BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1973

Ilderton Dodge-Chrysler-Jeep-Ram

Phone: (336) 841-6100Fax: (336) 884-1650

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
05/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am submitting this complaint because this was the worst customer service I ever experienced. They did not complete anything that was asked,& damages
On 5/7/2014, I arrived there at 8:05am to get the driver's side brake light fixed. I was not immediatley greeted, but when I was finally noticed, I told the rep that the circuit board for my driver's side brake light needed repair. I also told her about my a/c unit blowing hot air. I told her the primary reason was for the brake light to be repaired, a/c was secondary. So she told me that she would give me a call with pricing and they will have it done today. Never once did she say that they were busy that day or she did not know when they could get to it, she just took the keys. So then, she arranged for a van to take me to work and to pick me up when the sevice was completed. So hours had passed and it was now after 12 noon with no phone call, so I contacted the rep and she advised that my vehicle was in the bay but the techs were at lunch, but right after lunch she would call me with a status and price. So then hours once again pass and still no call so at 3pm, I call back and she told me that he was working on the a/c unit now and she would call me back with a status on everything. So it is now 4:30p and I am off of work with no car, so I call back for the van to pick me up. Get there and my car is still not ready nor do I have a status. Around 5:40pm, she comes to me to not only tell me that she did not fix the brake light, but she had the nerve to say that she missed the parts cut off at 3:30p. I am confused because you had my vehicle since 8:05am. She then goes on to tell me that when the tech tested the a/c unit that not only did he lock the compressor, but he damaged the serpentine belt on the vehicle. They did absolutely nothing that I told them to do... Oh but they checked my tires and wrote me a quote for that, something that I did not ask for. I was out of a vehicle for 9 hours. She offered to fix it the next day, but did not offer me a loaner or anything to get around. I work for a living and I need my vehicle. I had that day available to get the work done and it was not. No communication, no customer service, nothing... Now I have to find someone to correct the issues that they have caused as well as fixed the problem that I now have as a result. Also it seemed like someone drove my car somewhere because the gas level was way lower than it was when I brought it in. This was the worst experience of my entire life. I am never, ever going back there again.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of the money that I paid... and I want my compressor changed that they locked up and the serpentine belt that they damaged replaced. And I want the brake light replace which was my whole reason for going there. An entire day was wasted. I certainly do not want them to fix it because they will have my vehicle for days. I would like the funds that they quoted for the repairs, I believe that is only fair.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *********@ilderton.com
We have resolved the concerns with the customer after a phone conversation and have counseled with the staff concerning lack of communication. all work was done properly and there were no damages to the customers vehicle caused by our diagnosis. The customer has agreed to return for a recall part on special order. We appreciate knowing about our customers concerns so that we have an opportunity to learn from them and make adjustments to our business.

02/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
purchased a 2014 Toyota SE my paper work from company states it is a Toyota SE. It was sold under false information the car is a Toyota L..A lower model and cheaper...Spoke to auto car dealer would not make any adjustment on price I feel they sold this car under false pretend I feel they should compensate for the price or take car back. MY PAPER WORK IS ALL A *** Please Help Thank You * *********
Product_Or_Service: car
Order_Number: n/a
Account_Number: n/a

Desired Settlement
Make an adjustment on price or take car back....

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** G.M.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@********.com

We sold the customer a 2014 Toyota Camry on Jan. 7, 2014 after he had driven the car for two hours on a test drive to decide if he wanted to buy that vehicle. He had his other car in our service department at the time of the demonstration. The customer entered into negotiations for the purchase of the vehicle and nowhere on the hand written documents is the model designation of SE. I can provide a copy of the buyer's guide and buyer's order as evidence. It wasn't until after the lengthy demonstration drive and agreement to terms did the confusion happen. Our dealership management system only recognizes the SE designation, much like the signed carfax report. The other designations are not clear so the argument he purchased the car based on our printed buyer's guide in false. However, we are sympathetic to the complexities of model designation and are willing to make some compensation to the customer for the inconvenience. We are willing to offer $500 to the customer so he can purchase the tires and wheels he wants to buy. Ilderton D-C-J-R is a family owned and operated dealership that has been in business since 1926 and we pride ourselves on customer service.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes we disguised price for the body style Toyota Camry body style SE,not a less expensive model body style L , Dodge Company deceived me and I have documentation with this information.If the company has been in business since 1926 they should have knowledge of car models.The Toyota Camry model was sold to me was false I'm asking for the difference in price between the two models of $2,000.00.I,m not asking for sympathy just JUSTICE The dodge Company deceived me,what about other customers..

Final Business Response
Our used car manager spoke with the customer and the customer rejected our offer of goodwill. I will stand by the previous statements that were made. We represented the vehicle to the best of knowledge and did not in any way attempt to deceive the customer as he was in possession of the vehicle for a considerable amount of time before the purchase was complete. We also have the hand written buyer's order that shows no model at all. As of February 14th this vehicle was being advertised on another Toyota dealerships website as an "SE" so it is clear this distinction is not even transparent to Toyota dealerships. We will continue to honor our offer but we are inclined to make no further offers based on copies of advertisements from other dealerships the customer provided. If the customer chooses to be flexible and realistic, we can move forward with a mutually amicable resolution.

09/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When I bought my 2013 ram express truck I was told that in order to get a lower rate that I would have to buy extended protection and gap insurance.
When I bought my 2013 ram express truck I was told that in order to get a lower rate that I would have to buy extended protection and gap insurance but that if I sold or traded my truck, that I would receive a prorated premium refund.
I traded my truck after about a year and a half, and I have tried to speak with someone at Ilderton about getting the refund, but I have been given the run around. The first lady I spoke with had no idea who could help me, the salesmen could not transfer a call and didn't know who really could help me anyway. Finally, after some more searching, I narrowed the person down to a David W******, I have tried to speak with him and left him a message, but still cant get him. I'm a deputy sheriff and have to work 12 hour shifts and was hoping to at least get this going today while I was off work, I have to work tomorrow so I won't be able to try and run someone down all day again.
It seem to me that after the sale is made, Ilderton Dodge is finished with the customer.

Desired Settlement
I would like for someone at Ilderton to get my insurance refund for me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Brian D*****
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@ilderton.com
I have contacted Mr. **** and am collecting the necessary documentation to process his refund. We will submit the cancellations for him.

07/21/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ilderton Dodge uses unethical tactics to draw consumers into its location at by offering false and misleading information on price and trade info.
I contacted your High Point location to inquire about purchasing a Jeep Patriot. The lady that answered the phone was named ****** She was very friendly and answered all my questions. I started by explaining to ***** that my wife and I just had a baby this week and needed an SUV now. I wanted to purchase the Jeep Patriot with some specific options. I asked for a black exterior with black wheels. We wanted black leather interior and the 2.4 liter engine. ***** took all the information and called me back to let me know they could get this transferred by Tuesday. I asked her if she could tell me what dealer it is located at so I could check it out online and they could still transfer it there for me to purchase. She put me on hold and when she came back told me it was at the manufacturer so there wasn't a picture. Instead we both went on to the website and looked at similar pictures to show me what it looked like. I asked her if it came with the same rebate as the rest of the Patriots on the lot and she told me it had a 2200 dollar rebate. Everything was going great. She told me I would need to come in and work out some numbers so they could order it. This is where everything fell apart and the conniving, misleading, and flat out false information was given. I explained to ***** that I couldn't come in because I was waiting on someone to come and buy my mustang tomorrow and reminded her about the baby situation and that's why were getting an SUV. At NO time prior to this had we discussed a trade in. I then explained to her I was selling my Mustang for 17,000 dollars and I would trade it in if they would be willing to pay me that amount. ***** asked me for the VIN number and I gave it to her. In fact we read it back to each other to verify the numbers and letters were correct. I also gave her the mileage on the vehicle. ***** called me back and told me they would be able to do the trade and asked if I could come in. I felt skeptical about this because it was quick. So I clearly asked ****** are you sure you can do this because I don't want to drive over there and get jerked around. She put me on hold again, and when she came back she said how soon can you be here. I said really?? Were all good. She said yes I spoke with ****** our manager and he said come on in. I told her it would take me about an hour to get there and I had to get my baby and wife ready to follow us in our other car as they indicated the Mustang would be getting traded so I would have a ride back home. Upon arriving and meeting ***** I was dished off to another salesman. At this point I realized ***** wasn't even a car salesman at all. I gave the gentlemen my keys and he said his manager had to get an appraisal. I told him what I was told on the phone and I would be very upset for driving all this way and they don't honor it. He told me ***** was new and shouldn't be giving out information like that. I was very frustrated. He said they don't sale cars. There only job is to get customers into the dealership and then they take it from there. I was very frustrated but waited thinking they might be honorable people. When the offer came back the manager had hand written in a green marker on a scrap piece of paper that the trade was 15,000 dollars. Two grand less than what we had discussed. Keep in mind I never called to trade my Mustang as I already had a buyer. I was very upset and told them I wouldn't ever come back. As I was leaving I asked for ****** as that is who ***** said she spoke with. Instead the General Manager came out and told me I didn't tell them it was a V6. I gave them the Vin Numbers. Think about this for a second. How would I know who ****** is if I wasn't given this information. ***** and ****** deceived my wife and I into thinking our trade was approved and we needed to hurry over to the dealer. How soon can you get here was asked twice. The General Manager should have done research and honored this.

Desired Settlement
I would like our initial offer to be honored. This place states when you call them that their phone calls are recorded. Go back and research this claim and listen to what ***** told us over the phone. Giving false and misleading information is a sure fire way to lose customers forever. The salesman told me the Mustang was worth 18,000 retail for them. That is still a 1,000 dollar profit off of my car not to mention the profit off the car I was going to buy from them. The car was immaculate and only had 31,xxx miles on it. This shows you how greedy businesses will get to take your money and then give you nothing for your car. I was lied too and treated like I was the one that lied. I asked to who owned the place and the general manager told me *** ********. He wasn't there today for me to speak to. I would like a phone call from *** ******** to make this situation right. I encourage you to review your recordings to verify this information. Please do the right thing.

Business Response
After reviewing all the information available, I can find no evidence of a firm offer ever being extended for his vehicle. We always encourage customers to bring their vehicles to us for an actual appraisal especially of the customer has a specific amount they are requesting for trade. The BDC determined the amount he was requesting was within an acceptable range and encouraged him to bring the vehicle to us for an actual evaluation. The customer wasn't happy with our appraisal of his vehicle, which shouldn't have had much bearing on purchase as he stated he already had a buyer at $17,000. In our opinion the vehicle wasn't worth that amount on trade in due to the equipment level and condition of the car. Given the lack of a written offer at the $17,000 dollar amount, our appraisal of $15,000 will stand. As to his other issues with the equipment of the vehicle we were going to have to locate for him, we always get a signed copy of a window sticker that states exactly the equipment that will be on the vehicle. Trying to do all of this type of transaction over the phone can and does often lead to misunderstandings regarding price and equipment which is why we ask the customers come to the dealership when purchasing a vehicle that is not in stock.

09/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 5/2/14 I purchased a 2006 Hyundai Sonata and during the test drive the right front tire would screech every time we hit a bump. I was told that it would be fixed, to date it has not been repaired. I took the car back several times complaining that it is not fixed and nothing was done. I also videoed the passenger seatbelt light flashing when no one was in it and was told that I had to take it to Hyundai to had them fix the sensor that was in the seat, Ilderton refused to fix it. they also never fixed the washer fluid dispenser the wiper blades work but no washer fluid comes out. I have called to request speaking with the manager and to date no manager has called me back concerning my issues.
Product_Or_Service: Used car
Account_Number: 6995.00

Desired Settlement
I want the front end fixed, I want the seatbelt light fixed and I want the washer fluid dispenser fixed.

Business Response
We have addressed Mr. ******* concerns and checked the suspension to verify all is in working order. We have resolved all issues with Mr. ******* I apologize for the delayed response as I was told by my manager he would respond back in early July.
***** ********

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No one from Ilderton has contacted me about my issues. Shakeing the car from side to side is not checking the suspension. The other issues remain and have not been addressed. The wiper blade fluid is not coming out, the passenger seatbelt light is still flashing. Lies have been told to the BBB regarding my issues.

Final Business Response
I have reviewed Mr. ********* purchase agreements and found nothing stating we will fix anything that was agreed upon during the purchase. The vehicle was sold without warranty and thereby does not warrant a covered repair. We have contacted Mr. ****** and offered to examine the vehicle again, free of charge and he has declined the offer. We made no offer to repair as of this writing. We will extend an offer to assist him in trading the vehicle to us for another vehicle. There will ne costs incurred for this process by Mr. ****** should he avail himself of this opportunity.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I agree that Ilderton did not offer to address my concerns in writing; however, during the test drive I expressed the concerns with the salesman who assured me that my concerns would be handled. I did receive a call from Ilderton to ask if I wanted them to diagnose the issues at no cost, but any repairs and cost would be my responsibility. No one has contacted me regarding trading the vehicle back to date. As I stated in my initial complaint, "I WANT MY VEHICLE FIXED". I believe that Ilderton is trying to force my hand to pay for repairs that should have been addressed prior to the vehicle being advertised for sale. Ilderton can refund me what I paid for the vehicle and we can call it a day. It is quite apparent that they do not want to make the repairs necessary in order to make and keep good business.

06/20/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tried to bait and switch me
*** ******* salesman wrote me on May 21st 2014 offering to sell me a new, red 2014 Dodge Challenger for $27,000 out the door price. After a few back and forth emails, we decide to buy the car the next day. Two hours later, he upped the price on the same car to $28,400 OTD. In my opinion - a classic bait and switch tactic

Desired Settlement
Honor the deal he said he would do.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@********.com
In response to the complaint, I investigated the sequence of events and found that a simple mistake in the wording of a communication was made by our internet sales department. The offer was corrected later with an apology to the customer regarding the miss communication. Since the elements of a contract were not complete we were under no obligation to honor the miss quote.

This event happened quite some time ago and the vehicle in question has already been sold. I will still offer to attempt to find another vehicle similar to the one originally quoted for the price of $28400 inclusive of tax, tag, title and Doc fee($449) with the assumption this vehicle will be titled in the state of North Carolina. This offer is strictly subject to availability of the vehicle desired.
This event was a simple mistake that was corrected in a timely fashion. The customers allegation of "bait and switch" has no merit.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was no miscommunication - just a lie(s) - the salesman made the offer of $27k OTD deal, I was ready to accept and then he pulled the offer. How is that a "miscommunication"?

03/21/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.