bad customer service and a bad business practice. Again, my complaint was validated by the customer relation manager so the consumer complaint did occur and it is unreasonable that the dealership is not being accountable for their actions and misrepresentation of vehicle sold but instead dismissing their actions by stating the customer is being unreasonable.

Final Business Response
Misunderstandings occur from time to time, and this appears to be the case in this agreement. We appreciate Ms. ****'s business and hope that she gets many years of satisfaction from her car. We'll send her remuneration as requested. I called her earlier, and I'll try again later to ensure she's expecting the check. Thanks for your help with this.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

12/16/2015Problems with Product / Service
04/16/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The vehicle falsely advertised on website and the dealership falsely stated SIRIUS XM could not be installed, no trunk mat, poor tint,poor cleaning.
On Thursday, January 31st I received an email about Toyotathon from several Toyota dealerships so I looked at the COX Toyota website and saw the same vehicle I was interested in previously advertised on the website. I sent a request for the eprice and I received a call from both ****** **** followed by a call from Mr. *** ******** I called *** back because I had worked with him previously and he told me that it is the same vehicle except it does not have the sun roof, power seats, led lights but it had everything else. We negotiated a price for the vehicle which was 16,500. Intially, I declined to purchase the vehicle after discussing it with my husband. The next day he sent me a followup text stating that maybe I felt pressured into making the sell that night and he talked to management and the negotiated price was still good until Friday. I purchased the 2015 Corolla on Thursday, January 1, 2015. I called *** the next day on Friday, he never returned my call. I called *** again on Saturday and discussed the poor detailing of the car, the sticky film on the door sill, SIRIUS XM and First Aid Kit that was advertised on COX Toyota website in which I never received. He told me he will get me the First Aid Kit and that the SIRIUS XM could not be installed in the car. I stated I wanted the SIRIUS XM as advertised with the vehicle. He stated, "The SIRIUS XM cannot be installed in the car, What would you like for me to do?". I stated I would like the SIRIUS XM. I called the dealership and left a voice mail message for Mr. **** ****** to call me in regards to my complaints. He never returned my call. I drove to the dealership and I met with **** as well as Mrs. ***** ***** and told him my concerns about the poor auto detailing quality of the car, the poor quality of the auto tinting, the dealership refusal to provide dealer pricing on accessories, the missing all-weather trunk mat and the false advertising of the SIRIUS XM equipment on my vehicle and the continued false and deceptive advertisement of SIRIUS XM on other vehicles on their website. He stated he would address my concerns and contact me. He told me to schedule an appointment with ***** to repair the auto tinting and have car detailed again which at this point it was the 3rd time I had to have the same dirty film located on my door sill addressed due to the poor auto detailing quality I received when I purchased the vehicle. I initially showed the dirty film to *** which resulted in the dirty film not being cleaned. When I came to the dealership and spoke with both **** and *****, the dirty film was not cleaned and was told to schedule an appointment and bring car back for auto detailing. I then came to the dealership a third time and showed Mr. **** ***** the dirty sticky film on the door sill, again when my car was returned it had the same sticky film on the door sill. As of today, the dirty sticky film remains on my car. I was told by ***** to bring the car to the dealership again which will be the fourth time my vehicle will be brought to the dealership for the same problem. The incompetence of the dealership to address the dirty film that has existed on my car since the purchase of the vehicle on January 1st is deplorable. The dealership has wasted my time, gas and mileage as a result of their inability to clean my vehicle properly. The auto tinting was removed and new tinting was re-installed and the auto tinting still has bubbles in it. Upon speaking with **** in regards to the accessories he did not offer me dealer pricing on the accessories as was provided with the 2015 RAV 4 Limited I purchased just 3 months prior which I was told by management this is something they routinely offer to their customers. **** refused to offer any compensation for the SIRIUS XM. He told me that it was not able to be installed and that *** had told me prior to purchase. I told **** I was not told that the car did not have SIRIUS XM.

Desired Settlement
The dealership provided the first aid kit for the car since it was advertised as an included equipment feature on the vehicle but refused to install the SIRIUS XM or offer compensation, stating the SIRIUS XM could not be installed. ***** contacted me about the clear film hood protection installation and presented me with two locations I could have the film protection applied, either ******** **** **** or **** ****** in Greensboro, NC. I chose **** ****** because they were a Toyota dealership. ***** gave me the contact information for **** *********, the person that installs the clear film protection for **** ******* I asked **** if SIRIUS XM could be installed in the Corolla. He told me that SIRIUS XM can be installed in the Corolla and the cost for the installation is $507.00. Cox Toyota has demonstrated a pattern of false and deceptive advertisement and sales practices of their vehicles and this issue need to be addressed appropriately. The refusal of management to offer dealer pricing was retaliatory. I was also not told the Corolla did not include the trunk mat when purchasing the corolla. The conversation in regards to the mats for the car took place at the trunk of the vehicle while the trunk was open. I told both *** and **** about the false advertisement of other vehicles and they continue to falsely advertise the SIRIUS XM radio as a feature on their vehicles. In addition the dealership falsely stated to me that the SIRIUS XM could not be installed when in fact it can be installed according to Rice Toyota, another Southeast Toyota dealership. I request for compensation in the amount of $507.00 for the installation of the SIRIUS XM radio. A refund for the cost of the trunk mat $69.95. I also request proper detailing of my vehicle by another auto detailing establishment and proper installation of auto tinting.

Business Response
Thank you for your note regarding ********* ****'s complaint. Please consider the following information. It is our goal that all of our customers are completely satisfied with their experience at Cox Toyota-Scion. Accordingly, we are willing to make every effort, within reason, to ensure that our customers believe they have been treated fairly.

As you may recall from her previous complaint, and for your reference, Ms. **** bought a Toyota RAV4 from us near the end of last year. She bought the vehicle without having window tint on it. Afterwards she asked that tint be provided free of charge and then filed a complaint with your office when the Sales Department turned her down. In December, after reviewing the complaint I decided to provide her with the window tint free of charge (a value of $249.) as an act of good **** even though we had not done anything wrong or deceptive.

Ms. **** came back the next month, in January, and purchased a Toyota Corolla from us. She worked with the same salesperson ******* ********

Please see below for some details on her current complaint:

-Regarding Ms. ****'s claim that she bought the vehicle without knowing that it didn't have the Sirius XM radio: In Mr. ********** statement he points out that he and Ms. **** discussed more than once that the vehicle did not have Sirius XM radio well before she concluded her purchase.

-Regarding the claim of false advertising: We don't knowingly advertise anything that isn't 100% accurate. Each new vehicle's listing on our website includes information that comes from Toyota via their distributor Southeast Toyota. It is automatically sent over the internet and the details of the specific car populate automatically onto our website. Any information related to Ms. ****'s car came over automatically from Toyota.

In all cases, the defining listing of what is currently included on each vehicle is the legally required window sticker. Each of our new vehicles has a window sticker. The window sticker defines specifically for each customer what is installed. The ultimate price and extras that are to be added are worked out in the individual deal according to what the customer and dealership agree on, but what is currently on the car is listed on the window sticker. We ordered a duplicate window sticker and checked it. Sirius XM radio is not listed on the window sticker.

-Regarding the trunk mat, as noted in Mr. ********** statement, the all-weather trunk mat is an option that can be purchased for a Corolla but it is not a standard feature of the vehicle that Ms. **** purchased. Ms. **** told me that she assumed the mat was included on this vehicle because she was speaking to Mr. ******* about it near the trunk. According to Mr. ******* there was no all-weather trunk mat in the car she looked at when shopping and it was not listed on the window sticker.
-Regarding the window tint complaint, Ms. **** showed me the tint on her vehicle and pointed to one place the size of a pin head that she did not like. We asked her to take it home and see if the air pocket went away once sunlight warmed it up. She left with the vehicle but still had complaints about the spot so we replaced the tint for free, normally it's a cost to us of around $100. She now has complaints about the replacement tint job. We believe that the current job is very good and doesn't need replacement.

-Other complaints/requests:

Poor Detailing: There was a small area on the inside of her door frame that she wanted cleaned.
We have cleaned this for her free of charge.

Cargo Net: Ms. **** requested this item at cost. I offered it to her at around 20% off retail price.

Mudguard Kit: Ms. **** requested this item at cost. I offered it to her at 12% off retail price.

Clear hood protection: Ms. **** asked for this at a discounted price. Our staff doesn't install it so we named a couple of places that she could have it done. Ms. **** opted to go to another Toyota store. We paid the difference of their cost and what we told her she could get it for at a discount. As a good **** gesture, we paid Ms. **** $130 toward the cost of having another store install this film.

Clear protection for other areas of her vehicle: Ms. **** contacted ***** ****** our Parts & Service Director and requested that we pay for clear protection film for other areas of her car. We declined.

1st Aid Kit: We provided Ms. **** a 1st aid kit free of charge as a good will gesture even though it is not a standard accessory. This was a value of $29.

*NOTE: Ms. **** in an email dated 1/26/15 indicated to me that she accepted all of our proposed resolutions except the issue regarding the Sirius XM radio.

In summary, at the time of purchase we believe that it was made very clear to Ms. **** what was and was not included as part of the agreement to purchase the car. This information was provided by both our salesperson and the window sticker. Ms. **** purchased the car and has since contacted us about providing a number of accessories/equipment free of charge or at our cost. We have provided/offered additional items for free or at reasonable discounts. In fact, she was given a $50 gift card to a restaurant as a good will gesture to show her that we wanted her to be satisfied.

We truly respect and appreciate each person that gives us the chance to do business with them. That includes Ms. ****. However, at this point we believe that we've done much more than a reasonable person would require.

I appreciate your assistance and consideration in this matter. Please let me know if you would like any additional information.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In regards to the Sirius XM, upon speaking to both Mr. ******* and Mr. ****** they both falsely stated to me that the SIRUS XM could not be installed into the vehicle and therefore there was nothing that could be done. This was both told to me and emailed to me in which I have the email documentation. I spoke with Mr. **** ********* at **** ****** and he stated as well as provided me the invoice that states the SIRIUS XM can be installed in the vehicle. I have documentation to provide as written proof that the SIRIUS XM can be installed and the screen shot of the advertisement for the vehicle containing the SIRIUS XM. In regards to the auto tinting the tinting has to be reapplied again as discussed with Mrs. ***** ***** because the tinting is still not applied properly. I was told by Mrs. ***** ***** to bring the vehicle back to the dealership again when the days are warmer and sunny so the auto tinting would adhere to the windows properly. The first aid kit was not provided as a good will gesture. It was provided because it was advertised as being included in the vehicle purchase as well as the Sirius XM. I do not accept the dealership response because it is a fabrication of the fact that they advertised a vehicle as having SIRIUS XM and falsely stated that they could not do anything because the SIRIUS XM could not be installed, when in fact it can be installed as stated by **** ****** a Toyota Southeast Dealership. In regards to the accessories those were prices that I had negotiated on my own with the Parts Dept. This was not anything provided by the sales department. The cleaning of the vehicle was due to something that was not properly cleaned when I purchased my car and of course I should not be charged for something that was supposed to be cleaned properly initially. When I initially brought the car to the dealership for improper tinting, it was more than a pin size mark otherwise why would they replace the entire tinting. Cox Toyota continues to misrepresent their vehicles with their sales misrepresentation as evident in their refusal to address my complaint that they falsely stated that the vehicle had SIRIUS XM and it could not be installed in the vehicle. Please address the issue appropriately and I request for the cost of the SIRIUS XM installation of 507.00.

Final Business Response
From: **** ******
Sent: Thursday, April 02, 2015 11:49 AM
To: '******* ********
Subject: RE: Case # XXXXXXXX: Mrs. ********* ****

Attached is the check given to Ms. **** for the $130. The writing on the bottom of the stub (it was actually a sticky-note) is our employee's notes that it is for **** ********* ******* which is where Ms. **** had decided to go.

I'll check to see if it has been cashed.

I sent the duplicate window sticker to the Attorney General so I'll have to order another one. It will take a week or more. I'm in and out due to some personal reasons but I'll give you this info ASAP.


Thanks,
**** ******

************

Cox Toyota-Scion
3860 Danbrook Road
Burlington, NC 27215

www.coxtoyota.com


From: **** ******
Sent: Thursday, April 02, 2015 2:11 PM
To: '******* ********
Subject: RE: Case # XXXXXXXX: Mrs. ********* ****

I had my office staff look at the bank website. The check has not been cashed. We'll contact Ms. **** to see if she has it. If not, we'll stop payment on that one and issue her a new one. Thanks for your help.


Thanks,
**** ******

************

Cox Toyota-Scion
3860 Danbrook Road
Burlington, NC 27215

www.coxtoyota.com

From: **** ******
Sent: Monday, April 06, 2015 2:48 PM
To: '******* ********
Subject: RE: Case # XXXXXXXX: Mrs. ********* ****

Hi *******,

We spoke with Ms. **** and she said that she had never received the check. We'll told her that we'd send her a replacement check.


Thanks,
**** ******

************

Cox Toyota-Scion
3860 Danbrook Road
Burlington, NC 27215

www.coxtoyota.com

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Cox Toyota has not addressed the SIRIUS XM being falsely advertised and the deceptive sales practice. I request compensation in the amount of 507.00 for the SIRIUS XM. Please refer to my previous complaint and response as well as the attached invoice for the installation for the SIRIUS XM provided by **** ******* a Southeast Toyota Dealership. Also refer to the previously attached screen shot of the internet website advertisement showing the SIRIUS XM being included as an equipment feature which influenced my decision to purchase the vehicle. According to the Toyota Corporate office, the buyer is provided compensation under these circumstances of vehicle misrepresentation.False advertising by definition is: "Any advertising or promotion that misrepresents the nature, characteristics, qualities or geographic origin of goods, services or commercial activities"(Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C.A. § 1125(a)).
The injury is usually attributed to money the consumer lost through a purchase that would not have been made had the advertisement not been
misleading.

12/12/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Financing in the wrong name.
My daughter ***** **** purchased a 2012 Toyota Corolla Nov 7 2014. I was to co-sign for the car loan.When I received the warranty info and the payment book it appears that I bought the car and my daughter's name is nowhere to be found. I contacted the bank and they told me that her name was listed , but secondary. My daughter should be receiving all the paper work, and the title and warranty should be made out to her. The finance manager at Cox Toyota told me everything was how it should be , but I feel I was misled.

Desired Settlement
Paperwork title, warranty, and paymentbook should reflect ***** **** as Primary owner of the 2012 Corolla.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *******
Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@coxtoyota.com
Mr.**** visited the dealership on 11/25 and spoke with the General Manager ***** ***.
Dealership originally signed customer with daughter both on title work Mr. **** felt that it was suppose to be in his daughters name only. finance manager was able to get bank to agree to title only in daughters name. Mr **** left the dealership satisfied with the transaction. We consider this matter to be closed and customer is satisfied with outcome.

08/05/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was offered a truck at a price ad that price was not honored
I was offered a price to purchase a truck . the offer was made several times up to 6-26-2014. after negotiating through e-mails i tried for a week to contact the people I had been negotiating with and when I finally received an answer I was told the truck was not available to me at the offered price,not sold, but returned to cox toyota rental , where it was when the original offer was made.

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to HONOR their offered price ,services and warranty on the truck I was trying to purchase

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ********@coxtoyota.com
Mr. ****** was in originally on 6/23/2014 and was given a quote to purchase a vehicle from our rental car fleet. The quote he was given was with his trade which Mr. ****** did not agree on price and left the dealership. He made many attemts to renegotiate a much lower price. We rejected all the offers Mr. ****** made. The price detail was offered that day. We as a dealership can except or deny an offer at anytime. Mr. ****** made a decision not to buy that day. We have elected to keep this vehicle in our rental fleet at this time.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did visit cox toyota on 6-23 but the first offers were made by e-mail on 6-18,6-19 and 6-20 with no mention of a trade by me. On 6-23 an offer was made with a trade which I rejected.The CASH SALE offer was made again on 6-26 and 6-27 and was not denied until I AGREED TO PURCHASE THE TRUCK AT THE OFFERED PRICE. While I agree that cox toyota CAN decide not to HONOR offered prices, this negotiation process was carried out over a three week time with the price being offered several times by several people and not just on ONE day as their response seems to indicate . I would think that a dealership would like for their INTEGRITY TO MEAN SOMETHING other than just an e-mail to get someone in and then not do what they say. I may have expected this from a two dollar used car lot but not from a TOYOTA DEALERSHIP LIKE COX . The only thing I asked was for them to honor their price. I guess that was to much. MR. ******

06/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The service dept. damaged the wheels on my wife's 2011 Camry and also on my 2013 Prius.
When I took my Prius in for its 10,000 mile service, they damaged my nice wheels. I told them to be careful because they damaged my other 2011 Camry wheels about a month earlier. They talk like they want to make it right, but they have no intentions to do so.

Desired Settlement
I want these expensive wheels replaced with new ones. They were new when I brought them in. We purchased these cars new from this dealership. I also want the problems in the service dept. corrected so this does not happen again. I have bought 4 new Toyotas from Cox Toyota. I cannot believe that I even have to do this to get a problem that they caused, fixed.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@coxtoyota.com
We have left 4 messages for Mr *****. We have ordered a replacement rim new for Mr ***** and informed hin that we have it. Mr *****'s response was that he would schedule to have it replaced and wanted to talk further. I have not received a call back since 06/02/2014.

05/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cox Toyota persuaded me to make $1632.01 in repairs that could not possibly have been needed. It charged another $397.12 for work I did not request.
On August 1, 2013, Cox Toyota service advisor ******* ******** persuaded me that I needed $1632.01 in repairs that I later realized could not possibly have been required. The systems involved had been inspected by COX only 3 months and 2,850 miles earlier during a 60,000 mile service. Moreover, Cox Toyota charged me $397.12 for work that ******** did not discuss with me and I did not authorize.

On March 19, 2013, I brought my 2007 Toyota Avalon to Cox Toyota with two requests.

1. Conduct a 60,000 mile service.
2. Fix the problem that was causing the ABS and VSC lights to illuminate much of the time.

The 60,000 mile service found that I needed to replace the rear brake pads and have the rotors resurfaced. I authorized this work. As indicated on Invoice TOCSXXXXXX, there were no problems with any other systems inspected as part of the 60,000 mile service. Cox attributed the problem with the lights to a malfunction with the master cylinder pressure switch and did not charge me for the adjustment. Cox recommended that I replace the third brake light (it was burned out) because it would need to be repaired in order to pass my North Carolina inspection in August.

On August 1, 2013, I brought my Avalon to Cox again with three requests.

1. Conduct the North Carolina car inspection.
2. Repair the third brake light, which I had been told would need to be corrected in order to pass the state inspection.
3. Fix the problem with the ABS and VSC lights, which were still illuminating much of the time.

While I waited for a ride to work, Mr. ******** told me that the problem with the ABS and VSC lights was caused by two misfiring ignition coils. I agreed verbally to have them and the other four replaced ($899). Cox Toyota also found and secured at no charge a loose connector that was causing the ABS light to illuminate. I am satisfied with the charges for these repairs and the NC inspection ($30), and charges for two remote batteries ($6.58) and for replacing a parking light bulb ($9.50).

I am complaining about two other groups of charges on Invoice TOSCXXXXXX.

A. First, ******** told me that I needed to have the following additional work done although it could not possibly have been required.

1. Replacing the power-steering mechanism and the associated alignment ($857.14)
2. Replacing the water pump ($584.87)
3. Resurfacing the front rotors ($190)

Cox itself had found these systems to be in fine working order only 3 months and 2,850 miles earlier. I authorized the work on the spot, but later realized that I had been misled: It is completely implausible that even one of these systems-let alone all three- should have gone from being in working order to needing expensive repair in so short a time.

B. Cox also charged me for work which was not discussed with me and that I neither requested nor authorized.

1. Replacing wiper blades ($59.23)
2. Fuel induction cleaning service (129.57)
3. Servicing the automatic transmission ($132.32)
4. A/C refresher service ($76.10)

A PATTERN OF MISINFORMATION
On August 27, 2013, I wrote to ****** ***, President, and ***** ****** Parts and Service Director, for Cox Toyota. I explained what had happened and asked for (1) a full refund of the unnecessary work that I had been misled to authorize, (2) a full refund of the unauthorized work, and (3) replacement at no charge of the third brake light, which had not been fixed. Because of what I had been told on March 19, I believed that the light would have had to be repaired for Cox to tell North Carolina that my car had passed inspection. In a reply dated August 29, Ms. *** ignored all my complaints except that she reported that the third brake light did not really need to be repaired for the state inspection. Two visits. Misinformation and mistreatment both times designed to increase my costs needlessly.

Desired Settlement
I request a full refund for the unneeded work ($1632.01); the work I was not asked about and did not authorize ($397.12)' and the associated disposal costs and tax.

Business Response
In regards to repairs performed at Cox Toyota/Scion on March 19th and August 1st 2013. We have reviewed the repair orders and notes taken by the Technician and shared with you. We are both in agreement that the repairs needed were authorized by you and performed properly and in a satisfactory manner, as we have had no problems with any repairs completed at your bequest. Once repairs are authorized and completed we cannot undo them. We performed this work in good faith and you as owner authorized them. We cannot in retrospect authorize refunds because you feel as an afterthought that they were not needed. We had verfied in our last response that repairs were authorized and again are only able to give explanation and sincere apology for any lack of clarity on our part.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)


The response from Cox fails to respond to either of my complaints.

(As a reminder, I am not complaining about all of the work done by Cox. The total charge was for $3083.48. Of the amount, I have no complaint concerning $1054.35.)

First, Cox has not provided any proof that three repairs were needed. They haven't even provided a plausible explanation for why three major systems should have failed that Cox itself had found to be fine less than 3,000 miles earlier, when I had my 60,000 service. The very fact that Cox looked at these systems when I came in on August 1 raises red flags. That morning, I asked for a state emissions inspection and a check on two dashboard warning lights (ABS and VSC lights) that illuminated when there was no a problem with the systems involved. Neither of these requests called for an examination of my front rotors, which Mr. ******** claimed needed to be resurfaced, nor did they require an examination of my steering mechanism and water pump, which Mr. ******** claimed needed to be replaced. I did authorize this work orally. I don't dispute that fact. My complaint is that Mr. ******** misled me when he claimed that this work was needed. To make a satisfactory response to this complaint, Cox would have to produce evidence that these repairs were actually needed, rather than that Cox decided to dupe a retired person who had recently moved to the area from Ohio, where Toyota service departments could be trusted.

In contrast, I did not authorize four other items for which I was charged: new wiper blades, fuel induction cleaning service, automatic transmission service, and A/C refresher service. This is my second complaint. In its response, Cox claims to have reviewed the "notes taken by the Technician and shared with you." The notes that Mr. ******** shared with me were handwritten on a folded piece of paper. I'm surprised to learn that this piece of paper still exists. Given that it does, a satisfactory response from Cox would be to send it to BBB and me so we can see where the four items appear on it. In its response, Cox also describes a "repair order . . . shared with you." However, no repair order was shown to me before the work was done. The first time that I learned about four items I'm discussing in this paragraph was when I picked up my car at the end of the day and received a printout. I note that, for a few items, the computer printout I given when I picked up my car says "Customer requests." That someone typed those word into the computer does not mean that I did actually made these requests The only request I made were the ones on page 1 of the printout: an NC engine emission inspection and a problem with dashboard warning lights (not the "check engine" light, as the printout says, but the "ABS" and "VSC" lights).

I understand that, as the Cox response says, the work that was done cannot be undone. The issue here is not about undoing workit is about misleading me into thinking that unneeded work was needed and about doing work that was not discussed with me, not requested by me, and not authorized by me.

The essence of the response by Cox is, "Trust us." The untrustworthiness of the company is what my complaints are about.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Car Dealerships, Auto Repair Services, Used Car Dealerships

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.