This business is not BBB accredited.

Smart Body Institute

Additional Locations

Phone: (925) 737-0251 248 3rd St # 641, Oakland, CA 94607 http://www.smartbodyinstitute.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers hypnosis and coaching services for weight loss, smoking and stress.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Smart Body Institute include:

  • Failure to respond to 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Smart Body Institute include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Smart Body Institute
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 28, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1987 Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated 02/13/2009 in CA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Cynthia J. Porter, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cynthia J. Porter, Owner
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Weight Control Services

Service Area
This business service area covers the Pleasanton area.
Alternate Business Names
East Bay Health, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    248 3rd St # 641

    Oakland, CA 94607

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5820 Stoneridge Mall Rd. Ste 101

    Pleasanton, CA 94588

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company advertised "FDA approved Guaranteed" procedure. I paid $2,000. Not effective. No routine appt. available. Requested refund phone & letter. Positive Changes advertised on KRON television station a procedure that melted fat cells permanently. I paid $2,000.00 with American Express for the Lipo Laser Spot Reduction Treatment on 2/8/13 for a specific target area. I was told after the first treatment that I had lost 1-2 inches already and that I was a "good candidate" It was recommended that treatments be scheduled routinely but they were frequently unavailable. I measured myself and did not see a reduction and mentioned it to the technician. There was never any review of my progress as stated in the contract so I continued to measure myself. There was absolutely no reduction in the target area and appointments were next to impossible to schedule. By July I became frustrated and decided not to continue. I started making making monthly telephone calls to request a refund but no one ever returned my call. I then wrote a letter 4/23/14 requesting a refund but still no response from the company.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a full refund of $2,000.00 credited to my AMEX.

5/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I already paid $2000 to them. I don't see any result. I been leaving a message to them never got any call back . Where they moved. They r such a lier. I paid $2000 already not done with my appoint. Yet. They never follow up , I don't know where they moved, I been leaving them a message . I don't see any result on my body. I been calling them leaving a message never call me back .. So disappointed from them. I been searching online . I found this today . I really need a help . Or my money back please. I don't know where to call & find them. Everyday I call & leaving the message to them . So so disappointed . Please help me . It's my $2000 to get back from them. Please thank you ! Or please call me. I worked so hard to pay this much money yo them.

Desired Settlement: Just return my money back to me.

5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/1/2013 I called to inquire about the advertised free lipo laser services of Positive Change services. Although the initial services were advertised as free, I was told that I could not book the free session without posting money, first. After a 1 hour discussion on the phone with a PC staff and the promise of a refund, if not satisfied, I provide my Wells Fargo info $1900. An appt was set for early March (I think it was 3/4/13), of which I attended. After the free lipo laser session, I did not feel good and quite shaken from the machine that is used after the lipo like treatment. Thus, I informed PC staff that I did not feel the services were right for me. Of course, the salesperson (*****) called in a male PC person (***** I think) who had answers for everything and they modified the services that I would receive, of which included hypnotherapy. I had 2 hypnosis sessions, but they were out of the promised Geneses equipment, that was suppose to allow me to listen to the sessions daily. Thus, I from the first and second session without the alleged proper equipment, with the promise that it had been ordered; however, I never received it; thus, the hypnosis was not effective. I was never given provided with the equipment during either time and when I came in for the personal session on 3/9/13, which should have occurred on 3/4/13, I was given the Our Guarantee paper that ***** should have initially provided, that stipulated that could cancel with a refund after the 2nd session, instead of the first session because I did not timely receive this document. The No-Risk Guarantee was provided by ****** on 3/9/13. The No-Risk guaranteed was modified to be in effect after this 2nd Session, After 3/9/13, I did receive any support, by phone or mail and also never received the Genesis equipment either. I continued to find that the hypnosis, as it was, was not helping me. Thus, I sent letter 1 Refund Request on 9/19/13 and letter 2 request on 10/7/13. I was finally contacted b Product_Or_Service: Light Lipo Program Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXX - Invoice Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXX - Invoice

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I feel that I am entitled to the full refund for all the reasons noted in my complaint and the fact that Positive Changes has deprived me of interest and the use of my money for 4 months.

5/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to complete service according to contract. Was not notified of any changes and that facility would be closing. Complaint against: Positive Changes/Smart Body Institute License Number: unknown Address: **** ********** **** ***** *** City: ********** State: ** ZIP Code: XXXXX Phone Number: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Person dealt with: Supervisor (Positive Changes) Email Address: unknowwn Complaint: After watching an infomercial on KRON4 TV in March 2013 for Positive Changes, I decided to join the program for Lipo Laser treatment on April 11, 2013. I signed up for Fourteen Sessions at $2800.00, which include exercise machine and sauna. They also offered additional sessions if I was not satisfied with my goal or the program. I was able to attend 4-sessions. In May 2013 I told them that my Doctor had me scheduled me for foot surgery in June 2013 and that I would not be able to attend for several months until I recovered. From August through November 2013 I tried contact the clinic and no one would return my calls. In November I finally spoke to a person in their office who transferred me to a Supervisor. I was told then that their name had change to "Smart Body Institute". I told them that I had a contract with Positive Changes and wanted to know what was going to happen with my contract. They assured me that everything was still good and that there was a change in personnel. They told me that they would honor my contract and for me to call them back in January 2014 to restart my program because they were doing some things with their office and staff. In January 2014 I called Smart Body Institute (Positive Changes) back and the number answers as Smart Body Institute put then carries over to Comcast Complaint Department. In February I went decided to go to the facility in hopes of talking with someone in person but the facility was closed. I called Positive Changes Headquarters and was told me that were not affiliated with that facility and that as far as they knew that facility had closed in May 2013. I asked if there was any other facilities in California and was told no. On February 26th, 2013 I contacted Positive Changes Headquarters in **** and spoke with their Supervisor ***** ***** (XXX-XXX-XXXX) who told me that they could not help me because they only sell their Franchise Name and have no control on how the business is run. I'd like to know why if Headquarters knew they were closing allowed them to sign new clients. Also, when a local TV (KRON4) station advertises a product, consumers automatically assume they are dealing with a reputable business. How can something like this happen? Is there any type of recourse for getting my money back? Date of Purchase/Incident: 04/11/2013 Requested Resolution: Refund my $2800.00 Supporting Documents: I have contract and invoice Previous Complaint: No

Desired Settlement: Requested Resolution: Refund my $2800.00 Supporting Documents: I have contract and invoice. I was also told they would be opening a facility within a month after i joined in ************ so that I would not have to commute so far. I would like to be compensated for my commute back and forth because they failed to open a facility as they promised.

5/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Smart Body Institute
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)