This business is not BBB accredited.

Cardinal Scholars

1400B Seaport Blvd. 2nd Floor, Redwood City, CA 94063 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.cardinalscholars.com ! There is an alert on Cardinal Scholars !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers customized, in-person tutoring and test prep to students online.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cardinal Scholars
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 09, 2013 Business started: 11/18/2010 Business started locally: 11/18/2010
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Andy Kittler, MGR
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Emily Robinson, Manager
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Tutoring

Service Area
This business service area covers San Francisco, Oakland, Fremont, Santa Rosa, Hayward, Concord, Berkeley, Richmond, Antioch, Daly City, San Mateo, Vacaville, San Leandro, Livermore, Napa, Sonoma, Vallejo, San Rafael, San Mateo, Walnut Creek
Business Management

BBB was notified on March 10, 2016 that Cardinal Scholars has ceased operations. According to their web site services are still being provided by their parent company, Course Hero. To view their business review, please go to: http://www.bbb.org/greater-san-francisco/business-reviews/internet-services/course-hero-in-redwood-city-ca-381001?language=1


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1400B Seaport Blvd. 2nd Floor

    Redwood City, CA 94063

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: College student received unauthorized email out of the blue from this company asking to share company information with fellow college students. College student received unauthorized email out of the blue from this company asking to share company information with fellow college students. The body of the email is towards the end of this section. On November 5, 2014, a fellow college student of mine received an email from **** ***** (****@cardinalscolars.com). The email was sent to the student president of a student organization at the university. The student had no knowledge of the sender and had not consented to be contacted for this purpose. If this was a legitimate attempt to expand business and not a hijacking of your company's name/email, this was a highly unprofessional way to go about getting tutors involved in the program. The more professional way to go about it would be contacting the university itself and sharing informations about job opportunities. The email said "I was hoping you could help me. I am a Program Coordinator at a private tutoring company called Cardinal Scholars, and we are seeking XYZ University students who are extremely academically successful but also strong role models, to tutor K-12 and college students in your area. We aim to recruit students who are well-rounded academically and involved in the community. Can you forward the below information to the American Chemical Society members and any other organizations or departments you feel may be interested? Here hyperlink you can also find a flyer that can be printed and posted on any boards around school or shared online via job portals and social media as you see fit. Thank you very much for your time. Best, ****." Additional information about the company was included in the footer. One particularly suspicious line from the footer was "We hope you become part of our education platform and join tutors from institutions such as Harvard, Berkeley, Stanford, and now XYZ University!" This was suspicious because XYZ University is not usually recognizable by name once you get out of the state it's in. Also, it is nowhere near academic standards of the other schools mentioned.

Desired Settlement: 1) State whether or not this communication was directed from the actual company, or if it was an unauthorized use of your company name and contact information. 2) If this was a legitimate attempt, please acknowledge that this was highly unprofessional and unauthorized form of expansion. Also, please apologize publicly for making unauthorized email contact with individual university students. Finally, please stop making unauthorized email contact with individual students. There are enough scams in the world that appear real. We don't need more confusion with legitimate companies acting in ways scammers do. Instead, you could go through the university's administration. This will help your business by showing you are professional.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/01/07) */ Received business response via email on 1/6/15: I'd like to respond to the BBB complaint issued by ********* ****** on behalf of Cardinal Scholars, which is a brand underneath Course Hero, Inc. Ms. ******'s complaint was prompted when a friend of her's received a recruiting email sent by someone on our staff. The email was based off a (now outdated) template we have used to recruit tutors to our platform. The purpose of this email is not a solicitation; it serves to notify students of a potential (real) job opportunity which numerous other students across the country have previously benefited from. While we realize that not everyone we send to wants to receive, our emails are usually very well-received both by administrators and students. Here is one of the latest examples we have received, and we'd be happy to provide more. "I would be more than happy to pass this along to our network of peer tutors at Skidmore College. Do you only hire graduates? I only ask because I can limit my outreach to current seniorsotherwise I will send this to all tutors." I'd like to address the complaint's key points 1. A student friend received an "unauthorized" and "highly unprofessional" email asking to forward the contents of the email to their contact list 2. Email contained sentence: "We hope you become part of our education platform and join tutors from institutions such as Harvard, Berkeley, Stanford, and now XYZ University!". XYZ sounds suspicious and not like a real school. 3. Suggestion that we go through University administrators instead. Responses: 1. We collect emails from public data sources and send only to groups, societies, and institutions that we believe (based on historical response rates) would respond positively to and benefit from this opportunity. 2. This was a mistake made by our staff member. XYZ should not have been included in the final draft of the email and should have been replaced with Skidmore College. We apologize for this. 3. We do and have gone through University administrators. We have found that emailing groups and societies directly is more effective. In short, we apologize that said student received this email without wanting to receive it. Our business is not a scam; we offer quality in-person and online tutoring to students across the country. Tutors benefit from gaining teaching experience and competitive pay. We have revised our email templates to include a clearer indication that the recipient will not receive further communication from us if they so desire. **** ******* on Behalf of Cardinal Scholars


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cardinal Scholars
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)