BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1969

Herb's Pool Service, Inc.

(415) 479-4040View Additional Phone Numbers3769 Redwood Hwy, San RafaelCA 94903-3932

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers pool services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1969

BBB has determined that Herb's Pool Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Herb's Pool Service, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Herb's Pool Service, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
12/09/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was told $149 a month until November, told my the route service person I have to many leaves so it will be $149 year round. Received a bill for $450 f
Unauthorized charges.... Items cleaned or serviced I did not ask for - then received a bill for them.

Desired Settlement
No communication and service day was changed 3 times leaving my pool green, then they charge me $350 to get it back to blue again.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *****
Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@herbspoolservice.com
This is in regard to case XXXXXXXX. Our customer is ****** *******. We were not aware that there was a problem with the account, and in reviewing it did find a billing error which we will correct and will resend the statement to the customer. We can send a copy of our service agreement, which is helpful in understanding how the monthly service is billed. Here is a timeline of our work for *******, *** ***** ***** *********

9/23/13 Performed pool inspection for buyer at time of home purchase $250.00 (pd 9/27/13)
11/14/13 Quoted service for pool, checked pump - no charge
10/10/14 Customer asked us to start service. We advised that monthly service was $149/mo for weekly; $119 for twice monthly; pool had a lot of trees around it and so we did not recommend 2xmo until debris load was reduced. Normally we advise that there is a charge for the initial cleanup. The route secretary is not sure if that was explained.
10/10/14 Service manager *** treated pool and started cleanup
10/11/14 Service manager ***** adjusted chemicals and cleaned filter, billed $137.86 for two trips (10/10 & 10/11) and filter cleaning
10/21/14 Pool was started on regular pool service, billed 2 trips for Oct $74.50
10/24/14 Customer ******* called to report the pool was green, Service manager *** stopped by and replaced pump basket; billed $88.67 in error (should not have charged for chemicals)
10/29/14 Customer was billed for November service $149.00

The customer had a balance of $450.03 at the start of November. We are issuing a credit of $74.62 to apply to the billing of 10/24. That leaves a balance owing of $375.41, for the initial cleanup, 1.5 months of service, and the pump basket. Our service agreement states that there is an initial charge to get the pool in shape before starting service however if the customer did not have an understanding of that, we would be willing to remove that charge ($137.86) as well, and then bill an additional $37.25 for the initial visit.

Please let us know if there are any questions or comments. Thank you.


***** *****
General Manager
XXX-XXX-XXXX

10/15/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/01/1969Business started: 01/01/1957
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr
Sacramento, CA95827-1703
(800) 321-2752
http://www.cslb.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 273969 for this company.

Type: Contractor's License Board

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1971, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kathy Thompson (Principle)
Number of Employees

60

Business Category

Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Herb's Pool Service, Inc.

3769 Redwood Hwy

San Rafael, CA 94903-3932

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3769 Redwood Hwy 

    San Rafael, CA 94903-3932(707) 795-4372

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Herb's Pool Service, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (707) 795-4372
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Service & Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.