This business is not BBB accredited.

AAMCO Transmissions

Phone: (510) 235-1865 12156 San Pablo Ave, Richmond, CA 94805

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers brake repair and transmission services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • BBB does not have sufficient information to issue a rating on this business.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AAMCO Transmissions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1980 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10240 Systems Pkwy, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (855) 837-7985

Business Management
Mr. John R Copenhaver, Owner Mr. Mike Tanner, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John R Copenhaver, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile

Alternate Business Names

Additional Locations


    12156 San Pablo Ave

    Richmond, CA 94805 (510) 235-1865


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: brought my car to aamco on the date of 7/19/14 car would not shift it stayed in low gear had my car for a week I paid 2.668 work not done worse than Before every time I spoke to **** the price kept going up which made me believe that they were ripping me off I asked a mechanic who works there why is it so many cars in your lot he said we inherited those car about ten of them I really start ed to think sounds like a hustle so after the test drove my car of course they said it's going to be about 4hundred more for the price they charged me I've could of got a brand new engine an transmission I have a very old classic 1965 Buick skylark they told me I would have to drive it in low an manually sift it up to drive the car jerks hard when I do so an **** called me the other day an said they didn't put the screen back on I believe if I continue to drive the car like that I would of blew out my rear end or worse my engine I want a full invesagtion

Desired Settlement: Something has to be done I do wish to take my car back there

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/14) */ I've contacted Mr. ***** and he has agreed to bring the car back in. we informed him at the time of repair that he had a brake booster leaking vacuum that needs to be fixed in order for the transmission to get proper vacuum in order to shift but he declined repairs. no screens were left off but we do still need to install a transmission cooler to bypass the existing radiator. no harm will be caused by driving it as the car did not come originally equipped with the cooler. it will however give added life to the transmission. Mr. ***** seemed more than willing to bring the car in. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes I was recently contacted by ammco an I did say I would bring the car back but the more I think about it I'd rather get a second opinion my question is if the power booster has a vacuum leak that's causing the car not to shift than that must of been the problem in the first place an it took a week an $2600 dollars plus another $400 for a new booster 3grand total something not adding up im not bring my car back there

3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on AAMCO Transmissions
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart