BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers online interior design instruction services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Interior Design Institute meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Interior Design Institute include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Interior Design Institute
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 20, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2006 Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated 01/30/2006 in NSW
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dick Van Damme, Director Mr. Anthony Mondello, CEO Ms. Selina Visocchi, Student Support
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Anthony Mondello, CEO
Principal: Mr. Dick Van Damme, Director
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

Schools - Home Study Online Education Interior Decorators & Designers

Alternate Business Names
Online Education Pty Ltd

Additional Locations

  • 1750 Montgomery Street 1st Floor

    San Francisco, CA 94111 (415) 954-8522

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misrepresentation of course offered and not divulging addition product costs of $200 + ,until AFTER the initial 7 day buyer's remorse period. When this course was offered on the internet it was at 50% off the regular course. I carefully reviewed the advertisement before committing to the course. There were no indications that there would be additional charges , because if there were I would NEVER signed up for this course at all, it was not until after the initial 7 day buyer's remorse period had ended ,that I received an email from a company I had never contacted about getting these modules to complete each assignment. The price for these 12 modules came to roughly about $200.00. Now this course has increased , and while it was not "mandatory " to purchase the modules, it could not be guaranteed that your presentations for your course examinations would arrive intact and could be accurately assessed and judged it any other method of delivery was used. Now I felt like I was stuck with something I did not bargain for and because of the deliberate deceit and en more "hidden" costs before all was said and done. I never attempted to complete 1 module. I have repeatedly asked for my money back. I do not do business with companies that use deceptive bait and switch types practices and feel that the first opportunity the get they will attempt to deceive again. I emailed there staff on several occasions to get my money back and Even though they have offered now to "include" the presentation material

Desired Settlement: It is difficult to complete this information, but I do not wish to do business with a company that is dishonest and uses deceit , to bilk unsuspecting customers out of money. I don't care it they now include presentation materials in their course, the point is they did not do it initially and continued to argue with me knowing they gave my email address to this third party company, and knowing they used this company for students to complete the courses. I want no further contact the design institute, or any affiliate of theirs. I do not wish to take any course they offer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/12/03) */ As you will see in the document attached, that outlines all correspondence between our team and the student, that we have done absolutely everything in our power to ensure the students experience is positive with our organization. We have a 7 day money back guarantee in place, in which the students request to cancel, fell well outside of, so do not believe a refund is warranted. Furthermore, the complaint from the student talks of Misrepresentation of course offered and not divulging addition product costs of $200 + ,until AFTER the initial 7 day buyer's remorse period. This is absolutely not true. We display our Advanced Modules to all students from the first time they login and it is clearly an optional component that has no effect on our course and graduation. We have attempted to explain this to the student in our correspondence (see attached). As you will see, we even offered the student a free extension (up to 2 years) and did everything in our power to try and help the student continue with our course and fulfill their desire to graduate from our course. Kind regards, ******* ******** CEO


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Interior Design Institute
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)