This business is not BBB accredited.

Heald College

Additional Locations

Phone: (415) 808-1400 View Additional Phone Numbers 1340 Treat Blvd STE 325, Walnut Creek, CA 94597 http://www.heald.edu ! There is an alert on Heald College !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Heald College is a private career college that specializing in the following careers Healthcare, Business, Legal and Technology. They also award Associate in Applied Science degrees, Associate of Arts degrees, Diplomas and Certificates.They offer classes during the day, evening and part-time.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Heald College
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1970 Business started: 01/01/1863 Business started locally: 01/01/1863 Business incorporated 03/22/2007 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Leah Cope, VP of Human Resources Ms. Eeva Deshon, President & CEO Mr. Eric Rajasalu, Senior Vice President Marketing and Admissions
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Leah Cope, VP of Human Resources
Number of Employees

2,500

Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational

Service Area
Western United States and Hawaii
Out of Business

On April 26, 2015 BBB was notified that Corinthian Colleges the parent company of Heald College, Everest College, Wyotech and Everest College Phoenix, ceased operations and all campuses closed on Monday, April 27, 2015.

If you have an individual claim against Corinthian Colleges you may consider contacting an attorney to explore your options. For referral to a lawyer, you may contact the State Bar at 1-866-217-0340 (toll free in California) or 415-538-2250 (from outside California).

On March 25, 2016 the US Department of Education announced that students who were defrauded at 91 former Corinthian Colleges, Inc., campuses nationwide have a path to loan forgiveness under evidence uncovered by the Department while working with multiple state attorneys generals. Students who attended Corinthian schools can apply for debt relief through a form posted here https://studentaid.ed.gov/sa/about/announcements/corinthian.

The Department is also reaching out to those students through postal mail, email, partner organizations and other means.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1340 Treat Blvd STE 325

    Walnut Creek, CA 94597

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    25500 Industrial Blvd

    Hayward, CA 94545

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5130 Commercial Cir

    Concord, CA 94520

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    875 Howard St Ste 100

    San Francisco, CA 94103

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Credit report shows that there are some derogatory mark on my credit from a collections agency affiliated with Heald College. I had inquired chase bank for one of their credit cards to use for gas for my vehicle and to build up my credit but I was denied because there were derogatory marks on my credit from the a collection agency affiliated with Heald college.The Collection agency is integurty solution services. I was making payments faithfully of $58.95 from November to December of 2014. I had stop hearing from this collection agency and they never returned my phone calls as of January of 2015. I never received any noticed that Heald college was closed down or from the collection agency about continuing to pay my debt.

Desired Settlement: I would like the derogatory mark the integurty collection service made on my credit report! Heald College is no longer in service so there is no need for me to pay a school the no longer exists.

6/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: REQUESTED OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPT NOT RECEIVED My current school (********* College) had requested an official transcript from Heald before CCI ceased operations. I am still waiting for this and may have to repeat courses that I already passed ** Heald because of lack of transcript/transfer credits.

Desired Settlement: My transcript.

5/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm in my very last quarter at ex-tern ship site and two weeks into starting my last quarter I'm dropped and sent on my way with just my transcripts. 10 years after High School, I had finally gotten enough courage to literally go for just a walk through of campus and ended up coming home a new student. My family was ecstatic to see me trying to change my life for the better. Getting in trouble with the law literally turned my life up side down. Coming out of High School I thought everything would just fall into place. Boy was I wrong, long story short two felonies and one misdemeanor later, I never thought I'd find myself in some of the worst situations you could think of. Literally giving up and just trying to numb the pain any way possible. My family hadn't seen me for more than a whole day in three years. I had given up on life itself and couldn't care less if I was here or not. Suddenly, I would find myself in an even scarier situation. I was pregnant and knew that there was no question as to if I would keep this little someone or not. 9 months later i had a healthy beautiful little girl and then it hits me. This little someone would need me to clothe them, feed them, bathe them, nurture them, love them, teach them, this little someone would need me for everything to survive. That scared the living **** out of me. I literally passed **** I never had to care for anyone else for anything my whole life and suddenly I have this little someones life in the palm of my hands. I had no job, couldn't get a job with my background, couldn't clear my background with out paying off my fines and with out letters of recommendation, can't pay fines if I don't have a job so what did I decide to do? I decided to attend school and enrolled on May 28, 2013. During enrollment on the 29 of January 2014 I was involved in an accident and my car was totaled and still with all the sacrifices that my family and I have made I still barely ever missed one day. Sacrificed the relationship I would have with my daughter for being a single parent and getting frustrated because I am a single parent who cant get her studies done because she has to care for her then 1 and a half year old. Or my mother switching to work nights in able to watch my daughter while I attend school. I can go on about the countless sacrifices but I'm afraid I'll be wasting my breath. please excuse my frustration in this matter. However, I was in my very last quarter at my ex-tern ship site. Once they had a clue that they may have had to close which was back in July of 2014, that's when they should have stopped enrolling students and finish graduating off the students who were previously enrolled. Letting us start the new/last quarter for two weeks and then out of no where one day before were supposed to go back to class, they tell us our school is closed and here are your transcripts and send us on our way. There are no words, I am completely devastated and I am so lost as to what I am to do next. It wouldn't bother me much if I knew that it was my neglect in my studies that ultimately was the ligament reason why I would not receive my AS degree in Medical Insurance Billing and Coding. Instead, my accomplishments went for nothing. Instead, my accomplishments were spat on saying we could transfer but may have to retake classes and still pay off our loans for another schools diploma. As if that were not enough, they say we "May" not even for sure qualify for "loan forgiveness" which wipes out the hard worked credits you've stayed up countless nights to earn because that's the only time you can study. Then kicked off school property after receiving your official, un-official transcripts. Two options for two years away from my daughter trying to better my life for my daughters future.

Desired Settlement: I don't know what I'm asking for but my education. I don't want to have to pay back any loan I may have pulled out if I don't receive a degree from the school I contracted that loan for. It's not fair that I may have to do "loan forgiveness" if I am even qualified, just because this school was careless in time management. I cant afford to start school all over and miss another 2 years of my daughters life because I was a full time student. I refuse to pay back those loans for another schools degree and in doing my research because my education is very important to me and in the end still held a 3.16 GPA, I would have to take an additional six classes which is three quarters to get a degree from a different school but still pay off the loans from a previous school that are more than likely more because of the school difference. That's just letting them get over on me all over again and they do it once shame on them they do it twice that's shame on me and I will not have that. I don't know what you can do but this is not fair to the thousands of students that were blind sided and effected by this corruption. What are we supposed to do.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Heald College
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)