BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/2010

Facebook

(650) 543-48001601 Willow Rd, Menlo ParkCA 94025-1452

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers social networking services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/2010

BBB has determined that Facebook meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Facebook's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1614 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1615 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 450 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues86
Billing / Collection Issues185
Delivery Issues18
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1325
Total Closed Complaints 1615

Additional Complaint Information

When filing a complaint please be sure to include your facebook login and the email address connected to your facebook account.

The link below provides information to consumers if an account has been hacked or where you can post information on possible scams.

https://www.facebook.com/help/149190625213449


Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Facebook

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1615)BBB Closure Definitions
02/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Blocked from my Facebook account
I was trying to update my profile info and credit card info because I have received new cards. I started to delete the credit card information when a box appeared saying my account has been compromised. I was then locked out of my account.I tried to get back in and could not get in.It stated that my account will be invisible until this matter is resolved.I emailed Facebook and told them what happened and received a reply that my account has been re-activated, I tried to log back in and I was still blocked.I then messaged them back and received the same reply,this went on for the next two more emails.Now I don't get a reply, and still no access to my Facebook account.

Desired Settlement
Would like Facebook to grant me access to my account. I have not violated any of Facebook's codes.

Business Response
Hi ***,

Thank you for reaching out to Facebook. We've locked your account because it looks like it might have been hacked. To get immediate help, please secure the hacked account:

https://www.facebook.com/hacked

This is the best way to get additional support for your account.



Thanks for contacting Facebook,

****
The Facebook Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
After a few minor details Facebook has repaired my account and I am satisfied with the results. Thank You BBB for your help in this matter.

02/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My Ads Manager has been disabled without a proper explanation leaving me without the ability to generate income. Tried emailing, calling and messaging
My Ad Account Manager was disabled on the 19th February 2015.

I was using the ads manager to sell t-shirts, a very popular venture that many people do on Facebook via Teespring and other t-shirt producing sites. I had a low budget, under £30 I believe, although I cannot get the actual figures because I cannot get into the ads manager.

I followed the practice of how to promote t-shirts on Facebook from reliable sites such as Teespring which many people follow and yet my Ads Manager was disabled within a matter of hours stating the there has been "Unusual Activity".

I followed the standard procedure of filling in Facebook's "Disabled Ads Manager" with government ID. Got a standard message saying that Facebook are looking into it, but nothing else.

So, because I need this to be open to earn a living I tried different ways to contact Facebook.

I filled out there "Why was my ads disapproved?" form and have had no response. I have emailed an address "****@facebook.com" with no reply. I have tried contacting them via telephone using the number XXX-XXX-XXXX AND the official number for support on there business page +XX XXX XXX XXXX and both numbers were "unrecognised".

Number found at:
https://www.facebook.com/business/resources

I also messaged the official Facebook page in the hope for some help but got nothing.

This is incredibly frustrating.

Desired Settlement
It is like Facebook purposefully makes it difficult for people to contact them. When people are trying to make a living using there Ads Manager people should be able to ring a dedicated support line if any issues arise, like having the Ads Manager disabled without a clear reason why. That's important for customer service particularly for a company like Facebook who does a great job for marketing.

It would be far better to have a message warning the person that what they are doing is against there practices, or seems suspicious and say that if you carry on that your account will then be disabled OR request that you provide further information to verify yourself or else they will disable your account.

Carrying out this procedure is far more effective and easier and will help people understand what is happening.

I would be very grateful if you could pass ** this complaint to Facebook and help me resolve this as I think it is very important for myself and for 100s if not 1000s of people who are all stuck and confused by this process.

My Facebook page is: https://www.facebook.com/******.*****.9212

My created page for ads is:
************************************

My payment method for my ads: PayPal

My government ID which I provided Facebook with: *********** Driving Licence

I understand that Facebook has a duty to protect people who use Facebook from fake accounts, scams, hackers etc. and I am grateful for that. It shows a business committed to it's users but it is important to recognise that the current procedure regarding disabled ad accounts just doesn't work and is unfair for people who haven't done anything wrong yet there account can be disabled and not unlocked for weeks, months, maybe even years without a clear explanation or anyone to talk to.

Please could you help me contact Facebook about my Ads Manager. I need it back open and to be assured that it won't be disabled again so long as I follow there guidelines. This is very important for me and I would be hugely grateful for your help.

Please let me know if you require further details from me as I will gladly provide them in the hope of resolving this issue.

Kind Regards

****** *****

Business Response
Hi ******,

Thank you for contacting Facebook.

According to our records, you account has already been reactivated. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Please let me know if you have any other questions.

Thanks,

******
Payment Operations
Facebook

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


02/20/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I HAVE BEEN USING fb ADS SERVICES FOR FOUR (4) YEARS. AT ALL TIMES I HAVE AUTHORIZE CHARGES OF $10.00 PER DAY ONLY. THEY HAVE CHARGED $7,000 IN 7 DAYS
I HAVE BEEN USING FB ADS SERVICE FOR FOUR (4) YEARS, AUTHORIZING CHARGES OF $10.00 PER DAY MAX. ON NOVEMBER 30, 2014 I POSTED MY ADS IN FB AS USUAL WITH THE USUAL BUDGET OF $10.00 MAX PER DAY. ON DECEMBER 7, 2014 I VERIRIFED MY MC CREDIT LINE AND CAME INTO KNOWLEDGE THAT FB HAD BEEN CHARGING $1,000.00 PER DAY INSTEAD OF $10.00 PER DAY. FB CHARGED $7,000.00 ($6,930.00) PLUS INTERESTS ON MY CREDIT CARD. I NOTIFIED THE CREDIT CARD COMPANY (USAA) AND CLOSED THE CREDIT ON FB. FB ANSWERED MY CLAIM ON 12/9/2014 STATING THAT UNLESS IT WAS A FRAUD OR SYSTEM ERROR THEY COULD NOT REVERSE THE CHARGES. IT HAS TO BE EITHER FRAUD OR SYSTEM ERROR ON THE PART OF FB.


ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: FTC

Desired Settlement
I WANT FB TO REFUND THE $6,930.00 PLUS INTERESTS IF ANY OR TO REVERSE THE CHARGE WITH THE BANK IMMEDIATEELY.

Business Response
Hi *******,

Our records show that this has been handled directly through a ticket with Facebook.

If you have any further questions, please let us know.

Thanks,

******
Payment Operations
Facebook

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not satisfied with the response from Facebook, I accept a $10.00 ( ten dollars ) per day as a middle ground, for seven days, from December 1 to the 7, 2014 equals $70.00 dollars, that's what I bought in advertising from them, not a 1,000.00 ( one thousand) per day as they wrongly billed me for a total of almost $7,000.00. They have my history of payments for four years ago since I've been buying advertising from Facebook for my shop, I always buy a $10.00 per day, it's a huge mistake from there billing system to overcharge me a 1,000.00 per day.

Final Business Response
Hi *******,

I've reviewed your account, and it looks like you've already disputed the charges with your bank. Once a chargeback is processed, your bank automatically puts the money back into your account. As such, the money has already been taken from us and returned to you.

Please contact your bank if you have any further questions.

Thanks,

02/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Face book locking me out of account I have had with no issue for over 5 years. they are asking for legal pictured ID to verify who I am in that manner
apparently for some reason 2 days ago they started with this thing to verify that I do not have two accounts or that I am who I am . I have had this account since 2009 used a credit card on it that had to verify my age and who I was . and also had my pictures location and everything until two days ago when I deleted everything then they said it was ok and now they are asking again. This is bull and bad customer service and service delivery. they have disrupted my communications with family which other than playing a game is the only reason I use facebook. I deleted all my posts and information from the site because of the first attempt with this and then post what I felt about it then someone reported me again for nudity which they found was not true and left my post. I deleted it then and posted another stating I could do without them if they pulled this again. This is unacceptable and they are discriminating the same way they did with the drag queens they harassed. I have spoken out on Gay rights and someone has obviously targeted me from that or the game I was playing they need to remove the account of the person complaining not me

Desired Settlement
reinstatement of my account and an apology from them posted to my page. also whoever made the complaint needs to be dealt with for their actions. this was the only account I have with them . I know there is another person with my same name in ******* but they are a different person possibly a distant relative whom I do not know the only other person I am aware that has my same name is my father but he uses ******** instead of ***

Business Response
Hi ***,


We've asked you to verify your identify because it looks like you may have multiple accounts or may not be using your authentic identity.

If you've already tried to log in to Facebook and followed the instructions, but weren't able to verify your identity, please reply to our last correspondence and attach an image of your government-issued photo ID to the message. You can use a scanner or take a photo of your ID.

If you don't have a government-issued photo ID, you can also send us 2 different forms of ID (ex: school ID, credit card) that both show the same name. One of the IDs must also include a photo or date of birth that matches the information on your Facebook profile.

If you don't have an ID that shows the name you use in real life and your photo or date of birth, you can provide 2 forms of ID that show the same name and a government ID that includes a date of birth or photo that matches the information on your profile.

Learn more about the different types of IDs we accept in the Help Center:

https://www.facebook.com/help/XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX?ref=cr

Please note that we won't be able to process your request unless you've submitted an accepted form of ID.


Thanks,
****
The Facebook Team

02/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Im being bullied fro
- m big viking games employees and their friends and they have stalked me,virus, hacked my facebook.
Members of several groups that were assembled with the one goal which was to gain control over my money, facebook account and disable my computer. The group of thieves is spearheaded by fake profile, ****** *** and Big Viking games. I have reported BVG and they have no intention of making things right and since you allow their applications if the people had not already made you liable you certainly would be now. BVG employs an ****** **** who is community director over Fish World Community. She has used this group as her vehicle to not only defame me and assinate my character but also that of my spouse and his mother and her business. By contacting each and every customer who liked her page and told them of my criminal history, which mind you is 15 freakin years old!@ I've done my time and YOU will NOT allow people to further prosecute me. This is ABUSE and my history has NOTHING to do with my mom in laws business. They created several groups and invited me in with the idea of getting my birthday so they could contact autohorites of this old crime, which they did. The groups that were created were: Fish World Deco Arcitects and Fish World Acquarium friends and Fish World Spin Buddies. They have been trying to get me for quite some and due to my negligence they finally got me. I have a list of names who have personally done this to me, which I will have to list later. They have given me a computer virus, hacked my facebook account and been using my checking account since October and I just found out. They got this information from my credit card being entered into the facebook system. I have tried to get facebook to help or shut them down and they DO NOTHING!!!!! They allowed these people access to my personal information and they DO NOTHING!! I blow the whistle on this theft ring and I am excommunicated within facebook land and NO ONE and I MEAN NO ONE is allowed to add me. they have reached out to everyone on my mom in laws facebook page and told her customers of my history. I have NOTHING to do with this company except posting daily specials and now their business is failing dramatically because these FACEBOOK people, who never even met me are ruining her business and they are your responsiblity. You would not help me the many, many, many repeated times I begged for help and now we are HERE!!!!! I am not allowed to make fake profiles, yet this entire group has and your third party app employs a fake profile person. I can NO LONGER enjoy myself on FB, they have opened me up to theft, slander, and equipment failure, night terrors and NOT ONE thing from ********** or his cronies. I WILL NOT STOP until I get this taken care of and I will NOT shut my mouth until something is done to rectify the situation. That is a tall order, but when you own a company and YOU WILL NOT provide the security you say that you do and you will not make it right once it is found differently... I did not have room below to fit all the names in, so here is the rest of them.
*** ******
***** ****
**** ******
****** ***** *****
**** ****** *******
** ****
****** L ****
***** ******
**** ****
****** ********
***** ******
****** ****
**** ******
******* ****
**** *******
**** ********* Sr.
***** ********
****** ****** ******
******* *****
****** *****
***** *******
**** ******
*** *****
***** ***** ******
***** ******
***** *******
******* *****
******* ********
****** ******
****** ****
****** **** ********
****** *******
***** *******
****** ********
****** ****
******* *********
**** *****
*** ****
******** ******

The ringleaders who actually spoke and lead me to the viruses etc. were: ****** ***, ******* ******* *********** ******,******* ******* ******** ******** *** ****** ******
****** *****
**** ********
**** ***
****** ***** **********
***** ****
****** *****
****** ********
***** ********
******* *****
****** *****
***** L. ****** ******

Desired Settlement
I am listing the groups and individuals in this box if I can fit them all in. My settelement first off.. Reject 3rd party application Big Viking games access to Facebook permanently. They have not abided by FB TOS, and they rob everyone blind, and will not make it right, so they need to go. They have had ample opportunity and have shown they are not interested in customer care only the money and stealing it. The second part of my requirement would be to remove the people and groups from facebook and ban them for hate crimes committed against me, as well as theft. My mother in law and spouse need a LARGE amount of cash compensation for the amount of business they have lost in a little bitty town, that will never be regained. I also deserve a large cash payment for the **** these people have put me through. They know I have PTSD and they used every chance available to use it against me as well as my 15 year old history...I also would require a PUBLIC APOLOGY for assainating my character and allowing your people to abuse me to no end. the following are the groups and individuals involved.https://www.facebook.com/groups/FishWorldSpinBuddies/
*********************************************************
**************************************
https://www.facebook.com/*********?fref=ts
https://www.facebook.com/groups/fishworldcommunity/
****** *** ***** https://www.facebook.com/***********?fref=photo
*****************************************************************************
https://www.facebook.com/**********************?fref=pb&hc_location=friends_tab&pnref=friends.all https://www.facebook.com/********?fref=pb&hc_location=friends_tab&pnref=friends.all https://www.facebook.com/*************.XXXXXX?fref=pb&hc_location=friends_tab&pnref=friends.all **********************************************************************
************************************************************
https://www.facebook.com*************.2008?fref=nf_fr&pnref=lhc.recent
https://www.facebook.com/***************
https://www.facebook.com/**********.
************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Business Response
Hi,

Thanks for contacting Facebook. We'd be happy to investigate this further, but we need help locating the exact content you're reporting first.

If you're blocked from viewing the content you want to report, please ask a friend to help you provide the following information:

- Web address (URL) of the the exact content you want to report (ex: www.facebook.com/posts/username/*********/XXXXXXX/). This URL can be generated by clicking the date or time link in the post or comment.
- The time and date the content was posted.
- Web address (URL) of the Facebook profile of the person who created the post.

If you're unable to provide the information requested above, please attach a screenshot of the content with you want to report with the date, time and name of the person who posted it clearly shown. We will not be able to review screenshot reports unless they include this info.

Once we're able to locate the reported material, we'll review it and take appropriate action. Please rest assured that these reports will be kept confidential.

View updates from your support dashboard: *****************************

Thanks,

*****
Community Operations
Facebook

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Apparently there is a break down in our communications as this form letter tells me everything you tell me on Facebook. You obviously have not even READ my complaint. Please do so before sending a ridiculous response such as that. There are real people getting real hurt by your company and its actions and negligence of action. This goes way beyond a negative post and as such it is also beyond my capabilities of producing the information that you require. Once a post is deleted, I have no possible way of doing this. You provide a sense of false security and everything you say, you do the opposite and too many people have had to pay the price. Bank statements, I am happy to provide, someone obtained my bank information stored on your site and has went on a spending spree since August of last year. All the purchases were done online and most items purchased were to be used in Fish World.. I also used to spend a great deal of money with them so it easily went un noticed until they boldly took my last 10. Not to mention when I made a purchase of a large amount from Fish World and played their slot games and lost 250 real dollars inside of minutes. I can provide proof of that too. Proof of the loss of business done to my ex mom in law is obvious on her FB page as to the decline from the day this started. These people using my past criminal history against me to former customers of my ex mom in law to ruin her business from my posts to that business being visible to friends when posting as that company, without my knowledge makes me question your confidentiality a great deal. This stuff happened 20 years ago and they have hurt my ex mom in law because she knows me?? I dont even like her, why should she pay for my crimes? I was just admin of her page. I can no longer play Fish World and I loved that game but they will not allow me to add them and if they do, they will rob me or assassinate my character even more and I have paid a very high price and I do not intend on paying anymore. All of my security issues or any problem I have had from Facebook stems from Big Viking Games and Fish World. I am telling you they are BAD BUSINESS. They are thieves and use the fact that Canada is their home base and no one can touch them for their illegal activities. It isnt just one, I have proof of another fake profile they created to cite winnings of enormous proportions, that has never before been seen in order to get people to bet the max bet every time in slots and they MAY win big like this. WRONG.. They give it away because they quickly told the person that htey bet the max and it was visible on the post very obscured. Only someone who fabricated this paid great attention to detail because no one else would have ever known this was even on the post unless they had created the post to look authentic. I have screen shots of those. This wraps it all up for me as to the guilty party is not just an individual but an entire company, which you allow to operate as they see fit on your site. Which includes out right robbery with no recourse or ability to get your money back whatsoever. Aside from the BVG issue there is also the issue of convicted sex offender ****** ******* not only having 1 but 2 facebook pages and I have reported it numerous times with links to law enforcement agencies which POST his status by law and you ignore it. His girlfriend removed his picture, but the friends and family are the same as I know for a fact is that of the ****** ******* of ************ Il. I am referring to.This is not something that will ever go away. He will always be a child molester and should not be allowed on FB as per your guidelines. But yet, there he is in all his perverted glory proudly posted up on 2 facebook pages with access to kiddies everywhere and you made that possible. I'm trying to help and you don't READ my complaints or take any reports seriously. this is a false sense of security. You say you provide security but from where I stand, pardon me while I am still coughing up water from the last time you let me drown by showing me just how well your security and confidentiality worked for me. The documentation I can provide does not fall under any option at all listed in your response so I have not included it because you are not even addressing the main issue.

Final Business Response
Hi *********,

Thanks for contacting Facebook. We appreciate your patience.

It looks like a family member or someone you may know personally made these unauthorized charges. I suggest you contact any person who may have had access to your account and ask them if they've used it.

Because our Payment Terms don't allow for refunds in this case, I'm unable to issue you one.

You can learn more about refunds in our Payment Terms:

https://www.facebook.com/payments_terms?ref=cr

To make it easy to buy things on Facebook, we store your payment information for future purchases. If you'd like to remove any credit cards or PayPal accounts listed on your account, visit the Help Center:

https://www.facebook.com/help/XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX?ref=cr

We appreciate your understanding.

Thanks,

******
Payment Operations
Facebook

Page 1 of 229
02/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Facebook does not adequately address the situation of fake accounts, they seem to rely on users to mass-report or have a contact within Facebook
Facebook does not address accounts that are reported by visiting the profile and clicking "Report" -> "This is a fake account". It is rumoured that before Facebook will never act on these reports but instead automatically suspend the account after around 1000 people have reported it. This is quite evident given accounts created by name of "Command Prompt" have been reported under "Fake name" and nothing has been done about these.

This creates an unbalanced "big fish little fish" situation where somebody who has a lot of fake accounts can use these to mass-report other users but other people cannot report this person's fake accounts without themselves being dishonest and creating multiple accounts.

Here are some examples of fake accounts:

https://www.facebook.com/barny.leighton (username doesn't even vaguely reflect the name, is a second account of an online-game cheater)
https://www.facebook.com/100008114106305 (the owner of this account has "slipped up" before and accidentally included the comment-bar showing this user's picture while taking screen shots of posts by people that have blocked him)

These accounts (and we would speculate up to 15 more) belong to this user: https://www.facebook.com/trevor.leighton1

https://www.facebook.com/kevinelevin11 (Kevin and Perry are characters in Harry Enfield's TV show. One of the profile pictures is of Kevin). This account has been used to send messages threatening to use the above mentioned strategy to close them down: http://prntscr.com/491y36

https://www.facebook.com/dylan.mcintosh.7 is owned by the same person and was also used to send a similar message: http://i.imgur.com/Qyu8UkM.png

https://www.facebook.com/100007925230737 - "Command Prompt" - how does a name like this slip past, really?

https://www.facebook.com/playfair.titans

These 4 accounts (and we speculate up to 50+ more) belong to this person: https://www.facebook.com/Buyaball. This is somebody who we believe is linked to Anonymous, and makes their own admission to using VPN at all times (https://www.facebook.com/help/community/question/?id=10151498440662109)

https://www.facebook.com/jhon.scott.359
https://www.facebook.com/joe.soap.3363334
https://www.facebook.com/ahmado445
https://www.facebook.com/516018833
https://www.facebook.com/mohammed.khalid.7798

This is someone who likes to go by various names and permetations of "Joe" and "Moody". Every time one of his accounts is blocked by online users, he creates a different one and uses that to harass them online and post libelous material about them. We believe he may have anything up to 20 more accounts.

https://www.facebook.com/saha.woou
https://www.facebook.com/margret.huetter
https://www.facebook.com/Christian.Maier2001

All of these (and we believe another 5 more) belong to this person:

https://www.facebook.com/sabine.ouschan

Desired Settlement
Immediate review and suspension of the accounts identified above as fake, given that these have been previously reported as per Facebook's processes (clicking "Report") but nothing has been done.

Our efforts to get these fake accounts (and in some cases very obvious fake accounts) have not been dishonest - we have not attempted to request a favour from and contacts at Facebook, create accounts and dishonestly flood the reporting system or dishonestly flood the reporting system by requesting on group pages for people to mass-report these accounts.

We simply want to stick to the letter of the law and follow the process. However, the process clearly is flawed as it has not been possible thus far for these accounts to be deactivated. We believe in some cases these accounts are accounts who belong(ed) to real people but have been hacked. The obvious examples are where the name has been changed away from whatever name was given when the account was created. It is normal for somebody to take a different surname after marriage, but not a different first name!

02/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I suddenly lost the ability to access my account on December 28th 2014.
It took a day or so to reach a person about it and it still isn't settled.
Facebook suspended my account over their "Real Name Policy" which hasn't been relevant in all these years, but now suddenly is.
I've never abused the site or anyone on the site despite using an alias for PRIVACY reasons.
Several people have been dealing with this, people who want to keep their professional life and personal life separate. There have been petitions, and there are people who have successfully regained their monikers, so I'm not sure why I'm unable to.

Facebook keeps demanding that I submit a government issued ID. I refuse to do this. I'm in school for Cyber Security and I know how this stuff works, despite their saying they'll delete people's personal information. The same reason I haven't provided them with my phone number or address the many times their site has asked. I'm not comfortable providing it to them, and they should be able to understand that.

As a compromise I submitted my school ID's one of the documents they claim can be used to recover accounts, yet I've had no correspondence with the person who was helping me initially.

Something which was NOT an easy task, as their "Help Center" makes it very difficult to get in touch with a person, and so does Facebook as a whole.
I have been locked out of my account for a week now, and sense then have been contacted by numerous concerned friends, and automated Facebook messages talking about all the stuff I'm missing on the account I can't access.


I've been communicating with other users who have had the same thing happen to them, one person has been locked out of their account for 40 days.

I noticed another was another activist who had been sharing a lot of social justice things recently, just as I had on my account. I'm going to give them the benefit of the doubt on that one....

But yes. I'm incredibly upset, and the way they're handling the situation has been just AWFUL.

I submitted an ID, my account is still locked, I want the name that most of my Facebook friends know me as, there are TONS of names on Facebook that aren't users legitimate names.

I don't think Facebook has any right to be demanding people's sensitive information via the internet, and they shouldn't give people who are already concerned with their privacy a difficult time when they refuse to submit that information.

I'd like some professional and understanding correspondence, because as of now, I have not been met with it.

Desired Settlement
I would LIKE to just have access to my account with the name I've had for several years, if that's not possible, I'd like to regain access to my account so that I may tell the HUNDREDS of people I've suddenly lost contact with where they can find me, and download all of my pictures and documents from my profile and go on my way.

Ever since I've proposed this I haven't been responded to.

Business Response
Hi *******,

The name currently listed on your account doesn't follow our policies. We require everyone to use their authentic first and last names on Facebook, so you always know who you're connecting with.

Please keep in mind that we won't respond to any further requests to list a name that doesn't follow these policies. For more information about the kinds of names we accept, please review our name policies:

https://www.facebook.com/help/XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX/?ref=cr


Thanks,

****
The Facebook Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No I do not accept this response as it is just brushing off my, and many other's, concerns as a non-issue.

I understand what they keep repeating about their policies, but I am not satisfied by their response, and their reaction of "We're not going to even bother responding to your questions and concerns if you don't follow our policy".

The principle is that people who are already QUESTIONING YOUR POLICY have PRIVACY CONCERNS and you are not responding to them responsibly. At all.
Their have been petitions for several users who are being affected by these username witchhunts.

It's not responsible as a social media, to blatantly ignore people's real concerns and refuse to engage them in actual dialogue, or take any action until they submit to the very policy they're concerned about.

Do you guys even CARE about the people you're forcing to identify themselves this way?

Some people have pseudonyms for safety's sake.

So are you pretty much just telling those people

"Whelp! It sucks you've had a bad experience! Just don't use Facebook then!"

What are your REALISTIC options for people who don't agree with your name policy and STILL want to communicate with those they trust on their account?

I've said it like ten times, and I'll say it again.

THIS POLICY IS SHORT-SIGHTED AND CANNOT REALISTICALLY APPLY TO EVERYONE'S SITUATION!

Thank you.

Final Business Response
Hi *******,

Please be aware that we enforce the Statement of Rights and Responsibilities when we encounter violations on the site or receive reports of violations. Facebook Timelines are intended for individual use and to represent real people using their authentic names. If accounts like this currently exist on the site, it is only because they have not yet been reported and removed.


Thanks,

****
The Facebook Team

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thousands of people are telling you that your policy is DANGEROUS.

And needs to be changed. Your insistence that people are violating this policy is irrelevant. Because it needs to be changed.

It doesn't reflect the real world, and you guys have no right to tell people how they should and should not present themselves online. You're not the government.

From the inception of the internet people have been told to maintain their privacy and to never reveal personal details about themselves. You, FACEBOOK are doing the complete opposite and making thousands and thousands of people vulnerable simply to use your social networking site that they *** have been utilizing for over a decade. That's messed up and it's irresponsible.

Sounds like you need to educate yourselves on the importance of pseudonymity on the internet.

https://www.techdirt.com/articles/XXXXXXXX/XXXXXXXXXXX/whats-name-importance-pseudonymity-dangers-requiring-real-names.shtml


Your repetition and insistence that it's against policy to have a different name means NOTHING to me and thousands of others because we realize it's bull****. As people who are educated about internet security. This policy needs to be changed.

It doesn't reflect everyone. So until you're willing to release a statement about hos Facecbook isn't open to be used by everyone in the general public, you guys need to do something that allows people to protect themselves.

You all could EASILY implement an *INTERNAL* name registry system that allows people to verify a real name and use a nickname on the outside.

I have sent this suggestion to you guys multiple times and haven't received response.

Your lack of willingness to work with the thousands of people affected and upset by this policy only highlights that you do not have the consumer's best interests at heart, and that there is probably some kind of nefarious, money making reasoning behind your insistence to have people use their "authentic names" that you haven't revealed.

This is wrong and YOU KNOW IT!!!!

I'm not going to be quiet about it until everyone knows.

02/16/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Someone.created a fake facebook account.using my name a day former title to attract click bait to an advising site Amazon.It is Deceptive advertising
Someone stole my identity and created a false Facebook site with my name and former title. The site has a redirect to a paid advertising link named Amazon.
My name us in a site called "gamegirlfree"
Below is the site and the link it.appears they have it rigged and manopulatedto use the keywords Councilwoman ******* *****
I want this entire site remove by Facebook for fraud, misleading advertise g, deceptive business practices, usi g my name as identity fraud and running an advertising ponzi scheme. I think they stole my password *** hacked my gaceboknaccountntjat is Not this one. They have this kinked to my account to sine how and it has thousands of back links. When you Google councilwoman ******* ***** this faceFacebook site appears at the top of the page


https://www.facebook.com/search.php?q=www.girlsfreegame.com/?Councilwoman+*******+*****

www.girlsfreegame.com/?Councilwoman ******* ***** Profiles ...
https://www.facebook.com/search.php?...
Forgot your password? Sign Up. Search Results for www.girlsfreegame.com/? Councilwoman ******* *****. Search ...

http://whois.domaintools.com/facebook.com

Desired Settlement
I want this site take down immediately
From.facebook a day from appearing in Google


https://www.facebook.com/search.php?q=www.girlsfreegame.com/?Councilwoman+*******+*****

Business Response
Hi *******,

Thanks for bringing this to our attention. The best way to let us know about abuse is to use the nearby "Report" link when you see the abuse on Facebook.

You can learn more about using report links by visiting the Help Center:

https://www.facebook.com/help/XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX/?ref=cr

Facebook also provides several tools for addressing abuse on the site, including:

- Sending a message to the person who posted
- Blocking the person from contacting you
- Reporting the person if their behavior is abusive

Learn more about these tools in the Help Center:

https://www.facebook.com/help/tools/?ref=cr


Thanks,

The Facebook Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Unfortunately the links sent by Facebook concerning abuse are confusing a day unclear
it does not work and is very difficult sending a simply abuse report of this site that I had sent and explainEd on detail. This site that was created is frightening. It has my perssonal information linked to mybFacebook when I sign in with my personal password. It was created overseas and has my name and title which is cyberpiracy, Internet identity theft, misleading with deceptive business practices,
redirected to a paid site which is some sort of ponzi scheme and I fear for life. Facebook needs to take this serious and do everything in their will to replace and protect privacy on the Web. My privacy has been invaded and someone has hacked into my Facebook and private information which I deactivated because od this facebook site. I fear that my information is being shared because of this fraudulent Facebook site that I simply want removed. This is a disgrace. It is an emotional distress for me. Please help me

Final Business Response
Hi *******,

Thank you for your response. It appears that the content you've reported leads to content hosted on a service or website not controlled or operated by Facebook.

The URL you have reported does not actually link to any content on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/search/results.php?q=www.girlsfreegame.com%2F%3FCouncilwoman+*******+*****&nomc=0).

If you want to have the content that you believe is infringing your rights removed from the actual service or website where it is hosted, you will need to contact the operator of that service or website yourself.

If you wish to make a new report about content on Facebook, you can submit a new claim here:

https://www.facebook.com/help/contact_us.php?id=XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

If you have any further questions, please visit the Intellectual Property section of our Help Center at the following address:

https://www.facebook.com/help/*********************


Thank you for contacting Facebook,

****
The Facebook Team

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have tried to submit to that link sndnit is not working. I would simply like Facebook to remove this site that is why I went via BBB because of the difficulties removing

This site was created by someone who stole my information and my identity to tag my name to keep negative information at the top of google
Please remove this fake site. The link provided is useless and difficult

02/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unable to access the ***** **** **** Facebook company page for many months and right after paying hundreds of dollars for advertising.
I paid hundreds of dollars out of my own pocket to build advertising for the ***** **** **** Facebook page. Shortly after, I was unable to access the page for many, many, many months. I would like the marketing feeds paid a refund placed on my credit card. I have sent multiple messages through various links on the Customer Service Facebook site. I finally, mailed a certified letter to the company in November. No response to-date. My email address and password to access our page has remained the same for years. However, this is the 2nd time I have been locked out of the company page, resulting in the inability to build marketing on our company website. There has been a blank space on our website social media page for a very long time. The page no longer looks professional. Please resolve and refund immediately. Thanks for your help and urgency in this matter.

Desired Settlement
A refund for the full amount paid for advertising, to be placed back on my credit card.

Business Response
Hi ******,

Thank you for your inquiry through the Better Business Bureau. To address your inquiry in the most expedient manner, please visit the Payments Support Contact Form:

https://www.facebook.com/help/contact/XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

A Facebook representative will then be able to fully investigate your account.

Thank you for contacting Facebook,

******
Payment Operations
Facebook

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have sent multiple inquiries previously, but will resubmit via the above link as requested by Facebook. I will await a response and will follow-up with the BBB, if needed. Thanks for your help.

Final Business Response
Hi ******,

Facebook only issues refunds for unauthorized or fraudulent charges, so we'll be unable to refund you in this particular case. This decision is final and can't be appealed.

When you created your ad, you agreed to our Terms and Conditions. Learn more about our Payment Terms:

http://www.facebook.com/payments_terms/?ref=cr

******
Payment Operations
Facebook

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thanks for your response. My final question is, why was the account disabled? The company is an educational and anti-bullying entity.

02/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My facebook page *** ***** *********** ******* was hacked with malware. It required me to change all financial information. I had to buy new computer.
I cannot log in to my facebook account to deactivate/close my page. I was asked to provide a copy of color driver's license, birth certificate and or gov't ID. I told them NO. That is more personal information than is on my page to begin with and I will not share it. Codes sent to change my FB password were invalid and I still could not log-in to my FB page to close it. I believe FB is collecting unnecessary personal information about their users. I want my account closed immediately. My account was hacked and everything on my computer could have been copied.

Desired Settlement
I want Facebook to CLOSE my facebook page info below on my page:

******** "***" *****
lives in *********** ******* from *********** **
Phone ************ (locked entry)
birthdate ********** (locked year entry)
profile picture of myself and ************

Business Response
Hi ********,

Thank you for reaching out to Facebook. If you are still having technical issues with the texted login approvals code not working, then please visit this page in our Help Center to troubleshoot and/or submit a report directly to our customer support teams:

https://www.facebook.com/help/XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX


Additionally, we understand your caution, but in order to protect the information on the account, we require you to verify your identity by providing a copy of your government-issued photo ID.

If you'd feel more comfortable uploading your ID through the Help Center, please fill out this form:

https://www.facebook.com/help/contact/submit_id

Before you scan or take a picture of your ID, be sure to cover up any personal information that we don't need (ex: your address, license number, etc).

Note: we will permanently delete the document you send after we resolve your issue.

After you submit your ID, please respond directly to this email so we can review your documents and assist you further. To learn more about this process, and what types of IDs we accept, please visit the Help Center:

https://www.facebook.com/help/XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX/?ref=cr

If you don't want to reopen this account, there's no need to respond to this email. This account will remain locked as a security precaution. Let us know if you have any further questions.



Thanks,
*****
The Facebook Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No government ID or any kind of ID was required to set up this face book page in the first place, therefore I WILL NOT provide one to face book now. I have set up my page under my "nickname" to protect my identity and my address. I do not want my full name and address to be made public (which it will be once it is given to face book) and I believe this is an invasion of privacy. I also believe that the general public needs to be aware of these types of information being gathered by face book. I have read the types of ID requested, color driver's license, birth certificate, gov't ID etc. This is NOT acceptable since it was not required to set up the page to begin with. My bank doesn't even request such ID's (Plural) to access my accounts. I will just let the face book page sit there with no activity, because there isn't anything personal on it!!!! Or face book can deactivate the page and this matter will be resolved. Until that is done this complaint shall remain OPEN!!

Final Business Response
Hi ********,

Thank you for your response. We understand your caution, but we'll need your help verifying that you own this account before we can take any further action. If you'd prefer not to submit a government-issued ID, we accept several other forms of ID. Please provide one of the following:

1. One government-issued ID that contains your name, photo and date of birth.

2. 2 different forms of ID that combine to show your name and date of birth or photo. The names on your IDs must match each other, and one of the IDs must include a photo or date of birth that matches the information on your profile.

3. If you don't have an ID that shows your authentic name as well as your photo or date of birth, you can provide 2 different forms of ID, and then provide a government ID that includes a date of birth or photo that matches the information on your profile.

If you don't have an ID with your photo on it, you can also attach a photo of yourself holding your ID. (Please make sure that we can clearly see your face in both the photo and the ID.)

You'll find specific examples of the types of ID we can accept in the Help Center:

https://www.facebook.com/help/XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX/?ref=cr



Thanks for contacting Facebook,

****
The Facebook Team

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will provide a notorized affidavit which will verify my name, birthday and hometown and also my face book profile picture as compared by the notary public to my drivers license. I will fax this affidavit to the BBB as listed on this complaint. They will then transmit to face book. That information is all that is on my facebook page and that is ALL the information I will provide to facebook. I will take legal action if this is not acceptable to face book.

Page 1 of 94
04/30/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Social Networking

Additional Information

top

If you are filing a complaint regarding harassment, bullying or offensive content, Facebook asks that you provide the following information: the web address to the page on Facebook containing the offending content, a brief description of its context and nature, exact quote of the offensive text including the time and date posted (if applicable), the exact name of the person responsible and the web address to that person's Facebook profile page or search listing. For complaints concerning trouble accessing your account or reporting another account as an imposter, please provide as much of the following as possible: full name as listed on the Facebook account, date of birth listed on the account, email address originally associated with the account and a link to the account on Facebook.

Facebook also states that they cannot take complaints concerning issues related to third party applications and games or issues related to timeline. For issues related to third party applications & games customers need to contact the developer of the application or game and for issues related to timeline customers should go to https://www.facebook.com/help/contact us.php?id=235841249796277.

BBB file opened: 02/01/2012Business started: 02/04/2004
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2004, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Zuckerberg (CEO) Zanique Albert (Consumer Disputes)Mr. Sam McFarland
Number of Employees

3500

Business Category

Social Networking

Alternate Business Names
FB, FB.com, Facebook, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Facebook

1601 Willow Rd

Menlo Park, CA 94025-1452

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1601 Willow Rd 

    Menlo Park, CA 94025-1452(650) 543-4800

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Facebook is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Social Networking

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.