BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/18/2012

Making It Big, Inc.

Phone: (877) 644-1995Fax: (707) 795-4874View Additional Phone Numbers525 Portal St, CotatiCA 94931-3023View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers women plus size clothing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/18/2012

BBB has determined that Making It Big, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Making It Big, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Making It Big, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

After countless calls to this company I have yet to have my issue settled.
I purchased 16 pairs of underpants over the past 12 months. I contacted the company several times after my first purchase last year with no recourse. I found after laundering the under pant an unusual orange color appeared ( this happened to all the black underpants I initially purchased last year) I couldn't very well wear them with this discoloration and with no recourse from the company I wound up throwing them away. At $18.95 a pair this was cost prohibitive to say the least. Other than the discoloration issue I found the underwear to be of good quality "fit wise" so I decided to order another 8 pairs ( in black)this June for the cost of once again $18.95 a pair. Lo and behold the same thing happened there was an unusual orange color that surfaced after laundering. I attempted to call customer service several times and to date I didn't hear back. Once again I am left with a defective product and no recourse. Sadly I do not have my receipts for either purchase. Prior to my contacting your agency today I was finally able to reach a customer service representative. I explained my situation and was told nothing could be done with my earlier purchase from last year and as far as this year I would have to send the underwear back ( via UPS) and they would have to analyze it and that there would be an amount of time before they could get back to me. I offered to send pictures of the underwear in lieu of having to send all that I had back. I explained in doing so I wouldn't have any underwear at which point the customer service representative informed me there was nothing more they could do. Our conversation then ended. Sadly I am out over $300.00 (total purchases) from this company and now have several pieces of defective underwear. The label reads: MiB collection TM
Made in USA. 100% COTTON. The "i" on the label is in small cased lettering ( in light blue color) and the M & B are in upper case in the color of black. The word cotton is also in light blue. All 16 pairs of underpants that I bought from this company are black. I paid for all 16 items by credit card.

Desired Settlement
Please have the company provide with a replacement of the garment. If that can't be done I would like a 100% refund for both purchases made.

Business Response
At Making It Big, we pride ourselves on our outstanding Customer Service. We respond to all customer contacts within 24 hours and resolve any and all issues with customer's best interest in mind. **** called us on 7/31/15 in regards to 2 purchases. One of which she made on July 14th of 2014 for 6 pairs of underwear and the other more recent purchase on 6/3/2015 for 8 pairs of underwear, 14 total. She stated that her order of 6 black underwear from over a year ago had orange coloring to them and that the ones she recently purchased had the same issue. This was the first time we had heard from **** in regards to either order.

Our return policy is very clearly outlined; we accept returns within 90 days for a refund and outside of 90 days for a credit on file. Returns must be in first quality condition. If there is a quality issue of some sort, we will happily accept the garment back, in or out of the 90 day range, even if it had been washed or worn. We inspect all garments upon receipt to deem what the quality issue may be.

We offered to have **** send back the underwear from the most recent order (we were not going to ask she send back undies that she had been wearing for over a year) for inspection, to which she refused because "she wears them". Without inspecting the garments, we are unable to verify if there is a problem.

Our underwear is one of our absolute best sellers and we have never heard from any of our customers of any discoloration after washing. We tested washing a pair here, according to our wash instructions, and the underwear came out without any discoloration.

We would like to again, offer **** to send back a pair of the discolored underwear so we may try to resolve this situation for her.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is unreasonable for this company to expect me to send them the garments in question (as I would not have any in my possession.) I left a few messages prior to actually speaking with a customer service representative and was never called back. (Hardly quality customer service if you ask me.) I happened to look up their reviews and found other customers did have issues with the garments discoloring after washing them so I am not the only one reporting this. I never complained about the fit of the garment (which happens to be of good quality) only the "discoloration" issue. I would like to receive a replacement of the garments in question ,not a credit that I can use on a future purchase. I can't afford to purchase additional items and have the same thing happen once again.( as this has happened to me twice already) I am hopeful the company will send me replacement garments and we can resolve this issue accordingly. If this can't be arranged then I will seek legal counsel in this matter and the next correspondence will be from my attorney.

**** ******

Final Business Response
As we stated in our previous response, we must inspect an item in order to determine if there is a quality issue. It is clear the **** is unwilling to send one of the undies back and therefore it sounds like we are unfortunately unable to reach a resolution.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't have the financial means to send back the merchandise in question. I can send a picture of the defective garment if acceptable by this company. If they are unable to accept this method/means of showing/proving that their merchandise is defective then there is little I can do on my end. If there is no favorable resolution then I will go to social media for support and share my negative experience with my Weight Watchers and NAFA online Support Group's in addition to waiting to see what Legal Aid can do for me.
Thank you

Industry Comparison| Chart

Womens Apparel - Retail

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 07/14/2006Business started: 06/04/1998
Type of Entity


Incorporated: December 2002, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tracy Amiral (President/CEO)Ms. Erika Ramsey (Customer Service Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Womens Apparel - Retail

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Making It Big, Inc.

525 Portal St

Cotati, CA 94931-3023

To | From


1 Locations

  • 525 Portal St 

    Cotati, CA 94931-3023(707) 795-3386
    (877) 644-1995
    Fax: (707) 795-4874
    Fax: (707) 795-4874

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Making It Big, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (707) 795-3386

Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Womens Apparel - Retail


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.