BBB Accredited Business since

Train Holidays

Phone: (510) 836-6000 Fax: (510) 836-6006 View Additional Phone Numbers 405 14th St Ste 1014, Oakland, CA 94612 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.uncommonjourneys.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers train and ocean travel services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Train Holidays meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Train Holidays include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Train Holidays
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 03, 1994 Business started: 10/01/1990 Business started locally: 10/01/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Attorney General / Seller Of Travel
300 S Spring St, Los Angeles CA 90013
http://oag.ca.gov/travel
Phone Number: (213) 897-8062

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Christopher Kyte, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher Kyte, Owner
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus Cruises

Alternate Business Names
Uncommon Journeys
Additional Information


Canada

USA - American Rivers

USA - East

USA - Hawaii

USA - Northwest

USA - South

USA - West

Mexico - Other

Products & Services


The Nation's Leading Purveyor of Luxury Train
and Ocean Travel,with the most elegant and opulent private railway carriages available, Uncommon Journeys operates more private and special trains than any other travel operator in North America.


Additional Locations

  • 405 14th St Ste 1014

    Oakland, CA 94612 (510) 836-5900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Agent charged more than his contracted price of $750.00 for a passenger **** change. On 6/19/2014 my wife and I booked a 1/19/2015 full round trip cruise from Chicago to Hawaii. This was to celebrate of 45th wedding anniversary. Twelve days before the departure I had a ruptured appendix with heart issues and the doctors said it was not a good idea for Me to be at sea for 20 days. We were beyond the 14 day cancellation clause and would lose the $8578.00. My wife who can not travel alone asked a friend to take my place. Uncommon Journeys said they could change the cruise ticket with Holland America for $779.80 ($550.80 plus $229.00 CPP insurance) and wished us good luck with changing the airline ticket. Southwest Airlines was very helpful and changed the name for $96.00. I called ******* ****** our agent, who has booked trips in the past, and I stated that the Uncommon Journey Fees were excessive. ******* told me if I was unhappy He will remove me from his customer contact list. Other travel companies have $25.00 name change charge.

Desired Settlement: A cash refund or cruise credit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/07) */ It is important to note that travel insurance, which would have covered all medical costs in the first place, was offered to the client at the time of booking and the customer declined coverage. After it was determined the customer could not travel we (Uncommon Journeys) agreed to change the passenger **** at no cost. The $779.80 was a fee levied by the cruise line and not our company. It is important to note that after all the time I spent calling Holland America line on customer behalf, we did not charge his credit card a penny. The money/fees went directly to the cruise line as it was their charge and not ours. It in-correct saying it was us who charged him and this should reflect on his credit card. After customer enjoyed the cruise, I was called and informed he would effect a credit card charge back since he felt the fee, that he agreed upon, was excessive. I have no control over Holland America Cruise line name change fees, especially when they are so close to departure date. The customer should actually have sent this complaint to Holland America line, not Uncommon Journeys since I spent hours working on the name change at no cost to the customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The cruise was not completely enjoyable. The trip was booked 6 months in advance with the promise of a cabin upgrade because We were past customers of both Uncommon Journeys and Holland America, did'nt happen. Luggage was lost, but don't worry they have cameras everywhere and You will have it by first port in 5 days. The final incident, upon arriving in Hawaii, finding out that the shore excursions were resold and the ship issued onboard credit. The Uncommon Journey tour guide on the trip was not much help. My wife called me and said she had enough and wanted to fly home. I would expect a cash refund for $550.80, $229.00 and $96.00 airline ticket transfer charge. Uncommon Journeys was my booking agent and made all my travel arrangements.

1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refund due on canceled trip. Cannot reach a conclusion Sept.16. 2013,I scheduled a train vacation with Uncommon Journeys for May 2014 . Early in N ov. 2'013 , I notified them that I was unable to travel. ( I had experienced a severe joint inflammation ) Their policy was to refund me half of my deposit of. $ 1,528. I talked by phone and email almost daily and received only excuses ( or no response ) why my Amex had not been credited. . This AM, I was told that my Amex card would be credited by Fri. of this week. I have traveled the world over and never been treated like this. So unprofessional I honestly feel its another delay from the agent . I've heard this excuse too often .

Desired Settlement: I have half my deposit due me. which would be over $ 700. oo When they notify me that it has been done, I will then be able to tell ******** Ins Co. and they will cover the balance of my deposit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/24) */ We are surprised at this complaint since we made it very clear to the customer when she chose to cancel her vacation that this required us to process refunds and paperwork with TWO railroads and one shipping company since she had a fairly elaborate vacation involving two railroads and one shipping company. Every time the client called we spoke with her, updating her on the process and the refund was submitted in writing to her credit card company on December 29. We are informed by her credit card company that the refund posted to her account a few days later. At the end of the day, had she not chosen to cancel right after signing up for a trip, all of this could have been avoided. A good reason to be certain one actually intends on traveling before committing to a trip, a fact millions of people a week understand when it comes to non-refundable airline tickets. In this case, the complete refund she was due was processed and submitted to her credit card company before she chose to write the BBB. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2014/01/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Train Holidays
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)