BBB Accredited Business since

San Francisco Exchange Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (510) 749-3777 Fax: (510) 749-3799 View Additional Phone Numbers 1900 N Loop Rd, Alameda, CA 94502 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.sfx-resorts.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Timeshare Vacation Exchanges.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that San Francisco Exchange Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for San Francisco Exchange Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on San Francisco Exchange Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 20, 2000 Business started: 09/08/1992 Business started locally: 09/08/1992 Business incorporated 02/14/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Real Estate
1515 Clay St Ste 702, Oakland CA 94612
http://www2.dre.ca.gov/PublicASP/pplinfo.asp?License_id=
Phone Number: (510) 622-2552

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Cory Phelps, Senior Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mel Grant, President/CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Cory Phelps, Senior Vice President
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Vacation Time Share

Alternate Business Names
SFX Preferred Resorts

Additional Locations

  • 1900 N Loop Rd

    Alameda, CA 94502 (510) 749-3777

  • 1900 North Loop Road

    Alameda, CA 94502

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel like I am the victim of Bait and Switch - I deposited a Timeshare week with this company expecting to Exchange it, but I cannot I deposited a timeshare week with this company a year ago (November 2014). In March 2015 I called them to request an exchange. Nothing happened for several months. In August I contacted them again. Then suddenly they started offering me random vacations that I did not request, and getting argumentative that they are providing me with perfect matches and that I am not taking them.

Desired Settlement: I'd like to speak to a Manager of somebody senior that can help me make the vacation exchange, even if it takes them longer than the customary 24 month window to complete the job

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 7, 2015/11/20) */ November 20, 2015 RE: Case# XXXXXXXX We're responding to your letter dated, November 9, 2015. This member did call us and made a few vacation requests. On 10/7/15 we offered them Christmas week, arriving 12/25/15 for 7 nights at the beach in Southern California. They returned our call (on 10/8/15) and advised us they couldn't take that week and could we please extend the search out for Easter and Summertime. We did extend their search per there request. On 10/9/15 we called and offered them a resort in Scottsdale, Arizona in a 2 bedroom for May. He returned our call and let us know they only wanted Christmas time. (Even though they declined the Holiday week we offered) On 10/13/15 we called and left a message offering a week in August for another Southern California resort. He called back and said due to the kids school they can't take this week. This week we spoke with the member and have reached an amicable resolution; we extended the length of the time he has to use his deposit and submitted several detailed vacation requests. Thank you, The San Francisco ******************************** XXXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2015/11/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I disagree with their historical description above, but I do agree with the proposed resolution

5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company seems to be unapologetic about putting out bad information Yesterday May 7, 2015, I got a "membership renewal notice" email that indicated that the renewal price of this timeshare exchange company 10 year diamond membership was $499. When I called the company I was told that the renewal would actually be $699. I spoke to ****** ******* Today May 8, 2015 on the company's website it said that I would get a $200 account credit in addition to a $300 vacation cash-card if I deposit my timeshare early. When I called to confirm this information, I was told that I would only get a $200 vacation cash-card, and no account credit at all. I talked to ****** ****** I asked the company to please honor the information they put out through email and through its website. I was told that "Our IT personnel are working diligently to locate and fix any errors, and with the help of conscientious members like you who take of their time to advise us of any inconsistencies our website is getting better every day." It seems this company should honor the information they put out, in addition to "locating and fixing any error" in their communications.

Desired Settlement: This company should honor the information they put out and provide the membership as advertised at $499 and provide the $200 account credit compensation stated for depositing the timeshare early.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2015/05/12) */ The company honored the information they put out, and provided me member account credit of $200. I'm happy with the outcome. Thanks.

11/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on San Francisco Exchange Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)