This business is not BBB accredited.

Freedom Tax Relief

Phone: (800) 455-6829 Fax: (650) 393-6841 View Additional Phone Numbers 1875 S Grant St Ste 450, San Mateo, CA 94402 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.freedomtaxrelief.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers tax negotiation services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Freedom Tax Relief include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Additional Complaint Information

Jim Brown at Freedom Tax Relief has asked that consumers call him directly at 800-455-6829 ext. 16238 prior to filing a complaint with BBB.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Freedom Tax Relief
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 14, 2005 Business started: 12/01/2003 Business started locally: 12/01/2003 Business incorporated 10/29/2004 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. James Brown, Tax Attorney Mr. Jeff Staley, Managing Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Brown, Tax Attorney
Number of Employees

510

Business Category

Taxes - Negotiators

Service Area
This business service area covers Nationwide.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1875 S Grant St Ste 450

    San Mateo, CA 94402 (800) 455-6829 (650) 393-6255

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The service that was offered to me was not provided. Poor customer service contact. Treated very poorly. I signed up with Freedom Tax Relief on X-XXXX. The sales rep, Mr. ******* took all my information down and assured me that someone would be contacting me to go over my case. From that point on I had to initiate all contact with this company via emails and phone calls. They mis-stated my income and offered me a plan that was not correct. They did admit they had made a mistake and they would get back with me to go over my options. Again I had to make all initial contact, was very hard to get them to call me or email me on the progress of my case. I was given an option to make payments to the IRS and was told that would be my best option and that the IRS would never consider any other option due to my circumstances. I argued with the tax attorney that I was promised to be offered an offer in compromise. After paying the initial fees, they then proceeded to tell me that they would go forward with that but it would cost me extra fees. I should have bowed out at that moment. I had to call again to get the application sent to me, I filled out the application, sent it in to the IRS and didn't hear from Freedom after that. I did get a call from a clerk under the attorney letting me know that the IRS was asking for documents to move forward with my case. I promptly faxed all documents to Freedom. Never heard back. I received a letter from the IRS asking for the same documents, so I took it upon myself to call the IRS. The examiner told me that she had called my Power of Attorney, which would be Freedom, and they never got back to her. SO I worked with the examiner and I faxed her the extra documents that she asked for. Two weeks later I received a letter from the IRS stating that I had been approved for my office in compromise. Two weeks later I got an email from Freedom letting me know that I was approved. A little too late since I had to do the legwork that they should have done. I don't feel I was treated appropriately by this business. When you are in the business of customer service, you should do just that! I paid my fees and they got away with the ill treatment. From the start, the sales rep I spoke with told me that the offer in compromise would be my best option. In the end, they put together a settlement program that was not in my good interest and when I argued the point of the offer in compromise they just tacked on extra fees. All was good for the company, I got the shaft. I don't mind paying for a service in which I receive proper treatment. I feel they took me to the cleaners and charged me for fees that were not necessary. I should have been given the OIC from the start, but they walk you through what they think would be best for you. Not true. What is good for the company! They should really take a lesson on how to treat customers.

Desired Settlement: I feel the company should refund me at least 75% of the fees I paid. They really did nothing for me except for putting together a payment plan that was mis-stated, and issuing a power of attorney to the IRS, which in the end I had to do the leg work to get my OIC approved.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** R. *****, VP TAX Contact Phone: ************ xXXXXX Contact Email: ******@freedomtaxrelief.com We began Ms. ******'s case back in April on 2013. Our company handles case in two steps: step 1 is an evaluation of whether client is in "tax compliance" and a review of client's best tax resolution option. Ms. ****** paid our company $2,900 for that service. At that time, her most recent tax return filed was for tax year 2011 with Adjusted Gross Income for that year was $53,000. Based on that income number, we recommended an IRS Offer in Compromise to resolve her tax debt. The fee paid by client for that service of representing her through the Offer process was $2,500. Thereafter, Ms. ****** filed her 2012 tax return showing a doubling of income to an adjusted gross income number of $110,000 per year. We adjusted our recommendation to an IRS Installment Agreement based on this much higher income. That payment plan with IRS was completed in August of 2013. This action stopped all IRS collection action. On August 15th, after discussion on topic, we agreed to proceed again with the Offer in Compromise as client had provided documentation of lower income. We prepared the Offer in Compromise documents and they were submitted to IRS in mid-November 2013. We then worked with Offer examiner, *** ****** on various items she had requested. The IRS Offer in Compromise was accepted saving the client approximately $16,000. Therefore, we not only prepared and worked through this client's accepted Offer in Compromise but also set up an IRS payment plan during the process to protect her from any IRS collection action. Please note also, In client's signed fee agreement , she agreed that no fees would be refundable for our handling of the case. Even without that language, our company would be entitled to retain fees equal to the time spent on your case. The hours of time spent on her case have exceeded the fees paid to our company. After the IRS had agreed to wipe out her tax debt, client then demanded a full fee refund after our case with IRS was completed and threatened that if we didn't do that, she would complain to the Better Business Bureau and to the Attorney General. Our company will not be subjected to clients' extortion (the gaining of money by threat of harm to reputation). The facts here are clear: Client hired our company to review her tax situation, recommend best tax resolution option, then complete and IRS Offer in Compromise. Those services were performed and the IRS accepted the Offer in Compromise that we had prepared for client. Therefore, Ms. ******'s complaint is without basis and should be rejected. Freedom Tax Relief **** S. ******* Drive, ****** ** XXXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In response to Mr. *****: Yes, they did receive my case in April 2013. I was not informed of how they handled cases in two steps. One of FTR's employee's, Mr. ***** ******* informed me over the phone when he took all my financial information that I was the perfect candidate for the offer in compromise. He did tell me the fee for their services was $2900. As for my 2012 taxes not being on file at the IRS, I had informed my processing supervisor assigned to me, Mr. ******* ****** of the need to file a 1040x due to the fact that I had noticed my SS# was off by one number. I called several times to ask the question, I was referred by a Patrice from FTR, to not do anything. I called the IRS on my own and they advised me to file a 1040x form. When Mr. ***** finally got around to me, he told me to go ahead with the 1040x in which I already had done on my own account two months prior. As Mr. ***** states they had all my financial and tax information but had never even called me to go over the details of which I believe a reputable company would do. Therefore, when Mr. ***** sent me a first financial review of my account, he offered me an installment payment plan, which when I looked over my details, FTR had made an error on my income. He did apologize and told me would re do. When he came back with the offer of payments, he then told me that NO WAY WOULD THE IRS EVER AGREE TO AN OIC, since I had taken monies out of my retirement plan. I then told him I was offered the OIC on my first contact with his employee. He then told me, well it would cost me another $2500. Would have been nice to know up front how the company actually works to their benefit. I agree that FTR actually submitted an application on my behalf for the OIC but they didn't bother to follow through. When I received an email from an FTR employee, ********, she asked for documents. That very next day I had them faxed to her to forward. I should not have had to receive a letter from the IRS asking for the same documents to be forwarded to them. That is when I chose to call Ms. ****** IRS examiner, and she will attest to the fact that she had documented she had called my power of attorney, FTR, and made several attempts to speak to someone in charge of my case. I then worked with her myself, to fax the documents that she needed to complete my OIC. Two weeks later I received a letter in the mail telling me that what MR. ***** said I would have never been accepted, the IRS accepted my OIC. Two weeks later I got an email from Mr. ***** stating that my offer was accepted. Something I already had known as I worked with Ms. ****** not FTR. In closing, I do agree that FTR spent time on my case, but the hours that Mr. ***** is stating they spent is partly due to incorrect figures that FTR **** up on my review. Mr. ***** nor anyone working for the FTR at anytime went over with me the way he is stating that their company works in two parts. I was told upon agreeing to have FTR take on my tax issue, that I would be afforded the OIC to solve my tax issue. It seems like Mr. ***** had other resolutions in mind when he put together his payment plan and told me that was my best chance to resolve my tax issue. Funny how when I pursued the OIC, I was accepted. I will pay a fee for services rendered $2900.00, but I was definitely taken to the cleaners with the huge extra fees. Just would not like to see another unsuspecting human being get trampled with fees not disclosed. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/09/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I beg to differ. I agree, the income status did change as I conferred with your processing manager, Mr. ****** letting him know that I needed to file an amended return, in which he advised me I did not need to. Once again, on my own doing I filed an amended return so both my tax returns would be in the system with the IRS. Due to lack of communication on your companies part, you went ahead and produced a financial review with incorrect figures. My income, and my total monthly income for living expenses were both incorrect. It appears Mr. ***** is attacking me in an unprofessional manner, using baseless and untrue accusations. In fact, in addition to the error, I followed through with Ms. ****** IRS examiner, myself on one or more occasions. In addition, the IRS followed up with me when FTR, my POA, did not respond on my behalf. Let's be fair and stick to the facts. Also, please check the attachment you forwarded to me. You sent me signed documents for another customer. Including all their personal information, Social Security number, debit card information and voided check from their personal bank. If this is any indication of how your company conducts business my claim is valid. Let's end this professionally with a complete refund. See following email for attatchments. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/09/08) */ I think it's inevitable that a company that has completed 12,000 tax resolution clients will encounter such a client as Ms. ******. She embodies the saying, "no good dead goes unpunished". Even after winning her case with the IRS and saving her thousands of dollars she complains about such things as an amended tax return that we have no involvement in preparing. With all due respect, I believe this complaint is just part of doing business with clients with massive tax debts. With the number of clients we've had... numerically, one will encounter a client that is completely irrational and not in touch with reality. I don't say these things lightly. They are the result of my contact with her...which has been one sided with simply no understanding on her end. Bottom line: We had the case, we did the work, the case was successful, the IRS wiped out her tax debt, client's complaints are a result of her misunderstanding or attempt to get her fees refunded with a factually unfounded complaint.

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rude and argumentative account manager. Uncooperative in finding method of assisting me with IRS bank levy. Despite similar initial issues with this company a little over a year ago, my case then was finally assigned to a tax preparer (**** ********* who did an outstanding job. I therefore decided to try them for "phase two" of representing me in seeking a resolution of my tax debt. I retained them just prior to cancer surgery on May 1, 2014. Once I received the extremely complicated and detailed kit, I realized that I would be unable to complete it in a timely fashion due to an extended recuperation period, but counted on FTR to safeguard my interests during my recovery. I had been advised by Mr. ********* as well as the sales rep who sold me the second phase of the program, that I would receive notices from the IRS, but that they were routine and not to worry about them. Out of the blue the IRS placed a levy on my bank accounts yesterday, freezing my funds. ***** my account manager was rude, condescending, argumentative and uncooperative - despite that, in our initial conversation she told me that if I faxed the intent to levy notice to her that she would see if one of the "agents" could call the IRS and seek some relief. When I called back today she at first couldn't locate the fax, and then denied ever offering to have an agent follow up. I called back and spoke with ******* ***** who informed me that there was nothing whatsoever that FTR could do until the kit was received. Not long after that conversation I received an email from ***** R. ***** who identified himself as "the tax attorney" (do they have only one?) for FTR, who seemed to indicate that maybe something could be done. He requested tax returns that FTR had prepared - why is it that the departments there do not communicate with each other (other than for sales purposes) so that one department has to ask the customer to fax documents prepared by the other department? Can't they communicate and cooperate to benefit the customer and share the necessary information among themselves rather than placing the burden on the already distressed customer? I told him that it is unacceptable that they don't talk to each other. In response to his request, I sent some initial information by email, with the intention of sending the completed kit next week. In the meantime I've heard nothing back this afternoon/evening. My funds remain frozen. I am unable to pay bills. Why am I paying FTR to assist me only to be insulted and informed that nothing can be done?

Desired Settlement: Either act on my behalf in a courteous, timely fashion (especially when I am unable to act because of my health), or refund my money so that I can seek help elsewhere.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2014/07/11) */ I wish to withdraw my complaint #XXXXXXXX. The business has recently been most cooperative in addressing my concerns. Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

4/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the salesman on the phone told me that I would certainly be helped by using their service. he told me that was in the contract that I would be signing and that they would immediately stop any garnishment on my wages. he stated that I would be eligible for an offer in compromise. he gave me false information about how they would help me with my tax bill. so, of course I never read the contract word for word. I went by what the man said was in the contract. he was giving me false information and false hope. of course he is no longer an employee with this firm..that seems a little shady to me. it leads me to believe he was giving false info to a lot more clients. when the garnishment continued coming out of my check, their excuse was the contract states it could continue and that they don't guarantee it will be stopped. they said they could not do an offer in compromise to the irs because I did not qualify and that they would set up a payment plan for me if I paid another 500.00 fee for arranging it. I had already set up a plan with the irs in 2011 but was in default because I did not keep my taxes current. I explained to their attorney, *** *****, I had already been that route and I wanted an offer in compromise like I was promised on the phone when I signed up for their services. He refused and at that time let me know that my 3700.00 was not refundable. had I known that the salesman didn't know what he was talking about, I could have used the money I paid them to catch up some of my irs debt and saved myself a lot of time getting all the paperwork together and faxing stuff that didn't help me to get any tax resolved anyway. it seems to me that they did nothing but take my money. if they had at least stopped the garnishment it might have made a difference to me. as of now I am a very unhappy former customer and I will tell everyone who asks me for advice on a tax matter not to call this place.by the way,I am a bank teller and I see a few people with the same problem as me with back taxes.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund 3750.00 full refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/15) */ This is a response to ******* and ****** ****** BBB complaint(BBB case # XXXXXXXX) against Freedom Tax Relief (FTR), #XXXXX. The clients' signed fee agreement is attached to this response. Client hired FTR to review their tax situation and recommend the best tax resolution option. Client paid FTR $3,700. FTR filed our power of attorney with IRS, obtained IRS records, obtained clients financials, completed IRS form 433A, completed review of best tax resolution option and recommended IRS Installment Agreement to client. Per the signed fee agreement, client was obligated to pay $500 for such resolution. Client declined and case was closed. Client now complains to BBB without first making any attempt to discuss their displeasure with FTR. Client states that they signed the fee agreement but did not read it. However, directly above client's signature on the fee agreement, they state they have read the agreement and are bound by the agreement. The contract specifically states that the written agreement is the entire agreement between client and FTR and that no other verbal statements have bearing on the agreement. IRS tax levies are released by arriving at a RESOLUTION of the tax debt, such as getting into an IRS payment plan. Client never paid us to complete that resolution. Our fee agreement specifically states that we cannot release a garnishment unless we resolve the tax debt. FTR made no promises that the clients would qualify for an IRS Offer in Compromise. Clients owe about $25,000 to IRS. Clients have $10,000 in assets and their income is higher than their monthly expenses by over $800. The IRS would never accept a settlement offer on this case. For us to have recommended and completed an IRS Offer in Compromise on this case would have been unethical as clients do not qualify for that service. (see attached financial review we completed). Clients have agreed in their fee agreement, section 5A, that fees paid for our tax review are non-refundable. We spent a lot of time getting all clients tax records and calculating their income and expenses and answering their question, etc. The time spent on their case has exhausted the fees they paid our company. For the reasons above, clients' complaint should be dismissed and not noted against FTR BBB history. This is simply a client fabricated complaint attempting to strong-arm a non-deserved fee refund. ***** ** ***** Tax Attorney Freedom Tax Relief ************ x-XXXXX Fax ************ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They state I never tried to discuss this matter with them. This is a lie. I told Mr. ***** I was not satisfied with their results. All he would do is e-mail me the agreement. I know I signed the agreement. I, like many people, was paying attention to and believing the salesman on the phone. He told me they could get me an offer in compromise and that the garnishment would stop immediately because they contact the IRS to let them know I have obtained their services. Everything he told me on the phone was a lie. As far as them obtaining my records, I faxed almost everything they needed. I have called the IRS since they dropped my case. The IRS says I am currently uncollectable. They are supposed to stop the garnishment. I knew I could set up a payment plan with the IRS because I have done that before. I was in default on the plan because I could not keep my taxes current. That is when I called Freedom tax relief. All the tax help places advertise pennies on the dollar. Why would I pay 3700.00 to someone to do what I can do for free? That is why I believed the salesman on the phone. Since they have dropped my case, I currently have no income. My husband has had health issues and will probably not be able to return to his job. With all the new problems I am having, I am certain they could have gotten me an offer in compromise. My income has drastically been reduced. I did not have time to let them know about my new problems with my husbands health situation. I received the letter that they dropped my case before I could find out from them if my new problems would help my case with the IRS. I work for a bank. I see people everyday being told what is in the paperwork they are signing. I don't believe I have ever seen anyone stop and read the form. And that is exactly what I did. I listened to a person and didn't read the fine print. I know they will not refund my money, but I think they need to train their employees to not mislead people on the phone. I do not intend to drop this complaint. I will keep telling everyone that asks me about these kind of services to beware and to not waste their time and money. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/22) */ This is Freedom Tax's counter to client's reponse. We are very sorry that client is not happy but by law we can only provide services that they qualify for. If we were to proceed with an IRS Offer in Compromise, it would not be accepted and client would be complaining to BBB about that offer being rejected. I corresponded with client and asked them to update the numbers on our financial review. There was no change to those numbers. If we were to suggest and complete an Offer in Compromise for them based on their numbers, that would be malpractice. Client signed and understood the written agreement which is the entire agreement. That spells out very clearly our two-step process. We did exactly as called for in our contract. The fee they paid our company is reasonable based on the time spent on this case and the recomendation that an Offer in Compromise would not work is very valuable. Other unethical companies may have charged them to do an Offer in Compromise that would never have worked. We reviewed there numbers and right per our contract, recommended the service for which they qualify. My belief is that the clients are really upset with the IRS process and the fact that their tax debt can't be wiped out because they have too much income and assets. However, sometimes it's better to recieve correct bad news, than to be misled with false news and charged a fee that would not produce any results. I understand that client is not happy but the true issue is that they are not happy paying the tax debt. If there was a potential of doing an Offer with the IRS on this case, we would happily have recomended it and charged them accordingly. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/04/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As I stated before, I was reeled in by the salesperson on the phone. I told him the amount of tax debt I had. I also asked him about help with state taxes. He did give me the correct information about that. They do not help with state tax debt. I arranged payments for that tax debt. With the info I gave him he said I would certainly be eligible for an offer in compromise. I know I am fighting a losing battle going up against a firm of lawyers. My high school diploma is no match for their education. My point is they have people answering the phone giving false information. They wait until you sign the agreement, then tell you a payment plan. If the salesperson had told me that you have to owe more than XXXXX.00 in tax debt to be eligible for an offer in compromise I would have not retained their services because I knew how much I owed. If the salesperson would have said the garnishment would not be stopped, I would have went to the IRS in person to try to set up another payment plan. My complaint is the salesperson gave me wrong information and I hired them on his word, not what was in the agreement. I admitted I did not read the agreement. I hired their services based on what a live person was telling me. And for this lawyer to say I am upset that my tax debt wasn't wiped out is insulting. I have had a lot of misfortunes the past 3 years and paying the IRS wasn't top on my priority list. With all the penalties and interest they charge there is no getting them paid when you make 11.67 an hour. My taxes are current and all I wanted was help getting caught up. I was flat out lied to by their salesperson. They gave me false hope on resolving my tax problem. I am no better off now and have just lost 3700.00. That money would have paid 2 years of taxes that I am behind. So why would I hire them? Because their salespeople are lying or are just misinformed. If my complaint keeps 1 person from being taken advantage of, then I feel I have helped. They need to understand to not believe people and to read every word of anything they sign. They will lie to get you to hire them. They did to me.

10/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company hired ultimately to negotiate my penalties and fees to the minimum allowed and secure a payment plan. They did neither. When hired they stated they could help us lower the tax penalty and fees to the lowest possible and achieve a valid payment plan. This was done in 2 phases analysis followed by resolution. Analysis phase cost $1000: file power of attorney and they would handle all corresponse with IRS and needed 3 months to analyize our situation and come back with the final recommendation. Signed power of attorney and first payment on Jan 21st 2012. Filled out their package and had a few emails asking questions in Feb and March. Mid March addressed their questions and recieved zero contact after that. I wrote to their company with a statement that I hired them to negotiate my case not perform the same analysis I could get from the IRS for free. I specifically asked Cameron if their analysis was what I could get from the IRS for free to stop working on my case and refund my money - no response. I kept recieving letters from IRS and did not respond hoping they were - June 6th recieved the final letter of intent to levy lien. Got a hold of FTR to get status - it was not until this time that *** ***** was assign my file (day I called); then they processed and sent me my recommendation. Same exact analysis the IRS would do with a final recommendation to set up a payment plan. No negotiating lesser fees (which I was promised when I signed on). Sent me a package to sign to pay another $250 and they would set up my payment plan. At this time I was concerned that this process would not get done in time so I contacted the IRS myself. Main reason for contact was to see if FTR had been working with them to resolve my file. Answer was "NO" they filed power of attorney but had not contacted or addressed them in any fashion to slow down the processing of our file or negotiated fees. I spent 30 mins on the phone and set up my own payment plan - for less than I was told our payments would be on the phone by Mr. ***** and with no additional fees. This company took our $1000 and did not 1 thing we were promised they would do and did exactly what I asked them not to do (proceed with an analysis I could get from the IRS for free). I asked them directly to stop working my case in Feb. 2012 to stop working my case and refund my money. This company falsely advertises what they do - they purposely have people tell you goals they can achieve on the phone but dont put all that detail in writting - my sale guy ***** ******** had his boss call me directly and ensure me that during their analysis process they work directly with the IRS to lessen your penalties and fees and negotiate the smallest payment plan possible. When I spoke with Mr. ***** on June 17th he recited "you owe ~ $12K so the IRS will let you go 60 months payments so quick math it is about $200 per month. If that sounds good I will send you the paperwork to pay the next fee to set up your payment plan." They did not even try and negotiate down penalties or fees. When I contacted the IRS it was confirmed not 1 person in their office has ever contacted the them on my behave. False advertising of services provided and all around bad useless service. There is nothing they provide that I could not do myself.

Desired Settlement: AS noted in the several emails to ******* when I was being asked to provide all our financial information - if all you are going to do is perform the same analysis I can get from the IRS for free then stop working my case and refund my money. This was in February 1 week after my first payment. I was assured that was not what they were doing, yes they were performing the analysis but they were also working with the IRS to negotiate the lesser penalty and fees. They were also suppose to complete this first phase in 3 months (so April 2012) they did not even complete the analysis until I called yesterday June 17th (which I provided no more information for them to do so, therefore not delayed waiting for something from me). They failed to even contact the IRS to ensure my case would not end up in a final notice to levy lien - which they did not. If I had not contacted the IRS myself they would have proceeded with the lien process. Freedom Tax Relief did nothing as agreed therefore I deserve a refund of my payment for their services.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/02) */ This is a response to ******* ******* (hereinafter 'client') BBB complaint. Client's signed contract with our company is attached. Client agreed in the contract that the written agreement was the entire agreement between her and our company. Client signed that she had read and understood the terms of the agreement. Our company completed all services under the agreement with client is a professional and honest manner. Client misstates that we agreed to working with IRS to negotiate less penalties and interest. Our contract clearly states that is not our assignment. Our contract reflects that client has paid for a review of her financial situation and recommendation how to resolve the tax debt. Client agreed that after the review, our company would prepare a separate contract for the tax resolution. Our company did the review and recommended that client have us set up a payment plan with the IRS. Client decided not to hire us for that work and set up her own IRS payment plan. Client states in her complaint that we did nothing on this case which is clearly untrue. We filed her IRS power of attorney, we obtained her IRS records, we reviewed in depth her income, assets and monthly expenses, we completed a review of those for her and prepared a contract to complete an IRS payment plan, client had multiple communications for our staff as well as the managing tax attorney in the office. Client's complaint is clearly without merit and calculated to generate some undeserved fee refund and therefore the complaint should be disregarded by the BBB and not listed as a valid complaint against our company. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2013/07/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There statements are not true. The case started late in January and the March contact was gathering the initial infoation to START working the case. The contract I signed states I can cancel at any time (not 3 days). When I spoke with his staff they stated very clearly that they could not start working on my case (other than power of attorney filing) without all the information being communicated in the March email. If the work was complete March, why did I have to raise a compliant with their office for NO contact from March to June, no response at all to emails and phone calls in that time frame and after that compliant they delivered a final packet (in June). Their work was not complete when I asked to have my case cancelled therefore a full refund is required. Their response is simply not true and fits with my complaint that this company that they say one thing and their actions are different. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/07/11) */ We repeat that our company completed all services contained within the fee agreement for client. Our company did contact IRS and file our power of attorney and obtained all client tax records. No further communication with IRS was viable until we had determined a resolution of tax debt. Our company called and emailed client multiple time, returned calls and had several discussions with client as to the progress of her case. Cancellation of contract is to be completed by client within 3 days of hiring our company. Client notes that she sent that on 3/16/13 however our case with her began back in January 2013. We worked on her case 3 months and then she sent request to cancel after our work was done. These items by consumer clearly reflect that her complaint is without basis and intent on generating an undeserved fee refund. Our company completed our assignment listed in the fee agreement and client agreed that our contact was the complete agreement and no other communication formed a basis for our assigment. For those reasons, consumers complaint is without factual basis and therefore should be disregarded and not listed as a negative on our companies BBB record.

8/16/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: sent in notice of right of cancellation, which clearly states that "if canceled within 3 days we will refund all money you have already paid us" This is the email that I sent to Mr. ***** on June 21st. It has been 3 business days and not even an acknowledgement that he has received the email. Mr. *****, I am contacting you as per your request that I had read on the BBB website. I am truly disappointed in the outcome of my tax resolution proposal. I have had significant tax problems dating back to 2003. I finally realized it was time to do something about it. After speaking to ***** ****** I decided to go with you. Now I know that there was no guarantee that he could get me an offer in compromise; however, he told me that as long as the information that I had given him over the phone that it was a very good possibility. I had sent my initial client pack in and I always needed to provide more information. I kind of felt like I was doing all of the work. I even wondered why I even signed a power of attorney. I had to go to the bankruptcy court, I had to go to child support, I had to go to the court house, and worst of all I had to go to the IRS. It took me quite some time to get every piece of information needed to move forward. I felt totally overwhelmed in this process. **** ******** was awesome though. He called and asked for what he needed to and took care of the rest. Now I'll let you know about ******** ** ****** Not so great. I finally received the email from her with a contract to sign to move forward with an offer in compromise. I read the first page and was impressed and actually shocked that such deal could be made. I read through the entire agreement. The agreement was sent to me on June 14th. I looked at allowable IRS deductions and there it was. Someone did not ask nor did they notice in my initial client pack that the child support order for my older son was terminated on June 1st 2013. As I read it said that if there were in financial changes that need to be made that I must let them know. Obviously there had been. I also informed her that I had gotten a $2000.00 annual raise which equated to $90.00 per month. Doing the math on the changes the way that it was explained to me changed my oic from $1320 to $7044. (plus your $2500.00 fee.) I had called Jennifer several times over the following 2 days. Trying to find out what my options were. I had left 1 voicemail the first day, 1 voicemail the second day. I sent an email either later the second day or I think it was the morning of the 3rd day. I had asked her to please call me after I had explained all of the changes to discuss my options. Instead I received an email stating that due to the changes in my income that the outcome will be significantly more and I need to change to a payment plan, she explained it would be about $400.00 not specifying how long or the conditions. Was paying $7044 an option? She never did answer that. I signed the cancelation form and emailed it. On that simple form it says that any money paid to you would be refunded if I cancel within 3 days. It does not say any money for an oic or payment agreement. It says "If you cancel this agreement within the 3-day period, we will refund ALL money you already have paid us." The email goes on to explain how that ******** ***** had taken 3 days to respond to my voicemails and email, and did only contact me after I had emailed the cancelation form. I asked her about the refund and she said that this form only pertained to the negotiation portion of the service. The notice of cancellation does not state that and does state that all money paid will be refunded. I said so basically I just ****** away $2000.00 you know I didn't have and she replied that unfortunately it seems that way. Long story short she asked if I'd like them to set up a payment agreement with the IRS at a cost of $500 and I said I would do it my self. After months of dealing with this I paid the IRS $19,976.01. I did not save a single cent as you can tell.

Desired Settlement: Refund as stated in their Notice of right of cancellation form which was canceled the same day it was emailed to me on June 18th.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/09) */ Consumer's complaint is without any factual or legal basis and should not be reflected in BBB record for Freedom Tax Relief for the reasons stated below: Consumer hired our company to complete his late tax returns and to then review his financial situation and recomend his best tax resolution option. His fee agreement is attached. In his fee agreement, client agreed that his for this service are non-refundable. Client acknowledged that our assignment NOT to reduce his tax debt but to recomend best tax resolution. We completed consumers tax returns for tax years 2004, 2011 and 2012. Once those were done, we reviewed in depth his income assets and expenses and recomended he hire us for setting up an IRS payment plan. Consumer then sent in the 3 day right to cancel form that sent after all the work on the case was done. He sent it many months after we had worked on the case. Therefore, client is either confused or is intent on generating an unearned refund via a bogus complaint to BBB. Please disregard his complaint and close his file. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/07/22) */ I would like to send a copy of their right of cancellation agreement but am not sure how to do that. thank you Business' Final Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/08/02) */ Consumer states that his issue with our company is that we did not honor the 3 day right to cancel form and return his fees. The form he is referring to his attached to the fee agreement we sent him, first to complete and Offer in Compromise and then the one we sent him to do an IRS Installment Agreement. That form is attached to this response at the end of the contract. However, consumer never hired us for that second contract. There was no fee paid on that service and thus no fee to refund. We do cases in two steps: Step one took us a year, from 9/18/12 to closing date of 6/24/13. During that time, we complete his late tax returns and our evaluation of his best tax debt resolution options. He paid us $2,000 for that and clearly none of that money is refundable per the agreement. That work was done and complete and client has no complaint about that. He even praises our tax preparer, John Dilsaver, in his complaint. See the date of transaction on the cancellation form attached, it�s 6/18/13. Client never returned that signed contract to do the payment plan. He never paid that fee to do the second part of his case. But, his BBB complaint is that we did not refund fees paid on that second contract. We cannot refund fees to this consumer that were never paid. Consumer is asking something that is not only impossible but that is clearly bogus and intended to create an undeserved fee refund. This complaint consumer is so clearly transparently bogus and obviously untrue that it should not be considered as a complaint against our company and should be deleted and not listed against the record of our company.

7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Freedom Tax Relief
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)