BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Enphase Energy, Inc.

Phone: (877) 797-4743Fax: (707) 763-0784View Additional Phone Numbers1420 N. McDowell Blvd., PetalumaCA 94954

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers solar energy equipment.

BBB Accreditation

Enphase Energy, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is in the process of responding to complaint(s) previously closed with no response.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Enphase Energy, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
03/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

11 of 42 micro inverters have been defective and replaced. Costly replacements.
There has been a failure rate for the M-190 micro-inverters of greater than 25% over the last 3.5 -4 years. Replacement labor averages $150 per unit, and it has become an unacceptable process to deal with this recurring problem. So far, 11 units have had to be replaced and I have been reimbursed for only $250 in labor costs. Consumers should beware this product and company as the initial price for the product is highly misleading. These units will in the end cost the consumer 3x the initial purchase price despite the 15 year replacement warranty.

Desired Settlement
I want to return all of the micro inverters, for a full refund of the purchase price, and replace them with one single main inverter unit. This will cost me a lot of money, but will in the end be worth the effort.

Final Consumer Response
Apparently, Enphase was able to update the software on the microinverters to (for now!) eliminate the failures. It took years for this fix.

07/02/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Not honoring commitment for lifetime guarantee
I had a complete solar energy system installed almost three years ago. With it I bought 25 microinverters for my PV panels and the lifetime guarantee. To monitor the system I spend several hundred dollars for a gateway that uploads data from the microinverters to their website. The microinverters have a 25 year guarantee. The gateway ENVOY is not supposed to be plugged into a surge suppressor, because that causes interference with monitoring.

Last week I had a power surge and the ENVOY got fried. I was hoping Enphase would replace it, since I have a lifetime monitoring agreement with them. But they say I have to buy a new one, which costs $6XX-XXXX.

If the product had been able to plug into a surge suppressor, it wouldn't have fried in the first place. It's the company's place to honor its commitments to its customers.

Please replace the Envoy. I'd be happy to pay for any shipping and restocking expenses they incur.

Thank you

Desired Settlement
Just replace it.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Quality A
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********
Enphase will replace the Envoy at no charge to the customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you Ms. Marquis,

I appreciate your response.

09/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Paid for 5 yr. service. 6 months later, they quit charging for the same service. Refuse to refund prorated balance.
Paid a 5 yr. subscription to be able to access my solar array on the internet to monitor performance. 6 months later, they quit charging for the service. Company started charging more up front for the equipment (from what I understand) to offset providing the service for free for life. I asked for prorated refund based on time they quit charging for the service. Even those customers who did not subscribe to the service originally as I did, can now receive the service for free. The company did not bill those customers for the "increased cost of equipment" they now charge. However, they will not refund my monies. I am being charged by not refunding my subscription fees for the exact same service that the other customers are getting free and were not billed. They are charging me (their loyal customer) who believed in their system and subscribed, while those that did not subscribe are now getting the service for free and have not been billed for the cost of the equipment. I do not believe I should be charged for the cost of the equipment (by not refunding the prorated subscription fees) just because I paid the subscription fees up front. My original cost was $351. That is approximately $70 per year ($35 per 6 months). According to ****** ******* who I originally contacted, the company quit charging for the service 6 months after I subscribed. I requested a refund for $316 ($351 minus $35 for 6 months usage before they started providing the service free) and was refused. The company contact number is X-(XXX)XXX-XXXX. I have discussed this with ****** ****** (ext. ****** another representative named ****** and their supervisor ******* (ext. ****** She wouldn't give me any more of her name. She only said that she didn't have the authority to authorize a refund. She said the person who could was the Vice President, but she would transfer me when I asked her to.

Desired Settlement
I paid $351 up front for a 5 yr. subscription service. 6 months later, the company offered the same service free to all customers...whether they subscribed originally as I did or not. I am seeking a refund of the prorated difference from the time they began providing the service free. That would be $351 (5 yr. subscription) minus $35 (approximate 6 month fee before the service was free) for a refund of $316.

Business' Initial Response
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and providing feedback about your experience with the Enlighten subscription. We regret to inform you that we cannot issue a refund based on pricing changes that occurred after you made your purchase, and we cannot retroactively charge or refund customers if product pricing fluctuates in the future. When your subscription expires, you will continue to have free access to online monitoring and its benefits for the life of your Envoy. We apologize for the frustration that the pricing change has caused, and hope that the Enphase microinverter system has otherwise met or exceeded your expectations.

Consumer's Final Response
Sorry to hear that you chose to arbitrarily close this complaint for lack of contact from the business. I guess I presumed that you would follow up with the business for not meeting your deadline, just as I presumed that the business would respond to you in the appropriate time frame. Doesn't seem like the way to do things, but...what do I know. Regardless, it is fine that the complaint be closed. I am now informing you that the company has settled with me to my complete satisfaction, and has refunded me the requested amount. Therefore, I would like to have this complaint removed from your records since we have come to satisfactory terms. Thank you for your assistance.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 03/07/2010Business started: 03/20/2006
Type of Entity


Incorporated: May 2006, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Nahi (President & CEO)Customer Contact: Scott King (Dir. of Cust Support)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers

Service Area

This business service area covers the bay area.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Enphase Energy, Inc.

1420 N. McDowell Blvd.

Petaluma, CA 94954

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1420 N. McDowell Blvd. 

    Petaluma, CA 94954

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Enphase Energy, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (707) 763-4784 (Disconnected)

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.