BBB Accredited Business since

Unitek Information Systems

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 825-6273 Fax: (510) 249-9125 View Additional Phone Numbers 4670 Auto Mall Pkwy, Fremont, CA 94538 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.unitek.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers schools, business, and vocational programs. This company offers nursing assistant and vocational nurse training.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Unitek Information Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Unitek Information Systems include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Unitek Information Systems
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 30, 1999 Business started: 10/01/1992 Business started locally: 10/01/1992 Business incorporated 06/17/1994 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Department Of Education
1430 N St, Sacramento CA 95814
http://www.cde.ca.gov
Phone Number: (916) 319-0791
The number is 13317326.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Ariana Afshar, Corporate Counsel
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Ariana Afshar, Corporate Counsel
Number of Employees

200

Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Schools - General Interest Training Programs Health & Medical - General Computers - Training Nurses Schools Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Service Area
This business service area covers: Nationally
Alternate Business Names
Unitek College Unitek Education

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1111 Howe Avenue Suite 300

    Sacramento, CA 95825

  • 21615 Hesperian Blvd Ste A

    Hayward, CA 94541

  • 257 Longford Dr # 5

    South San Francisco, CA 94080

  • 4670 Auto Mall Pkwy

    Fremont, CA 94538 (888) 825-6273 (510) 249-1060 (800) 611-4054

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/17/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
9/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did not receive a fair and honest education at this institution. I feel I have been scammed out of my money, and my dignity has been taken away. I believe that my student rights were violated, and I did not receive an honest education at Unitek College. On November 4, 2014, I submitted a request for a grievance hearing via email to the Chief Academic Officer. The reason for my appeal was because I failed to attain a minimum passing ***** of 74.5% at the end of the second semester. The comprehensive exam, which was to determine my final grade for the semester, was held on October 31, 2014 at 10am. That afternoon I checked my grade for the comprehensive exam on the school's student portal, and it showed a score of 73%. At 4:34pm I received am email from the Chief Academic Officer stating that I failed the course with a 73% and I would be withdrawn from the program per policy. That evening my grades for the entire semester were removed from the student portal and I could no longer access them, which was very odd. What was even more unsettling was that my account on the Unitek student portal showed that I had an appointment for FA post withdrawal disbursement posted on October 31, 2014 at 12:00am. This is several hours BEFORE I took my comprehensive exam. I have taken a screenshot of this post and have saved it on my computer for reference. Since my grade for the exam was a 73% on the portal, and she stated I failed the course with the same exact score, I was confused and went to her office to speak with her on Monday, November 3, 2014. I asked her what my grade was for the course and what my grade was for the exam. She then pulled up my grades on her computer and showed me that my grade for the course was actually a 72.4% and the grade for the exam was a 73%. She offered no apology for the confusion and did not explain any of my options from that point on. Only after I requested the option to grieve did she explain the process to me. After I spoke with the Chief Academic Officer, I reviewed my comprehensive exam with an instructor. I found a question on the exam that was not valid and I showed him proof in the textbook. He said he would follow up on it and get back to me. The next day I still did not hear from him so I decided to send him an email. I attached pictures of the information in the book and on the slides in order to prove my point. He argued back, saying that his question was correct and he would send me the rationale later. He never responded after that. Furthermore, there were many errors on several of the exams throughout the semester. As students it was very concerning because it seemed we had the responsibility of finding these errors, and once we found them we had to literally argue for our points to be given back, even though proof was presented straight from the book. I later found out that there were other mistakes on the comprehensive exam that points were not given back for, and a few of my classmates and I were already withdrawn from the program. This means that Unitek did not even review the exam thoroughly and correct errors before withdrawing people from the program! Instructors changed frequently, so there was constant confusion as to whose lecture to follow when studying for exams. Additionally, Unitek never shows the students how they calculate your grades so it is always a mystery. There were also several students who were cheating on exams. A student whose name shall remain anonymous informed me that all of the answers to the Endocrine exam were given to a clinical group by their instructor. A female student in this clinical group told me that this instructor often said inappropriate things of a sexual nature to her and other female students in the clinical group. Since she was allegedly being provided test answers, why would she report it? Also, rules were being "bent" for some students and not for others. A student made a medication error at Eden Hospital and was allowed to continue on with the program. Unitek's policy states that a med error that may potentially cause harm to a patient will result in an automatic "Fail."

Desired Settlement: I am seeking to receive a full refund of my tuition.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2014/12/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept their response and I am seeking legal counsel in order to further resolve this issue. In their response, Unitek failed to explain why there was a financial aid post withdrawal disbursement notice posted on my online student account before I completed the final exam. Instead, the Chief Academic Officer evaded several significant complaints that were made in my letter and chose to try and discredit me by discussing how many exams I failed. Furthermore, if access to grades is forbidden after a student is withdrawn then a notice should be sent out to the student to inform them of the change, or this "standard practice" should be clearly outlined in the student handbook. Also, Unitek is not being truthful in stating that an error did not take place at Eden Hospital. A student gave the wrong medication to a patient, and many other people in the class were aware of this incident as well. Whether this error was reported to the Chief Academic Officer, I am not sure. This error did occur, however. I have recently learned that a fellow classmate of mine who had also filed a grievance and whose appeal was also denied, was later given another chance to retake an exam. What makes one student different from another and what made Unitek change their previous decision to deny this student's appeal but still deny mine? I thank the BBB for their time and consideration in this matter. Unfortunately I do not wish to provide a middle ground offer because I feel I deserve a refund of my entire tuition. I do not wish to ever return to Unitek because my experience was so negative and distressing. All that I want is a full refund so that I can go to a respectable school where I will receive a fair and honest education.

9/21/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Per contract, they are neglecting to return money to me that I've already paid for my nursing license. Upon signing the contract for enrolling into this school was a $200 deposit for my national nursing license exam. Upon passing. I've shown proof of passing ** national license and have verified with administration, but have yet to receive my $200 back. I was promised per contract it would be immediate and it's been over a month. After talking with finance and administration, they have yet to tell me when I'll receive my money back.

Desired Settlement: I want my $200 in return ASAP like it was promised in my contract

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/07/31) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, Corp Couns Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@unitek.com Dear student, We sincerely apologize for any delay in returning you deposit or lack of communication. We returned your deposit check by mail yesterday (July 30, 2015). Please let us know if you have not received it in the next few days and we will reissue your check immediately. Thank you for your patience and we wish you the best of luck in your career. - Unitek College Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2015/08/24) */ I still have not received my check and it's been several more weeks. How can I get my money back ASAP? Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2015/09/08) */ Dear student, We again apologize for any delay in receiving your NCLEX refund check. We mailed it to you at the end of July but due to an error in the mailing address, the check was returned to us. We resent the check and our records show it was cashed on August 24th. Please let us know if you have any other questions, issues, or concerns. - Unitek College

7/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Promised an iPad if I took the MCSE Lync IT class. I did take the class and still have not received the iPad promised. The sales rep at Unitek, ******** ****** contacted me after I asked for pricing for an IT class, MCSE Lync 2013. While deciding whether to take the class at Unitek or another site, I was given an email stating, "Guess what!! Give up?? My boss told me to extend an iPad to you for registering for the January date!! Hopefully your boss approves it." I did register, take, pay for the class. 2 (and again 4) weeks later, I asked about the item. I was told it would be sent out 6-8 weeks after. I've contacted her again May 5th, 2015 and she replied, "I thought this went out weeks ago, I'll check on this and find out what is going on." I have contacted her again, TWICE, since then with no response.

Desired Settlement: I want the iPad promised to me before I registered for the class.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/15) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, Assoc Coun Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@unitek.com Dear Student, Thank you for sending us this complaint. We appreciate every opportunity to hear from our students and improve our customer service. We apologize for the delay in delivering your promotional item. We have corrected the error in our system and sent you the item through Amazon last week. It should be arriving between tomorrow (Tues) and Thursday of this week. Please let us know if you do not receive the item. Thank you again for attending our course. We hope you will consider us for future training needs. - Unitek Education

5/7/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Students enrolled in an IT Program that was falsely advertised as having, Experienced Instructors, Instructor-led Training, and Hands-on Experience The IT Certifications Program was sold and bought by the students as an Instructor-led training by certified experienced instructors with 50/50 instruction and hands on training. We now see that those claims are completely false. - The 2 main instructors are not certified or have experience in the course and certification material - Lecture consists of no more than 2 hours per 20 hour week - Majority of classroom time, students are told to do a self-paced online resell of a product called TestOut. - For students to receive the exact same training quality, all they would have to do is buy TestOut for $495 on their own. - Program Costs $15,000, but actually worth $4,000 - There is no "Free Lunch" - IT Students breakroom is actually the Staff Breakroom and students are not allowed. - Retaliatory actions have been taken/made against Students that complained or brought issues to the attention of Unitek Management.

Desired Settlement: We, the students, require that Unitek College holds true to their words and conducts themselves professionally and ethically. The product is faulty and has no support to uphold its advertised attributes, The instructors have openly stated that they do not know the material they are suppose to teach, and the ********** representatives are telling lies in order to sell an undesirable program. - ****** **** must take responsibility for his program and be reprimanded for his actions against students and faculty. - ****** **** and ******** ********* must not be allowed to teach courses they are not qualified to instruct. - Monetary refunds must be given to all students of all courses instructed by ****** or ********* - **** ****** must understand the actual facts of the program before he tells his ********** Reps lies about the programs attributes. - Actual IT Industry professional trainers must be hired to properly instruct the courses as advertised. If Unitek College or it's "parent" company refuse to do the right thing and act professionally and ethically then we, the students, will have no choice but to reach out to the ACCSC and file a class-action lawsuit. We do not want this. We want to see this program succeed and for us to proudly say this is where we learned. But if these types of harmfully toxic decisions continue to be made, we're afraid that ****** **** could single-handedly destroy the program and all of its respect. We understand that not much can happen immediately. But... - The immediate dismissal and investigation of ****** ***** ****** ***** and ******** *********. ...is necessary of the IT Certifications Program, Unitek College, and Unitek Information Systems as a whole are to survive.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Assoc.Couns Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@unitek.com To whom it may concern: Thank you for sending us this student complaint. Unitek appreciates every opportunity to receive student feedback and improve our programs. However, Mr. *******'s complaints are untrue and his demands are entirely unreasonable. His dissatisfaction with Unitek seems to stem from the day Unitek decided not to renew his contract as a paid intern, and not from the quality of education. Mr. Nahvar began his IT program with Unitek College in September 2014. He was hired for a short, two week project in late October 2014. His contract was renewed twice and terminated on January 8th, 2015. Mr. *******'s dissatisfaction with his program began the next day. On January 9th, he spoke to and emailed Unitek's Chief Academic Officer, ******* **********, regarding the qualification requirements of an instructor. Ms. ********** immediately spoke to faculty and other advisers to investigate Mr. *******'s concerns. A simple reading of the regulation revealed that Unitek's instructors were well qualified to teach the scheduled courses. Ms. ********** informed Mr. ******* of this decision the same day. On January 10th, Mr. ******* responded via email with a litany of issues and complaints with Unitek's IT Program. Mr. ******* demanded that the program be entirely restructured to his specifications, that all the instructors he did not like be replaced, that all the textbooks and software be replaced, and that several employees be terminated for not performing to Mr. *******'s standards. Mr. ******* also requested a 5 week leave of absence. In his paperwork, he left Unitek with the directive to implement his instructions before his return. On January 23rd, following Unitek's decision not to renew the employment of a contractor, Mr. ******* again contacted Ms. **********, questioning the employment decision and demanding he meet with her to discuss the future of the IT program. Mr. *******'s claims are simply factually untrue. Unitek has committed no wrong doing. Mr. ******* received a copy of the catalog and signed an enrollment agreement with Unitek which clearly listed the prices and features of the IT program. Unitek's program meets and exceeds the industry standards for IT education. Unitek's course price is economical, fair, and reasonable. Unitek engages in no retaliatory employment decisions. For these reasons, it appears that Mr. ******* is actually dissatisfied with Unitek as an employer, and not with Unitek as a provider of high quality education. Therefore, Unitek will not be revamping an accredited program to meet Mr. *******'s particular specifications, Unitek will not be providing Mr. ******* with a refund, and Unitek will not be terminating hardworking, loyal, and longtime Unitek employees on the basis of Mr. *******'s preferences. However, Unitek holds no grudges against Mr. Nahvar. He is strongly encouraged to return to Unitek to complete his education after his leave of absence. Please let me know if I can answer any further questions regarding Unitek's IT program or Mr. *******'s behavior and employment history with Unitek. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To the Reader, The facts of Unitek College's IT Program have nothing to do with my former employment with Unitek information systems. I and other students are extremely dissatisfied with the IT Program as it was sold to us under the knowingly-false pretense that we will receive Certified Instructor-led Training, Real Hands-on Experience, and a slue of other attributes the program actually does not offer. ****** ******'s response to the students' complaints is to blame the students, our "specification", "Preferences", are verbatim from advertising media and ********** representatives of Unitek College. The "Mr. *******'s Standards" is extremely insulting, they are not my standards, they are the standards on which Unitek created the program and the faculty does not meet. Bring up Unitek, ACCSC, and Vendor Specific Standards and Regulations do not make it mine. "A simple reading of the regulation revealed that Unitek's instructors were well qualified to teach the scheduled courses." - Curious, there were no regulations read that proved this. This is a false statement. Unitek College has already given refunds to a student for these exact reasons, and the student was instructed to "not be involved". " Unitek's program meets and exceeds the industry standards for IT education." - Not a single standard has been met or exceeded by Unitek, The Training is so poor that students have been dropping the program for lack of faith in the training, the majority of Students have either failed the Certification Exams or are fearful to take it. "Unitek engages in no retaliatory employment decisions." - JC Marvez was fired for helping the students voice their concerns to management that did not want to hear it. This response is strange and concerning considering the fact the only demand I've made was that Unitek conducts themselves professionally and responsibly while upholding their own standards and regulations along with Vendor Specific Regulations, seeing now that neither will happen. CAO ******* ********** "demanded" that instead of coming to her with complaints, come to her with problems and solutions. Her words. So, if a student follows her orders and presents an itemized "problem but solution" as she requests, then the student must be making claims that are "simply factually untrue" and is demanding things. To this day, ******** ********* who didn't even have the certification she was "training" the students on, is dishing derogatory comments and instructing students to spend all-day on "testOut" instead of the 50/50 Lecture to Hands-on experience the program was sold on. I know Unitek College/Unitek Information Systems will not follow through with their promises because of this canned and blameful response from ****** ******, Associate legal counsel of Unitek. As I know she'll be reading this, Corinthian Colleges are currently being sued by the State of California's Attorney General for making false claims of program services and attributes. I have multiple official statements from other students regarding Unitek College's unethical and unprofessional educational services, including ********** paperwork, providing evidence of that Unitek College has committed Misrepresentation of Material Facts and Consumer Fraud. Unitek College is obviously trying to cover-up its operational issues by blaming students and claiming my discontent is stemmed from my internship contract ending. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/02/25) */ Thank you for sending us this second response. However, Mr. *******'s response is just a restatement of his original complaint. We have already fully addressed each of Mr. *******'s comments and we have nothing further to add. -Unitek College Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/02/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Unitek has not answered or even addressed ANY of the issues brought up by students, not just ***** *******. They instead deflected and blamed the entire issue to an internship that was extended multiple times then ended. That doesn't make any sense to include a successful internship as a reason for dissatisfaction. Dear BBB, I hope it is now self-evident that Unitek does not deserve your A+ ranking and should be lowered due to product quality, ethical issues, and unprofessional management.

3/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was billed twice My sons, **** and ***** ****** attended the EMT boot camp beginning on December 28, 2014. They had both filled for Sally Mae loans to cover the expenses of the program. I gave Unitek Education my credit card to cover the down payment with the understanding that the Sallie Mae loan was to be processed for the balance. On the next billing cycle of my credit card in January I discovered that my credit card was billed for the balance. I promptly called Unitek Education and advised them of the billing error. I was informed that someone would be calling me back. I did not get a call and after waiting 3 days I called again and spoke to ******* He stated that he would notify the person who takes care of billing and this would be corrected. Needless to say it I did not get a phone call and had to call again. On my third call I get a call back and was informed that they would be taking care of this and processing the Sallie Mae loans and that someone would call be back to let me know this was completed. After waiting another month I finally gave up and took out a home equity loan to cover the charges placed on my credit card. Today I received an email stating that the first payment to the Sallie Mae loan is due March 12, 2015. I proptly check my credit card balance today and as of 3/2/15 at 09:36 mt, no refund had been issued to my credit card for the charges.

Desired Settlement: I would like both of the Sallie Mae loans refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/16) */ Thank you for sending us this complaint. We appreciate every opportunity to hear from our clients and improve our customer service. We sent Ms. * the Sallie Mae checks for her sons on March 3, 2015. She received the checks on March 6, 2015. A Sallie Mae agent confirmed for us on March 12, 2015 that the checks have been cashed. We are sorry for any confusion and delay in this process. We have issued Ms. * a refund of $500 on her credit card for her time and inconvenience. I have attached here a copy of the FedEx delivery confirmation for the Sallie Mae checks and a scan of the $500 credit card refund we issued today. Please let me know if we can answer any further questions. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/03/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

3/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THEY LOSE MY ORIGINAL Evolution high school diploma and blaming me for submitting the original while their requirements for the program to Submitted as i know from my experience nursing college in CA requirement for private school LVN program i have to submit the high school certificate even before i take the per request class's and i did whatever they asked ......in the end they deny that i did submitted ... and they blaming me why did i submitting the original evolution high school diploma ... OK before go to NPC COLLEGE in south san francisco i was trying to register with NPC COLLEGE IN Hayward Campus with my friends and i got all the documents they needs is ready and they saw it hayward campus but their class will stared later and thats what made me to go to south san francisco campus with my paper work i met Mis **** and she took ALL the requirement original evolution high school diploma and check for $75 as i remember for the application fees and $310 for the other class for the pre-request and she gave me a copy of it and i told her i have only that original evolution high school diploma ands i paid for it $300.00 for the evolution .. and while i am study the pre request i had emergency that made me leave the class and Mis **** and her manger aware of of it and how long ill be back .. when i car back trying to do the program i was speaking to mis **** about getting back she said i have to submit the high school diploma i was like i did gave you and i remind her about it and she said she ill take look for it and she ill call me back and she didn't i wait a month than i called back some one answer the phone saying she not there or busy or leaving massage for another until i got hold of her again ....i asking her please i really need my diploma its expensive to do another evolution for my high school besides you have the original please take look again she kept denying that i gave her and than she blamed why did i gave her the original and its gone .... :( ...i involve the another hayward campus for the NPC college trying to speak to **** but she refuse that i did gave her .. so yeah thats why i am here trying to get help from NPC college

Desired Settlement: I NEED MY ORIGINAL Evolution high school diploma or the cost of it

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/02/18) */ Thank you for forwarding us this student complaint. We appreciate every opportunity to hear from our students and improve our services. We apologize for our late response as the complaint just came to our attention. We returned this student's diploma and transcript on January 26, 2015. In the future, we will strive to make it more obvious to students that our internal policy is to keep the original copies of student transcripts for our records. Thank you for your time and please let us know if you have any follow up questions.

10/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to provide appropriate educational services at a nursing school. Plaintiff was a nursing student at Unitek in the fall of 2012 - Spring of 2013. Unitek promised numerous educational services that it failed to provide such as experienced and attentive instructors, adequate supplies and technology and sufficient tutors. Unitek has a practice of accepting more students than it can adequately served in violation of its accreditation. Unitek represented that students receive individualized attention and that it had an all-inclusive tuition model. Both representations were false. Unitek failed to offer Plaintiff remediation for a course when the course catalog required it to do so. Plaintiff was forced to withdraw from the program and obtain no degree or transferable credits from her time at Unitek. Plaintiff seeks a refund of her tuition which exceeded $15,000.

Desired Settlement: Refund of tuition paid.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2014/10/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ****** ******** replies to the response of Unitek as follows: Unitek's response contains factual misstatements. 1. Ms. ******** moved to Fremont from the Central Valley, away from her family, to devote herself to her studies. She put forth the time and effort to succeed in the program. 2. There was not 40 computers available for use during the time that Ms. ******** was enrolled. Some classrooms had computers in them, but the classrooms in which Ms. ******** had her classes either did not have computers or often had an insufficient amount to serve the students. 3. Ms. ******** further disagrees that the instructors were attentive and skilled. Unitek was having a hard time keeping instructors that were qualified to even teach the courses. Some weren't familiar with the particular course or there wasn't even enough instructors to teach certain courses. The students were told to go home and read the chapters and when it was time to test it had nothing to do with what was read. The students wondered what edition the instructors were using. A lot of the time there was no lecturing because they had no qualified teachers. 4. Unitek claims it had tutors available, but Ms. ******** only was able to find one tutor who had no knowledge in the area she needed assistance. When Ms. ******** asked the tutor for help she told me she was qualified to help with skills lab but not with the book work. She said she didn't understand it. There was no one else available to help. Ms. ******** had one private advising and that was because they made all the students meet once. There was no other supportive resources to assist us 5. Class sizes in numerous cases did exceed 40 students and made even finding a seat difficult. 6. Unitek failed to offer remediation for the grade in RNSG 232. In its response, it provides no documentation that any remediation guidelines for RNSG 232 were provided by the instructor as required by the school's handbook. Ms. ******** was told she would have to retake RNSG 232 and could not advance to the next semester otherwise. Because requiring Ms. ******** to retake RNSG 232 violated the school's handbook, Ms. ******** withdrew rather than spending additional money on a course she nearly passed *** for which she was denied remediation. Had she received proper remediation to which she was entitled, Ms. ******** would have completed the program. Ms. ******** spent in excess of $10,000 for a program that is of no benefit to her. Ms. ******** requests arbitration of this matter.

8/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Unitek Information Systems
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)