BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/30/2013

Rodan & Fields, LLC (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (415) 273-8000Fax: (415) 273-803660 Spear St STE 600, San FranciscoCA 94105-1512



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers skincare, cosmetic solutions and tools including vitamins, supplements, sunscreens, and related products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/30/2013

BBB has determined that Rodan & Fields, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Rodan & Fields, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 42 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

42 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 22 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues14
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service20
Total Closed Complaints 42

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Rodan & Fields, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (42)
04/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hello,One of Rodan & Field's sales reps informed me that their eye cream helps with droopiness so I ordered it. However, I learned later that it does not per their product specialist. However, I mentioned, too, that my eyes are sensitive and it is the first eye cream that has literally hurt my eyes no matter how I use it. I have called more than once and emailed multiple times as they were going to make arrangements to have it picked up so I don't have to pay for shipping. The tiny bottle cost $9 just to get it here when I would not have ordered it if the first sales rep would have been correct. So I have a problem with my eyes now and I still have the eye cream. I was promised by email that it would be picked up on 4/13. I still have it and it is 4/15 at 2:19 p.m. I have emailed earlier and no response. I want all my money back and the item picked up.I have had people call me and tell me that don't have a replacement. I just want it picked up and a full refund as I shouldn't have had to pay $9 to ship it here when it wouldn't do what I was wanting.*******
Product_Or_Service: AAEY015 REDEFINE Multi-Function Eye Cream
Order_Number: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
A refund of my money.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Compliance
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@rodanandfields.com
Dear Mrs. ******,

I apologize for your experience with our eye cream and receiving misinformation from one of our Independent Consultants. As well as the issue with Fedex not picking up the product. I personally went to talk to Sales Support about the call tag, they have placed a new call tag for tomorrow, 4/17. The call tag number is XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. As soon as the product is picked up, we are happy to refund you for the product.

I have attached my personal contact information below for further communications.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
3 & 1/2 months after they received my product I have not received the refund I was promised. my friend also had an issue about not getting refund
purchased 9-29-14
rf order XXXXXXX
tracy the field rep didn't know her products.
she told me I would get two tubes. I got a ottle of hydroquinone. which I DID NOT WANT. I WANTED VIT C CREAM.
THEY RECEIVED THE RETURN ON XX-X-XX BY Thomas AT 10:30AM AT THE DOCK.
I CHECKED IN January WHEN I HAD NOT GOTTEN MY MONEY BACK. I Called them on January 20th. I informed them on that call that I had closed that credit card because it had gotten stolen. They told me they would have to issue a check and I would get it in 2 weeks. Today it is February 16th. I still have not received the heck. The woman in the PC Perks department could not tell me if they check had been issued. I asked for a supervisor *****. She said the delay is casue the card was closed and then no had to issue a check. I told her I HAD TOLD THEM BEFRE THEY EVEN TRIED TO ISSUE A CHARGE CREDIT THAT THE CREDIT CARD WAS STOLEN. So on January 20th the man told me it takes two days to get the check issued. today they tell me it takes 4 TO 6 WEEKS TO GET A Check. Which one is it. They got my product on 11-3-2014.they have not reunded me my money in 3 and 1/2 months. I AM TELLING ALL MY FRIENDS. JUST SENT A GROUP TEXT. I think they do it so people forget. why does it take almost 4 months to get a refund? Why don't they inform the client that there is a delay. No one should buy from them because they don't practice ethically

Desired Settlement
what I was promised 90.21 by check NOW

Business Response
Our records indicated a refund was in process on 2/19. Called consumer today to confirm whether or not the check was received.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I got check

01/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I returned my order within the 60 day trial period and did not receive my refund
Rodan and Fields received my returned product on Dec. 19, 2014 and I have not received my refund of $354.21. They promised that I would receive the refund within 15 business days. The original purchase was made on 10/26/14 in the amount of $376.65. (They do not refund the PC perks enrollment fee of $19.95 or shipping charges).

Desired Settlement
Refund of $351.21 that is owed back to me

Final Consumer Response
This case has been resolved. I received my refund on 1/23/15

01/22/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unauthorized credit card charge
I purchased a Rodan+Fields product via one of their representatives. Either she put me on auto-renewal or Rodan+Fields did. Either way, I did not sign ANY paperwork authorizing Rodan+Fields to process a credit card payment for a renewal order that I never made. Once I received the renewal notification, I contacted R+F customer service. They informed me they could not cancel my order and once received, will have to pay shipping and handling to return. I contacted them on 12/22/14 as soon as I received the re-order notification via email that same day. I received the product on Friday, 12/26/14. I do not believe they could not cancel the order. There was plenty of time.

Desired Settlement
I want R+F to clearly have authorized signatures allowing them to process credit card payments. I ordered my product through a rep and was surprised there was no paperwork involved to review and sign, especially for an auto-pay feature through a credit card in which I never authorized. I will not get a refund until they receive the returned product, to their warehouse and they again deduct a processing payment (which does not say how much on the Return Authorization Form), so to me, either way it's a scam. They still get my money. I want a refund of my return mailing costs and also should not be responsible for any handling fees they will incur.

Business Response
Our records indicate that Ms. ****** enrolled in our PC Perks Program on October 26, 2014. The PC Perks Program is a customer loyalty program which offers customers a discount on the R+F Products, free shipping on their recurring orders and member-only specials. The PC Perks Program is set up in such a way that members receive recurring orders every 60-days.
After speaking with Ms. ****** we understand that she did not enroll herself in this program and so did not agree to the applicable terms and conditions. Ms. ****** did, however, receive a welcome email which included information regarding her PC Perks enrollment and recurring orders.
We explained to Ms. ****** that our order processing system is live and so when an order has been processed we do not have the ability to then alter or cancel those orders. There are no handling fees incurred when returning any product back to Rodan + Fields for Preferred Customers.
We have agreed to refund Ms. ****** for the shipping charges she incurred as a result of returning her unwanted shipment to us. In addition we will be reaching out to Ms. ******'s Sponsor to ensure she understands the importance of full disclosure and transparency with all of her Customers.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Rodan & Fields handled this complaint very professionally. I appreciate their superior customer service.

01/21/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rodan and Fields Collected dormant fees on a blance that it was owned to me. after the blance was requested and never paid.
Company sent a prepaid credit card with commission for sales. I never activated the card instead I went to the site to request a balance transfer to my bank account, they never transfer the money and they argue that it was never requested when it was. They charged $5.00 monthly fee for keeping a balance in this account (extremely high Fee for them to keep my money doing nothing). After arguing with them finally transfer what it was left of the money $8.60 minus a transfer fee of $1.00 so a total of $7.60 (practically nothing) the initial request for transfer was made in April 2014 and it was never done in the mean time they keep collecting fees. They were not helpful over the phone neither on April 2014 or now Dec 18, 2014 when I contacted them again. This company is getting richer taking money of the people that keep falling for the fantasy land that they promise. Is practically an scam. I earned that commission for sales and it was never paid to me and instead they charged a fee over my own money, that should be totally illegal.

Desired Settlement
I should be refunded for the fees they collected and pay me my commission for the sale made $63.00 the $7.60 that will be transfer to my account is totally a joke and I shouldn't be punished for a request that they never processed like they should have to begin with. I earned that money and should have been paid to me in total.

Business Response
Ms. ******* enrolled as a Consultant on November 30th, 2013 and terminated her Consultant agreement on April 9th, 2014. Ms. ******* earned a total of $63.60 during her Consultantship.

Ms. *******'s commissions were accessible through her RF Payday account. Terminated Consultants must remove funds from their RF Payday accounts or they will incur a monthly charge of $5.00. Ms. ******* did not remove her funds from the RF Payday account and was feed $5.00 every month since her termination due to her outstanding balance within the account. She received an email every month that she was feed.

Ms. ******* called our Customer Service department on December 18th, 2014 unsure why her commissions had diminished from $63.60 to $8.60. We explained to Ms. ******* that she had not removed the funds from her RF Payday account and was consequently charged. Ms. ******* did successfully transfer the remaining $8.60 to her bank account on December 18th, 2014.

We reached out to Ms. ******* on December 30th, 2014 via email and January 6th, 2015 via phone in response to this complaint. Ms. ******* explained that she had called our Customer Service Department or the RF Payday Customer Service Department to request that funds were removed back in May 2013. Ms. ******* was confident that she spoke to someone who did confirm the funds would be transferred. She did not see the emails alerting her of the $5.00 fee as sometimes her emails end up in her spam folder.

We have issued her a refund for $55.00, the original commission total, with the fees reversed.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Rodan and Fields agreed to send me a check for the balance of the commission unpaid, $55.00

I'm still waiting for the check to come if the check doesn't arrived I will reopen the case.

Thank you!

****** *******

Page 1 of 4
07/20/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received an email last Wednesday about my order coming up for renewal. I cancelled it my renewal last Wednesday
I received an email last Wednesday 5/27 about my renewal of products date coming up soon. I tried to order a different product that was on back order. I was told I could order it at 11:00 am pacific time. The website was frozen for most of the day and the next day 5/28, I removed my entire order from my cart and should NOT have been charged for ANYTHING. I have an email from Rodan and Fields at 3:00am saying they have processed my renewal and charging me almost $187, which is NOT authorized due to the cancellation.

Desired Settlement
$187.09 placed back on my debit card now

Business Response
The Customer received a refund of $184.44 on 6/22/15.

07/13/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased products through a consultant and the company sent me two orders of the products instead of one. They charged my credit card for both.
I called my consultant and told her to cancel my status as a preferred costumer so that they would not automatically send me orders every 6 months. This was in January. I, also, emailed the company and told them to cancel my status as a preferred costumer and not to send me any more products. This morning I received an email saying that they are sending another order. I emailed them and called several of the phone numbers on their website. I was on the phone for 30 minutes and never got a live person. This same situation has occurred with several other people. Please help me!

Desired Settlement
I want them to stop charging my credit card and sending me products that I do not want. I want them to honor my request to cancel my preferred customer status. Their claim is that you can cancel at any time.

Business Response
Contacted the customer today to schedule a call tag to pick up the shipment so that we can issue a refund. Per notes on the account, her account was terminated on 6/23/15. Had to leave a voicemail for her but left detailed instructions for her to call us back so that we can assist with a call tag.

Final Consumer Response
*****,
Thank you so very much for your help! I received an email from Rodan and Fields stating that they have cancelled my preferred customer status, finally! I will forward you a copy of the email. You are a great help to the consumer. Have a good day!
****** *******

07/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company has been unresponsive with a answer about when my refund will come
I sent my skin care products back over almost two weeks ago. I still have not received any notice that they got my products or when I will be refunded. I have been in contact with the headquarters in San Francisco and all they say is thank you for contacting use we will look into it. With the amount of money I spent on these products and the amount of money I have made for the company selling products I should at least get an email saying they received my products and I will be refunded soon. I purchased the products I sent back on March 13th, I sent them back on April 19th. I had 60 days to get a full refund on my products. I have clearly sent it back within the 60 day time frame. No where on there website or paper work does it say when or how long it will take. I think it is crazy that I spent 1082. on the product and have not gotten any notice back. I paid for the products on my debit card.

Desired Settlement
I would like the company to give me my full refund of $1082 to my visa card. I would also like them to do this within the next week if not sooner. I should not have to wait a month to receive my refund from Rodan and Fields. They make enough money and I have sold enough products in the last two months for them to do this refund quickly. Please refund my $1082 soon!

Business Response
The amount of $1082.06 was refunded on 5/11/15 by R+F

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I never got the money in my account.

Final Business Response
We have reached out to **** via phone and e-mail to confirm whether or not she did in fact receive her refund. Our records indicate this refund was processed through our processor and have tracking numbers to verify the refund.

06/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company provided poor customer service. Did not respond to complaint filed through website, even after sending email to me confirming complaint.
There was an issue with a credit card number when an auto-ship order was scheduled to be fulfilled. I received an email stating they were unable to process the order because the credit card number failed to process on 3/12/15. Below is the email correspondence I received from them.

We have been unable to process your most recent Rodan + Fields product replenishment order that could have been due to one of the following errors: a mismatch of the billing address and cardholder name, expiration of credit card on file, decline of credit card on file, or an invalid credit card.

In order to stay active in the PC Perks and qualify for all associated benefits, please enter your revised credit card information into the system. To change your billing information, log into www.rodanandfields.com and click the "My Account" link located in the upper right corner of the webpage, and then click "Edit Order".

Please make the necessary changes so that you can receive your order. We will attempt to re-process your order in 5 business days.

I revised our credit card number through the website on 3/12/15. The order was not processed until 3/31/15. I emailed to complain about the delay after receiving the order and received an email stating someone would be contacting me in 3 business days. I never received any further correspondence from the company.

Again, this month I had issues with my auto-ship order. I received an email stating my order was about to ship and if I wanted to change the order, I could do so. I went directly to the website and changed my order. Today I received the order which was never changed to eliminate the products I no longer wanted on the order. I called customer service to resolve the issue. The agent was pleasant and helpful, however, stated that it was company policy that I return all of the products and place a new order (even though some of the products were exactly the same as what they were reordering for me). It seems like a laborious and convoluted process, rather than having me simply return the products I no longer wish to keep. Maybe this is a way to get customers to keep the unwanted products.

This is not the first instance where I have changed my order (reducing the number of products) in a timely manner and the company failed to complete the change. Also, when I spoke with the customer service representative today, I brought up the issue I had with my last order. She stated that when I changed my credit card number for my previous order, I would have needed to call so they knew the credit card number was updated. In the email correspondence from them, it said they would process the order in 5 days? Instead, it took them 17 days to process it.

Overall, I have been very disappointed with their customer service, response time, and attention to detail when it comes to customer's orders. Even though their products are satisfactory, I no longer wish to do business with them because of the inconveniences and difficulties I have experienced.

Desired Settlement
The only thing I would like is an acknowledgement from the company of the issues I have experienced and specific ways they can remedy the issues for their customers.

Business Response
Replied to Customer
Good Evening *****,
I want to reach out to you in regards to your BBB Complaint. I am terribly sorry that you had the issues that you did. In reading through the detail provided your requests were certainly within the norm of business. We are going through some growing pains with both technology and staffing, I sincerely apologize that your experience was so poor as a result. We are working very hard to fix the issues that are pain points for our customers.

If I can be of any assistance in the future please free to reach out directly.


06/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They continue to over charge my credit card monthly. They keep giving me run around on my return of 1,817.10
I got Email from them X-XX-XXXX to confirm or hold order for next auto ship. I emailed back X-XX-XXXX to hold order. On june 1st got email from them stating that my order shipped and the total amount due was 1,817.10 I called talked to **** on X-X-XXXX he said it was takin care of. X-X-XXXX I talk 5o ***** he said it was taken care of. X-X-XXXX I talked to ****** supervisor he said it was created back. On
X-X-XXXX still waiting for it to back on my credit card. They seem not to really care.

Desired Settlement
Trying to get refund to my credit card

Business Response
The refund for $1,817.10 was applied on 6/3/15 by Rodan and Fields.

Page 1 of 6

Industry Comparison| Chart

Skin Care, Cosmetics - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Cosmetic Sales by Internet, Cosmetic Sales, Cosmetics & Perfumes - Retail, Business Opportunity Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/01/2008Business started: 07/17/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board of Barbering & Cosmetology
2420 Del Paso Rd Suite 100
Sacramento, CA 95834
(800) 952-5210
http://www.dca.ca.gov/barber

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Ms. Lori Bush (President/CEO)Ms. Michelle Leetham (Vice President, General Counsel & Secretary)
Contact Information
Principal: Ms Amber Siddiqi ( Compliance Coordinator)
Number of Employees

222

Business Category

Skin Care, Cosmetics - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Cosmetic Sales by Internet, Cosmetic Sales, Cosmetics & Perfumes - Retail, Business Opportunity Companies

Service Area

This business service area covers: United States, Puerto Rico, and Guam.

Alternate Business Names
Rodan + Fields

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Rodan & Fields, LLC

60 Spear St STE 600

San Francisco, CA 94105-1512

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Rodan & Fields, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Skin Care

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.