This business is not BBB accredited.

Dezign with a Z

Phone: (877) 693-3944 View Additional Phone Numbers 850 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109 http://www.dezignwithaz.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers customized vinyl wall art decals and adhesives.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dezign with a Z include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dezign with a Z
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 29, 2009 Business started: 07/01/2007 Business started locally: 07/01/2007 Business incorporated 07/01/2007 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Board of Equalization
121 Spear St Ste 460, San Francisco CA 94105
www.boe.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 356-6600
The number is 101019031.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Florent LaVaud, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Florent LaVaud, President
Number of Employees

14

Business Category

Wallpapers & Wallcoverings - Retail

Service Area
This business service area covers the U.S.
Alternate Business Names
Wall Art Vinyl, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    850 Van Ness Ave

    San Francisco, CA 94109 (415) 441-1030 (877) 693-3944

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I didn't receive the product or a refund Order number XXXXXXX, date was December 18, 2014 product: 1x paradise quality wall mural (*******) = $53.00 plus ground shipping of $12.50

Desired Settlement: Refund of $65.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/12) */ Please find below our answer regarding case# XXXXXXXX Customer placed an order end of December She cancelled her order right away We were supposed to refund but with the end of the year rush refund was missed Please have the customer contact us so we can refund her for the full amount Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/02/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am seeking my refund In full, thanks. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/03/03) */ The customer placed an order on 12/18 and contacted us requesting to cancel the purchase the next day via phone. Since the item had not been manufactured yet, we cancelled the order and have refunded the full amount of $65.50 back to the client's original method of payment. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 21, 2015/03/08) */ I received my refund of $65.50 today March 6, 2015 from Dezign with a z. Thank you BBB.

12/15/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wrong product size! I sent them an e-mail with the correct sizes! The manufacturers obviously switched the height and width therefore the mirror cannot be displayed anywhere.

Desired Settlement: It would be greatly appreciated if the mirror could be remade to the right measurements.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/11/17) */ Customer has been ordering from us custom wall mirrors several time for us Last order placed was for a large scale mirror made to order. Customer received the proof with the clear mention of dimension WxH in inches as she did in the past She approved and we manufactured Customer received exactly what she approved Customer made a mistake in the dimensions she gave us and doesn t want to admit it Since it is a custom order and we did exactly what the customer approved we can t do anything about it Customer needs to reorder with the correct dimensions Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2014/11/24) */ To whom ever it may concern, I'm writing in regards to the previous email I reviewed claiming I 'don't won't to admit I made a mistake.' This is a very untrue statement. To clarify, when I sent the original email it contained the precise measurements of 13W by 10H. This was made very clear but due to reason unknown the H and W were switched. In previous orders I have placed, the measurements were re-described very clearly; 10h️ 13w️ However, in the approval letter they were simply shown as 10x13wxh. I apologise on my behalf as English is not my first language and I understood the 10x13wxh with the'13wxh' itself meaning 'width'. Again, it would have been much simpler if the H and W were shown exactly as they were in prior emails. It seems like a complete miscommunication by both parties and I hope we can come to a resolution. Thanks again for your time... Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/12/01) */ Customer is being just dealing in bad faith and being dishonest about the situation She provided us the dimensions We submitted to her approval a proof (attached) specifying the dimensions she provided us with the clear mentions of the width by heighth (proof attached can't be more clear!!! See for yourself!) Customer reviewed that proof and gave her approval We manufactured according to the proof with the right dimensions approved in the proof and customer received exactly what she approved for: a mirror of 120"x156" wxh !!!! In addition to that the customer has been approving 2 other mirror products with approved proof... so she perfectly knows the proceedings and how to work with us! Customer is trying to blame on us a mistake she did.

9/14/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wall Decals ordered damaged the walls by removing the paint, and decals ripped when removing. Decals are described as 100% removable. On July 21, I ordered (order XXXXXXX)X x My City Mobiles III sticker (Z-QUAD080) = $88.00 Size 33"x32" + $30.00 View Regular $0.00 via the company's website, paid by my American Express credit card. The order was received and applied to the walls following the directions included in the package. I tried to move one of the stickers as it did not lay out as I intended and as I peeled the sticker off, the paint from the wall was also removed. I immediately pulled off all the stickers and the paint was peeled off the walls be all 5 of the stickers and 2 of the 5 stickers ripped. The stickers are listed as 100% removable, but as you can see they also damaged our walls and ripped in half. Customer service was called on August 1st and an email was sent on August 3. The employee told us to send back the stickers and they would be happy to refund our money. My husband emailed pictures of the damaged walls and '***' replied that "all sales are final" and no refund would be issued, stating that "too many variables" could have caused the damage to the walls. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: American Express

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a full refund in the amount of $87.80 to be credited to my American Express card.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/18) */ Our decals are manufactured using a removable material. Which means that decals are not permanent and can be removed from the wall without creating damages or leaving residue. However we clearly mention on our website that people have to be careful while removing decals as it is clearly mentioned on our website: "If you want to remove a wall decal, simply peel it off gently by hand or use a blow dryer(set heat position). You can use the blow dry technique if the decal to remove is set on a very fragile surface or if you are really afraid to damage your surface.Dezign With a Z can not be held responsible for damages caused by an uncareful removal." Source: http://www.dezignwithaz.com/install-decal-i-31.html Everything is clearly mentioned on our website As the customer has fully used the products, products can't be returned for an exchange or an in store credit See policy: http://www.dezignwithaz.com/shipping-returns-i-12.html Customer is not dealing in good faith and placed a chargeback with American Express whereas they received the product and used it! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The removal was extremely careful. I was not ripping it off the walls. The product was not as described and I am extremely disappointed with the level of customer service and product provided. Will NEVER purchase from this company again and will discourage everyone I know from purchasing from this company. What ever happened to taking care of the customer. I have never tried to get something for free - and simply want my money refunded because the product failed miserably to hold up to it's description. I am sorry I even found this company's website. In the manager's original response via email - nothing was mentioned regarding removal technique. The response from the manager is as follows: "Unfortunately with paint there is no telling what different variables would lead to it peeling off. It could be because of the quality of the paint, primer, or any number of things. Also our decals are removable but not reusable so you can remove them from the wall but once removed they cannot be reused again I understand, regardless of paint brand used there are too many other variables that could have caused the issue. Unfortunately all sales are final, but I can replace the decals if you would like. Here is the link for removable decals: http://www.dezignwithaz.com/decals-reusable-q-3.html" If the decals are all listed as 100% removable, why would we have to purchase special "removable" decals from the link he provided? My husband took special care in peeling off the stickers as to NOT peel off any more paint. The decals were not as described and caused damage. We should be compensated a full refund. That is the right thing to do.

3/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: never got my online order they told me it will take up to two weeks to recieve refund. i ordered something from there website like normal. when i got it the was a open container. i called customer service they wanted me to take pictures. i did that and they told me they was going to request a refund it could take up to two weeks. its been longer than two weeks and i called back. they told me that they are waiting to hear from the post office and that they couldnt refund me until they get a refund from the post office. it doesnt sound fair to me. i ordered the product and they took it off my debit card fast just it get a empty box now i cant get my refund until they hear from someone else?

Desired Settlement: i just want my refund so i dont have to deal with this company again

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/18) */ Customer received ordered shipment Unfortunately the shipment was damaged by usps and usps lost the content of the package Customer contacted us. We offered to ship a replacement product immediately. Customer didn't wanted. Our online policy available on our website on our website offers in-store credit or exchange only (all products are custom made orders). Even though we didn't have to, according to our policy, we offered to refund the customer upon usps indemnification of the package. Customer will receive money from the insurance directly. We are complying with our online policy and currently assisting the customer in the insurance process A complaint with the BBB has no reason to be made as we are working on it! Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

3/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A "wall stick-up" product and the adhesive tape sold by this company damaged my call by tearing the textured wall away from the dry wall. I received the "Feather Wall Mirror" along with a few feet of double sided tape in order to write a blog review. The mirror arrived damaged and after hearing nothing back on getting a replacement, I decided to put the mirror up (with the provided tape) and after 6-8 weeks removed it to potentially put it on anther area on my wall. While removing it, I noticed some lifting and tried to use a hair dryer (as recommended on the Dezign with a Z website) to help it come off "cleaner". This did not work and I was left with a large hole in the spackle of my wall. You can see full images, details on whom I spoke with and also screenshots from the Dezign with a Z website detailing the TAPE they have since removed from their site on my blog, here: ***********************************************************

Desired Settlement: I would like the wall repair paid for in FULL as well as payment for my time since I began asking the company to handle this matter. I've spent countless hours trying to get a response and help with this issue, I believe I should be compensated.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/12) */ This person contacted us over a year ago to get a FREE product from us for a review she would post on her blog about this product. She was sent a FREE product, FREE of charges, FREE shipping. This person never wrote any review on her blog about our product! Which means she got a FREE product with no counterpart whatsoever! Now she is complaining she damaged her wall while removing the product. Our website clearly mentions to be careful at removal of the product and that our company is not responsible by damages caused to walls during the installation or removal process (see online policy) “ Dezign With a Z can not be held responsible for misapplication or damages caused to the product or to the surface during installation or removal process.” *************************************************** Since the person got the product in bad faith, with no counterpart and no review posted to her blog, we request that she pays for the product or return it to our company immediately. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There is no dispute that I received this product for free in order to write a review on my blog. The product I received had a slight imperfection along one edge and I was told I would receive a new one for my review. Because a replacement never arrived, my review was delayed. A review HAS since been posted on my blog. While it appears you have added this disclaimer recently to try and cover the damage to your wall, your site also makes claims that decals "WILL peel of easily" and "will NOT cause damage to walls" "Dezign With a Z wall decals are a very modern & elegant way to decorate interiors and change the entire look of your room in the snap of a finger. Easy to apply, Dezign With a Z wall stickers are also simple to remove without damaging surfaces or leaving any residue." Aside from the addition of this bogus disclaimer regarding damages, Dezign with a Z has removed the double sided take that caused the damage to my wall from their site all together. Clearly, they realize it is a faulty product and no longer wish to offer it to customers. Again, I would like the damage to my wall paid for in full. Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Dezign with a Z
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)