BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2007

Battleground Kia

(336) 282-0115View Additional Phone Numbers2927 Battleground Ave., GreensboroNC 27408Twitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2007

BBB has determined that Battleground Kia meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Battleground Kia's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues8
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Battleground Kia

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (14)
10/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After purchasing a vehicle with navigation, it didn't work. The manufacturers disc was replaced with a burned copy of a disc.
August 15th I purchased a 2007 Lincoln MKX with a navigation system. When I clicked on the navigation it showed a map. No problem. Then after signing all the paperwork, I go to drive home. I hit the navigation button. It navigation screen reads "disc is incompatible with the system". It was 9pm at this time and the dealership was closing. The sales rep, ******* says call him in the morning he will take care of it. I called the next day no answer. I go back to the car, I get the disc out. It's not a manufacturers disc. Its a burned copy of a disc with a bubbly raise sticker that says ford on it. I kept calling throughout the week with no answers and being sent to ever random voice mail.

On 8/23 I get through to *******. He asks me if I purchased a warranty. I didn't, however a warranty doesn't cover a navigation disc anyway. He gets an attitude with me and says a service manager will call. He never does.

On 8/24 I continue to call and get the run around. After about 10 calls I get in touch with ***** someone in the service department. He also gets an attitude with me and tells me I will have to pay for the disc out of pocket. I asked the price. He tells me it would be at the dealer cost. I looked the price through Lincoln Ford the week prior to this just in case the dealer wouldnt honor their word. Glen tells me it would be $250, Lincoln Ford only charges $200. So they xxx and want to make more of a profit on me.

I finally get in contact with the owner. Hoping he will be take care of his new customer. Not at all the case, he wouldn't help. He also twisted the story stating the navigation worked when I left...in which it didn't. I managed to get the disc to work for about 10 minutes when I peeled the bubbly paper off. I informed him this was a burned disc and needs a manufacturers disc and to not let a simple $200 ruin potential business for him. He didn't care, and hung up on me.

They put a fake disc in the car, so it would appear to have navigation. Then after the sale, the customer has to pay additional cost to get the manufactures navigation disc.

Worst customer service ever. The owner of this business should be ashamed of himself for running a business so xxxxx.

Desired Settlement
A 2007 or newer Lincoln Manufacturers Navigation Disc.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** General Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@battlegroundkia.com

Ms. ********** purchased a pre-owned Lincoln from us on August 15, 2013. At that time, based on the information that we have there was no problem with the navigation disc. We had serviced the vehicle and the technician and our used car manager tested the navigation system. The navigation disc that we sold with the vehicle is the disc that was in the vehicle when we traded for it from the previous owner. We had no knowledge of the problem with the navigation disc until Saturday, August 24th. We were told by Ms. ********** that after she peeled the sticker off of the disc it no longer worked. We explained that we would sell her a new disc at our cost and at that time estimated the cost to be $250. If it only costs us $200 then we would be glad to sell it to her for $200 but the $250 was an estimate.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

Prior to leaving the dealership, the navigation did not work. The sales representative said to call him the next day and he would take care of it. The disc did not work at all and said this is an incompatible disc. The sale rep seen this with his own eyes. I could not use the navigation at all.

The following morning 8/15 I pulled the disc out, it has raise bubbled paper on the disc I peeled the paper off and it read the disc. For the first time the navigation read the disc. But not through an entire route.

I continued to call the dealership throughout the week, I was transferred to randomly employees voice mail and not getting any help. This place of business is not professional in anyway, has has twisted the situation to suit there benefit. Which it not the truth.

After being hung up on by the owner of the business. I have complete cleaned the sticker paper off the disc and can get it to work. However the disc is NOT the manufacturers disc and does not display all of the features it should. I am requesting the dealership to purchased the $199.00 manufacturers disc for the navigation system in which they sold me. I can take pictures of the disc to prove this is not a stock disc, and pictures would prove I have not damaged the disc in anyway.

Final Business Response
I will be glad to give Ms. ********** $200 so that she can purchase a navigation disc from a Lincoln dealership. If she will contact either Glenn or myself we can mail a check or she can come by to pick it up, whichever is more convenient for her.

***** ******

10/25/2012Problems with Product / Service
03/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car advertised on-line. Price and option was not honored. I was told the car didn't exist.

Battleground Kia,
My name is **** *******. I have been in search of a 2014 Kia Optima LX, stock #XXXXX, #XXXXX, #XXXXX, that I found on your web site. On the web site the price of the car is $20695.The options were normal but there were SEVERAL listed with the upgrade "convenience package". The convenience package is listed to offer additional upgrades. The main two upgrade options were navigation and backup camera. The price was perfect, options were exactly what I wanted, colors were plentiful and I was ready to make a cash purchase. I then expressed interest via your web site. Your internet specialist, ****** called me (several times over) the next day. I was really impressed with the quick response. ***** and I quickly discussed the options of the car, the price and made the appointment for Saturday 3-8-14 at 10:00 am.
Saturday morning arrives, I reach out to ***** too ensure our appointment time is on target because of the poor weather conditions in the area. ***** confirms Yes. My level of excitement is near 10, until I arrive at the dealership. I get out of the car, ask for ****** A male salesman come out to meet me. He asked how could he help me. I told him what I wanted, with the options, price and the colors. The salesman takes me over to a car with half the options and $3000 higher than the internet price. I told him the web site price and options were different from that car. He asked me to find it and show him the web site. He went back inside the dealership, when he returns I provide him the "Battleground Kia" web site with the car, price and options. The salesman tells me "That car does not exist". The more I ask why, the more he explains how I'm wrong. This continued until I asked for the manager. I call the number I have for ****** Someone answers and quickly hangs up. At this point my excitement is down to level 5 but I am hopeful the manager will help me with their web site. The manager tells me it's wrong and he would help me find what I wanted. He returns 10 minutes later with a quote for another vehicle $8000 higher. I told the manager they caused me major disappointment, time that I could not replace and loss of a customer. He told me to have a good day. My excitement level now -2. My question now is this standard procedure, poor customer service or bait and switch?
Sent from my iPad

Desired Settlement
I want the car, with options for around the same price. I don't want something for nothing but I want to be around what they advertise

Business Response
Battleground Kia made multiple attempts to explain the coding error to the customer. This mistake was corrected on all vehicles with the LX Convenience Plus Package, which does not include navigation. This coding error was corrected on the same day that the mistake was brought to Battleground Kia's attention.

CAUSE OF ERROR:
A third party vendor creates VIN to code data and pushes this info to our website. Thus, the problem initiated from the top of the website coding chain and the third party vendor has been notified of this discrepancy.

RESOLUTION TO CLAIM:
Battleground Kia successfully had the incorrect option listing removed.
Customer was offered a vehicle with the desired options at $4,600 below MSRP.

Should you require further information, please contact ***** ***** at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thanks.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't anyone else to experience the same issues with this dealership. I will no longer shop this dealership.

01/24/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I drove Stock# XXXXX at Battleground Kia. I was told that the could not accept a price lower than $24,270.00 which was the internet price. I looked at other cars over the next several days and decided that I wanted to buy #XXXXX for $24,270. I called and asked if they still had the car that I drove and if so, would they still sell it for the internet price. I was told that yes that car was available at that price. I went to Battleground Kia, confirmed that the car was the same car that I drove, and confirmed that we would buy it for the internet price. They agreed and started the paperwork for us to pay for the car. We called our insurance company and insured the car. We gave them the papers to get the money from our bank. We had been there about half an hour when they told us they could not honor the internet price since we were not military. I told them that we had never been military and that we expected them to honor the price we agreed to. They said they could take off the chrome accessories and sell it to us at the internet price. I told them that the accessories were on it when I drove it and are on the internet picture and that I wanted the car at the price we agreed on with the accessories. I told them that we were leaving because I was not going to fall for their bait and switch and false advertising.
Product_Or_Service: 2014 Kia Soul ! White
Order_Number: internet price offer
Account_Number: Stock# XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like BBB to look into a false advertising bait and switch claim and not have them listed as a business with an A rating since they do not honor their price agreements and do not honor their advertisements. You should also know that when I posted my experience on my facebook page, I had a friend say that Battleground Kia did the same thing to them. Another friend said they were not surprised since Battleground Kia has a reputation of using bait and switch and had done that to others.

Business Response
The above reference customer came to Battleground KIA to purchase a vehicle 2014 Soul through ZAG (USAA Pricing). USAA discloses to the customer that their pricing is USAA plus accessories. The customer was upset and did not want to pay for the additional add-ons. The vehicle was also priced on the internet and our internet price includes all rebates. We will sell the vehicle for the USAA price not including accessories.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this response because it is not an accurate reflection of the events. They are not telling the truth. The internet price was agreed upon for the vehicle, multiple times. The purpose of the usaa pricing paperwork was to get a better interest rate on my loan. I told every person that I spoke with at Battleground Kia that we filled out the certificate to get the lower interest rate. Everyone agreed that the internet price was the price we would pay for the vehicle I drove. They agreed to it multiple times and only changed the price as we were paying. I have heard from other people that this is common practice. I am willing to testify to the events that happened under oath. I am willing to contact the others I have spoken to who have had the same experience with having the price changed on them to see if they are willing to do the same. I can give you a list of the names of people I spoke with at the dealership to see if they are willing to testify under oath as to how things went. I do not think that they should get away with ***** about what happened in addition to the bait and switch that took place.

Final Business Response
**BBB Note: Documentation referenced is attached in the online complaint forum.**

Customer came in with the USAA pricing for the 2014 Kia Soul Exclaim. This price does not include the cost of factory-installed or dealer-installed accessories. Battleground KIA offered to honor the USAA pricing plus the cost of accessories and also gave the customer the option to purchase the vehicle without the accessories, which would lower the price. Battleground KIA will send the USAA price sheet, which includes a disclaimer that states the price does not include the cost of dealer-installed accessories,to the BBB for reference.

In addition, Battleground KIA's website discloses that the cost of accessories is not included in the internet price. See below:

*Picture may not represent actual vehicle. MSRP varies based on Trim levels and options. See dealer for in-stock inventory and actual selling price.

01/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went to look at a used Honda CRZ on 12/12/13. The car was misrepresented as a non-smoker one owner car with a 10 year 100000 mile warranty.
I went to look at a 2011 honda CRZ that was represented as a one owner non-smoker car with a 10 year 100000 mile warranty. The car had visible cigarette burns on both seats, the car had no warranty as described on their website. **** ****** was the sales person and stated that they had mad a mistake but would do nothing to fix the situation even after I told him that I drove over an hour to look and likely purchase the car. The stock number on the car was ******. The ad was still up after I left and returned home. The ad reads "1.5l I4 SOHC I- vetch 16v, adult driven, car fax certified, local trade,NON- Smoker, priced below market!! PRISTINE, and value priced to sell quickly ...Kia Certified 10 year/100k mile warranty!,... After being in business for many years we relalize that internet value pricing is by far the best approach for our customers.

I feel this is a gross misreprentation of the vehicle and stating false statements to get customers in their store.

Desired Settlement
I think due to the misrepresentation of the car Battleground Kia should refund me $30 to cover my fuel cost to come visit a car that was not as described without advertised warranty.

Business Response
First, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that our error caused. This was definitely an oversight on our part. It is actually impossible to Kia certify a Honda vehicle. I am glad to refund Mr. ******** $30 to compensate him for time and gas.

***** ******
General Manager

12/23/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Calling to offer refinance on my car with lower rates and or payments. When I go in, seems my car not qualify but a new vehicle would. Not right!
November 9, 2013

Dear *******,

Thank you for taking time to speak with us today, it was our pleasure. We look forward to meeting with you Monday, November 11 at 4:00. Thank you for the opportunity to work with you again, have a great weekend!

Sincerely,

******* ********
Business Development Representative

Battleground Kia
2927 Battleground Ave
Greensboro, NC 27408
XXX-XXX-XXXX
www.battlegroundkia.com

This was the first email I got confirming our call on SUNDAY about the refinance of OUR vehicle.

This was the second message after I left the Kia place.
Dear *******,

Thank you for stopping by Battleground Kia today. I hope we were able to address all of your questions in a satisfactory and courteous manner. We strive to assist our customers with the best quality of service both before and after a sale.

It is quite common for our customers to have more questions after the initial visit. Please call me with any additional questions that you may have. I also look forward to sharing with you any newly obtained information that we might have received about the Soul. It is important that you make a well informed decision when purchasing an automobile, and I would like to offer my professional services to assist you in making the decision that is right for you.

Again, please feel free to contact me or any of my managers at your convenience. We are committed to doing everything necessary to fulfill your automotive needs, as well as exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Sales and Leasing Consultant
Battleground Kia
XXX-XXX-XXXX

This was the next day

Dear *******,

In today's busy world, it is sometimes difficult to find the time to search for the perfect vehicle. We recognize that fact, and appreciate your giving us the opportunity to introduce you to the 2013 Kia Soul. I understand that purchasing a vehicle requires a great deal of consideration, therefore, I am willing at any time to answer any questions you may have about our products, financing options, and dealership services.

It was a pleasure meeting you, I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Sincerely,


***** *******
Sales Consultant
Battleground Kia
2927 Battleground Ave
Greensboro, NC 27408
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Later the same day I got this one
11/12/2013



******* ****
**** ******* ******* ****
***** ******* ** XXXXX



Dear *******

Congratulations, I just wanted to touch base with you and tell you that it was a pleasure to have done business with you and your family. I hope that you were happy with the service as well as happy with the vehicle. I am glad that we were able to meet your needs and I hope you are comfortable enough to refer my services to those you know that may be in the market for a new vehicle. I have included the link for the review below, you will see three icons listed, google, yelp and yahoo. Please write a review on one and copy and paste it to the other two. Thanks again and have a great day! Should you have any further questions or concerns please contact me at the numbers listed below.

www.reviewbattlegroundkia.com


***** *******
Sales Professional

Battleground Kia
2927 Battleground Ave
Greensboro, NC 27408

And about a week later she called wanting to talk to my husband with the same gimmick.


This was in no way to help me refinance my vehicle at all, it was a sales gimmick that they use to get people in. When she got my credit information she was not gone even long enough to have made a legitimate offer. They had a large number of salesmen waiting at the door when we got there, I guess to help those that might buy a new car for better rates.

Desired Settlement
I think they should have to offer a legitimate refinance offer for my car.

Business Response
First, I would like to apologize for any inconveniences that we may have caused. We have in fact helped numerous customers refinance their vehicle and lower their interest rate and/or monthly payment. Unfortunately, we aren't able to do this in all cases. It could be a result of negative equity, credit or income circumstances or insufficient collateral even. It is in our best interest to be able to help as many customers accomplish the goal of saving money on their automotive expense as possible. We in no way benefit from a situation where a customer comes in under the pretense of lowering their payment and/or interest rate. So, I am sorry that we could not help you and hope that you understand that some things are out of our control.

11/01/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
bait and switch on interest rate and items included on web listing of vehicle
Sales person asked if I would buy the car right then on a Friday night for a specific interest rate, which I agreed to. They could not get me the rate he gave me which I did not find out until Monday. Also, their online listing of the vehicle said it included mats and they are saying those are not included.

Desired Settlement
I purchased my own mats and would like them to compensate me for those. Would like them to actually return my calls. I feel with the difference in the interest rates over what they quoted, I'm already spending over $120 more per year on the vehicle than what they offered. I would like some free services like alignments.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** General Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@battlegroundkia.com

We will be glad to reimburse Ms. ***** if she can provide us with the receipt from her floor mat purchase. As far as the interest rate goes, customers qualify for the interest rate based on their past credit performance. Customers who have less than perfect credit qualify for a higher rate, in general, than customers with perfect credit.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

***BBB Note: Receipts requested are attached to the complaint in the online forum.***

I will accept the reimbursement for the floor mats for which I do have a receipt, but I also want to be sure I am getting the manuals for the vehicle, which the salesman said he was getting for me, and there were some minor fixes that needed to be done when I got the car which have not been done (scratches were to be fixed, broken lighter, loose trim piece, and other small things. If all these are completed I will accept their response.

Final Business Response
spoke with customer made a appointment with customer. Dealer will take a look at the repairs and make slight repairs to the vehicle.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Car Dealerships

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/14/2007Business started: 10/01/2007
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Chris A. Morgan (GM, Member, Partner)
Contact Information
Mr. Joe Bryson (President, Member, Partner)Mr. James Keffer (Partner, Member)Mr. Billy Milone (Service Manager)Ms. Penny Shropshire (Office Manager)
Number of Employees

57

Business Category

Car Dealerships

Products & Services

Battleground Kia offers new and used automobile sales and services.

Hours of Operation

Battleground Kia's parts department is open for business 7:30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Friday; 7:30 to 6 Saturday. The sales department is open from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Monday through Saturday; noon to 6 Sunday.

Alternate Business Names
Keffer Management Company, Greensboro Automotive, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Battleground Kia

2927 Battleground Ave.

Greensboro, NC 27408

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2927 Battleground Ave. 

    Greensboro, NC 27408(336) 282-0115
    (800) 530-8435

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central North Carolina/Greensboro. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Battleground Kia is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 530-8435
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 2, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Car Dealerships

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.