This business is not BBB accredited.

Liftopia

Phone: (800) 349-0870 Fax: (877) 749-6957 731 Market St 2nd Floor, San Francisco, CA 94103 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.liftopia.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Liftopia.com is the largest online marketplace for advance purchase lift tickets helping skiers and riders who want to visit more than 250 ski areas in North America.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Liftopia include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Liftopia
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 07, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2005 Business started locally: 01/01/2005 Business incorporated 05/20/2005 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Evan Reece, CEO Mr. Otto Imken, VP Customer Support Ms. Jenn Palk-Cogley, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Otto Imken, VP Customer Support
Principal: Mr. Evan Reece, CEO
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Ticket Sales - Events

Refund and Exchange Policy
NO CANCELLATIONS
All purchases are final and cannot be canceled, refunded, changed or transferred, even with a fee. Once you make a purchase, your credit card will be charged for the amount shown, regardless of whether or not the purchased ticket(s) is/are used.

Value tickets are only valid for the date(s) selected and cannot be used on different days or at different times. Please ensure your trip dates are certain before you purchase these tickets.

Value Plus tickets are valid for the date(s) selected, but your arrival may be changed ONCE prior to your trip. Dates where the Value rate is more expensive will require you to pay a difference in price.

Flexible tickets are valid for the date(s) selected, but your arrival may be changed AS MANY TIMES AS NEEDED prior to your trip. Dates where the Flexible rate is more expensive will require you to pay a difference in price. If the total Flexible order amount of your new date(s) is greater than your original order, inclusive of any Tax Recovery Fees & Charges, you will be required to pay the difference. If a Flexible price is not available, we will use the Regular rate for that day, which is listed on the product page, to determine if there is a difference.

All Value Plus and Flexible changes must be made over the phone a minimum of 2 days prior to your current and desired start dates, and can only be made to a date where we still have tickets available for all of your guests. Your order may NOT be partially changed; the changes apply for all date(s), guests, and tickets.

WE DO NOT GUARANTEE WEATHER OR SNOW CONDITIONS
We do not guarantee snow conditions, weather conditions, open terrain or number of lifts operating.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Liftopia has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    731 Market St 2nd Floor

    San Francisco, CA 94103 (800) 349-0870

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am trying to obtain a refund for a two day lift ticket that I purchased due to an injury. I purchased a two day lift ticket to Okemo Mountain in Vermont for 12/22/15 and 12/23/15 for my son to go skiing with his girlfriend. The week previous to this his girlfriend had a knee injury and the doctor said she can't ski or do any activities. I called Liftopia and explained the situation. I was not asking for a refund I was asking if I could switch my ticket to a flex ticket and pay the difference. They said I needed to provide a doctor's note. At the time I explained that it would be difficult for me to get the note but they said that they needed it. I went through the trouble of getting the doctor's note from his girlfriends parents and sent it to Liftopia. I received an email today saying that the note is not sufficient because my son could still go skiing without her! We live 4 hours from the mountain and she was his ride! I have never experienced such poor customer service as I have with Liftopia. I provided the documentation they asked for and it still wasn't sufficient!

Desired Settlement: As I explained, I was asking for my ticket to be changed to a flex ticket and I would pay the difference. At this point, I would like a refund. I do not want to do business with the company and certainly will tell others not to also. I have already spoken to several supervisors and they will not give me a refund or change my ticket. I have initiated a dispute with my credit card company too.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2016/01/22) */ This customer initially contacted us 16 December 2015, in regards to a ticket purchased on 9 December, stating that her son would not be able to use this product because his girlfriend had injured herself. In order to complete this purchase the customer had to acknowledge that they had read and agreed to abide by our purchase conditions which clearly state that all sales are final, the customer agrees to be charged regardless of whether or not the tickets were used, and that tickets are only valid for the date selected. These conditions also state that we will make no changes, transfers, cancellations, or anything of that nature, even with a fee. As we do make some exceptions in the case of medical emergencies, we then asked this customer to submit medical documentation within ten business days for our review. On the tenth business day, 3 January 2016, we sent a courtesy reminder to the customer that while they had contacted us on 18 December to make another request, they had not submitted documentation. At this time they submitted a document explaining that the girl who had planned to go on the trip was injured. As this party was not named on the ticket, the tickets were valid at the resort on the selected dates, and we do not guarantee transportation or equipment for our customers to use the service they have purchased, this request was denied.

5/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misleading practices - shady way of doing business I was excited when I discovered that I could buy lift passes ***** of time and get them at a discounted rate on Liftopia. That is, until I purchased two tickets on March 12/15 and realized that I am now paying MORE money than I would have if I had just purchased them directly from the resort. I checked my credit card statement today (March 13/15), and with the exchange rate - I haven't saved ANY money, but rather I am paying MORE money! The tickets were listed as $56.69 a piece, and I bought two of them. With taxes, the total came out to $128.12. When I checked my credit card statement today I was actually charged $163.72. Some 'deal'. I also sent a couple of friends to this site so they could save money on their lift tickets. I just got ripped off, and sent my friends to get ripped off - all because liftopia does not make it clear on their website that the prices are in US Dollars. With the amount of Canadian resorts/ tickets listed on their website, it is reasonable to think that the prices would be charged in CDN dollars. Most sites specify "USD" CLEARLY if the consumer will be charged in US dollars. Certainly people would NOT purchase tickets from Liftopia if they were aware that it actually costs them MORE money. Afterall, people are going to this site to SAVE money! This is a shady way of doing business, and by doing a quick search on the web it is clear that I am far from the only person with this complaint. How is this business an accredited member of the BBB?

Desired Settlement: I would like them to credit back the $35.60 difference to my credit card!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/04/03) */ The customer in question did purchase tickets on our site 12 March, 2015 for a Canadian ski resort. She then wrote in to customer support 13 March, 2015 with complaint about this issue which we responded to promptly. Liftopia is a US company and transacts its business in US Dollars. While we do work with several Canadian resorts to offer savings of up to 80% off the on-mountain rate, we do by far sell more tickets in the US market. In response to complaints in past years, we have made every effort to clarify the currency in which we transact business. No less than 3 times along the purchase path next to the price of advertised items we list in full size and weight font that "All Prices are in USD". This is stated multiple times on multiple pages along the purchase path, pre and post purchase, and we make every effort to be transparent. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/04/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Liftopia DID respond to my complaint - but did NOTHING to remedy the situation. They basically said sorry but we're not sorry - they didn't offer any kind of apology and definitely did not offer to reimburse the difference in money. Their response to my complaint states that they work with 'Several Canadian Resorts' - I went back on their website and counted the number of CANADIAN resorts that they work with: 37 resorts in Eastern CANADA 38 resorts in Central CANADA 46 resorts in Western CANADA & British Columbia For a whopping total of 121 CANADIAN RESORTS - I would consider that more than 'several'. In terms of being transparent, when purchasing tickets on their website there is NO indication from the GET-GO that prices will be charged in USD. I wish I could include screen shots in this response to prove my point on this matter. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/04/15) */ As stated in our original response, Liftopia is a US company and transacts its business in US Dollars. We are not required to list our prices in the currency the potential customer resides in or the location the customer is planning on visiting (if outside of the United States). In this case, for this customer we would not list our prices in Canadian dollars just because the customer is visiting a Canadian resort and/or the customer's current residence is outside of the United States. Again, our currency is listed in the checkout path and it clearly states "Total (All prices in USD)." Please review the attachments which makes this denotation. Please note this listed on the final page once the transaction is completed and an email confirmation is sent to the customer listing this information as well. We stand by our original decision and we will not credit the customer for fees incurred outside of her original purchase with Liftopia, which was charged by the credit card issuing bank. We advise the customer to pursue her request with the appropriate party, which is her credit card company. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2015/04/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is not worth any more of my time. I just warn others to be aware of this company. I will not be using Liftopia again, and would discourage anyone in Canada from using this site to buy lift tickets.

4/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business dishonestly disguises key information regarding their terms and conditions, and is unwilling to guarantee customer satisfaction. I had purchased two lift tickets for mid January at the end of December, and paid the added premium (Value Plus) which provides the convenient ability to change the lift dates. When processing the tickets, you see the following message "May be exchanged ONE TIME (over the phone) for other available dates up to 2 days before * Dates with different rates might require you to pay the price difference" The phrasing "up to two days before" is interpreted as two days before the date that you are changing your lift tickets to, however, the company claims that "up to two days before" means two days before the original date that the tickets were purchased for. In the two days before the original date, the company did not make any effort to remind me of this policy by phone, mail, or e-mail. When I called a few days after the date that I had intended on using the tickets to inquire about how to change the ticket date, I was told that this convenience had expired. In summation, I had been charged $151.00, and did not receive any service in return. Apart from this deliberate vague and misleading marketing, their customer service representative was rude, and did not have any regard for customer forgiveness for customers who were paying a PREMIUM to have convenience and peace of mind.

Desired Settlement: I would be happy to accept a refund or an exchange for two lift tickets on a different day. I would not even mind receiving lift tickets that are valued at a lower price than the ones that I had paid for, however, paying $151.00 and receiving absolutely nothing in return is unacceptable. It is unclear why this business was not even willing to refund me the amount for the premium that I had paid on top of the value of the goods and service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/03/11) */ In response to BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX Firstly, we have not been able to find the order in question or contact record for this customer in our system, and therefore cannot verify the type of ticket he held when the customer contacted us about this issue. If he did purchase the Value Plus or Flexible type ticket, as his claim suggests, it would have been subject to purchase conditions which he had to agree to in order to complete his order. These state in no uncertain terms in the fifth paragraph of a body of text presented in 12 point regular weight font that: "All Value Plus and Flexible changes must be made over the phone a minimum of 2 days prior to your current and desired start dates, and can only be made to a date where we still have tickets available for all of your guests. Your order may NOT be partially changed; the changes apply for all date(s), guests, and tickets." These terms take up the entire left pane of the web page on the final step of the purchase path on our site. If the customer had contacted us after the original trip date, no changes would have been made to his order as they would have clearly violated the purchase conditions that we, the customer, and our resort partners had agreed upon.

3/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought ski tickets. Got email confirmation and bar codes. Credit card was charged. liftopia canceled tickets due to email address but refused refund. I purchased lift tickets on February 12 to use them on February 14 at Blue Mountain resort in Collingwood Canada. Paid with Mastercard and provide Liftopia with my email address. immediately received confirmation with order#XXXXXXX and ticket bar codes. Brought information to the resort but discovered that my tickets not valid due to cancelation from the company that took my money. When we called them all we got was that Sorry we didn't like that your email address contained word ****** In it. Nothing we can do about it and to get your money back you will have to dispute with your Credit card. I didn't do anything wrong. I use my legal name, address, credit card and email address. Why would they treat customer the way they do. They told me that ****** is a scam but this what they do. A SCAM. If they don't like my email why they take my money?????

Desired Settlement: Refund and apology. They using really bad practice to keep people's money for no reason. Just because my email address contained word ****** it's not a reason to charge my credit card and tell me that I have to dispute charge with my CC.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/02) */ Our customer's ticket was cancelled as per an ongoing investigation into fraud with some of our resort partners one day prior to his trip date. He was sent an email at that time to notify him of this and contacted us on the day of his booking. Following our procedure to handle potential fraud we asked that he contact his bank about the issue. He followed up two days later but could not verify his credit card information with us, as he didn't have his card available. One day after that he called us back and verified that he was the cardholder and a refund should have been issued. Due to an internal error the refund was not processed until 24 February. We apologize for the delay and any inconvenience caused by this understandably frustrating incident.

3/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bought two 1 days Mt. Baldy learn to ride package from liftopia 12/30/2014 for 01/01/2015. Instructor no show with no reason. purchased two 1 days Mt. Baldy snowboard learning package on 12/30/2014 for the date 01/01/2015. the class supposed to begin on 10am but no instructor was showing, no notice, we asked around with other stuffs at the gear rental department but no information at all. one women showed up around 11:30am and she still have no information for the snowboarding instructor. she offered us a ski lesson and she was going to teach. we took the offer but that was over 20 student in the class including little kids. we were not able to listen and didn't really learn anything at all. and the class was last 40 mins only. We didn't receive what we paid for and what we expected. We waste our whole family time and gas and mileage for nothing at the New year date. We demanded full refund from Liftopia but they would only offer us a free replacement ticket to Mt. Baldy . We don't want to take it as we don't want to go there anymore. Please help

Desired Settlement: We demand full refund as they didn't delivery what we paid at all.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/02/25) */ BBB CASE #: XXXXXXXX Our records indicate the following: On December 30, 2014, the customer placed an order on www.Liftopia.com. The customer purchased 2 packages for the 'Mt. Baldy 1 Day Learn to Ski or Ride Package,' for a ski date of January 1, 2015, which provided each skier the following: 1 - Beginners ticket for Chairs #1 and #2 1 - Group Lesson (must be 7yrs or older) 1 - Rental Package for either skis or snowboard On January 16, 2015, the customer contacted Liftopia customer support via email, stating he and his companion anticipated taking a lesson at 10:00 a.m. but was unable to join one until 11:00 a.m. claiming the resort did not have any instructors available to teach the lesson at the earlier time. When another class became available, they joined the class but stated him and his companion where unhappy with the lesson overall. The customer requested a full refund for the order in his email correspondence. The handling agent informed the customer that he would contact the resort to find out more information regarding the customer's order and conditions at the mountain on the ski date of January 1, 2015. On January 26, 2015, the handling agent was able to reach a ticketing manager at the ski resort and the ticketing manager reviewed the customer's order. He stated the customer's time of arrivals was slightly off from what they originally stated in their email to Liftopia and due to the time they redeemed their lift ticket and time it took to pick up their rental package, the customer and companion would have made it to the 10:00 a.m. lesson after the actual start time, which is why they were unable to participate in it. The ticketing manager also confirmed that lessons took place all day, both ski and snowboarding, so there should not have been any issues participating in any one of them. However, in good faith, the ticketing manager offered the customer and his companion a free trip to the mountain, providing them with the same package they had purchased through Liftopia.com. On January 26, 2015, the handling agent relayed the information to the customer via email informing him of the resort's offer to compensate despite the customer and companion already redeeming and using the package they had purchased on the Liftopia.com website. The agent also provide contact information for the resort as the resort already had on record two free packages available for the given customer. On January 31, 2015, the customer declined the offer and requested a refund for their order. On February 1, 2015, the handling agent declined the customer's request for a refund and reiterated the contact info to the resort so they could redeem their free packages. Our decision to decline the customer's request for a refund was due to the fact that the customer had already redeemed and used the packages purchased on our website. We fully complied with the services listed our website as did the ski resort the customer visisted. The customer was also given additional compensation directly from the ski resort as a measure of good faith in which the customer declined. The customer was also made fully aware of our purchase conditions pre and post purchase. Please note that our purchase conditions state the following: Purchase Conditions NO CANCELLATIONS - All purchases are final and cannot be canceled, refunded, changed or transferred, even with a fee. Once you make a purchase, your credit card will be charged for the amount shown, regardless of whether or not the purchased ticket(s) is/are used. Value tickets are only valid for the date(s) selected and cannot be used on different days or at different times. Please ensure your trip dates are certain before you purchase these tickets. Value Plus tickets are valid for the date(s) selected, but your arrival may be changed ONCE prior to your trip. Dates where the Value rate is more expensive will require you to pay a difference in price. Flexible tickets are valid for the date(s) selected, but your arrival may be changed AS MANY TIMES AS NEEDED prior to your trip. Dates where the Flexible rate is more expensive will require you to pay a difference in price. If the total Flexible order amount of your new date(s) is greater than your original order, inclusive of any Tax Recovery Fees & Charges, you will be required to pay the difference. If a Flexible price is not available, we will use the Regular rate for that day, which is listed on the product page, to determine if there is a difference. All Value Plus and Flexible changes must be made over the phone a minimum of 2 days prior to your current and desired start dates, and can only be made to a date where we still have tickets available for all of your guests. Your order may NOT be partially changed; the changes apply for all date(s), guests, and tickets. WE DO NOT GUARANTEE WEATHER OR SNOW CONDITIONS - We do not guarantee snow conditions, weather conditions, open terrain or number of lifts operating. For all future purchases on the website, we suggest the customer thoroughly review the contents provided on the website and our purchase conditions. As stated previous, we cannot make changes to an order once it has been placed which is why we denied the customer request.

3/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misleading sales prices which overcharge customers vs. actual ticket prices, deleting reviews on their site, and poor customer service. I purchased two tickets to Sundance at an advertised ballpark discounted rate of 45% to 65% savings of regular rates by using liftopias services. There were only three tickets left for 12/21/14, so I was stuck buying one ticket with rental, and one without to take advantage of this 45%-65% off "deal". I ended up paying 32$ for the ticket without rental, and 53$ for the ticket with a rental. Sundance has only been charging 25$/ticket all season. Which means anyone who has used liftopia has overpaid because they have been advertising a huge savings by using their services, though in actuality, even more than half off are still more expensive. When contacting their customer service, I was offered a refund of 7$ one of my tickets, though if I was given the percentage of a discount as advertised of the actual prices on the mountain, that would be more. When I went to submit a review on liftopia, stating the price on the mountain is only 25$ until Christmas, the review was taken down. Though no foul language or other reasons to take down my review were used. Which is very shady and altogether unethical. Though customer service was absolutely useless, they are not my main concern. There has got to be something in the way of recompense for false advertising and some way to assure the prices listed as advertised, reflect actual prices.

Desired Settlement: I would like all of the customers who have purchased overpriced tickets because of misrepresentation by liftopia to be refunded the difference between the actual price of the ticket, and what liftopia charged. In my case, that was only 7$ per ticket at two tickets. Which they only honored one 7$ refund, though at the 45-65% off as advertised, would have been significantly more.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/01/22) */ Our records indicate the following: On 12/18/14, two orders were placed account holder, **** ****** on the Liftopia.com website for the following: 1) Order ID XXXXXXX Product: Sundance Resort 1 Day Lift Ticket Amount: $31.99 (USD) Skier: ****** **** Trip Date: 12/21/14 2) Order ID XXXXXXX Product: Sundance Resort 1 Day Lift Tickets + Rental Amount: $52.99 (USD) Skier: ****, ***** Trip Date: 12/21/14 On 12/23/14 at 1:12 p.m. (PST), our customer support department received an email from ***** ****, who indicated Sundance ski resort was charging $25.00 per adult ticket and stated the on-mountain price (the amount a customer would pay if they purchased the day of directly at the mountain) would be this amount until 12/25/15. The customer indicated he "overspent about $12," and Liftopia " misled by false advertising." On 12/24/14 at 3:09 p.m. (PST), our customer support team responded to the original email sent by ***** **** and he was informed that our team would research further to get more information regarding the pricing. Also, that someone from our team would follow-up within the next 48 hours the response. The same day, a Liftopia customer support agent contacted Sundance Resort and spoke with a ticketing manager, who confirmed the resort had recently dropped their on-mountain rate to $25 for a 1-Day Lift Ticket and authorized a refund of the difference of their new on-mountain rate and the price paid for the same deal for any customers who paid a higher price on the Liftopia.com website. Lift ticket + rental packages were not eligible for the same partial refund as the rate of the package paid on Liftopia was still lower than the on-mountain rate for the same package. It was also confirmed by the ticketing manager at the resort that the lower on-mountain rate was only valid for the dates of 12/20/14 and 12/21/14. After confirming the recently lowered rate made by the resort, our Liftopia gent immediately issued a partial refund in the amount of $7.99 for Order ID XXXXXXX, which was for a Sundance 1 Day Lift Ticket. An email was sent to ***** **** on 12/23/14 at 3:54 p.m. (PST), as a follow-up to his original email, informing him of the partial refund for Order ID XXXXXXX. The email also indicated that Order ID XXXXXXX was not eligible for a partial refund as the amount paid on the Liftopia.com website was still below what the customer would have paid on-mountain for a lift ticket and rental package. As for our advertised pricing, all resort partners Liftopia works with provide us with their on-mountain rate or regular price prior to the beginning of the ski season and the savings we indicate on our website is based off of this information given to us. Our savings percentage is calculated as a discount off of the price you would pay on mountain at the ticket window the day a customer wants to ski. In this case, the customer paid $31.99 for a Sundance 1 Day Lift Ticket product, which is regularly priced at $65.00 at the mountain, and $52.99 for a Sundance 1 Day Lift Ticket + Rental package, which is regularly priced at $93.00 at the mountain. The savings indicated on our site is what we believe is accurate in conjunction with the information provided to us from the ski resort. Liftopia makes every effort to keep our marketing accurate, but we also rely on our resort partners to report accurate window rates to us: occasionally they change their on-mountain prices and neglect to notify us. Liftopia never intentionally misrepresents a savings percentage, and once we discover a discrepancy we rectify it immediately, which is what we did in this case by issuing a partial refund for Order ID XXXXXXX, the only order under the account which qualified for a partial refund. To address the issue of comments removed from our website, Liftopia reserves the write to remove comments on our website that we deem inappropriate or false in nature. On 12/23/14 our customer support team was alerted to a comment which was posted at 1:06 p.m. (PST) to our 'Sundance Resort Utah Reviews & Tips' section on the Liftopia.com website of the following (PLEASE ATTACHMENT #1): _____ There is a new comment on Sundance Resort Utah: "Go through Sundance directly, DO NOT USE LIFTOPIA. I bought my friend and myself tickets for a "deal" of 32$ for the all day lift ticket. So I buy it and go up to Sundance only to find that they only charge 25$ for an all day lift ticket until Christmas. Because I bought my tickets through Liftopia and not Sundance directly, there was nothing that Sundance could do for me for getting ripped off. It's only around 12$, but that's still false advertisement." Submitted by: ***** ****, Intermediate Snowboarder _____ The comment was removed from this section of the website because it was a customer complaint about Liftopia services and did not accurately meet our guidelines of what we considered a factual or relevant review of the resort and it had false information about pricing. On 12/23/14 our customer support team was alerted again to a comment which was posted at 4:41 p.m. (PST) to our 'Sundance Resort Utah Reviews & Tips' section on the Liftopia.com website of the following (PLEASE ATTACHMENT #2): ___ There is a new comment on Sundance Resort ***** "Liftopia has been false advertising prices and overcharging customers at Sundance for at least this entire season to date. They will also delete your review on their site if you try to inform others they can actually save money by buying the tickets on the mountain. I bought two tickets at a stated discount rate of 32$ which was a "deal" in the ballpark of 45-65% off of regular prices. Only to find out that Sundance is only charging 25$ for the same ticket. Because liftopia is a third party provider, there is nothing Sundance could do about the overcharging. Let alone the false advertising for "deals" that turned out to be more than the actual ticket price. I contacted customer support at liftopia, who were absolutely useless in addressing my real concern which is the false advertising, and removing my tip to others to bypass the middle man and save money. Also, they were completely unwilling to update their site to reflect mountain prices. Though they did issue a refund of 7$ for one of the tickets. I recommend you do not use liftopia! Find another site, or deals locally. As they're usually better anyways" Submitted by: ***** ****, Intermediate Snowboarder ___ Once again, the comment was removed from this section of the website because it was a customer complaint about Liftopia services and did not accurately meet our guidelines of what we considered a factual or relevant review of the resort. Liftopia reserves the write to remove comments on our website that we deem inappropriate or false in nature. The customer's original issue was addressed and a resolution was provided.

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did not know this was an American company and was charged extra fees for using Canadian Visa. I want to put on American Visa instead, they refuse. Order number is *******($233.41) and ******* ($1249.20), for Mont Tremblant lift tickets Dec. 27, 28, 29. although they say they cannot transfer or cancel tickets, it does not say that I can't change my method of payment, which clearly is a lot more expensive using a Canadian visa. They absolutely refuse which is unbelievable considering they are still being paid the same amount. Exceptionally poor customer service.

Desired Settlement: I simply want to use my American Visa for these charges. Why would they risk losing a customer forever, rather than changing the method of payment?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/12/20) */ Our records indicate the following: On November 14, 2014 and November 23, 2014, the customer made separate orders for ski lift tickets on www.Liftopia.com. On November 24, 2014, the customer contacted Liftopia customer support and requested from the handling agent that the payment she made for her orders be changed from a Canadian credit card to an American Visa because the customer claimed that she did not know Liftopia was a U.S. based company, that she was charged in US dollars, and that she did not want to incur additional fees from the original credit card issuing bank for her transactions. The handling agent denied the request of the customer explaining that the website indicates all prices are in US Dollars and that all sales were final. The agent also to the customer she signed off to the purchase conditions stating we could not make any changes to the order once it was complete. The customer requested to speak with a supervisor and the shift supervisor provided the same denial in addition to providing the same explanation. The customers stated to the shift supervisor that she would escalate this further but did not provide additional details. All the prices listed on Liftopia.com are in US dollars regardless of where the ski resort is located. As a US based company we reflect our prices in US dollars. Please note that the Liftopia.com website does indicate our prices and amounts are in U.S. Dollars (USD). (http://www.liftopia.com/terms-of-use.page; Section B). It specifically states the following:''All prices and amounts shown on this Site are in U.S. Dollars (USD), unless otherwise noted. The User agrees that all taxes, charges, surcharges, shipping/handling or other fees will automatically be charged to the credit card submitted by the User. Such amounts will be posted on this Site. You agree that your credit card will be charged for the full cost of your Purchase.''We also note how our currency is displayed on the Liftopia.com's FAQ page under question ''Are the prices displayed in US currency?''(https://liftopia.zendesk.com/entries/XXXXXXXX-Are-the-prices-displayed-in-US-currency-) Attached are screenshots of where we provide this information to our customers before and after the transaction. We show it when a customer selects a deal and price, in the checkout path, in the billing page, in the final page, and in the email confirmation. Also, attached is a copy of the customer's two email confirmations indicating she was charged in USD. Any additional fees incurred by the customer who may be charged by an outside party (i.e. the issuing credit card company or bank) are not the responsibility of Liftopia.com. We only charge the customer what we reflect on the website. Once an order is placed it cannot be canceled, refund, changed or transferred and all customers actively agrees to this by checking off to our purchase conditions before submitting an order. (SEE BELOW) __ Purchase Conditions NO CANCELLATIONS - All purchases are final and cannot be canceled, refunded, changed or transferred, even with a fee. Once you make a purchase, your credit card will be charged for the amount shown, regardless of whether or not the purchased ticket(s) is/are used. Value tickets are only valid for the date(s) selected and cannot be used on different days or at different times. Please ensure your trip dates are certain before you purchase these tickets. Value Plus tickets are valid for the date(s) selected, but your arrival may be changed ONCE prior to your trip. Dates where the Value rate is more expensive will require you to pay a difference in price. Flexible tickets are valid for the date(s) selected, but your arrival may be changed AS MANY TIMES AS NEEDED prior to your trip. Dates where the Flexible rate is more expensive will require you to pay a difference in price. If the total Flexible order amount of your new date(s) is greater than your original order, inclusive of any Tax Recovery Fees & Charges, you will be required to pay the difference. If a Flexible price is not available, we will use the Regular rate for that day, which is listed on the product page, to determine if there is a difference. All Value Plus and Flexible changes must be made over the phone a minimum of 2 days prior to your current and desired start dates, and can only be made to a date where we still have tickets available for all of your guests. Your order may NOT be partially changed; the changes apply for all date(s), guests, and tickets. WE DO NOT GUARANTEE WEATHER OR SNOW CONDITIONS - We do not guarantee snow conditions, weather conditions, open terrain or number of lifts operating. ___ For all future purchases on the website, we suggest the customer thoroughly review the contents provided on the website and our purchase conditions. As stated previous, we cannot make changes to an order once it has been placed which is why we denied the customer request. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/01/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No one ever contacted me from Liftopia about my complaint. How is that acceptable? What power does the BBB have if company's like Liftopia can go on ignoring costumer complaints? Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/01/14) */ Liftopia stands behind our original statement which addressed the customer's issue. In response to the customer's statement of never being contacted by Liftopia regarding her complaint, our records indicate that she did not make any requests to be contacted after her initial contact on November 24, 2014. During that call, the shift supervisor declined the customer's request to change her method of payment 10 days after her first order and 1 day after her second order. It was explained to the customer that all sales are final and prices are indicated in US Dollars on the website. Our purchase conditions clearly state "All purchases are final and cannot be canceled, refunded, changed or transferred, even with a fee" and this includes payment method. The customer actively acknowledged and agreed to the purchase conditions at the time of both of her purchases. Our initial statement includes attachments of where our currency is indicated pre-purchase, post purchase, and the email confirmations sent to the customer. We cannot be held responsible for a customer incurring charges issued by the credit card issuing bank that is outside of the original order amount made on the Liftopia.com website.

3/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Liftopia is not willing to process our request for refund/credit not accepting our doctor's notice due to format of notice We filed a request for refund or credit to due to our son being sick and us having to cancel our vacation in Lake Placid/Whiteface Mtn. We provided a doctors' notice on the official doctor's letterhead signed and handwritten. Liftopia claims that only a typed up notice could be considered. Our doctor does not offer any such notices. Difficult to understand how this policy is in any way or shape customer-friendly or fair especially since no service was rendered or any re-stocking cost has occurred.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of the original invoice amount.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/03/05) */ Our records the following: On 12/23/2013 ****** ****** placed two purchases on the Liftopia.com website for Whiteface Resort lift tickets - Order ID XXXXXXX and Order ID XXXXXXX. On 12/28/2013, ****** ****** contacted Liftopia Support and indicated him and his party did not redeem the lift tickets because one of the skiers listed under Order ID XXXXXXX was ill. At 7:15 a.m. (PT) the customer was sent the following email: ___ "Hello ******, Thank you you for contacting us regarding your upcoming travel plans. I understand you purchased lift tickets through Liftopia you or your companion were injured or became ill before your confirmed lift ticket date. We need to review your situation to determine whether you are eligible for a Liftopia credit (a Liftopia credit is valid toward a future lift ticket purchase on the website and it doesn't expire). *Liftopia credit will be considered on a ticket by ticket basis. In order to make a decision, we require that you send us documentation signed by the treating physician, and stating that you or your companion will be unable to travel during the date(s) of the Liftopia booking. Once we receive this, we will be better able to make a decision. Please be sure that the required medical documentation you send be on the physician's letterhead, stating specific dates of hospitalization or that traveling would have caused the condition to worsen. Unfortunately, we cannot accept notes on prescription pads, a work or school note, insurance forms, or hospital discharge papers. Please send us your medical documentation within 10 business days or we will be unable to assist you with your request. You can email us at: *******@liftopia.com or fax it to: XXX-XXX-XXXX. Please put "Attn: Kristen Re: Ticket in the email subject line or on the fax cover page. Liftopia is dedicated to providing excellent customer service. We hope you or your companion are feeling better soon, and we thank you for choosing Liftopia! Customer Support, Liftopia ___ On the 1/6/14 at 4:36 p.m. (PT), *** ****** sent Liftopia Support an email with an attachment of a scanned note. (PLEASE SEE ATTACHMENT #1). On 1/7/14 at 9:58 a.m. (PT), the handling Liftopia agent notified the customer by email that the documentation the customer provide didn't meet the exact requirements as specified in the original email sent to the customer on 12/28/14. Below is the email sent to the customer: ___ "Hello ***, Thank you for contacting Liftopia Customer Support! Thank you for sending this documentation. Unfortunately, we can not except this as medical documentation. As stated in the previous email we need medical documentation on the physician's letter head. Please see the exact requirements from the original stated below: "Please be sure that the required medical documentation you send be on the physician's letterhead, stating specific dates of hospitalization or that traveling would have caused the condition to worsen. Unfortunately, we cannot accept notes on prescription pads, a work or school note, insurance forms, or hospital discharge papers." Once we receive that documentation we can review the situation. Please feel free to contact us with any further questions. Thank you for using Liftopia. Customer Support, Liftopia" ___ On 2/7/14 *** ****** contacted Liftopia Support and spoke with another agent inquiring about the status of their original request. The customer stated that she sent documentation on 1/6/14. The handling agent informed the customer that information she sent in wasn't considered valid documentation for Liftopia to proceed further. The customer was provided an extension to provide valid documentation that fit Liftopia's criteria. The handling agent also stated she would attempt to contact the resort and request a concession in this case if valid documentation was provided but noted nothing could be promised due to the fact that the order and ski date took place in December 2013. The customer was provided an additional 10 day extension to provide valid documentation. A response and/or documentation was never received from the customer. Liftopia did not grant the customer's request in this case because the customer failed to provide documentation within the guidelines which were outlined to the customer at the original time of contact, both verbally and by email correspondence. The customer was informed, "we cannot accept notes on prescription pads, a work or school note, insurance forms, or hospital discharge papers." The customer provided us a doctor's note on a prescription pad, which doesn't meet our guidelines. Please note that customer signed off to the following Purchase Conditions at the time of purchase. Any attempt to refund, credit, or change an existing order does require review by Liftopia and valid documentation to screen for eligibility ___ PURCHASE CONDITIONS Before your lift ticket purchase is completed, we want to make sure you are aware of the purchase restrictions, which allow us to provide you with exceptional lift ticket deals. 1. NO CANCELLATIONS All purchases are final and cannot be canceled, refunded, changed or transferred, even with a fee. Once you make a purchase, your credit card will be charged for the amount shown, regardless of whether or not the purchased ticket(s) is/are used. 2. WE DO NOT GUARANTEE WEATHER OR SNOW CONDITIONS We do not guarantee snow conditions, weather conditions, open terrain or number of lifts operating. 3. ALL TICKETS ARE DATE SPECIFIC- TICKET DATE CANNOT BE MODIFIED POST PURCHASE Because all lift ticket sales are final, ticket dates and times cannot be changed after purchase. Your lift tickets are only good for the date(s) you selected and cannot be used on a different day or at a different time. Please ensure your ski dates listed above are certain before you purchase any tickets here. Remember, we want you to be able to take advantage of the deals we offer. If your travel plans are not concrete or you have reason to believe you may need to cancel, please wait to purchase your lift tickets. Come back when you are sure of when and where you can hit the slopes.

3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lack of detail in booking screens can lead to double booking a ticket and paying ticket change fees at the mountain. I purchased two lift tickets from Liftopia. One was intended for Park City on Friday Jan 10, 2014 and another for Saturday Jan 11, 2014. I received two lift tickets for both resorts on Saturday Jan 11, 2014. I had to pay Park City $50 to change the Saturday Jan 11th ticket to Friday the 10th. When the purchase screen came up only the date was shown, not the day: Friday. If I had purchased this directly from the Park City website the day would have shown up during the purchase screen. Also, when I purchased the second ticket there was no warning or indication that I was purchasing two lift tickets on the same day for different resorts.

Desired Settlement: $50

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/02/06) */ Our records indicate that **** ******** placed two orders on 1/6/14for ski lift tickets - Order ID XXXXXXX and Order ID XXXXXXX. On 1/14/14 **** ******** contacted Liftopia Customer Support by email correspondence and requested a reimbursement of $50 dollars, which he incurred because a ski resort charged him for changing the date of his ski lift ticket. In the customer's correspondence, he faults Liftopia's ordering system for providing him an incorrect lift ticket date for Order ID XXXXXXX. The handling agent denied the customer's request for a refund. The customer was denied because all information regarding the order was made available to the customer at the time of purchase and after. Attached are screenshots showing the Liftopia 'Purchase Path' the customer goes through from beginning to end. Please note that the day of the week and the actual ski date is indicated in the purchase path (Steps 1-4) in addition to the final page (Step 5) once the customer has finalized the order. Also, the customer is immediately sent an email confirmation to the email address provided at the time of purchase after the transaction has been completed. Considering these factors, the customer received two emails confirmation for orders placed on 1/6/14 and was shown the ski dates for both orders in the purchase path and the final page when the order was made on 1/6/14. The customer contacted us after his trip took place and did not attempt to contact Liftopia Support from the time he made his purchase or the days leading up to the first ski date. Had the customer contacted us immediately after his purchase, we could have attempted to make a change to the order he placed for the incorrect date. However, the customer contacted Liftopia Customer Support after the ski ticket dates had passed *** lift tickets were redeemed. Any additional charge incurred by the customer outside of the Liftopia purchase is the responsibility of the customer. We will not authorize a reimbursement of $50 dollars for a ski lift ticket date change the customer requested when he visited the ski resort. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2014/02/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am glad Liftopia decided to improve their website after my complaint. I certainly did not see the new day and date during my original purchases. Nor did I see it when I went back to the site to check my inclination of missing info before actually filing a complaint. I went through your checkout process twice before this complaint was filed and in neither case was the information in your responding screenshots displayed. This does not settle my issue, nor do I think Liftopia deserves a good business rating. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/02/24) */ In response to **** ********'s comments on February 19, 2014: Liftopia has not made any changes to the Purchase Path on the website. The purchase path has remained the same for several ski seasons, so the customer is incorrect in his assessment of the website being update, altered or changed after his complaint was submitted. The included attachments are proof to show Liftopia does indeed provide all order information prior to the finalization of the purchase. The customer was shown this information. (PLEASE SEE ATTACHMENTS FOR REVIEW.) With regard to the information of the purchases, it was clearly listed in the Purchase Path. The Purchase Path is purposely designed to show order information to ensure the customer understands what he/she is purchasing at the time of the transaction. Liftopia cannot be responsible for a customer missing or not reading order information that is clearly listed in our Purchase Path. As stated in our February 6, 2014, response: We will not authorize a reimbursement of $50 dollars for a ski lift ticket date change the customer requested when he visited the ski resort. Customer **** ******** was shown his order information several times before finalizing his transaction on the Liftopia.com website and was even sent an email confirmation for both of his transactions immediately after completing them. His failure to review the information prior to and after finalizing his transaction is not the fault of Liftopia. ____ Our records indicate that **** ******** placed two orders on 1/6/14for ski lift tickets - Order ID XXXXXXX and Order ID XXXXXXX. On 1/14/14 **** ******** contacted Liftopia Customer Support by email correspondence and requested a reimbursement of $50 dollars, which he incurred because a ski resort charged him for changing the date of his ski lift ticket. In the customer's correspondence, he faults Liftopia's ordering system for providing him an incorrect lift ticket date for Order ID XXXXXXX. The handling agent denied the customer's request for a refund. The customer was denied because all information regarding the order was made available to the customer at the time of purchase and after. Attached are screenshots showing the Liftopia 'Purchase Path' the customer goes through from beginning to end. Please note that the day of the week and the actual ski date is indicated in the purchase path (Steps 1-4) in addition to the final page (Step 5) once the customer has finalized the order. Also, the customer is immediately sent an email confirmation to the email address provided at the time of purchase after the transaction has been completed. Considering these factors, the customer received two emails confirmation for orders placed on 1/6/14 and was shown the ski dates for both orders in the purchase path and the final page when the order was made on 1/6/14. The customer contacted us after his trip took place and did not attempt to contact Liftopia Support from the time he made his purchase or the days leading up to the first ski date. Had the customer contacted us immediately after his purchase, we could have attempted to make a change to the order he placed for the incorrect date. However, the customer contacted Liftopia Customer Support after the ski ticket dates had passed *** lift tickets were redeemed. Any additional charge incurred by the customer outside of the Liftopia purchase is the responsibility of the customer. We will not authorize a reimbursement of $50 dollars for a ski lift ticket date change the customer requested when he visited the ski resort.

2/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I accessed the mont tremblant website using my phone and i went into the mobile app for liftopia and mont tremblant ski hill. i picked my dates and my prices, and i purchased my ski tickets. After checking my visa bill i realized that i have been charged a conversion fee from my bank as the prices were stated in USD. However, through their mobile site, the prices were not indicated that they were stated in US dollars, nor was there any indication that i was on an american website.The online ticket prices were supposed to be discounted from regular prices, instead i found that i was paying more than regular tickets after the conversion rate was applied. I have logged at least 4 phone calls to customer service at liftopia and they have not only dismissed my frustrations completely, they kept telling me about how successful their business have been. I do not need to know how many resorts they have, i just need my billing issues resolved. I strongly feel that it should be a part of their business to indicate to their consumers that they will be charged in foreign currency before allowing any finalized transaction to go through. Otherwise consumers will get charged by their credit card companies for costs that they are not expecting to pay for. Given the circumstances, i have requested for a refund four times and all four times they not only refused to do something about it, they have been completely dismissive about their part in play. Moreover the receipt that i received did not indicate that I paid the fees due in USD. Product_Or_Service: Tremblant 1-Day Lift Tickets Order_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like my money back so i can purchase regular priced tickets at a cheaper rates than if i did it online.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/05) */ Our records indicate that ***** ******** placed two orders for ski lift tickets for Tremblant ski resort. On 1/19/14, ***** ******** placed Order ID XXXXXXX and on 1/23/14, placed ORDER ID XXXXXXX. All the prices listed on Liftopia.com are in US dollars regardless of where the ski resort is located. As a US based company we reflect our prices in US dollars. Please note that the Liftopia.com website does indicate our prices and amounts are in U.S. Dollars (USD). (http://www.liftopia.com/terms-of-use.page ; Section B). It specifically states the following: ''All prices and amounts shown on this Site are in U.S. Dollars (USD), unless otherwise noted. The User agrees that all taxes, charges, surcharges, shipping/handling or other fees will automatically be charged to the credit card submitted by the User. Such amounts will be posted on this Site. You agree that your credit card will be charged for the full cost of your Purchase.'' We also note how our currency is displayed on the Liftopia.com's FAQ page under question ''Are the prices displayed in US currency?'' (https://liftopia.zendesk.com/entries/XXXXXXXX-Are-the-prices-displayed-in-US-currency-) Any additional fees incurred by the customer, who may be charged by an outside party (i.e. the issuing credit card company or bank) are not the responsibility of Liftopia.com. We only charge the customer what we reflect on the website. In this case, Order ID XXXXXXX was for $68.03 and Order ID XXXXXXX was for $132.30, both in U.S. Dollars. Liftopia only charged these amounts and nothing additional. Any additional fees incurred by the customer was through the credit card's issuing bank and the customer needs to contact them to seek reimbursement for a charge we did not apply. Therefore, we will not authorize a reimbursement to the customer for charges made outside and exclusively by the customer's credit card company and outside of the Liftopia.com order amounts.

2/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: No where on the website does it specify that prices are in American dollars and it is not clear that it is an American website. No where on Liftopia's website does it specify that their prices are in American dollars and it is not clear that it is an American website. I purchased lift tickets and ski rentals for Mont Tremblant in Québec, Canada and charged my Canadian dollar credit card. There is no indication of which currency the prices are displayed in on the website and it is also unclear which country this website belongs to. Given that it is a resort in Canada, I thought the prices were in Canadian dollars. Upon receiving my credit card bill, I discovered that the prices were in US dollars and I was charged a hefty exchange rate by the credit card company. If I had known the prices were in USD, I would not have purchased the tickets as the price is relatively expensive with the exchange rate I was charged and Liftopia's ticketing system is not as convenient and flexible as other ticketing options. Even if the price was agreeable in American dollars, I would have charged my American credit card had I known that the price is shown in USD. It seems deceiving that the currency is concealed on the website, and in this case especially so because the ski resort is in Canada.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a reimbursement of the extra charge by the credit company for converting Canadian dollars to USD. The difference between the price and the amount charged on the credit card is $11.38 and $17.42 for the two tickets purchased for a total of $28.80 CAD. See below for the ticket details. My husband and I purchased two 2-day lift tickets with one of the tickets including a 2-day rental. The prices were $128.57 and $196.77; we were charged $139.95 and $214.19 respectively.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/21) */ Our records indicate that ******* ********** placed two separate purchased on 12/17/2013 for ********* ******** Resort. All the prices listed on Liftopia.com are in U.S. dollars regardless of where the resort is located or where the customer is located. As a US based company we reflect our prices in the currency of U.S. Dollars. Please note that the Liftopia.com website does indicate our prices and amounts are in U.S. Dollars (USD). (http://www.liftopia.com/terms-of-use.page ; Section B). It specifically states the following: ''All prices and amounts shown on this Site are in U.S. Dollars (USD), unless otherwise noted. The User agrees that all taxes, charges, surcharges, shipping/handling or other fees will automatically be charged to the credit card submitted by the User. Such amounts will be posted on this Site. You agree that your credit card will be charged for the full cost of your Purchase.'' We also note how our currency is displayed on the Liftopia.com's FAQ page under question ''Are the prices displayed in US currency?'' (https://liftopia.zendesk.com/entries/XXXXXXXX-Are-the-prices-displayed-in-US-currency-) Any additional fees incurred by the customer, who may be charged by an outside party (i.e. the issuing credit card company or bank), is not the responsibility of Liftopia.com. We only charge the customer what is reflected on the website. In this case, the customer was charged $128.57 for Order ID XXXXXXX and $196.77 for Order ID XXXXXXX only, both in U.S. Dollars. Liftopia only charged these amounts and nothing additional. If the customer is charged a currency conversion fee or any other fees with regard to purchasing from a website outside of the origin of the issuing credit card bank, Liftopia is not liable for those fees. Therefore, we will not authorize a reimbursement to the customer for charges made outside and exclusively by the customer's credit card company and outside of the Liftopia.com order amounts. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/02/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Since the total price shown to a customer when they are ready to make a purchase on the website has now been modified, after my complaint was filed to the BBB, to show ''(USD)'' beside the total price, it proves that the company agrees that the price previously shown on their website, without any indication of the currency, can be misleading. Because we incurred additional costs as a direct result of the previous price advertising (we could have paid for the tickets using my USD credit card and not have had to incur the additional charges), I believe the website company should be responsible. We had called the credit card company immediately when we received our bill back in December but the credit card company said it is the website's problem and was not able to help. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/02/06) */ Our records indicate that Vitalii ********** placed two separate purchased on 12/17/2013 for ********* Mountain Resort. All the prices listed on Liftopia.com are in US dollars regardless of where the resort is located. As a US based company we reflect our prices in US dollars. Please note that the Liftopia.com website does indicate our prices and amounts are in U.S. Dollars (USD). (http://www.liftopia.com/terms-of-use.page ; Section B). It specifically states the following: “All prices and amounts shown on this Site are in U.S. Dollars (USD), unless otherwise noted. The User agrees that all taxes, charges, surcharges, shipping/handling or other fees will automatically be charged to the credit card submitted by the User. Such amounts will be posted on this Site. You agree that your credit card will be charged for the full cost of your Purchase.” We also note how our currency is displayed on the Liftopia.com’s FAQ page under question “Are the prices displayed in US currency?” (https://liftopia.zendesk.com/entries/XXXXXXXX-Are-the-prices-displayed-in-US-currency-) Any additional fees incurred by the customer who may be charged by an outside party (i.e. the issuing credit card company or bank) are not the responsibility of Liftopia.com. We only charge the customer what we reflect on the website. In this case, the customer was charged $128.57 for Order ID XXXXXXX and $196.77 for Order ID XXXXXXX only, both in U.S. Dollars. Liftopia only charged these amounts and nothing additional. Our company is based out of *** ********** *** in which the information is located on our website (http://www.liftopia.com/about.page). Liftopia sells lift tickets for almost 250 ski resorts located in North America and South America. This does not mean we are located in each of those ski resort locations. And, Liftopia cannot be held responsible if a customer makes the assumption the company is based in country where the customer is deciding to purchase lift tickets for. Therefore, we will not authorize a reimbursement to the customer for charges made outside and exclusively by the customer’s own credit card company and outside of the Liftopia.com order amounts, which Liftopia did not charge the customer. We suggest the customer contact his/her credit card company to seek reimbursement for the additional fees the credit card company charged.

2/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Jan 8th I purchased a 4 of 5 day lift ticket that was supposed to be valid the next day, but received a ticket that wasn't valid until Jan 16th. On the evening of January 8th, I purchased a 4 of 5 day lift ticket for ******* Mountain from Liftopia. I had never used this site, but a friend told me about it. I would be skiing from Jan 10th - 13th, so I decided to click on a ticket with January 9th as my start date. I paid $278.82 plus $13.10 in "tax recovery fees and charges," for a total of $291.92. The ticket was paid for under the American Express card belonging to my mother, ******* *******. The order ID was XXXXXXX, and the ticket number was TXXXXXXXX. On the morning of January 10th, I went to the front desk at the ******* Mountain Inn to pick up my lift ticket. I brought a printout of the order and my photo ID, as required. The lady I saw had never heard of Liftopia, and called the ticket sales supervisor in the main lodge. After a bit of back and forth on the phone, the lady pointed to my printed receipt and told me that my lift ticket didn't start until January 16th. I told her that I specifically clicked on January 9th as the start date for my ticket. She said a few more words on the phone, before telling me that Liftopia tickets have to be purchased a week in advance, and that my start date was probably changed to reflect this fact. I told the The lady at the front desk that this date switching was dishonest and deceptive. She agreed, but said there was nothing further she could do, and suggested that I call the company directly. I called the 800 number on my cell phone and followed the voice prompts. I waited to hear someone's voice at the other end of the line, or at least some music, but the line was dead silent. I waited for at least 5 minutes, but the line was still dead. I called a second time, and then a third, and then a forth, but to no avail. Each time the automated menu led to a dead line. I was sweating profusely under all my winter layers, and was getting fed up. I was with a friend, and he also was getting annoyed at this whole ordeal. We both wanted to get out on the slopes instead of being stuck in some telephone black hole. Realizing that I could not get a hold of this company on a Friday and had an even more remote possibility of reaching them over the weekend, I reluctantly paid $300+ more to buy a 4 out of 5 day ticket at the front desk. The following Monday, I called Liftopia using a land line phone in my hotel room. Unfortunately, I was met with the same dead phone line. I called again when I got home on Tuesday morning and again on Thursday afternoon, but not surprisingly I was met with the same result.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the $291.92 to the credit card I used to purchase the ticket. I would also like a letter or email from Liftopia apologizing for their deceptive business practice of switching the date of my lift ticket after I clicked the buy button.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/24) */ Our records show the following: On 1/8/14 ******* ******* placed a purchase on the Liftopia.com website for Mammoth Mountain lift tickets for skier *** ******* with a ski start date of 1/16/14 (ORDER ID XXXXXXX). Liftopia will not be issuing the ******* party a refund for the following reason. Our system does not change lift ticket dates customers select at the time of purchase - before or after a transaction is completed. The product the ******* party purchased was a 'Mammoth Mountain 4 of 5 Day Lift Tickets.'' The start date of 1/16/14 is what was the customer selected at the time of purchase, no other date but 1/16/14 was selected. The customer was shown the ski start date several times in the purchase path. It is indicated five times in the purchase path on our website, one of those times on the final page once the transaction is completed, and also in the email confirmation sent to the customer immediately after the purchase was completed. This specific product has a 7-day advance booking window, meaning for a customer to purchase for a specific date, the last available date to purchase for the intended ski start date is seven days in advance. In this case, if the ******* party intended to have a ski start date of 1/9/14, then the latest day the product would have been available for purchase would have been 1/2/14, which was not the case because the customer purchase on 1/8/14. It would have been impossible for the customer to select 1/9/14 on 1/8/14 because the date was already blocked out on our website, making the date unavailable for purchase. If the ******* party visited the Liftopia site and was viewing this product on 1/8/14, the soonest available date for purchase would have been 1/15/14. Again, the date of 1/9/14 was not available for purchase on the Liftopia website. Our support team is available seven days a week by telephone, email or chat. Below is our contact info and times of availability. Monday through Friday: 6:00 a.m. - 6 p.m. (PST) Saturday and Sunday: 6:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. (PST) Telephone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Email: *******@liftopia.com Chat: http://www.liftopia.com/ We have no record of the ******* party speaking a Liftopia Support agent to discuss the issue and for us to provide an explanation.

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Liftopia ticket cascade mountain orderID XXXXXXX On 12/13/2013, I called liftopia customer service for tickets information. They have tickets online purchasing service.And if I bought tickets from their website and later I could cancel the purchasing. So I bought two cascade mountain lift tickets (order ID XXXXXXX, total $42.10). On 12/20/2013, I called liftopia customer service to cancel my order as my plan change. They let me contact ******* ******** (******* ******** Road Portage, WI XXXXX-XXXX Ph: (XXX)XXX-XXXX) for cancelling the tickets order. When I called ******* ********, they let me call Liftopia for cancelling this order. So like this I called Liftopia again, they let me call ******* ******** again. Till now, I could not cancell my tickets order and get refund.

Desired Settlement: Cancel my Liftopia ticket cascade mountain orderID XXXXXXX. Get fully refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/21) */ Our records indicate the following: On 12/13/14 ****** ** made a purchased for lift tickets for ******* ******** with a ski date of 12/25/2013. On 12/17/14 at 7:45 a.m., ****** ** contact **ftopia Support and stated that he had booked lift tickets on the **ftopia.com website and requested a refund. The handling agent reported to the customer that **ftopia would need to speak to the resort for authorization before processing any type of refund or credit to the customer due to our purchase conditions, which the customer signed off to at the time of purchase. (SEE PURCHASE CONDITIONS BELOW.) On 12/17/14 at 7:51 a.m., the handling support agent contacted ******* ******** Resort and left a voicemail with the ticketing manager inquiring about ****** **'s order and request. On 12/17/14 at 8:00 a.m., ****** from ******* ******** Resort returned the agent's voicemail indicating that she had already spoken to the customer, ****** **, and the resort would provide a resolution to the customer on their end. On 12/17/14 at 9:07 a.m., ****** ** contacted **ftopia Support again and the handling agent informed ****** **n that he needed to contact ****** at ******* ******** since they were already in contact with each other regarding the request and the resort would be handling his request directly on their end. The customer was also notified that **ftopia was not authorized to make any changes to the order meaning we could not issue a refund or credit for the order. The customer was already informed by the handling **ftopia agent to contact the resort with regard to his purchase and request. The customer was clearly informed that the resort would be providing a resolution directly through them and not **ftopia.com. A resolution is available. The customer needs to contact ******* ******** Resort directly as instructed before and speak with ******. PURCHASE CONDITIONS: 1. NO CANCELLATIONS All purchases are final and cannot be canceled, refunded, changed or transferred, even with a fee. Once you make a purchase, your credit card will be charged for the amount shown, regardless of whether or not the purchased ticket(s) is/are used. 2. WE DO NOT GUARANTEE WEATHER OR SNOW CONDITIONS We do not guarantee snow conditions, weather conditions, open terrain or number of lifts operating. 3. ALL TICKETS ARE DATE SPECIFIC- TICKET DATE CANNOT BE MODIFIED POST PURCHASE Because all lift ticket sales are final, ticket dates and times cannot be changed after purchase. Your lift tickets are only good for the date(s) you selected and cannot be used on a different day or at a different time. Please ensure your ski dates listed above are certain Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2014/01/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) **ftopia ticket cascade mountain orderID XXXXXXX On 12/13/2013, I called liftopia customer service for tickets information. They have tickets online purchasing service.As customer service told that if I bought tickets from their website and later I could cancel the purchasing. So I bought two cascade mountain lift tickets (order ID XXXXXXX, total $42.10). On 12/20/2013, I called liftopia customer service to cancel my order as my plan change. They let me contact ******* ******** (******* ******** Road Portage, WI XXXXX-XXXX Ph: (XXX)XXX-XXXX) for cancelling the tickets order. When I called ******* ********, they let me call **ftopia for cancelling this order. So like this I called **ftopia again, they let me call ******* ******** again. Till now, I could not cancell my tickets order and get refund. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/01/24) */ Our records indicate the following: On 12/13/14 ****** ** made a purchased for lift tickets for ******* ******** with a ski date of 12/25/2013 directly on the ******* ******** Resort website. On 12/17/14 at 7:45 a.m., ****** ** contact **ftopia Support and stated that he had booked lift tickets on the **ftopia.com website and requested a refund. The handling agent reported to the customer that **ftopia would need to speak to the resort for authorization before processing any type of refund or credit to the customer due to our purchase conditions, which the customer signed off to at the time of purchase. (SEE PURCHASE CONDITIONS BELOW.) On 12/17/14 at 7:51 a.m., the handling support agent contacted ******* ******** Resort and left a voicemail with the ticketing manager inquiring about ****** **'s order and request. On 12/17/14 at 8:00 a.m., ****** from ******* ******** Resort returned the agent's voicemail indicating that she had already spoken to the customer, ****** **, and the resort would provide a resolution to the customer on their end. On 12/17/14 at 9:07 a.m., ****** ** contacted **ftopia Support again and the handling agent informed ****** **n that he needed to contact ****** at ******* ******** since they were already in contact with each other regarding the request and the resort would be handling his request directly on their end. The customer was also notified that **ftopia was not authorized to make any changes to the order meaning we could not issue a refund or credit for the order. The customer was already informed by the handling **ftopia agent to contact the resort with regard to his purchase and request. The customer was clearly informed that the resort would be providing a resolution directly through them and not **ftopia.com. PURCHASE CONDITIONS: 4. NO CANCELLATIONS All purchases are final and cannot be canceled, refunded, changed or transferred, even with a fee. Once you make a purchase, your credit card will be charged for the amount shown, regardless of whether or not the purchased ticket(s) is/are used. 5. WE DO NOT GUARANTEE WEATHER OR SNOW CONDITIONS We do not guarantee snow conditions, weather conditions, open terrain or number of lifts operating. 6. ALL TICKETS ARE DATE SPECIFIC- TICKET DATE CANNOT BE MODIFIED POST PURCHASE Because all lift ticket sales are final, ticket dates and times cannot be changed after purchase. Your lift tickets are only good for the date(s) you selected and cannot be used on a different day or at a different time. Please ensure your ski dates listed above are certain PLEASE NOTE: **ftopia acts a third party payment processor, meaning we process the transactions but ultimately, the ski resorts **ftopia works decides on the how to handle a customer's order. In this case, ******* ******** is the company ****** ** should be corresponding with regarding his request. **ftopia informed ****** ** to contact ******* ******** with his request during a conversation which took place on 12/17/14. ******* ******** Resort was already in contact with ****** ** when he contacted us on 12/17 and it was at ******* ********'s request that we inform ****** ** to contact them directly. **ftopia has a very strict purchase policy meaning we do not cancel tickets without authorization from a ski resort we work with. **ftopia will provide records of our call logs and conversations with ****** **, if necessary. Again, ****** **'s issue can be resolved by contacting ******* ******** directly not **ftopia.

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Promised to give me a credit and then transferd me to supervisor who was extremely obnoxious and them said he would not issue a credit XXXXXXX order number -was not clearly defined on the ordering process through the computer website that liftTopia provided -called customer service and she switched me to a supervisor and he was belligerent and decided not to give me the credit that they promised me ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: Credit card company

Desired Settlement: We went through lift Topia website to purchase ski tickets- it was not clearly defined on website on what date but process went through anyway and it ended up being for the wrong date and charge my credit card- called customer service and they said they would issue a credit and then switch me to a belligerent supervisor and he then rescinded that statement that I will not give you credit-that is poor customer service and very infuriating as I am a very good customer-order number XXXXXXX

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/22) */ Our records indicate the following: On 1/18/14 at 12:41 p.m. (PST), ***** ***** made a purchase on the Liftopia.com website for ******* Mountain Resort with a ski date of 1/20/14. On 1/18/14 at 1:33 p.m. (PST), ***** ***** contacted Liftopia Support requesting a change in his recent order (Order ID XXXXXXX) as he wanted to switch from one ski resort to another. The handling agent originally stated that customer could make a repurchase but upon further review of the customer's account noticed that a one-time courtesy to the customer's account, to make a change, had already been extended in the past and the customer opted in for that change during that time. The handling agent informed the customer of his previous one-time courtesy and declined the customer's request for a resort exchange. The call was transferred to the shift supervisor and again, the customer was informed of the reason why his request was being declined. Our decision was based on the following: 1) Liftopia's Purchase Conditions clearly state the following: Purchase Conditions Before your lift ticket purchase is completed, we want to make sure you are aware of the purchase restrictions, which allow us to provide you with exceptional lift ticket deals. 1. NO CANCELLATIONS All purchases are final and cannot be canceled, refunded, changed or transferred, even with a fee. Once you make a purchase, your credit card will be charged for the amount shown, regardless of whether or not the purchased ticket(s) is/are used. 2. WE DO NOT GUARANTEE WEATHER OR SNOW CONDITIONS We do not guarantee snow conditions, weather conditions, open terrain or number of lifts operating. 3. ALL TICKETS ARE DATE SPECIFIC- TICKET DATE CANNOT BE MODIFIED POST PURCHASE Because all lift ticket sales are final, ticket dates and times cannot be changed after purchase. Your lift tickets are only good for the date(s) you selected and cannot be used on a different day or at a different time. Please ensure your ski dates listed above are certain before you purchase any tickets here. Remember, we want you to be able to take advantage of the deals we offer. If your travel plans are not concrete or you have reason to believe you may need to cancel, please wait to purchase your lift tickets. Come back when you are sure of when and where you can hit the slopes. 2) ***** ***** had one-time courtesy change granted in the past. On 12/26/13, ***** ***** made three purchases on the Liftopia.com website. Two of the orders had ski dates of 12/28/13 and the other had a ski date of 12/29/13. On 12/26/13 at 6:19 p.m. (PST), ***** ***** email Liftopia support stating he booked ski lift tickets for the incorrect date, indicating it was for Order ID XXXXXXX. On 1/2/13, the handling agent contacted Caberfae Ski Resort and confirmed the order for 12/29/13 was not used. On 1/2/13 at 9:47 a.m. (PST), the handling agent sent an email to the customer informing him that the Order ID XXXXXXX was cancelled and he would be receiving a refund. The customer was also informed of the following in the email: ''Please note that this is a one-time only exception and we will not be able to issue any refunds in the future due to our terms and conditions of purchase, so PLEASE be sure to triple-check your dates and skier names before making any future purchases.'' We informed the customer of this restriction for all future purchases, which is why the customer's request was declined on 1/18/14. He is very aware of Liftopia's Purchase Conditions, which must be checked off by all customers prior to submitting an order, in addition to the fact that he was made fully aware that his previous change for his order in December 2013 was a ONE-TIME courtesy and no other concessions would be made in the future.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Liftopia
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart