BBB Accredited Business since

ATS Tax And Financial Solutions, Inc.

Phone: (707) 745-1040 1075 1st St Ste 6, Benicia, CA 94510

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers tax preparation & representation for audits & consulting.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ATS Tax And Financial Solutions, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on ATS Tax And Financial Solutions, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 09, 2002 Business started: 12/01/1985 Business started locally: 12/01/1985 Business incorporated 11/01/2004 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Tax Education Council
PO Box 2890, Sacramento CA 95812
Phone Number: (916) 492-0457

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Sylvia J. Barata, President Darleen Rose, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sylvia J. Barata, President
Customer Contact: Darleen Rose, Office Manager
Number of Employees


Business Category

Tax Return Preparation

Alternate Business Names
ATS Income Tax Service

Additional Locations

  • 1075 1st St Ste 6

    Benicia, CA 94510 (707) 745-1040


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Does not provide good faith efforts of professional business etiquette,therefore they delay completion of svc. They advertise loyal and quality svc. 11/11I contacted them to complete my taxes and i had to prompt and remind them to provide responses throughout the entire ordeal.11/24 I only received a response after I requested a refund of my partial pre-payment due to a lack of delivery for goods and services. These business transactions are tax related and require detailed communication of bookkeeping and dated transactions. On 12/4 I paid in full For documents and when I notified them of an error on 12/9 they basically dismissed my concerns with an unfavorable reply 5 days later. I'd like to obtain your support to obtain, what they promise as "loyal & quality" service on their website.

Desired Settlement: I feel it's only proper to request a partial refund due to delayed completion of service and due to the fact that they did not honor their mistake nor make any attempt to correct it. This is a matter of not just an incorrect numerical error,but a case of attaching someone else's identity to my tax refund (mistaken identity) I requested a resolution and they dismissed me by ignoring my reasonable resolutions. i have since corrected the error with IRS on my ownThey did not provide me a copy of the p.o.a I signed. They claim to be angels when actually they lack a standard of acceptable business etiquette as it relates to technology in email and voice mail customer service standards.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/21) */ ON 11/13/14 CLIENT CAME IN TO HAVE THE 2013 TAX RETURN PREPARED. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION REGARDING DEDUCTIONS WAS REQUESTED TO COMPLETE THE RETURN. ON 11/24/14 CLIENT EMAILED THIS INFORMATION STATING THERE MAY BE MORE TO COME. THE OFFICE WAS CLOSED 11/21 THRU 12/02 FOR THE THANKSGIVING HOLIDAY. UPON RETURNING TO THE OFFICE THE EMAIL WAS RECEIVED. A DRAFT TAX RETURN WAS PREPARED PENDING FINAL DETAILS. DURING THIS WEEK THE CLIENT CALLED DEMANDING TO PICK UP THE TAX DOCUMENTS SINCE THE ACTUAL RETURN WAS NOT COMPLETED, THE PREPARER ADVISED THE CLIENT THE TAX RETURN WAS PENDING FINAL DETAILS AND COULD BE READY IMMEDIATELY IF NO MORE DETAILS WERE TO BE PROVIDED. THE CLIENT AGREED SHE HAD NOT PROVIDED THE ADDITIONAL DETAILS, AND SHE OKAYED THE TAX RETURN FOR REVIEW/PROCESSING. THE TAX WAS COMPLETED ON 12-04-14 AND PICKED UP ON 12-05-14. AFTER FILING THE TAX RETURN, THE CLIENT NOTICED THE AREA CODE FOR THE PHONE NUMBER WAS ENTERED INCORRECTLY, A SIMPLE TYPO. SHE DEMANDED WE AMEND THE TAX RETURN. SHE ALSO DEMANDED WE CONTACT THE MIS-TYPED PHONE NUMBER AND MAKE AN APOLOGY TO THE UNKNOWN HOLDER OF THE PHONE NUMBER. THE PREPARER ADVISED AN AMENDED RETURN WOULD NOT BE JUSTIFIED BY THE IRS SINCE THE CORRECTION WAS NOT DIRECTLY CONNECTED TO A TAX CHANGE, AND ADVISED TO SEND A LETTER TO THE IRS REGARDING THE CORRECT PHONE NUMBER ALTHOUGH THIS INFORMATION IS RARELY USED. IT IS OUR POLICY AT ATS TO PROVIDE GOOD AND FRIENDLY SERVICE, BUT SOME CLIENTS HAVE THEIR OWN PERCEPTION OF WHAT THIS MEANS. WE HAVE BEEN IN BUSINESS FOR 30 YEARS AND HAVE BEEN ACKNOWLEDGED FOR OUR QUALITY SERVICE ON MANY OCCASIONS. BUT IT REMAINS TRUE THAT YOU CANNOT PLEASE ALL OF THE PEOPLE ALL THE TIME. RESOLUTION - CLIENT IS REQUESTING REFUND OF PAYMENT FOR SERVICES. PREPARER STATES THE PAYMENT WAS FOR THE PREPARATION OF THE 2013 TAX RETURN. THERE WERE NO TECHNICAL ERRORS MADE, AND THE FULL SERVICE WAS COMPLETED. SINCE THE DEMANDS FROM THE CLIENT WERE DUE TO A NON-CRITICAL ENTRY ON THE TAX RETURN (AN INCORRECT AREA CODE), NO REFUND WILL BE ISSUED Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My request is not a personal attack on this business of 30years, however their ethics as stated in their website created a "perspective" and an implied contract that their "angel" concept was perhaps above a usual business operation. Furthermore, their website promises to watch over and guide you, which is the same promise I received from the clerk on the phone during my initial conversation. I appreciated her perspective. The specific concern here is to seek a mutually satisfactory resolution to fix their technical error. My request was reasonable as it relates to the bigger issue of mistaken identity of a person located in Florida that was placed on my return. (This is how identity theft starts)I shared that I had previously been a victim of identity theft and requested their support in filing the required forms. They dismissed my concern as to who should complete the tax forms,and my request for their cost of doing so.. I believe they are not offering support to rectify an issue, (potential penal code Infraction) they created. Their response is not a reasonable reply given usual business ethics of Better Business code of ethics and standards. If a refund for lack of angelic service/resolution is not an option, perhaps they will limit promoting their offer of tax abyss support and angels that watch over you and guide you. I still believe recognition of their technical error is an opportunity to step up an offer at least a discount, and an honorable apology. I spent 1hour connecting with I.R.S. to correct their technical error. Obviously they promote misleading angel website perspective/ statements of providing mutually satisfying and long lasting relations. 1. Is a disclaimer statement (limited angel perspective) perhaps a better option on the website for new customers? 2. Please reconsider a reasonable request for a refund of 1hour of their bookkeeping fee structure. 3.Please send me a copy of the P.O.A I signed that they did not provide. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/03/06) */ Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 14, 2015/03/11) */ 3-10-15 Sent via email: ******* I am looking forward to a successful closure of this matter and want to thank you for mediating the issues and sending emails. Thank you also for the point of reference back to your website, which brings me to say that those are the factors I focused on to open this case. Do you select the categories based on the facts? Obviously 1. safeguard privacy was a large matter with their incorrect processing of my personal info and refusal to contact IRS to correct a potential identity theft for the person whose info they placed on my tax forms. They never responded to my request to process the required IRS documents. The apology directed to me did not correct the matter because the person whose identity they originally placed on my forms was the person affected by their error, not me. 2. Advertising honestly is a stretch for this firm especially when I inquired about the financial services I was told it was a service in the past. 3.Honor promises of loyal service as advertised to build trust, and tell truth. I don't want to belabor the obvious any longer, as I remain positive that the issues have been duly noted and will perhaps educate consumers who refer to your website first to investigate the firm. Thank you for your commitment to business etiquette and valued service for the consumer. ******** *****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on ATS Tax And Financial Solutions, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)