BBB Accredited Business since

J J Buckley Fine Wines

Additional Locations

Phone: (510) 632-5300 Fax: (510) 632-5400 View Additional Phone Numbers 7305 Edgewater Dr STE D, Oakland, CA 94621 http://www.jjbuckley.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a wine retailer offering online and mail orders.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J J Buckley Fine Wines meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J J Buckley Fine Wines include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J J Buckley Fine Wines
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 20, 2007 Business started: 05/18/2000 Business started locally: 05/18/2000 Business incorporated 10/12/2005 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control
1515 Clay St Ste 2208, Oakland CA 94612
http://www.abc.ca.gov/datport/LQSLicQuery.html?
Phone Number: (510) 622-4970
cust.serv@abc.ca.gov
The number is 506983.

California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control
1515 Clay St Ste 2208, Oakland CA 94612
http://www.abc.ca.gov/datport/LQSLicQuery.html?
Phone Number: (510) 622-4970
cust.serv@abc.ca.gov
The number is 506980.

California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control
1515 Clay St Ste 2208, Oakland CA 94612
http://www.abc.ca.gov/datport/LQSLicQuery.html?
Phone Number: (510) 622-4970
cust.serv@abc.ca.gov
The number is 506218.

California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control
1515 Clay St Ste 2208, Oakland CA 94612
http://www.abc.ca.gov/datport/LQSLicQuery.html?
Phone Number: (510) 622-4970
cust.serv@abc.ca.gov
The number is 524843.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Cindy Allen, Office Manager Mr. Pierre Bernier, COO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cindy Allen, Office Manager
Number of Employees

49

Business Category

Wines - Retail

Service Area
This business service area covers: New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, Houston, Philadelphia, Phoenix, San Antonio, San Diego, Dallas, San Jose, Jacksonville, Indianapolis, San Francisco, Austin, Columbus, Fort Worth, Charlotte, Detroit, El Paso, Memphis.
Alternate Business Names
J.J. Buckley, LLC WINECOMMUNE.COM

Additional Locations

  • 7305 Edgewater Dr STE D

    Oakland, CA 94621 (510) 632-5300 (510) 257-2652

  • 7307 Edgewater Dr STE F

    Oakland, CA 94621

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: False advertisement of their product and failure to process an order for the original price. On Sept. 8,2015, I received an offer from **********, a rep at JJ Buckley to purchase wine- 2012 Le Pupile Saffredi, 750 ml for $78.00 per bottle. On Sept. 9th at 8:18am, I emailed ********** and requested two bottles. At 12:03pm on the 9th, I received a response back from ***** which stated they were "sold" out. Also on the 9th, ***** emailed me at 6:50pm and said they had received more of the same wine which I first requested but that the price had changed to $89.94 I was surprised to hear that they changed the price on my original order and requested that he honor my order. He emailed me back and told me he could not process my order because of new pricing which was put in place after my original order. I emailed the manager- ***** ***** who told me that the owner refused to honor my order and would only do so If I paid the additional cost.

Desired Settlement: I would like ********** to honor all advertised prices to their clients and sell to me the above mentioned two bottles for the original price. I am requesting that the owner be informed of false advertisement and change their policy of raises prices of their advertised products.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ***********, Director OPS Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@*********.com The complaint is unwarranted as we had a sale of wine with limited quantities. Our offer stated only 3cases (36btls) at the sale price. It sold out instantly on the same day. This customer did not respond to the offer until the next day. When we procured more of the wine it was at a higher cost than our first sale. Thus, the new sale price was a bit higher than the first batch that was offered. This happens from time to time in any business. We politely explained and the customer was still upset he could not get the first sale price. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Once again, ** ******* has found an excuse for arbitrarily raising their prices without proper communication to their customers. I placed my order the next morning and was inform that they has sold out. I was told they were trying to acquire more bottles but was not told of a pending increase in price. ** ******* needs to be more transparent and openly communicate potential price changes. My request and challenge to ** *******, in order to end this dispute, is for them to make a policy change which will openly communicate a potential price increase once the original offer has "sold out". Any business must maintain integrity and fairness if they want to keep their loyal customers happy and buying their product. Thank you, ***** ******* Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/10/20) */ Again, we offer special pricing daily on specific amounts of wines. In this case, we only had 36 bottles available at the sale price that the customer was emailed about. We stated "limited quantities" and the customer took over a day to respond to the sale offer. The 36btls sold very quickly and we were not able to procure more at that specific sale price. We are able to get more at a slightly higher price which this customer is unwilling to pay for. The lower price was only available on 36btls total and that was disclosed within the email sale we sent.

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had placed following 3 orders for wine (#XXXXXX, #XXXXXX, #XXXXXX). Neither I received my wine nor a refund of $964.80 that I was charged I had ordered 12 bottles of wine in total which were through the following 3 orders: Order #XXXXXX placed on Oct 31, 2012 for $275.00 Order #XXXXXX placed on Nov 13, 2012 for $264.00 Order #XXXXXX placed on Nov 19, 2012 for $392.88 In addition, $32.92 was charged for shipping by JJ Buckley JJ Buckley provides free storage of wine bought from them, so I had asked JJ Buckley to keep the wine in storage until I was ready to get it shipped. I contacted JJ Buckley's customer representative: ****** ********* on Oct 29, 2013 to get my wine shipped. After multiple follow-ups, I was told on Nov 26, 2013 that the wine that I had paid for more than 1 year back was not in stock and they won't substitute my order with comparable merchandise and hence would refund my money. Since I had no other option to resolve the issue, I asked JJ Buckley's Customer Operation's Manager: ************ to refund me my money on Nov 27, 2013. It has been more than 33 days and I still have not got my money back. I have send multiple emails to **** ******** and have also tried to escalate the issue to the Director of Operations: **** ******* by leaving him couple of voice mails but nobody has returned back my calls, nor I have got any refund checks. It clearly looks like JJ Buckley has no intentions to refund my money which they charged promptly more than a year ago. I feel cheated and have been given a run around by JJ Buckley. Hence I request the concerned authorities to take action against JJ Buckley and help me in getting my refund promptly. JJ Buckley should also compensate me for all the trouble, time spent and mental fatigue that I have to go through to get the issue resolved. I would also request the authorities to take appropriate action against JJ Buckley so that no other customer goes through the same trauma that I am going through.

Desired Settlement: I request the concerned authorities to take action against JJ Buckley and help me in getting my refund of $964.80 promptly. JJ Buckley should also compensate me for all the trouble, time spent and mental fatigue that I have to go through to get the issue resolved.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/02/14) */ I understand we failed to respond to this complaint on BBB within a timely manner, but please note the customer was sent the entire refund amount of $964.80 before his complaint was filed to the BBB on January 2nd. The check was issued and sent on December 31st.

1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: JJB has failed to initiate shipment (after several attempts from me over weeks) of wine bottles I fully paid for (worth $8K) & they confirmed in stock I have been trying to get JJ Buckley to ship the wines (this complaint is specific to my purchases of 2010 Bordeaux 'futures') I fully paid for and they confirmed are in stock for weeks. It's been a very frustrating process, partly due to the fact that I've been kept in the dark in terms of the status of when my wines had arrived but also due to excuses that the delays are caused by their transition to a new inventory management system of some sort. Such issue might explain a delay in 'days' but not 'weeks' so I honestly have found myself with no choice other than to file a formal complaint and try to get a consumer protection agency like the BBB to get involved so the wines are shipped for once and for all. I even went as far as escalating the issue to the Director of Sales & Marketing and the CEO of JJB but, unfortunately, JJB keeps making promises that their shipping department will be in touch with me shortly but I have yet to hear from them...

Desired Settlement: All I want is to get JJB to finally ship the wines I already paid for and they have confirmed to have in stock. I want nothing else from them, as I will likely never buy again from them given the poor level of customer service they unfortunately appear to have.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on J J Buckley Fine Wines
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)