BBB Accredited Business since

Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts

Phone: (650) 685-6616 Fax: (650) 685-6640 View Additional Phone Numbers 2121 S El Camino Real Bldg C200, San Mateo, CA 94403 http://www.gurnick.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers as a private college which offering health and nursing programs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 28, 2010 Business started: 02/02/2004 in CA Business started locally: 02/02/2004
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Deborah Ferrari, Campus Director
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Deborah Ferrari, Campus Director
Number of Employees

250

Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational

Service Area
Area Business Services: California.

Additional Locations

  • 2121 S El Camino Real Bldg C200

    San Mateo, CA 94403 (650) 685-6616

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The billing coordinator specifically mentioned once a payment was made the acct would reframe from collections. The situation was handled incorrectly. I received a letter stating that my account was going to be sent to collections if I didn't contact the school about a past due balance of 6,955. I notified the school before the end date specified on the letter. I left a message for ******* the billing coordinator and heard no response. I then called again and no one answered. Then I contacted the billing coordinator on January 5th and finally she answered. I explained that I've been unemployed, she was understanding of the financial situation and stated she would notate the account about a payment arrangement. I did state I would make a payment of 150 until I am more financially capable of paying the balance off. I made the payment via online of 150 and I plan to continue. She agreed that she would leave a note on the account and that the account wouldn't be reported to collections; however, the account is in collections . I fell that this situation was handled poorly. In the past I had several siutioations with this school of negligence, lost paper work like medical record information, never returning phone calls on other matters, no statements received, the school handles poor business. Lastly, I am disasstified with the treatment that was handled and hope this situation gets better.

Desired Settlement: I don't want to be in collections. I expect payment arrangements until I am more financially secured.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2015/02/24) */ The situation has been resolved.

5/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gurnick failed to send in my paperwork to the BVNPT. I have now suffered prolonged financial hardship because of their failure to send in my paperwork Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts (Modesto Campus) failed to send in my completed application to the ***** (Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians) causing me a potential 3-6 month delay in procuring my appointment date to take my NCLEX and obtaining a job as an LVN. Gurnick did not notify me that they failed to send in the application, i found out on my own by calling BVNPT and checking on my application status. I was informed that BVNPT had not received any application from me so I called Gurnick to see what the problem was (by this time many of my classmates already had their application processed and had their test dates scheduled). After 7 attempts of failing to reach ***** ****** the Gurnick, Modesto's Campus Director, my phone call was finally returned and she apologized for the 2 month delay in sending out my paperwork and said "somebody" at the main office in San Mateo failed to send it out. Sabia said that she talked to Dr. ******** ******* the Chief Academic Officer in San Mateo and that Dr. ******** had a contact at BVNPT that she would use to expedite my application. Sabia assured me that my application would be sent out next day mail and I would receive an email with the UPS tracking number, ***** also assured me that once BVNPT receives my application, Dr. ******** would call her contact at BVNPT and ensure that my application was processed that same day. My application was received by BVNPT on 3/21/14 and I have emailed and placed phone calls to Sabia to make sure that they completed what they said they would complete to rectify their failure to send out my application for 2 months. Any time that I call Gurnick to try and talk to Sabia she is never available to talk or even return my phone call. She does however email me back saying that she has been trying to contact the main office in San Mateo and they have not gotten back to her. Along with phone calls i have sent an email to Sabia bi-weekly and the response is always " Hi ******, i have place a call and an email to the main campus today and am awaiting a response". It has been 2 weeks and several phone calls and emails now and i find it hard to believe that a Campus Director cannot get a phone call returned to her by the main campus in San Mateo in regards to a status update on my situation. I simply want to ensure that they completed their duty of placing the follow up phone call to BVNPT and having my application processed the same day like they said they would when we talked on the phone. I feel like I am getting the run around and after paying over $30,000 for the LVN program at Gurnick I feel totally dissatisfied by their lack of professionalism and veracity. My family is facing prolonged financial hardship because of the failure by Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts to send out my application to the BVNPT, in a timely manner, along with my classmates. Some classmates have already taken the state test and can now look for a job as an LVN, and I cannot find a job and cannot even apply to LVN jobs because I cannot take the test until my application is processed which of course is now 2 months delayed. I'd also like to mention that I am an U.S. Army veteran and was honored to be one of the 3 class speakers chosen by my peers to represent my class, VN 14. I've never filed a formal complaint about anybody but i have 2 little boys that depend on me getting my license and getting a job. Thank you for your time. Sincerely, ****** *********.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to honor their word and get my application expedited by BVNPT. I also want a record so that all future graduates know not to trust Gurnick to complete their duties and for them to follow up individually because Gurnick will just give you the run-around. Any financial compensation for the hardships their lack of attention to myself and my family would be a welcome bonus.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/14) */ April 11, 2014 Better Business Bureau, Inc. 1000 Broadway Suite 625 Oakland, CA 94607 Re: Case #XXXXXXXX Dear ******* ********* Dispute Resolution Specialist: Thank you for your notification of the concern expressed by one of our previous students. In reviewing the consumer's comments, we would like to provide the following information for your records. At the time of the consumer's graduation from our Academy on February 1, 2014, he had an outstanding balance of $11, 472.00 due to two outstanding payments from the Veteran's Administration. Our normal policy in this type of situation is to retain the application paperwork until the balance has been cleared. Upon further investigation, these payments had been incorrectly mailed to the campus's prior address and needed to be re-issued by the VA. Despite the outstanding balance, his application paperwork to the BVNPT for licensing was cleared for release as it was not the student's portion of tuition which was outstanding. During this time frame, the consumer contacted the ***** to clarify the status of his application processing status. When he received notification that the board had not received his paperwork he called the Modesto campus. He stated in his comments that he attempted to contact the Campus Director seven times. Those seven phone calls were all made on the same day. The consumer was notified the Campus Director and Vocational Nursing Program Coordinator were in a companywide meeting and would not be available to return calls until the late afternoon. The Campus Administrative Manager specifically spoke with the individual to clarify his concerns and to reassure him that the Campus Director would contact him immediately after the meeting concluded. The Campus Director promptly returned the consumer's phone calls after the meeting was finished and was advised by the consumer of his concerns. After the phone call concluded, the main campus, which sends the applications to the BVNPT, was contacted for verification of the student's concerns. Unfortunately, it was discovered that the application was not processed and his paperwork remained at the corporate headquarters. To specify the unusualness of this incident, as of this date, the Modesto campus has processed 381 graduates' BVNPT application paperwork packets over a five year time span without any error or delay. This incident is an anomaly and once discovered was responded to promptly and appropriately as noted below. The consumer is accurate in noting that the Campus Director regularly contacted the corporate offices to ensure the application paperwork was being processed as promptly as possible. In order for the paperwork to be forwarded to the ****** the Chief Academic Officer/Program Director must sign and stamp it with the school seal for authenticity. Once this was accomplished, the paperwork was sent and the student was provided the UPS tracking information for verification. As the consumer was promised, a follow up call to the BVNPT was placed and the application processing department was contacted. At the request of the Chief Academic Officer/Program Director, the consumer's application was expedited and processed by the ***** in one day, April 2, 2014. The graduate was notified of this event on the same day it occurred. It should be noted that historically, normal processing time for licensee application paperwork is approximately three months. This consumer's was processed in one day upon Gurnick Academy's request. Ultimately, the consumer's application was not delayed "2 months" as stated. In review of fellow graduates of the same date as this consumer, February 1, 2014, this individual will be able to register for his examination within the same time frame as the other students if he so chooses. Please see the email response below confirming this individual's application approval by the BVNPT: From: ********* ****** mailto:*******@gurnick.edu Sent: Monday, April 07, XXXX X:XX PM To: *****, *****@DCA Subject: ****** ********* Importance: High Hi *****, I hope you had a wonderful weekend! Thank you again for your assistance with ****** *********ЂTMs application. Could you please input the following information to act as confirmation of approval for our records? ****** *********ЂTMs file number: XXXXXX Date of Approval: APRIL 02, 2014 Thank you again, ********* ****** Corporate Office Manager Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts 2121 South El Camino Real, Building B200 San Mateo, CA XXXXX Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Fax: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Email: *******@gurnick.edu Web: www.gurnick.edu This email and any files transmitted with it are confidential and intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom they are addressed and it may not be used or disclosed except for the purpose for which it has been sent. If the reader of this message is not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited. Please note that any views or opinions presented in this email are solely those of the author and do not necessarily represent those of the company. Finally, the recipient should check this email and any attachments for the presence of viruses. The company accepts no liability for any damage caused by any virus transmitted by this email. We are very sorry this incident occurred. However, upon becoming aware of the delay Gurnick Academy responded swiftly and effectively to rectify the delay. As a result of our intervention on behalf of the graduate, his paperwork was expedited by the BVNPT, approved in one day (instead of three months,) and was notified by the BVNPT the next day that he was eligible for testing. Gurnick Academy responded in every way possible to assist the graduate in verification of his eligibility for testing. As noted in the consumer's desired resolution, Gurnick Academy "kept their word" and his application was expedited by the BVNPT as requested. Thank you for your consideration of this matter. Sincerely, Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)