BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/30/2013

Rodan & Fields, LLC (Headquarters)

Phone: (415) 273-8000Fax: (415) 273-8036

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

29 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues7
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service14
Total Closed Complaints29

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (29)BBB Closure Definitions
11/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rodan + Fields set me up on recurring billing / product delivery without my approval.
Rodan + Fields set me up on recurring billing / product delivery without my approval. They sent me an email on November 15th indicating that the next delivery would be made on the 20th and that if i wanted to change it, i could log in. On November 16th, i log in and was told that I could change the order until up until the 15th - and not after. I reached out to them (after 30 minutes on hold) and was able to cancel the order. Therefore, I not requesting any action.

Desired Settlement
They have canceled the shipment and future shipments. That is what I want. I am happy with the outcome.

Business Response
BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX
Consumer: ***** *******

Our records indicate that Mr. ******* enrolled as a Preferred Customer on September 24, 2014. Preferred Customers participate in a 60-day replenishment program. Preferred Customers receive free shipping on their replenishment orders as well as 10% off of all orders. Mr. *******'s account was closed on November 17, 2014 after speaking with a Rodan + Fields Customer Service Representative. We are pleased to learn that his matter has been resolved through his experience with our Customer Service Department.


Consumer Response
I feel the case is resolved at this point.

11/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
my consultant placed the wrong order for me which costed ($1300.00) Consultant was notified came and picked the product up from my home.
on or about August 4, 2014 I received and unauthorized shipment of products in the amount of $1300.00, I called my consultant and informed her of the wrong order, she informed she would come pick it up and return it, which she did. I was just informed that it cannot be returned because it has been longer than 60 days. Which it hasn't been, since I was not in receipt of the package until August 19th, because I had surgery and was in the hospital for a period on time. I was unable to walk, drive, etc....My consultant was actually trying to be helpful during this time. But it has not worked out to the best intrest. Now I am out of $1300.00 and I don't even have the product. I would like a refund ASAP, since the product has now been shipped back to Rodan and Fields with in the 60 days of my receipt of the product!!

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of the products they have received back from me, it should be around $ 1100.00, since I did keep the one thing I did ask to be ordered for me!

Business Response
Complaint Case #: XXXXXXXX
Consumer: ******* ****
Our records indicate that Ms. **** enrolled as a Preferred Customer on June 2, 2014. She received two auto-ship orders, one on June 2, 2014 and the other on August 2, 2014.
We understand that Ms. **** had surgery in early August, when she received her second shipment, and was unable to return the unwanted portion of her order for a refund. We also understand that this second order was placed incorrectly by Ms. ****'s Sponsor.
After speaking with Ms. **** about this situation we have decided to refund her for her second order, minus the product that she did choose to keep. We have also had a coaching call with her Sponsor to provide her with some best practices while growing her business and servicing her customers.
As we have honored Ms. ****'s request we request that this complaint be closed.

11/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Stopping product made my skin worse and when I wanted my money back they would not refund me.
Rodan and Fields ruined my skin. They refused to give me a refund as well because the bottle was broken. The products are overly priced and if you stop, your face will explode in a way that is so severe and hideous. This was my experience. I will never recommend them to anyone. In fact, the pictures of myself before, during and once I stopped is testimony in itself and I despise the products and the owners. They guarantee satisfaction but give you the run around if you want your $$$ back. Greed and dishonesty. They should warn customers that if you start, YOU CAN NEVER EVER EVER STOP. I am suffering emotionally every day because my acne has never in all my life been so bad. I am slowly repairing the damage with more natural Korean products. I will encourage others to NEVER jump on the Rodan and Fields bandwagon and I will gladly show anyone what it did to me when I couldn't afford the products anymore.

Desired Settlement
My money back for the regimen

Business Response
Ms. ***** enrolled as a Preferred Customer on February 21st 2014. Ms. ***** was charged for a total of two auto ship orders. The first order was her enrollment order on February 21st and the second order processed on May 20th.

Ms. ***** emailed our Customer Service department on May 20th, requesting that we cancel her order. The R+F e-commerce system is live and, therefore, once an order has been processed we are unable to edit or cancel that order. As we were unable to cancel Ms. *****'s order we provided her with return instructions. Ms. ***** states in her complaint that she called our Customer Service department and was told she would not be able to return the products under our 60-day Satisfaction Guarantee due to the products being damaged. This claim is not consistent with our policy, as we allow our customers to return used and even empty-bottles if they are not satisfied with the products. We were not able to locate this call in our records.

It is unclear what exactly Ms. ***** is requesting a refund for. Ms. ***** declined to correspond with us over the phone to clear up this matter and chose to only communicate with us via e-mail. Additionally, Ms. ***** could not confirm if she still had the products in her possession or if she had returned them.

Regardless, we have offered to honor Ms. *****'s return and have issued her a refund for her entire second order.

We have suggested to Ms. ***** that she contact our Product Specialist team regarding her reaction to the products and supplied her with their contact information.

11/05/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rodan and Fields said that I had one year from the time of purchase to return items. They denied my request.

I had signed up to be a consultant reluctantly with Rodan & Fields.
After several months,
I was not selling the products, and wanted to return the unused and unopened products that I still had.
I emailed the customer service department on 9/12/14 describing the items. This came out to be over $200.00 worth of products.
Karlyn Biddle the customer service rep.
Her response on 9/16/14.
"Your original order number is 5484154. You do have 1 year for your refund and you originally placed the order on September 17th 2013. Please advise you must have this return post marked by tomorrow to ensure you receive you 90% refund."

I then rushed to the post office knowing that I had til the next day to get the items shipped so that it was postmarked per her instructions.

I was anxious to receive my money back as I am a single parent and funds are very tight so I emailed customer service again.

Email from Caroline Williamson on 9/25/14
Dear Mitzi,

Thank you for your email. Refunds can take 10 – 15 business days to process once your items have been received in the warehouse. Once the return has been processed you will receive a confirmation email confirming the amount that will be refunded to your credit card.

Please let us know if you we can be of any further assistance.
Thank you,
Caroline Williamson
General Support Coordinator
Rodan + Fields
11501 Domain Drive, Suite 130
Austin, TX 78758

on 10/7 emailed again.
This was the answer I received.

Hi Mitzi,

Thank you for your email. According to my records we received your package on 9/19/2014. It usually takes 10-15 business days for refunds to process but when looking further into your account I see that these items are outside of our 60 day return policy. Unfortunately, items that are returned outside of the R+F return policy will be discarded and no refund will be issued. No refunds are issued for a partial return from a Business Building Kit. Please let me know if you have any further questions. Have a great day!

Best,

Caroline Williamson
General Support Coordinator
Rodan + Fields

I then sent another email stating that this is not what I had been told.

Response:
Hi Mitzi,

Thank you for your email. I'm sorry that you've been given conflicting information. These are our guidelines for the return of unsold inventory by a terminating consultant:

A terminating Consultant may return unsold R+F Products and/or Business Building Kits that she or he personally purchased from R+F after sixty )60) days and up to one year from date of purchase for a refund if she or he is unable to sell or use the items and items are resalable. Upon R+F's receipt of the returned products, R+F will refund 90% of the original purchase price of the resalable items less applicable setoffs.

Products are "resalable" only if they meet all of the following requirements:

- the items are unopened and unused;
-the packaging and labeling are current and have not been altered or damaged;
- the items and their packaging are in such condition that is commercially reasonable within the trade to sell the items at full price;
- the items, at the time of purchase, are not identified as non-returnable, discontinued or seasonal items; and
- Business Building Kits must meet all of the above requirements and must also have all components of the kit included in them.

Since the Macro Exfoliator and Toner came from your business building kit, order 5484154, they are not eligible for a refund without the rest of the components from the kit. Please let me know if you have any further questions. Have a great day!
Best,
Caroline Williamson
General Support Coordinator
Rodan + Fields

I had told them initially that this was from my initial order with them. they were aware of this.
I want my funds back.
The items were unopened and never used.



Desired Settlement
All I want is a refund for the original products.
I would have never wasted $$ to go to the post office in the beginning had I not been misled.

Business Response
Complaint Case #: XXXXXXXX
Consumer: ***** ******

Our records indicate that Ms. ****** enrolled as a R+F Independent Consultant on September 17, 2013. Per our Consultant Agreement a terminating Consultant may return unsold R+F Products and/or Business Building Kits that she or he personally purchased from R+F after sixty (60) days and up to one year from date of purchase for a 90% refund if she or he is unable to sell or use the items and the items are resalable.

On September 16, 2014 Ms. ****** inquired with Sales Support as to how to get a refund for her Business Building Kit. After reviewing her communications with Sales Support it was determined that she was not given complete information as to how to receive her refund, and she sent back an incomplete Business Building Kit that was not in resalable condition. As such, when her items were received in the warehouse no refund was issued.

As incomplete information was given to Ms. ****** by a company employee we have agreed to refund Ms. ****** for her Business Building Kit at 90%, regardless that the kit is not in resalable condition. We have also agreed to refund her for her shipping costs in sending her Business Building Kit back to our warehouse.

10/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Shipped product (with tracking) and followed instructions. Followed up a dozen times to make sure product was received.
Returned product in September; never received a refund for $199.00.

Have contacted customer service at least a dozen times trying to track my refund and customer service wait time is usually 30 minutes or more.

I have been told numerous times it can take up to 15 business days. Refund will be received by the 20th, then once told the 21st, It is not the 23 and still no refund!!

After calling today I was told they are backed up and they are not sure when refund will be refunded back. This is terrible customer service! They were quick to take my money but now will return it when they feel like it.

Yesterday i was told they would expedite my refund and I would have it in my account by this morning. When I called today the guy told me to continue waiting.

Desired Settlement
I just want the money money back I paid at this point as soon as possible!

Final Consumer Response
Its been resolved. Thank you

Page 1 of 5
12/13/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rodan+Fields uses unethical recruitment behavior to sign on new, prospective consultants. They also use false, deceptive and misleading advertising.
Rodan + Fields unethically recruits prospective consultants by signing them up with out giving them a copy of or access to the company Policy and Procedures or the Consultant Application Terms and Conditions, and other vital information. Sponsors will often sign new consultants up over the phone, which is very wrong. And not tell new consultants about minimum sales requirements and what happens when they don't maintain them.

Sponsors also use false, deceptive and misleading advertising to lure prospective consultants in. They tell you they are "NOT" a party company, only to sign you up and then tell you after that you need to host a "BBL," (a Big Business Launch) which is a social event, usually including cocktails. And they tell you, this is to "build your business." Then after that, they tell you you need to host and attend other local and out of town parties, "to build your business," like "Cocktails and Conversation," which is a social gathering, including cocktails.

They also advertise that Rodan + Fields is still a "ground level business opportunity" when in fact it is NOT. The company has been around for 5 years now, is country-wide and now expanding to Canada very soon. You are not getting in at the ground floor anymore.

They also claim that you can "live a life of luxury," "the life of your dreams," and "a life of freedom and flexibility," all working part-time hours (10-15 hours a week). Per my experience and many others I have communicated with, this is just not true.

ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: DSA (Direct Selling Association)

Desired Settlement
I contacted the DSA (Direct Selling Association) about my experience and the company's unethical behaviors. On 5/12/13, the Code Administrator for the DSA decided to pursue my complaint with Rodan + Fields and filed a formal complaint against them, due to the "nature an number" of issues I had with the company. I have tried to contact the Code Administrator since my complaint was filed, as well as the DSA, itself, with NO response.

Consumer's Final Response
I have heard no response from the company regarding this complaint. However, I am having major issues with this company and the ***** ***** *****, which has led me to involve the *****. Please read my Blog to see all the details of my situation.

*****
Thank you!

Business Response
Response of Rodan & Fields, LLC to
Complaint of **** *********
Report Code: ****

Rodan & Fields, LLC (''Rodan + Fields'' or ''R+F'') submits the following response to the complaint of **** ********* (Report Code: ****).
Before discussing the substance of Ms. *********'s complaints, we want to bring a few housekeeping matters to your attention. The name of our company is Rodan & Fields, LLC, and not Rodan & Fields Dermatologists, LLC. Our corporate headquarters has changed. In addition, we have had some delays in the past in receiving information from the Better Business Bureau due to incorrect contact information, including email addresses, in your files. Thus, we wish to have the following contact information for us recorded in your files:
Company Name: Rodan & Fields, LLC
Company DBA: Rodan + Fields
Contact: ******* *** *****
Email: **********@rodanandfields.com
Address: 60 ***** Street, Suite ***, *************, CA *****
Phone: ***-***-****
Fax: ***-***-****

We regret the delay in responding to the complaint filed by Ms. *********. In addition to the delay caused by incorrect contact information for us, we have been attempting to settle all matters with Ms. *********, including the complaint she filed with BBB. However, those discussions were not successful, so we are now responding to the complaint she filed with you earlier this year
At the heart of Ms. *********'s complaint is her claim that she was not made aware of various rules, all of which are explained in our Policies & Procedures (P&Ps) and the Independent Consultant Application. On August 8, 2012, the day she and her husband **** ********* enrolled with Rodan + Fields, Ms. ********* received copies of the P&Ps and the Independent Consultant Application. Enclosed are copies of the email sent to Ms. ********* from her Sponsor with the P&Ps attached, and also attached is the email addressed to Mr. ********* (and sent to Ms. *********'s email address) from Rodan + Fields with the Independent Consultant Application attached.
Ms. ********* claims that she was not aware of the minimum sales requirements, but these are all explained in the materials she received on her enrollment date. We have interviewed her Sponsor who has indicated she explained these rules to Ms. *********, and we have a copy of a recording with our Sales Support Department during which the minimum sales requirements were explained to Ms. *********, who continued to work as an Independent Consultant to work for several months after this conversation wherein she was informed of these rules.
Ms. ********* also complains that she was deceived as to whether Rodan + Fields is a ''party company.'' Please note that Rodan + Fields is not a company that operates a party plan. Under such plans, sales are required to be made at parties hosted by distributors who have inventory on hand to sell to attendees. Many Rodan + Fields Independent Consultants do host celebrations of events, such as joining the company or achievement of qualification for a car allowance. By no means are these celebrations required and there is no requirement to buy inventory, as customers can buy all product via the company website.
Ms. ********* also alleges, without providing any attributions or other identifying information, that various Independent Consultants have made various claims regarding earning potential under the plan. Please know that our P&Ps give specific guidance to Consultants as to earnings claims and the disclosures that are required when earnings potential is discussed. We also routinely provide training and guidance on this topic at company events, in our weekly newsletter, at training sessions, via email and the like. We also have posted on our website in several places our Income Disclosure Statement (copy attached), which provides transparency into earnings under the plan.
We close by informing you that the complaint that Ms. ********* filed with the Direct Selling
Association (DSA) was promptly dismissed. Since then, she has repeatedly called and emailed both the DSA and Rodan + Fields. Recently, those communications have become threatening and we are taking legal steps to stop this behavior on her part.
If you have any questions regarding this matter, you may contact our General Counsel, ******** Leetham at ********@rodanandfields.com or ***-***-****.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Rodan + Fields are simply mad because due to their BBB rating of an "F," they can not apply to become a member of the BBB, which they want so bad.
At the time I sent my complaint in, I had all the correct contact information, and they had plenty of time to respond. Since I complained to the DSA about R+F, they have been trying to ruin my life. Someone, I allege, one of their IT techs have been hacking into my email and blog accounts since the day I reported them. And the FBI and a private investigator is investigating this.
As far as legal action being taken from R+F, that is a lie! They have nothing on me! I'm the victim here! I'm the one who has been hacked everyday, and who was unethically recruited. I'm the one they used false, misleading and deceptive advertising on to lure me into the company! SHAME ON THEM! Did the tell you that we were about to settle (proving their guilt), but two days before, they pulled out! That was with Rodan and Fields AND my former sponsor ********* "****" *******. I have a copy of the Settlement Agreement if you need it.
So this is all lies from Rodan and Fields in an effort to remove their "F" rating and desperately join the BBB. But I warn you, many, many consultants have been hurt by this company and lost a lot of money and pride. This company is no more than a cult-like, pyramid scheme who is backed by the DSA illegally. I am finding that out first hand.
R+F ruined my life. I have been bed-ridden for a year now after I found out how corrupt they are. I've been hospitalized 3 times in the last year over stress related issues due to my case with them, and now it has taken a toll on my husband.
Please, please do NOT change their grade of an "F" and please do NOT allow them to become BBB members. That is the last thing they deserve. I will get to the bottom of my investigation soon and show that R+F is in a conspiracy with the DSA. But do NOT grant them this one pleasure they so desire. Not after ruining my husband and my's life and many other consultant's life, as well.
Thank you.


Consumer Response
By the way, this case was closed on July 19, 2013 because Rodan + Fields failed two different times to respond to you. Rodan + Fields had moved into their new headquarters on 111 Maiden Lane in ************* just before I complained about them, so any address they are giving you now is false, or is that of a different building or mailing receiving address. DO NOT LET THEM FOOL YOU! Thank you.


Consumer Response
Since filing my complaint with the DSA, my computer was hacked and evidentiary emails I needed to prove my case to the DSA were deleted from my email account. I allege Rodan +Fields IT Department did this. I also found that my Facebook account AND Twitter accounts were hacked into, and messages I had with my former sponsor were deleted. Messages that would be damaging to her. I then went to local law enforcement and finally the FBI. They are investigating this case against Rodan + Fields, and meanwhile, I am still being hacked into every single day!

I do not know why you opened this case back up, unless you were under the influence of the government to do so. And I am on to the government. If you do not continue with an "F" rating for this company, I will then know that you too are in on the conspiracy and you will go down too, with everyone else. Think VERY wisely about how you want to handle this situation. Rodan + Fields deserve an "F" for ruining my life the past year! Three visits to the hospital in one year due to stress, warrants an "F" I feel. DO THE RIGHT THING,


Consumer Response
Funny, they say their name is just Rodan + Fields now? Go to their website, www.rodanandfields.com WHAT IS THE FIRST THING YOU SEE? Their name, RODAN + FIELDS DERMATOLOGISTS!!! They are liars!!!


Consumer Response
Please see a copy of the blog I was referring to at www.************************.blogspot.com

Thank you,
**** *********


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
NO, I DO NOT ACCEPT THIS BUSINESS' PROPOSED RESOLUTION! BECAUSE I DON'T EVEN SEE A PROPOSED RESOLUTION! AND I AM TIRED OF FIGHTING THIS BATTLE WITH THE BBB! I HAVE GIVEN YOU MORE THAN ENOUGH EVIDENCE TO SHOW YOU WHY THEY DO NOT DESERVE TO BE ACCREDITED BY THE BBB, YET YOU CONTINUE TO OPEN THIS CASE. I HOPE YOU ARE NOT REOPENING THIS CASE BECAUSE THEY ARE A VERY LARGE BUSINESS AND PAYING YOU OFF, OR THE GOVERNMENT IS SOMEHOW INVOLVED IN THIS, BECAUSE THAT WOULD BE VERY ILLEGAL. THEY DO NOT DESERVE TO BE ACCREDITED, AND THEY DESERVE AND "F" RATING, PERIOD! AGAIN, MY BLOG SHOULD BE ENOUGH EVIDENCE: WWW.************************.BLOGSPOT.COM PLEASE DO NOT OPEN THIS CASE AGAIN!!!

12/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues
05/28/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/18/2013Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Skin Care, Cosmetics - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Cosmetic Sales by Internet, Cosmetic Sales, Cosmetics & Perfumes - Retail, Business Opportunity Companies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.