BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2000

Crown Volvo

Phone: (336) 852-0600Fax: (336) 834-7361View Additional Phone Numbers3604 W Wendover Ave, GreensboroNC 27407-1508

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2000

BBB has determined that Crown Volvo meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Crown Volvo include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Crown Volvo

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
08/26/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Started work on car without giving price Assumed under warranty
8/24/2016 Took car in to have 40K mile warranty service. Had 4 yr bumper to bumper. They misrepresented and began working on car and then informed that all the work would be over $600. If it was no longer under the service warranty umbrella, the price was not discussed with us giving us the option to approve. They just said we are going to do this and sign here.

Desired Settlement
Their practice should be to not just state what will be done, without the price associated with it, for us to ok, or say no.
They have done this on a previous occasion when I brought the car a C70 series in to be repaired after it was in an accident 07/2015. We received a quote from them and they changed the quote, and charged an additional $1000 to the insurance company. It was not my insurance carrier, but it was difficult working with them, and I felt bad because I thought they would honor the initial quote. They tried to tell me that I had to pay the difference after the insurance company paid the claim. I informed the manager that I was not paying anything and I expect them to honor the quote. Eventually, after numerous discussions with service manager, that is what occurred. This is the 2nd event of Bait and Switch .

Several months later, they assured us they wanted our business and would give us the best service for the mishap.

We bought the car at this dealership and hoping that they would see us as loyal customers believed that they would do the right thing.
We also have another Volvo vehicle that they serviced for us as well.

In one of the checkups, the headlight that they repaired had to be readjusted and the manager, who was difficult working with in July, came out to check on it. When it was obvious that the initial repair was not performed properly.


We have tried to work with them, but we continue to get the same treatment.
Why can't they do what is right and informed us on the front end, and we would had evaluated this and either ok'd the work or left.

This is how they make their money. If unresolved, I plan to take it further.

Are we being treated this way because the car that we bought is a high end car and we HAVE MONEY, so they do this?

Is it because we are senior citizens and we don't matter? Get as much as they can out of us and treat us any way.
Are they hurting for business that they will get it any kind of a way, even deceitfully.

This continues to be the theme from this service dept.

Stop misrepresenting, and be HONEST.

Business Response
Mr. ****** met with Mark V********, Service Manager and reached a resolution on 8/25/16. We believe this matter to be satisfactorily closed. Thank you for the opportunity to assist.

Consumer Response
From: ************ (mailto:******@hotmail.com)
Sent: Thursday, August 25, 2016 2:42 PM
To: Better Business Bureau <**************@bbb-email.org>
Subject: (SPAM) RE: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#*************************)

To , *******


Sir, per your request of, 8/25/16, I am sending you a notice that the situation with Crown Volvo was resolved with a meeting between myself and Mr. Mark V******** that ended with both parties agreeing that a reimbursement was in order, the amount being agreed upon by both parties. Though this situation was resolved, I can not in good faith rely on any future dealings with Crown Volvo or any subsidiary involved with that group because of this recent incident and past incidents. There is an old saying , "money talks" and since they have the majority of that, all this will be swept away. The only thing that I can do is "not" recommend anyone buying a product from Crown, but if they are the only game in town, have an attorney check any and all agreements before signing anything to make sure every jot and tittle is in the right place and in the buyers favor. Thank you and you group for helping in this matter. ***************
**************************************************************



12/14/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Crown is demanding I pay $200 for a 2nd key even though the former sales manager promised me a second key when I took delivery and he only found 1.
I bought a very low mileage 2013 S60 on 9/21/2015 for $20,000 after having the car thoroughly checked by my mechanic. The sales staff was easy to work with until I went to pick up the car. I was informed by the old sales manager (who was fired soon after) there was ONLY ONE KEY.... but he assured me it Crown would find/make a second key when I told him I required two keys. After no action, I complained to the general manager who said, "the deal is already done" but he also said he would pay part of the cost (several hundred dollars) but he failed to do anything afterwards. My research reveals that other Volvo dealers in the area always supply two keys for late model cars just like they replace the spare tire (repair kit) if it is missing. The car's information system actually displays that there are two keys (just like the odometer displays the car has 25,000 miles. My mechanic pointed this out to me BEFORE I bought the car. Repeated calls and visits have not been effective. Recently, the new sales manager has offered to sell me a second key for $200. I made it very clear throughout the sales process that I was not going to spend more than $20,000 and I wanted a vehicle in top shape for that price.

Desired Settlement
I want a second key for no additional charge.

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to look into this complaint. While the vehicle was purchased as is we made several cosmetic repairs as a goodwill gesture to satisfy our customer. We strive for customer satisfaction as demonstrated by our actions in these repairs. So in the interest of customer satisfaction we will gladly provide a second key to Mr. ******. We would only ask that he sign a release showing we have made the repairs he asked us to as well as provided the key, then remove the negative reviews he posted. If this is agreeable please reach out to Ricky W*******, General Manager to arrange a time for pick up of the key.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Crown has agreed to provide a second key and that is all I asked for. Thanks for helping me to resolve to issue.

05/08/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a used 2012 Toyota Prius on 04/26/14
So far I have had to replace the left front tire & key for the remote.
I purchased a used 2012 Toyota Prius on 04/26/2014 from Crown Volvo Greensboro, North Carolina

So far I have had to replace the left front tire and the battery in the remote. Also I have an auto dimming mirror that is not working. I also had to spend almost 2 hours getting a factory defect fixed.

Also I had an auto-dimming mirror in my old car that I was promised could be installed in the new car, yet after this dealership "installed" my mirror, it was brought to my attention that the mechanics simply "did not know how to hook the mirror up," therefore it has still not been installed properly.

When I purchased a used car from an automobile dealer I should not have had to replace a tire, battery in the remote fixed. Also the recall should have been fixed before the car was sold.

I have emailed the dealership without a reply from the people in charge of the dealership.

Desired Settlement
A working auto dimming mirror and a refund for the tire I had to purchase/


Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to investigate. We had an appointment with the customer today to look at the necessary repairs. The vehicle is currently in our service department.

08/04/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Warranty was changed, but I was not given information about new limited warranty coverage. 22 days after purchase and having electrical problems.
Tire pressure gauge came on 6/15. BAS, Brake, ABS and Traction lights all came on 6/22/14. I was informed by the dealership salesman that only the transmission, engine or axle would be covered. The only documentation given to me is a checked box for limited warranty, but no attached documents explaining what this warranty covered.

Desired Settlement
I want the company to fix this issue without charge along with the other issues: loud/squeaking brakes, passenger window, tire pressure gauge/light, and removable charger.

Business Response
My name is **** ******* sales manager at Crown Volvo. I am writing in regards to your Better Business Bureau compliant regarding a vehicle you purchased from us. I am sorry to hear that you are less than satisfied with the team here at Crown Volvo. We strive to provide excellent customer service during the vehicle purchase transaction and take pride and making our customers happy customers for life.

I have tried to reach out a few times to see what exactly is going and to find out what I can do to help, however I have not been able to reach you on the phone number I have and it states that your voicemail box is full. Please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX at your earliest convenience so that we can discuss the matter at hand and find the best way possible to resolve the matter. Thank you again for your business and I look forward to assisting any way possible.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/17/1999Business started: 10/01/1998
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael S. Kearney (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Marita Gregory Mr. J. L. Dagenhart (CFO) Jim Newsome Ms. Marianne Williams (General Manager)
Number of Employees

46

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

Crown Volvo offers automotive sales and services.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Crown Volvo has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Crown Volvo

3604 W Wendover Ave

Greensboro, NC 27407-1508

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3604 W Wendover Ave 

    Greensboro, NC 27407-1508(336) 852-0600
    (336) 851-3500
    Fax: (336) 834-7361

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central North Carolina/Greensboro. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Crown Volvo is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (336) 851-3500
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 2, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.