This business is not BBB accredited.

ZipBoss, Inc.

  http://www.zipboss.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers web designing online.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ZipBoss, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on ZipBoss, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 11, 2013 Business started: 05/23/2011 Business started locally: 05/23/2011 Business incorporated 05/23/2011 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kieran Guller, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kieran Guller, CEO
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

Web Design

Service Area
This business service area covers: Nationwide

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    San Ramon, CA 94583

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Zipboss committed to delivering services to build a custom website for Genderis Inc. (my company) in late 2013 for the price of $6500 and to be delivered the second week of January 2014. The solution was originally to be comprised of a Shopify (ecommerce platform) front end web service, while hooking into Zipboss service that would provide/surface data to the front end. We have several emails (can provide those later) with commitment from both parties on price and delivery date. I originally paid them 1500 to start the project and bought a web template from Shopify to start the project for $180. After the project was already late (not delivered mid-January), they contacted me mentioning they had to switch platforms to the Zipboss service (a proprietary platform they own) because they just realized (after having plenty of time to review the solution and being supposedly Shopify experts) that the way they suggested architecting the solution would not work....with that they suggested building the entire solution on Zipboss platform. I agreed but agreed only if the platform was very much like Shopify, had an available API reference where I could have other developers (beyond Zipboss employees) perform development and if pricing for similar Shopify service stayed the same. There were also several promises that the solution could be completed much quicker by switching to the zipboss platform. Also after running into this it was then they sent me website contract but after reviewing the contract, it was heavily written in their favor basically stating they owned the code, the IP, everything that I had architected but that I was simply contracting them to build for. To keep this email simple, the project did not get delivered until roughly September of 2014, was 8 months late and with several unresolved issues. Keep in mind there were no net new changes requested from my side, several things that were put in were broken, untested and not working the original way of which was intended and many of those same several things are still not fixed which also contradicts the $29 monthly service fee that I am paying now Needless to say this whole arrangement with Zipboss has turned into a negative situation. They gave me the original completion date and roughly 14+ subsequent completion dates that they could never deliver to. Oh and the API documentation that they promised to deliver time and time again to support other developers developing in the zipboss environment was also never supplied as mentioned by the owner. Zipboss has a theme of overpromise, under deliver and bait and switch tactics. I had a secondary phase queued up to add modifications and ultimately chose a different developer however when just recently asking for the API documentation, they told me its still unavailable....I chose the Zipboss platform base on several discussions and agreed upon work which I know now was the wrong choice to do with ZipBoss. Although they told me other developers can develop on their platform, without access or documentation to the zipboss API (what the zipboss employees coded the solution in), that contradicts even using developers in their platform. Since today they came back and mentioned not having available API documentation available, I have to switch both platforms and developer altogether....I am completely burnt working with these guys and have been led to believe many things of which I both have proof of in several email conversations and beyond. I paid them the remainder of the 5000 around june of 2014 of which they said they would fix a majority of the issues that have and were never fixed. Again even after I paid them they said the fixes would be done within 2 weeks and the ones that were delivered were not finished until 3 months later.

Desired Settlement: I cannot stay on the Zipboss platform any longer, its been a nightmare and requesting that the $5000 of what was paid be returned given I have to have a very large majority of code rewritten and stabilized by another company in a new environment of which has already cost me a large majority of time and stress dealing with a company who has failed to commit/deliver. I have all emails confirming agree upon price and time and can also provide string of emails around other commitments never delivered as well. In my day job as a customer success manager, I have tried every effort to make things work but not having the API documentation available nor still having fixed several of the broken things is unacceptable. I asked them to build a car and provided a good schematic to build a car from, the gave me a car with an engine that barely starts, door knobs hanging off, faulty wiring, flat tires and beyond....These guys are shady!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/04/22) */ Received response via email: 04/22/15 Re: Response to BBB Complaint # 57316713 **** ******* To Whom It May Concern: My name is **** ****** and I am the Project Director here at ZipBoss, the company that Mr. ******* has filed a formal complaint against with your distinguished firm, the Better Business Bureau. I served as the main point of contact for Mr. ******* during his project with us. The first point that I'd like to make is in regards to what **** has received from us. We provided **** with an end product that is fully capable of functioning on the ZipBoss platform or on any other platform of his choosing. Our websites use industry-standard html, css, and javascript code. Mr. ******* requested to keep his website from going into a 'Live' status, meaning visible to the public, until he was able to secure funding to support the subscription and hosting fees that he would need to pay for once he decided to turn the website live. He then put us in competition with other development firms for his project's second phase and decided to go with another developer on his own accord. **** was never forced away from our platform. In fact, we provided him multiple estimates for varying degrees of scope requirements in a good-faith attempt to keep his business. Mr. ******* has not provided an accurate depiction of our relationship with him in this complaint against us with the BBB. ZipBoss' standard policies and procedure as a custom development platform and firm is that we provide custom website solutions based on a specified set of requirements which are determined before a project commences. In the case of Mr. *******, we followed our standard business practice of determining his requirements for his website and then build to those specified requirements. **** claims that his analogy of a car is valid in this scenario when it absolutely is not. Building a custom website is far from "purchasing a car that should come with a steering wheel" as Mr. ******* would lead you to believe. I'd caution the reader of this response that a website does not just come with features without them being discussed and agreed upon by both parties. Usually web development firms provide their customers with a list of standard features that they can expect to have available, and we are no different as we use a design phase to gather those requirements into a centralized document which is then approved by our customers before we build their website. For example, Shopify is a well-known platform that caters to e-Commerce businesses and hosts around 200,000 e-Commerce websites. Shopify provides for the ability to set up your own payment gateway as a standard feature within its templates. ZipBoss, on the other hand, is a 'custom' development shop. We provide verbiage in our contracts that let's our customers know that custom development is different from template-based development, and that timelines and cost estimates are subject to change due to the very nature of the custom development process. In fact, this is so well known in the development community that we provide multiple links within our project agreements to external articles explaining the difficulties that present themselves during a custom project such as Mr. *******' website project. I have included a couple of those links that detail the shared risk model below: Overview http://www.vestedway.com/what-is-vested/ Complete library http://www.vestedway.com/vested-library/ In the above scenario, if **** needed a payment gateway he would have needed to define not only that need but also work with us on how his payment gateway would function with his user interface. Not every customer requires a payment gateway so we rely upon defining a set of requirements. Mr. ******* entered an agreement with us to share the risk of this type of project by signing our Project Agreement document. He is now attempting to give us a bad name because he is unable to work within the boundaries of an agreement that he approved and signed. Secondly, Mr. ******* claims that we agreed that the project would be completed by January of 2014 for $6,500. The timeline on this is not correct, as Mr. ******* had not even signed the Agreement to finalize his requirements as of April, 2014. In our original discussions at the end of 2013 when he first came to us to build his website, we may have discussed a short timeframe, however this was never agreed to on a legal basis. Through our due diligence, we found several flaws or requirements that were missing entirely in his initial set of requirements from a technical perspective that we needed to address in the effort to provide Mr. *******, as our client, with a website that not only gave him the features he wanted, but could actually be built from a practical perspective. Again, if I were to use his 'car analogy' he came to us with blueprints for a salvaged Ford Pinto, so we needed to provide him with something drivable, and that took time. **** even provided us with additional time in March and April, which he fails to mention in his complaint to you. Mr. *******' expectation that we should have completed a website for him without advising him on improvements or creating a viable solution for him before he was able to provide us with a full set of requirements and before signing a legal contract finalizing those details is not a solid basis for his allegations that we did not meet timelines. The initial timeline was compromised, but it was not due to our inability to deliver the website to him. Rather, it was due to his inability to provide us with a full set of requirements and our professionalism as a firm in providing Mr. ******* with a complete website solution. In closing, we turned Mr. *******' broad idea for a website into a viable and tangible solution for only $6,500! If you go to our publically published pricing page at www.zipboss.com/pricing you will see that his project would have had a cost close to $30,000. At the end of the day, he received a fully functional website that captured all of the requirements we provided him above and beyond his initial requests for 20% of the standard cost. **** was given this discounted price with the expectation that he would be a beta tester for our platform and that he would work with us to share the custom development risks, which he clearly has not done as he's filed this complaint with you to pin us to unreasonable timelines. I am happy to provide specific emails and/or documentation to validate my above claims upon request. At ZipBoss we pride ourselves on providing our customers with a world-class web platform and development services, as well as courteous and timely customer support. I hope that you will find this claim from Mr. ******* to be as erroneous as I do. Please let me know how I can help in your investigation, and thank you for your attention and consideration in this matter. Thanks, **** ****** ZipBoss Project Director (XXX) XXX-XXXX ****@zipboss.com www.zipboss.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/04/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Zipboss's (ZB) response to my claim is almost exactly how they communicate their delivery timelines...unreliable, untrustworthy and anything but the truth. ZB knows and agreed they were massively late delivering this project ZB knows that what was delivered still has uncorrected issues/bugs ZB knows they made commitment to delivering API documentation to support external developers ZB knows they are wrong! To call out the high level points... The fully functional product mentioned delivered was not fully delivered nor was it fully functional nor can it function on any other platform of my choosing. In fact they agreed that several things in the requirements from the start were missed and wanted to push all those requirements into a phase 2 build. These are heavily documented and communicated and can be provided in arbitration hearing later Live Status - the site is not in live status because the site/solution it is not dependable, fixed, or suitable for even a pilot launch, this is the reason the site is not LIVE/Public other than the Landing page Not even sure where **** derived the notion of not keeping the site live because I did not have the funding for subscription or hosting fees. Second Phase Bidding - I have every right as a business to assess different vendors to do development or service work for my business. ZB cannot and has no authorization to dictate this. ZB further as part of the lure to get me on their platform, discussed having API documentation in place to support other developers. How ****'s response is read is concerning and points to the fact why ZB never delivered API documentation to support other developers as delivering that documentation would detract from their ability to monetize on their platform. They have no other external development firms now working on their platform. Forced off platform - correct I was never forced off the platform by ZB directly because I am paying them monthly service fees (to ZB) BUT I am also tied, in some regards hostage to the fact that I could not use the present solution on any other platform so had to remain until I 1. Built back enough funds to take on another Phase with ZB (scary since original work is full of bugs and delays) 2. Find a different developer (which I did). I was finally forced to leave as a result of ZB's own actions. Owner of ZB committed to providing API documentation to support external developers and by ZB not upholding their own commitment to deliver is why I am departing. ****'s response on 3/7/2015 was "Hi ****, I've touched base with ****** regarding the API Documentation, and unfortunately we will not have API document to provide you at this time. Feel Free to make your alternative arrangements as necessary" The Second paragraph **** highlights with regard to the policies and practices used is false and does not represent the experience nor the communication I had with any ZB representative. In fact it is grossly non-representative on several points... o I provided ZB with a set of requirements and have several emails that confirm that o The design phase to capture requirements that **** mentions was not put into place by ZB until October/November 2014, one year after I had started my project with them o I gave ZB specific requirements to build something Approved and Signed agreement - there are many things of this project that were approved and agreed on both sides in email however I never signed the actual agreement AND below is why and/or can be discussed during arbitration hearing where further evidence can be illustrated. Much of ****'s reply here is making an attempt to show things that were only put into place WAY after we started the project. The WPA they sent me in Late January, after the project was to already be delivered was also flawed in many aspects. I can cover that in arbitration due to limitation on response space here Regarding ****'s Payment Gateway mention. This was all provided and discussed with ****** ******, ZB's owner before **** ever came onboard. ZB was provided with the requirements of the project, diagrams, correspondence and several other materials to support both providing estimates, timelines and understanding of what needed to be delivered. There are complete emails to support this Timeline. I have emails from ZB representation where they agreement upon delivery was January 13th, 2014 for 6500, In fact I am looking at that email sent by ***** ******** dated 11/19/2013 @ 1:26 PM that reads... "Hello ****, Thanks for being patient ****, we have a rush of projects people are trying to squeeze in before the holidays. We have an estimate of $6,500 + $29/month prepared for you at Genderis with the build deliverable on 12/20 and final delivery on 1/13/14..." Zipboss "Due Diligence" - really, this statement is quite the stretch - the requirements were delivered to ZB and ZB's owner responded as such. Given I first started engaging with them back in September 2013 and we still had a bug prone application in to this date does not show due diligence. Response from ZB's owner ****** ****** on 10/18/2013 regarding the documentation and requirements - "We'll take a phew passes ** truly understand every semantic and detail, but the documentation is extremely clear with great material to perfect the process from." So for them to state that I did not give them clear requirements in their response is again untruthful. An additional email directly from ****** on 10/18/2013 "Hi ****, We're going through the requirements today, documentation is fantastic! Thanks,******" The additional timeframe - **** mentions providing them with an additional timeframe of March and April - like I had a choice? They had barely started the site at that point but even with that additional time, they could still not deliver on their stated delivery dates Lastly, ****s appeal that they turned my broad idea into something is interesting how they are taking credit for my vision and architecture...everything developed was based on my design and architecture with the exception of a few pieces. As an architect, I hired them to build the work I designed that they in turn agreed to do for the cost of $6500 by 1/14/2014. To throw out a number of 30K is a bit ridiculous. There was not one mention of 30K and I have all pricing correspondence around this project. Conversely my delays at getting this solution to market have cost me far more than 30K Discounted Price? I queried every email exchange I had with ZB and there is not one mention of discounting services preformed to me for being a beta tester. The term "discount" comes up in emails relating to the payment processor options that **** earlier mentioned we did not discuss but not mentioned once relating to project pricing. Overall I am dismayed to go this route. It's a drain of time and energy for both parties to go through either arbitration or litigation. In phone calls with **** directly and in his own words they failed on points of communication, meeting delivery times, upholding commitments and also agreeing that their team has a habit of starting new projects before ever finishing other ones completely. it is in part my fault for trying to believe in them to this point and make something happen. What I thought was a professional company has turned out novice in business maturity and unreliable where I can no longer base the success of my business on their repeated errors, lack of delivery or commitments or instability of their practices. Here is what I am willing to do.... 1. On the premise of just ending this and moving on for both parties, I will concede to reducing the amount I am requesting back to less than half the cost of what was paid to ZB, in other words of the 6,500 paid, return 3,000 and I will write the rest off as a long lesson learned and 2. I will cease any other complaints to Shopify informing them of ZB's nefarious business tactics (ZB platform is essentially a replica of the Shopify platform). ZB aligns themselves with Shopify as a provider then recommends their platform when picked by a Shopify customers as being better and more extensible luring Shopify customers away and creating a dependency on their platform. In summary, I will cease submitting ratings and other formal complaints that have already started occurring with Senior Shopify representatives 3. NDA aside, I will discard taking any legal action for recovery of payments and undelivered or unfixed functionality I believe the above proposal to close this off is fair for both parties additionally acting as a check and balance to Zipboss (ZB) to fix their practices so no other consumers go through this negative experience. Without a check/penalty to Zipboss, they will continue irresponsible business and development practices where even more consumers are negatively impacted. Again as with everything in this email, I have an entire audit history to support my claim and to re Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/04/30) */ 2nd Response: Complaint ****************************************) **** ******* 04/30/15 To Whom It May Concern: Based on Mr. *******' continued combative and slanderous responses, it is not practical for me to respond item-by-item. We have made every reasonable attempt to work with Mr. ******* to come to an equitable resolution prior to his filing a formal complaint with the BBB. Here is the last offer we provided him on 03/25/15 before he chose to take his project in a different direction on his own accord. You will see that we made every reasonable attempt to provide him with the items he claims we are holding hostage from him. Our proposal provides for the following: 1. An estimate for the second phase of custom development work: Build Costs - $9,998 Monthly Subscription Fees - $247 per month This estimate is provided based on our published pricing sheet found at http://www.zipboss.com/pricing after my review of his Phase 2 requirements document. The price points include custom development costs (Build Costs), monthly website hosting, ongoing API maintenance for multiple 3rd party applications, accounts, geo-spatial locations engine, and subscription tracking. 2. Free upgrade to the latest ZipBoss platform, including enhanced administrative controls, lower maintenance costs, and other benefits. 3. Full set of API documentation for the ZipBoss platform. Furthermore, Mr. ******* did not express this level of displeasure with the first phase of his project. In an email he sent to us dated 11/17/14 discussing his plans to move forward with ZipBoss he states "I think for the most part what we have now is a good foundation built and this Phase 2 is more or less a lot of tweaking, fine-tuning and a few feature enhancements.". This shows that he was in fact satisfied with the finished product he received from Phase 1. He ends the email by saying "As always, thanks for your support...". Additionally, Mr. ******* started planning his move from our platform back in November, 2014. In an email dated 11/19/14 he states his interest in shopping around his Phase 2 project to different developers stating, "I have 2 other RFP's out right now as well". Even in the face of having our project estimate shopped around for a better rate and underpinning our client/vendor relationship, we still provided him with the proposal I presented earlier in this response. On 11/20/14 **** states, "Thanks ****, appreciate the detailed explanation and can also appreciate the effort that will go into this." Showing once again that he was not unsatisfied with our previous work, but only looking forward to Phase 2 in a positive tone. He continues to show his interest in shopping around to other developers by saying "Going to give another week for others to do their due diligence and get back to me with their quote and estimates.". It was only after he chose to move forward with another company for Phase 2 that he became irate and subsequently filed an attempt to recover Phase 1 costs. He knew what the implications of moving platforms were and chose to do so anyway. I fully understand and appreciate your desire to bring Mr. ******* and ZipBoss to a middle-ground resolution, and we have attempted to do this to the full extent that we can offer. Mr. ******* issued his refusal to work with us on 03/30/15. Since then we have cancelled his payment and our ties have been cut on his directive. Phase 1 was delivered satisfactorily, all parties involved moved forward to Phase 2, and **** decided to incur the costs of switching platforms rather than agree to our proposal to provide him with everything he requested. Please let me know how I can be of further assistance in this matter. Thanks, **** ****** ZipBoss Project Director (XXX) XXX-XXXX ****@zipboss.com www.zipboss.com Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2015/05/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It has become obvious that Zipboss is unwilling to come to a middle ground through BBB/arbitration. We have given them every opportunity to resolve this outside of court and unfortunately have not come to resolution. My every intention initially was to stay with Zipboss however again, it was through their failure of their own commitments that ultimately resulted in my departure and this claim. I will accept fault where there is fault however in this case there is marginal on the business side. Boiling this whole claim down, Zipboss made agreement to deliver a project for a price and by a certain date with several commitments that was not done. There was no additional project scope added and there were several commitments made that were not delivered. Further, Zipboss' offer for an additional phase of development offer carries no weight. To accept an employee telling you they will be on-time when they have had a history of being continuously late is unrealistic, thus for Zipboss to make an offer in the face of being continuously late is to say that I will continue accepting that employee being late. As a business, I have no time to keep writing free checks and holding people who are supposed to be services professional to their commitments. Regarding what was delivered...was there some good work done? yes...but should a business have to wait one full year to get something that should only take one to two months, NO. Genderis Inc switched to Zipboss platform on commitment by ****** ****** Zipboss' owner to have API documentation in place to support other developers on their platform AND that their platform was stable AND that other developers would be able to develop my site against their platform. ****, Mr ****** was not there or in the picture at that time. 1. They did not deliver API documentation 2. without the API documentation this limits the ability for external developers to develop against work on my product The business is conversely not being combative and we have a full history of emails and correspondence to illustrate and substantiate our claim. The text that **** brings forth is again prior to the straw that broke the camels back, which was the text communicated and dated in the last BBB correspondence. Unfortunately, the BBB path will not appear to work in this case. Genderis Inc will take the recommendation of BBB in one final attempt to resolve as long as that recommendation is not another agreement to use their platform or them for services.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on ZipBoss, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)