BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1991

The Energy House

Phone: (650) 593-1496Fax: (650) 593-4873

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Installed fireplace unit 8/21/13. Had several delayed service calls 12/15/13, 1/2/114,1/30/14 for same issue (non-operating unit) and no resolve.
Purchased unit from ***** *** 813/13. System installed 8/21/13. Set-up 9/16/13 by two installers that said system was fully operational before leaving home. Called company for service next day & had to wait till 12/15/13 for earliest service technician call. Came and left saying system fixed. Called next day as system non-operational, waited till 1/2/13 for next available appointment. Problem unresolved. We asked for manufacturers rep but was told by ***** ******* that company called manufacturer reps care off *** ******* who came in 1/2/13. Had to wait for next available slot for technician to come in again on 1/30/13. We had to call owner ***** ******* on his cell phone and have him communicate with **** ********* while troubleshooting at our home. Too many visits doing same troubleshooting over extended period of time. We were unable to use system during coldest winter month and paid full price to be able to use system for this purpose. Would like to get full refund and unit fixed or replaced directly by manufacturer due to poor service and undue inconvenience for unacceptable delay.

Desired Settlement
$4830 plus repair/replacement of existing unit to working order.

Business Response
Customer purchased unit on 08/12/13. On 8/21/13 Energy House did the installation of the fireplace unit and flue. Customer did not want face or final set up at that time ( this is normal) and she stated she would call for that when ready. On 09/16/13 we returned to do the set up of the fireplace and install the face. At this time the fireplace worked fine.
The next tine the customer called the Energy House was on 12/26/13. The Energy House is closed the day after Xmas but I was in the office and I answered the phone. It was **** *** ******** and she explained they were having issues with the fireplace staying on. I tried to walk them thru the issue but was not able to correct the problem. She wanted someone out the next but I explained to her that our service techs were booked on Friday the 27th and I would create a service call order and send it to our service scheduler. I explained that our scheduler was off on that day but she would call her once she returns to work on Friday 12/27/13 and that since Monday the 30th was the only day we were working before that new year I could not tell her what day the service call would be.

My scheduler called her on 12/27 and scheduled her for a service call for 01/02/14. We were closed the 31st and 1st.
Jim our service tech on 01/02 felt the issue was in the top but since the roof is a tile roof he felt he was to heavy to go on the roof.
On his 01/03 report he requested we send a lighter person to go on the roof.
On 01/08 Jorge from scheduling spoke to **** *** to schedule and **** *** informed him that the unit was staying on but that it was not producing heat. ***** scheduled Juan ( our lightest installer)from our office to take temperature readings and to check out the top. Juan did that and made an adjustment to the top. This was done on 01/15/14. The unit was working when he left.

On 01/20/14 **** *** called stating her unit was not working again.
On 01/22/14 ***** scheduled with **** *** for Juan to return on 01/30/14. Juan was instructed to go thru all the setting and to contract me so we could review them. This should have been done on 01/15/14 service call but since **** *** informed ***** on 01/08/14 that the unit was working but not heating, ***** changed the work order to check the temperature of the unit and check the top, not to go thru the setting.
On the 01/30/14 service call Juan reviewed with me all the setting and he made final adjustment based on our conversations. He reported to me that the unit was working normal and that **** *** felt that the unit not heating her home evenly like her home heating system.
Last week I spoke with **** Ann and explained to her that I would get the factory rep ******* ****** out to look at the unit. I thought Shannon was at the builders show and would not be back to this week. I told **** *** I would email her to get this in the works. It turned out that Shannon
did not go out of town and we scheduled her to go out on Friday 02/07/14.
Shannon informed me that she spend several hours there going thru the units settings and that all our setting were correct. She stated to me that all she did was take some excess glass off the top of the burner.
She stated that the unit is working per the factory specs and even stated to me "that it is the best looking flame she has ever seen on this model"

She also stated to me the same thing Juan said that **** *** wants the unit to heat the home like her furnace does. Shannon told me she explained to her how to use the fireplace and that the unit is working fine.

I suggest that you contact Shannon Wright to speak to her directly. If you contact me @ XXX-XXX-XXXX I would be happy to provide you with her number.

Based on Shannon report the unit is working per the manufactures specs and our installation is correct.

Alan Karcich
Energy House




Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We told ******* and **** we wanted the fireplace to heat up the family room reasonably warm and toasty WITHOUT the use of the furnace, NOT LIKE THE FURNACE and ******* agreed that is the reason why people buy a fireplace in the first place. We told her we had a standard, builder grade heatilator at our previous home that had the same high ceilings and room size 1 1/2 size larger than current home and it kept the room toasty warm consistently without the use of a temperature controller. We paid top dollar for this unit after being told the unit's capacity surpassed *** room size at our home (***** *** and ******* both claim this unit should heat up a room 1000 sf easily and our room is only 450 sf.). ******* asked us to turn our fan on every time to see if this will help circulate the heat. She also suggested we remove the frame and observe heat dissemination. We bought this unit for the clean frame look and heating capability. ******* commented on the "best looking flame" but not referencing the heat distribution and function. Energy House is responsible for providing a product solution that heats this room at an acceptable level without the need for using a fan or added heat by turning the furnace on as well. ***** ******* is unreasonable for expecting us to deal with manufacturing rep when we purchased the unit from him and he is solely responsible for either giving us a full refund or replacing the unit with another manufacturer that can heat the room if unit does not heat the room without the use of a fan and assisted heat by turning the furnace on simultaneously.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Stoves - Wood, Coal, Fireplaces, Fireplace Equipment - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.