This business is not BBB accredited.

Sylvan Learning Center

Phone: (650) 344-7323 Fax: (650) 344-7388 1200 Howard Ave Ste 104, Burlingame, CA 94010 http://www.bayareasylvans.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers tutoring and supplemental education services for students of all ages.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Sylvan Learning Center include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Sylvan Learning Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sylvan Learning Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 21, 1996 Business started: 07/01/1985 Business started locally: 07/01/1985 Business incorporated 10/20/2003 in CA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brian Huckins, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Huckins, Owner
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Tutoring

Service Area
This business service area covers: Burlingame and surrounding areas.
Alternate Business Names
Tallwood Learning Centers

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1200 Howard Ave Ste 104

    Burlingame, CA 94010 (650) 344-7323

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sylvan was paid in full which is 50 hours and services were terminated without any notice or a letter and wont refund our money. In order to qualify for there discount, a full payment is required before the tutoring begins. We have been with Sylvan for many years, took some time off and recently started again in February 15, 2014. We paid them in full for the total hours agreed on (which is 50.67 hours @$49.50 per hour- totaling to $2,508.00). We agreed on one hour per week and decide later on if we want to purchase more hours. On May 6,2014, I received a phone call from Ms.******* ******* informing me that there location will be closing in Burlingame and that there San Bruno location will remain open and we can transfer to that location. I said yes, we agreed and we were willing to go extra mile because my son is getting ready to take some big steps towards his future and at that time we were focusing on his essays. Without any further notice, there location in San Bruno closed. There was no way of finding out what was going on, no letter, no email, and no contact with anyone as far as getting some answers... Throughout frustration I called the 1800Sylvan to get some answers, they said that they didnt know what was going on either but they did manage to get a forwarding phone contact and gave me the name of the owner for the Burlingame and San Bruno location. His name is ***** ******* and the phone number they gave me is XXXXXXXXXX. I have called that number hundreds of times, you will be redirected to a new number, and I left them messages over and over and wont get any call back. Times are tough, my son fell behind with school, we struggled putting the payment together so that we can have some type of relief financially. We kept our agreement, all we want is to be able to move on. Im struggling paying someone to tutor my son , and we can use that money we paid them but never got the complete results . ***The total payment was $2508.00 at $49.50/hour= 50.67 hours of credit. ***Minus 7 hours that we use, which leaves us 42.67 hours of credit they owe us.

Desired Settlement: We paid them the full amount as agreed on , they have to honor that contract. We paid for 50.67 total hours= $2,508.00 we use 7 hours total out of the 50.67= 43.67 7 hours @ $49.50 an hour = $346.50 TOTAL : 2508.00 -346.50 ________ $2161.50........ Is my total refund!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sylvan Learning Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)