BBB Accredited Business since

Reed Brothers Security

Phone: (510) 652-2477 View Additional Phone Numbers 4432 Telegraph Ave, Oakland, CA 94609 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.reedbrothers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers locksmithing, access controls, burglar and fire alarms, safe cracking, ornamental iron, miscellaneous welding, hand rails, door installation, closed circuit TV, automotive lock repair,
commercial mailbox installation, and repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Reed Brothers Security meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Reed Brothers Security include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Reed Brothers Security
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1975 Business started locally: 01/01/1975 Business incorporated 02/27/1990 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 681462.

Bureau of Security and Investigative Svc
2420 Del Paso Rd, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.dca.ca.gov/consumer/wll.shtml
Phone Number: (916) 322-4000
The number is 1807.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ronald Reed, President Mr. Randy Reed, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Randy Reed, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Ronald Reed, President
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Television Sys & Equipment - Closed Circuit Contractor - Low Voltage Systems Fire & Smoke Alarm Systems Door & Gate Operating Devices Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service Locks & Locksmiths

Service Area
This business service area covers: The Bay Area.
Alternate Business Names
Security Central, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 4432 Telegraph Ave

    Oakland, CA 94609 (866) 748-6521 (650) 652-2477

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/30/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/14/2016 Delivery Issues
1/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Even though I spoke at point of sale about possibility of return she failed to mention the TWENTY FIVE PERCENT restocking fee on a $342. item!! II have never entered a BBB complaint before. I purchased a $342.(not including tax) home security system kit from **** Brothers Security, Telegraph Ave, Oakland, Ca on 11/30/2015. I spoke to the sales woman at the time of sale about not being sure but I decided to purchase with the option of returning the unit if untouched by me especially "if it was within a few days". I went home and found the exact same system on line for $175. less! than the **** unit! I decided to return **** system on the following Monday. At that point I was advised of a TWENTY FIVE PERCENT RESTOCKING FEE!! which the sales woman HAD FAILED TO MENTION when we spoke of me retuning the unit during the purchase process. If I had known that I would not have made the purchase. I asked to speak with the owner, however she went and talked to him herself. He did not come speak with me but sent the message with her that there could be no exception to the rule. I left with the product, very unhappy with this unfair treatment. The following day I called back to speak with the gentleman who I had spoken to on the phone the day before visiting the store and asked him if he could intercede. He said he'd talk to the owner. He called today to say that there were no exceptions even though I was not informed of this huge restock fee and that the owner offered that I pay would a 15 % restock fee which would amount to over 51 bucks which was also truly unacceptable to me. I would pay $15. but not 15%. In the meantime my experienced (40 years)) electrician thinks this is a total rip off. I am retired, just got burglarized and now am being ripped off again. Very unhappy about this place and their owners unfair decision. There should be NO "restocking" fee in this case. Very unhappy. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: yelp-others if necessary i.e. the State & Ch 7

Desired Settlement: I want a total refund. As I said above. I would pay a $15. restocking fee but not 15% and certainly not 25% after the sales woman failed to inform me of this condition after speaking about my indecision and possibility of return.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/12/10) */ Issue resolved. $15 restock fee accepted by customer's request.

6/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid to have door locks changed on my car instead the attendant keyed my door locks the same as the ignition key. I wanted a different key for door locks.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like the door locks replaced different than the ignition key.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/14) */ ***** ********** brought her car to our shop and told us that someone had taken her car door key. She explained that the ignition key was different and it had not been compromised. She asked our advice to secure her car. We suggested that we re-key her door locks to match her ignition key. This way she would have one key that operates both the doors and ignition - basically returning the car to the factory spec of "one key works all three locks". She agreed and left the car with us to repair. When she came back to pick up the car, she was upset that the ignition key was the same as the door key! The technician reminded her of the earlier discussion and showed her how the locks worked and she calmed down and said she remembered her decision, paid the bill and took the car. She called back the next day and talk to the tech again. This time she was furious and laced her discussion with lots of profanity. She had again forgotten the decision to key the doors to the ignition key and insisted that we should have install brand new door locks. The tech tried to explain that this wasn't necessary and was not what they had agreed to do, and that he wasn't employed to take her abuse and hung up on her. The tech complained to the manager. The manager tried to call the customer a couple of minutes latter but a man answered and said that ***** was not available. We have tried to call her several times but the phone has not been answered since. We do not believe there is anyway to make the customer happy. She got what she originally wanted, but she keeps forgetting this and coming up with different ideas of what she service should have received. She communication style is extremely abusive, in fact, one of the reasons we have been trying to reach her is to let her know that if she continues to contact us in the abusive manner that she displayed on the day after the work was done, we would have to report her to the Oakland Police for harassment.

2/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a service contract with Reed Brothers Security almost six years ago, almost a year ago we switch the phone line to AT&T then we had an incident which alarm did not functioned call in operator tried to fix the problem no luck Technician no luck then I was keep receiving enlistments for the service I did not provided for then finally I did send them a certified letter explaining you bridged the contract by not giving me a service and by Bridging the contract it is automatic cancellation how can you charge me with out providing the service then they now they asking for $500.00 to de coad the panel this is to much to handle please do something. all the equipment installation was provided with me Reed Brothers Security in **** ********* Ave XXXXX did not had any investment in my House

Desired Settlement: I did also offer then will pay $120.00 to get read of them

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/02/10) */ Mr. ********** entered a clearly written agreement for alarm monitoring with Reed Brothers Security. His responsibility, by contact, was to maintain standard telephone service for his panel to communicate with the monitoring station and test his system regularly. His new telephone service was not compatible with his alarm equipment and his alarm would not communicate with our monitoring station. He failed to notify us of the change in his telephone service and failed to test his system as required. When we were made aware of the change in phone service, we proposed new compatible alarm equipment. We offered FREE equipment, FREE installation and a LOWER monthly service plan than his other quotes. I am not sure what else he could have wanted from us. He informed us that he switched to another company without giving us the required written notice of his intent to cancel his contract. He failed to comply with other terms of his contract as well. He was made aware of his options and responsibilities but chose to be uncooperative. Alarm monitoring is a very high liability business. We cannot take a verbal cancellation request by phone. We still have not received a written notice of cancellation of monitoring service and are not able to terminate his service without assuming more liability on his behalf. All that we are asking him to do is to comply with the terms of our written agreement that he signed when we entered into this monitoring service. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2014/02/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank BBB for taking time and resolving my issue owner of the Reed Brother called me and did take care of the job it was bad handling by the staff I do not know how can I reward them best regard Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/02/18) */ We talked to Mr. ********** yesterday and explained why we needed to deprogram his panel. We offered to remove our confidential information out of his alarm panel at no charge if he brought it to us. He will be bringing it to us today and all issues are resolved.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Reed Brothers Security
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)