BBB Accredited Business since

The Ski Clinic

Phone: (925) 706-2858 Fax: (925) 978-2265 801 Fulton Shipyard Rd, Antioch, CA 94509 http://www.theskiclinic.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Jet Ski service, parts, sales, paint and repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Ski Clinic meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Ski Clinic include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Ski Clinic
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 15, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2002 Business started locally: 01/01/2002
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Derrick Kemnitz, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Derrick Kemnitz, Owner
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Ski Equipment - Repair Ski Equipment - Retail Water Skiing Equipment & Supplies Internet Shopping


Additional Locations

  • 801 Fulton Shipyard Rd

    Antioch, CA 94509 (925) 706-2858

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my ************ in for a front gasket oil leak. After paying 2551 for repairs, the engine blew on water test. Now they want another 2k On 8/13/14 I took my ************ RXT into The Ski Clinic for a front gasket oil leak. I was informed there was a 2nd leak and engine would need to be taken apart, it would be another $800. Upon taking engine apart the tech, ******* informed me that parts from old super charger were found and a clean out of engine was required. I had super charger replaced 2 yrs prior with Lodi Sea Doo, who told me engine was clean on replacement. I agreed 2 clean out. The damaged parts, oil leak and clean out increased my total bill to $3551. I brought ******* a single trailer to do a water test which he admitted he did not do but ran the engine for 1 hr with a hose hooked to it. I picked the ski up took it directly to the water ran it for approx 10-15 min and the engine blew. I immediately reloaded and returned the ski 2 *******. He admitted he had a feeling something wasn't right when he gave it to me. Upon looking at the engine ******* said he found a hole in the engine block and a rod was blown. He has agreed to not charge for labor but is insisting that he did nothing wrong during repairs, he has stated, "You must have flipped ski and got water in the engine" and "It's just a bad ski", etc. I have never flipped this ski and it has ran great 4 the past 2 yrs. My friend **** ********, who works on boats was at the dock testing a boat and helped me bring the ski in. He states, "Something was missed on putting engine back together and The Ski Clinic should make this right as I would. I also talked with a man named ***** ****, who is a boat racer who owns an Autobody shop in Vacaville, Ca who also states, "It sounds like from what your describing something was missed when he took the engine apart and put it back together. Why isn't this tech making this right? He should work with a salvage yard like most of us do and fix his mistake." I'm not an expert in this field but I paid alot of money for repairs and took *******s word these repairs were necessary and that my engine would run better than it ever has. He still is in possession of my engine and not agreeing to a refund or to replace the newly broken parts. I need assistance in moving forward please.

Desired Settlement: I would like full replacement for all damaged parts and a 100 hour warranty for the previous parts as well as the new parts. I would like my ski to run "like new" as was stated by *******. Or I would like a refund of $3551 as well as the cost of a new engine block, tie rods and any other parts damaged. He has estimated additional parts to be between $2XXX-XXXX not including his labor. A new engine is approximately 10k according to the Ski Clinic.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/18) */ We are currently waiting on a return telephone call from Ms *******. She has left a message on our voicemail after hours stating that she would be contacting us on Friday 06/19/2015. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have been in contact with The Ski Clinic and we are continuing to work on a resolution. Once the work is complete, the motor is running as agreed and written warranty is in place to both our satisfaction I will close my case. At this time however, I wish to leave my case open until the matter is completely resolved. Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Ski Clinic
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)