BBB Accredited Business since

The Solar Company

View Additional Phone Numbers 20861 Wilbeam Ave STE 1, Castro Valley, CA 94546 http://www.thesolarco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers solar energy contracting, design and installation services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Solar Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Solar Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Solar Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 29, 2010 Business started: 06/21/1990 Business started locally: 06/21/1990 Business incorporated 11/30/2010 in NV
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Danenhower, Owner Ms. Christina Danenhower, Co-Owner Mr. Eric Piekarczyk
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Christina Danenhower, Co-Owner
Principal: Mr. Mark Danenhower, Owner
Number of Employees

45

Business Category

Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers Solar Energy System Design & Installation Contractors - Solar Energy

Alternate Business Names
The Solar Company, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 20861 Wilbeam Ave STE 1

    Castro Valley, CA 94546 (877) 607-6527 (510) 888-9488 (925) 642-6918

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/14/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Solar Company is over 4 months late on a payment that it is legally obligated to make. There is no dispute fro them on this, just no response. The Solar Company has an outstanding invoice that was due on August 1,2015. This invoice was for services rendered over July. The invoice number is 1229 and the amount is $14,245. There has been no response from SolarCo for about one month.

Desired Settlement: We simply need Solar Company to return our emails and pay us for our well overdue invoice.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/12/18) */ This is NOT a customer or consumer. This is a vendor. Partial payment has already been made towards the invoice in question.

12/3/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was to receive Rebate of $500.00 after installation complete. Installation complete 7/29 still have yet to receive rebate after many attempts. As part of the sales pitch of obtaining solar through the Solar Co I was offered a $500.00 rebate upon installation of the equipment. Installation was done on 7/29. I contacted the company in August, September, and October multiple times to inquire as to where my rebate was. I have been given constant replies of "3 more weeks, 4 more weeks, 6 more weeks" and have discussed this matter with other individuals who had their solar installed around the same time, who have received their rebate already about a month ago. I have tried numerous times to obtain information in regards to a supervisor of the individual who was handling the payment of my rebate, but am never given actual contact information. The last conversation we had was 3 weeks ago where I was told October 23rd at the latest. I have yet to receive a check, and have yet to receive any contact from the company in regards to any delays. The contract was fulfilled on my end, but was not fulfilled on the end of the business.

Desired Settlement: I would like my full $500.00 rebate

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/11/17) */ Rebate check was mailed to customer on 10/28/15. The check was cashed on 11/2/15.

3/2/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Solar Panels are not decreasing monthly electric bill. My Avg monthly electric bill w/ panels is $172/month. Impossible. They're not solving problem. Problem: Monthly Electric Bill: $172/month with Panels Problem Date: 05/19/14 Purchase Date: 04/05/13 Solar Panel Model #: SPR-315NE-WHT-D, Qty = 16 Sheet Inverter: SPRm XXXX-XXXX Account / Order #: XXX-XXXX-XXX Sales Rep: *********** Payment Amount: $27,518 Payment Method: EECU Loan My True-Up Electric bill was > $500 in 2014. It is now over $1,362.18 for 2015. I complained on May 19, 2014 about this issue, and did not receive an adequate explanation on how my monthly bill could still be this high. My electric use has not changed significantly from 2013 to 2014 to 2015. One of 2 things could be happening. 1) The panels are not working properly or 2) The Solar Company undersized my installation for my energy consumption. Note: I chopped down my front tree to decrease the shade covering the panels in the morning and increase the sunlight reaching the panels. It did not help this issue. I want the Solar Company to correct Engineering / Installation issue and to decrease my monthly electric bill. If they can't solve this problem, I want a refund.

Desired Settlement: My year end True-up bill should be negligible. If they cannot get the panels to work properly or if they have sized the installation wrong, then they need to correct their Engineering error, or give me a refund. My year end True-up should be no larger than $100 to $200 and maybe $300 tops. The purpose of buying the Solar Panels was to decrease my electric cost to negligible amounts.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/12) */ Mr. ***** contacted us about his high PG&E statement on Jan 24th, 2015. He provided a statement from June 2014 - January 2015 that shows he used 5,865 kWh of PG&E's electricity. His solar produced 5,352 kWh in that same timeframe, totaling 11,213 kWh of electricity used in those 7 months. In the same 7 months previous (the data used to design a system for him), Mr. ***** only used 6,058 kWh. That's a 5,155 kWh electrical demand increase in 7 months. His system was predicted to produce 8,167 kWh the first year. Since May 2013, it has produced 13,900 kWh / 19 months = 732 kWh average per month x 12 months = 8,779 kWh - exceeding the predicted annual production by over 600 kWh. A full system analysis was performed and explained thoroughly to Mr. *****, via email on January 27th and again on January 28th, as well as multiple phone conversations on the 27th, explaining system production vs. his electrical usage numbers. A technician was sent to Mr. *****' residence on Feb 6th, 2014 to do a full system check and to set-up his online monitoring in person, as he had not set it up yet on his computer. The customer's electrical demand has increased greatly, causing a higher PG&E bill. When his system was designed, it was built to offset 77% of his previous years electrical usage of 10,641 kWh. If his electrical demand would have stayed the same, he would have had an annual PG&E true-up bill of about $345 ($29 a month), as was presented to him in his estimate. He contracted with us for a system anticipated to produce 8,167 kWh the first year and our system exceeded that. His system is producing better than expected, based on his agreed upon system size. To reduce the residual PG&E bill, the customer will need to reduce his electrical usage. ~ ******

2/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Solar Company, installed a overpriced Solar panel system on my Shaded roof top.The system is only effect for 6 hours per day due to Giant Oak Trees. I have recently spoken to 4 other Solar Companies and 3 told me that my roof Top was to small and the SHADE from the Giant Oak tress that Surround my House would prevent me from having a fully functional system that would take care of a normal Family homes needs.This Company never showed me a Shade analysis report before considering my Roof Top for a solar System. I was given the impression that the system would operate my Air Conditioning System during the Hot Summer Months. I Live on SSDI and have Been Disabled since 1987. I have had 10 major Back Surgeries and my entire spine is fused together at 17 levels with Titanium Rods screws and other Hardware. This Company now offers a free Shade Analysis when you call their Office. This was never shown to be until I recently asked for it.I have not touched this system or ever turned it on. I recently contacted a representative from Their Company whose name is *******, X XXX-XXX-XXXX. I inquired why I never received a written contract because I rarely use my email.******* sent me these papers which had email signatures and not my own personal signature. I contacted EnerBank and told them about the deceptive and misleading undersized system that was placed om my roof and I spook to Dustin at this Bank. He told me not to sign any papers until I am completely Satisfied with the right system for my household needs. When I asked ******* how much it would cost for a larger system I learned that This company wanted $1,000 per panel and my roof top only had room for 3 or 4 more panels which is still not adequate for a normal house holds needs. According to their Calculations this system should have only sold for Around $8,000 for the 7 panels and not $13,000. I was asked to cut my Oak Tree and Solar Company did reimburse me for Half of my expenses. When the Contractor that installed my System came out to my house he was shocked that my rooftop was completely in shade by 2:30 pm. He suggested that have more of my Valued Oak Tree be Trimmed again. This cost me $400 more which Solar Company Paid back to me immediately. I have some MAJOR ISSUES WITH the way this company operates. Why was this system installed on my Roof in the first place and why wasn't i given the facts about all the Shade Preventing my Solar Panels From operating during all Daylight hours. Now during the Fall and Winter months there is even less sunlight available to run my small little undersized system. A normal sized system will not even fit on the South part of mt Roof. Why wasn't I informed about all the Shade issues. Did cutting my Tree even make a difference? I still Paid $750.00 out of my own pocket for What? Why have 3 other Companies told me that my home was not a good option because of all the Shade issues. This Company is only concerned with Greed and could care less about saving our Planet and Conserving Energy. The Almighty Dollar is all this Company cares about and My Rooftop just shows proof of this Greed. \ The Bank has assured me that as long as I'm not Satisfied, that I should not sign any papers.I'm definitely not satisfied with the way this sale was done And I will never sign this contract or use this inadequate system. A friend of mine is leasing 12 panels for $90 per month through Solar City. When I inquired about a lease option to buy, ******* told me that was no longer available. Then she said if I did lease that I couldn't add more Panels. This LOGIC is Very POOR and makes no Sense to Me. This Company seems to make up the rules as they Go their MERRY WAY! At least I know the salesmen for Solar City are Honest and had the Integrity to be truthful. Please take a closer look at the way this company conducts business. I'm sure I'm not the first dissatisfied customer. I'm disabled and now I am a senior citizen that is very upset with the lack of Honesty and poor customer service. This system never should have been installed on my roof in the first place! ****** ******* ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization:

Desired Settlement: I believe Solar Company Knew that My home was not a good candidate for SOLAR BUT ONLY CARED ABOUT MAKING DOLLARS AND GREED FOR MORE MONEY. WHY HAVE 3 COMPANIES WARNED ME ABOUT ABOUT THE SEVERE SHADE CAUSED BY ALL THE GIANT OAK TREES SURROUNDING MY HOME. THIS BECAME WORST CONDITION LATE OCTOBER. SINCE MY TREES LOOSE ALL THERE LEAVES FOR ABOUT 3 MONTHS DURING THE FALL AND WINTER MONTHS. THIS PERIOD WOULD ACTUALLY BE THE BEST TIME OF THE YEAR FOR FULL SUNSHINE AT LEAST 8 HOURS OF THE DAY. THIS IS A PERFECT EXAMPLE OF THE GREED THAT PLAGUES AMERICANS IN THIS DAY AND AGE. SOLAR COMPANY NEVER INFORMED ME OF THE SHADE REPORT UNTIL I ASKED FOR IT AND THE SUPPOSED CONTRACT THAT I SIGNED. AFTER LEARNING MORE ABOUT SOLAR AND ASKING OTHER COMPANIES FOR THEIR OPINIONS I FOUND THE TRUTH! THE SOLAR SYSTEM ON MY ROOF IS ONLY EFFECTIVELY OPERATING AT 65 % CAPACITY DURING THE MONTHS OF OCTOBER TO JANUARY FOR ABOUT 6 HOURS OF THE DAY. THAT IS ONLY HAPPENING WHEN THE SUNLIGHT IS AVAILABLE WHICH MAKES THIS SYSTEM EVEN LESS FEASIBLE TO BUY. TESTING THIS SYSTEM FIRST WOULD HAVE BEEN THE WISEST MOVE. A LEASE TO BUY PROGRAM DOES MAKE SENSE LIKE THE ONE THAT SOLAR CITY LEASES. THAT WAY A HOMEOWNER CAN MAKE AN EDUCATED JUDGEMENT AND NOT RELY ON DISHONEST COMPANIES SUCH AS SOLAR COMPANY. WITH COMPANIES LIKE THIS, IT CAN GIVE THE SOLAR ENERGY PROGRAM A POOR NAME. A 12 PANEL SYSTEM MADE BY SOLAR CITY ONLY COSTS $90 A MONTH TO LEASE WITH THE OPTION TO BUY. A FRIEND OF MINE HAS THIS EXACT SYSTEM ON HIS HOUSE. I WOULD CONSIDER THIS OPTION. THIS IS SOMETHING I WOULD CONSIDER AND TEST THE SYSTEM FOR A FULL YEAR TO SEE IF IT IS WORTH THE SAVING. SINCE I PERSONALLY KNOW A FRIEND WITH THIS TRIED AND TESTED SYSTEM THAT HE IS VERY PLEASED WITH. HE LIVES A MILE FROM MY HOME AND SHOWED ME HOW MUCH ENERGY HIS SYSTEM IS PRODUCING AND THE MONEY HE IS SAVING.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/01/09) */ Received response via email: We tried to contact Mr. ******* on many occasions. He would not return our calls. His last vulgar, hateful email told us we were not allowed to set foot on his property, yet he would not contact us for resolution. When our sales rep finally made contact with him, by waiting at his home, he said he would not be moving forward. He admitted he was scammed for $60k from some sort of investment opportunity. When asked if he would have moved forward with our solar project, if he had not been involved in an investment scam, he responded yes. He then brought up concerns with production and tree shading. Those concerns were addressed and the solar process explained to him again. He then again asked if he would move forward with solar if he was not involved in an investment scam, to which he responded, yes, again. Mr. ******* has not paid a penny towards permitting, engineering, labor, installation or the solar system even though the system has been completely installed and is ready to be turned on. In fact, we reimbursed him $900 to trim trees that would allow for more solar production, which he did and even stated he was happy with how they looked. He entered into a contract with The Solar Company for the amount of $12,968 (contract attached) and has violated the terms of the contract. He has admitted three times, that he would move forward with the solar project, if he was not involved in an unrelated investment scam. He is making false accusations, making up excuses and taking out his frustration on The Solar Company, when, in no way, were we the cause of the frustration, as he has admitted to us by saying he would move forward if he wasn't involved in a scam. The Solar Company has gone above and beyond to try to satisfy Mr. *******. He cannot be made happy. Again, the system was permitted, installed, passed ***** inspection and is ready to be turned on. Thank you! **** ********** The Solar Company Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/01/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Apparently who ever wrote the response to my complaint has issues with telling lies. No one from Solar Company has contacted my home by phone. The salesman did stop by and i did tell him i had other issues pending after being scammed out of $60,000 for 2 websites that were being worked on during the last week of October when The Solar Company installed the tiny system of 7 panels on my roof. When the installers were were on my roof in the shade at 2:30 in the afternoon, they even commented about the Shade conditions. When they told me this system would not even run my AC system during the hot summer months I was shocked. To use the word Vulgar is an absolute LIE. I do not Cuss or Have ever sworn in my life. I would love to see the Hateful email that they made up because even that word is a Lie. I have never seen the Contract and when I asked ******* for a copy , she sent me the PGE report that is made for the solar Panel System. I used to use up to 5.5Kwh when my wife was living in my home and I asked ******* how much it would cost to upgrade my system to produce that amount of power. Solar City offers me a complete contract with a system large enough to produce enough power to run my AC system. Even they told me that the shade conditions would have a major effect on producing power due to the Shade from my Neighbors trees. Even ******* states in her email to me that that my Neighbors trees are the major issue with the shade on my Roof. I would like to know the name of the Liar who claims they called my house and called me Vulgar and Hateful. I was asked to have my tree cut on the West side of my home. This cost me 1,425 of which the Solar Company paid half. My tree was not is cause of the Shade on my roof at 2:00 PM in the Afternoon. I wasted over $700 having my tree trimmed and it made no difference with the Shade conditions. No, I am not paying for a system that cannot even run my AC during the Summer as It was understood to me. Solar Company is not being run by Professionals and even the contractors that came to my home commented how unorganized their office was. They were surprised that this system was approved for my roof when they were working in on my Roof while being completely Shaded by 2:00 Pm in the Afternoon. Solar Company offers a Solar Report to every customer before they start working on the home. Why wasn't I given the Solar Shade Report before these Greedy People installed this underrated small system on a Shaded Roof. The very first thing Solar City does is show the customer this report. I had to ask for this report from ******* after the system was installed on my Roof. Plus I went up on my Roof and was shocked when I saw that the Solar Panels were completely in the Shade by 2:00 Pm in the Afternoon. I told the Solar Company when I get reimbursed for wasting my money on my Tree that was not causing the shade Issues. I told them when they pay me back the money I wasted cutting my Giant Oak tree, then they can have their worthless system. Why a person resorts to lying and using the words Vulgar and Hateful, they need to look in the mirror. I would love to see the phone records of their phone calls, because I'm home all the time and no man or woman has called me from this Company. I have only spoken and emailed ******* and I have saved every email to produce for a Judge to show about the poor communication issues that i was never told about by anyone , until I started asking the contractors questions about the tiny system that could not run a normal household. I have never spoken to this cowardly **** ********** that resorts to lying when he has never spoken to me ever. **** fails to remember one issue.We will all stand in Judgement before Our Almighty Father God In heaven and all lies will be accounted for. What actions were above and beyond trying to satisfy the Customer. The only 2 people I have spoken to were ******* and Richard the sales man. This **** is talking like he and I have Spoken which is untrue. He's states that 3 times I admitted to move forward with this project which is another fabrication. I'm not going to pay hard earned money for a system that cannot even run my AC system during the Hot summer months. I was given the impression that the system was a complete Solar Panel system and not just something to help reduce my electric bill. Even If I bought this System on my roof I would Still be paying PGE for more electricity usage. It makes no sense to purchase a system that only helps reduce your electric bill. My neighbor across the street doesn't pay a dime even to lease his system because it over produces electrify and completely pays for itself. that is what I thought I was having installed on my roof. As far as the Scam goes, I still would not purchase a small inadequate solar panel system om my roof that cannot eliminate my Electricity Bill Completely. For $83 a month Solar City can lease me a system double the size of the one on my roof that would completely eliminate my electricity Bill. I still don't have a Copy of the Contract that I never received from *******. I showed all my papers to 2 different Solar companies and they showed me what the Contract is Supposed to look like. All I have received from the Solar Company is False statements and never the facts. As I stated Before, Greed is what runs these individuals and they could care less if the customer gets what he was told he would receive. I hope Solar Company can back up all the lies made by ****, because I now have a great slander case and **** will be looking for a new Job when he gets the letter from my Attorney asking him to produce the Vulgar and hateful words. Sincerely, ****** J ******* Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/01/28) */ Hello Our legal counsel, Simon ******* of The ******* Law Office, has resolved the issues directly with Mr. *******. For any further information, please contact Mr. ******* directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Regards **** **********

5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have no paper work from the company for over two months. ZERO. I have nothing to show for the work performed. No construction permits, no prints, no product information and no warranty paper work as promised. They have been paid fully and they have put us off for over two months. No follow through by the company. They have lost personal information and can not get information correct.Bad Customer service. The sales person lives near by and he can not seem to delivery as promised.DO NOT CHOOSE THIS COMPANY FOR SOLAR NEEDS. I have no information period.

Desired Settlement: I would like to to get my permits from the city, the product information, the drawings, and the warranties. I would also like ten percent back for stress and inconvenience as good faith.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2014/05/19) */ A Binder was left on our front porch sense I complained and I took it to the city where they added some paper work to the binder and all seems to be normal. Have not heard anything from the company either way. However at this time I would close the complaint. Would not give them a high rating.Thank You for the help.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Solar Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)