This business is not BBB accredited.

Boston Reed College

View Additional Phone Numbers 2799 Napa Valley Corporate Dr, Napa, CA 94558 ! There is an alert on Boston Reed College !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company serves as a business and vocational school.Specializing in Health Care Field.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

41 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 18
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 41

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Boston Reed College
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 02, 1993 Business started: 08/01/1992 Business started locally: 08/01/1992
Business Management
Ms. Tanya Brownrigg Ms. Jaime Fiorucci, Externship & Student Services Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Tinna Hung, Complaints
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational

Service Area
This business service area covers: The Entire Bay Area

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2799 Napa Valley Corporate Dr

    Napa, CA 94558 (800) 201-1141

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I graduated from Boston Reed College with a "Certificate" in Medical Assisting in July 2012 to find out they are not accredited-"certificate" is void I graduated from Boston Reed College with a "Certificate" in Medical Assisting in July 2012 to find out they are not accredited-"certificate" is void and null. Before this, after graduation, I moved from the ******** to ********* and in the contract they, Boston Reed said they'd guarantee an extership within 1 hour of your home. Since I had moved they said they no longer had to offer me that assistance and therefore sent me on my own. Now to find out that they aren't even accredited and I can't even get my own externship because I can't even get certified anywhere is BS. I really want and deserve a refund but they are saying it's been too long and too bad. BAD COMPANY!!!!

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for my Clinical Medical Assisting course.

11/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered Boston Reed's Pharmacy Technician Program in 2010 they take several weeks to contact you, offer almost zero costumer support, and always run I entered Boston Reed's Pharmacy Technician Program in 2010 they take several weeks to contact you, offer almost zero costumer support, and always run you around in circles when you it comes time for your externship.Not only did it take them months to step one up for me, once I had completed it they changed the number of hours needed (and waited until I'd been finished for over two weeks to tell me this). They will make things as difficult as they possibly can for you. Their programs are a waste of money, time, and effort.I'd advice anyone seeking to become a pharmacy technician to seek a better educational program that won't rip you off. The promised me a job and never did get anything. I've tried to apply in different pharmacy but they stated that Boston Reed is not a certified college. I'm hoping to get my money back.

Desired Settlement: I entered Boston Reed's Pharmacy Technician Program in 2010 they take several weeks to contact you, offer almost zero costumer support, and always run you around in circles when you it comes time for your externship.Not only did it take them months to step one up for me, once I had completed it they changed the number of hours needed (and waited until I'd been finished for over two weeks to tell me this). They will make things as difficult as they possibly can for you. Their programs are a waste of money, time, and effort.I'd advice anyone seeking to become a pharmacy technician to seek a better educational program that won't rip you off. The promised me a job and never did get anything. I've tried to apply in different pharmacy but they stated that Boston Reed is not a certified college. I'm hoping to get my money back. $4500.00

9/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Boston Reed failed to provide accurate information and fulfill externship promises I attended the Pharmacy Technician course from 9/14/2013 to 5/3/2014. I passed the course with an A average. Boston Reed did not notify us of the externship requirements until after my deposit had been made and the course began. At this point, I was unable to get a refund for my deposit ($350) or drop the class due to the payment arrangements that were made with the affiliate Tuition Options. Boston Reed promised to place each student in an externship site upon successful completion of the course with a minimum of an 80% final grade. The students were required to be available Monday-Friday from 8am to 5pm for a full time externship which I was and still am not available for due to working 40+ hours per week Monday-Friday, which is also the entire reason for my enrolling in weekend classes. Boston Reed said that if students weren't available for a full-time externship placement that we would need to locate our own externship site without reaching out to medical groups (Kaiser) and that we would still need to be available during the week. I have attempted to locate an externship site on my own but have been unsuccessful as the pharmacies in my area do not accept Boston Reed students. I spoke with one representative at Boston Reed and explained my situation and her response was that "There was nothing they could do". Without having the externship hours and certificate, I am unable to apply for a CA state pharmacy technician's license. I've tried on numerous occasions to contact Boston Reed but always get placed on hold without anyone ever picking up. I was finally able to speak to a gentleman regarding this issue and his response was that Boston Reed would not give me a refund. Boston Reed's business practices are unlawful, unfair and now they are closing the entire institution down due to a "Board Decision". They take your money and refuse to fulfill their obligations.

Desired Settlement: I am unable to get the time and efforts spent taking the course back but I would like my money refunded for all payments made ($1806.35), including the deposit of $350 for a total of $2156.35.

7/30/2014 Delivery Issues
7/15/2014 Delivery Issues
7/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took a Phlebotomy class from Boston Reed in February 2013. I am extremely unhappy with the class itself and the aftermath of taking the class. The class did not teach me enough skills to be very successful as a Phlebotomist in the real world. My teacher pretty much told stories everyday about herself, instead of teaching us what we needed to learn. Also one of the books that was included in the price of the class was completely the wrong book. Which they never replaced. We had to go online and print pages out to study. Then we would get to practice preforming venipunture on each other. Which that part was helpful because I got to practice hands on. I just didn't learn enough about the book side of Phlebotomy. After I passed the class in April of 2013 we were assigned to a clinic to be externs for a week. I didn't get assigned until August 2014. Which by then I had forgotten a lot about being a Phlebotomist. I got assigned to Bio Tech clinic in Carmichael. The externship was fun but there were to many externs at one place and not enough customers to practice on. After completing the externship I signed up to take the national state test. I took the NCCT in December 2013 and passed. Since then I have been waiting for my license to come in the mail. I was told that I could apply for jobs in the meantime. I applied for a job as a Phlebotomist right away at my local hospital. The hospital called me the next day to inform me that I am not listed online with a license. I then emailed a contact number I had about this situation and they didn't email back until I emailed three other times insisting on why this is happening. They told me that my license is still processing and to just wait it out. I got screwed out of a job because of this. I am still waiting it out and am very upset about this whole situation. I paid $3000.00 upfront for this class and other small amounts that I was not informed of before starting this class. I had to pay for a physical and TB test and my NCCT. I am still waiting a year later with no license and no job as a Phlebotomist. I am struggling financially and would really like my money back. I heard that the Phlebotomy program is no longer running at Boston Reed and I really understand why. The program was a bad program that shouldn't have been going when I joined.

Desired Settlement: I want the $3000 I paid for the class back. I feel I didn't get my moneys worth and am suffering for it now.

7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/16/2014 Delivery Issues
6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/5/2014 Delivery Issues
5/30/2014 Delivery Issues
5/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/16/2014 Delivery Issues
5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/23/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I completed my program in November and was supposed to be placed in an externship within 90 days. School is shutting down now- I've had no externship I completed my phlebotomy program back in November 2013 and in order to receive my certificate and take the national test to receive my license, Boston Reed provides students with full time availability (me) 40 hour externship within 90 days of completing the program. Boston Reed is now going out of business and I have not been helped at all or placed in an externship and it is now March 21st 2014. This program was 3,000$ and part of the money went to them just to place me in the externship! All of my student advisors never contacted me regarding my externship and when I tried to contact them the phones were disconnected and their emails returned to me with an automated message saying they are no longer available at Boston Reed. I have only received one email reply out of TONS that I have sent, and all that was said is "Be patient, we are working on it." That was back in January and no one ever replied to me after that or addressed my concerns. I have tried calling their provided phone number multiple times only to reach an automated system and never put through to a representative. I ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: BPPE

Desired Settlement: Boston Reed is shutting their doors and I have had horrible service, no help, and no externship placement within the 90 days like was stated in my contract. They are not trust-worthy, they have gone over contract times, and have wasted all of my time and money. I want a full refund of my money before they close their doors permanently and screw me over even more than they already have. I want a refund in FULL so I can pursue my dreams through a reliable, professional, school.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/07) */ Please see attached

4/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/31/2014 Delivery Issues
3/25/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/21/2014 Delivery Issues
3/17/2014 Delivery Issues
3/5/2014 Delivery Issues
2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/12/2014 Delivery Issues
2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am enrolled with Boston Reed in the Phlebotomy program. I have completed my class hours, and am waiting for externship placement. I was told I was guaranteed this placement within 90days of completing my school hours. School hours were complete Nov. 14th. I have repeatedly contacted the school for updates on my placement. They will give me no details. I called today to make sure I will be placed within the next 3 weeks (when the 90 days will be up) the lady I spoke with said she could not tell me. I know that Boston Reed is going out of business. I am afraid they will close having never placed me. I have paid my tuition in full. I wan a full refund, so that I can take my business to another school that will fulfill their end of the agreement. Product_Or_Service: phlebotomy certification Account_Number: ********************

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Full Refund - they are avoiding fulfilling their end of the agreement. $2995

1/20/2014 Delivery Issues
1/14/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/24/2013 Delivery Issues
12/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/14/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After completing the Phlebotomy course one year ago, I have never been given an externship and now discover they are not accredited by State of Calif. I graduated from Boston Reed in San Jose one year ago with a 90% grade. I have was NEVER given an externship so that I could take my final State exam for certification. I discovered from a fellow student that did apply to take the State text after her externship that the State said BR in San Jose was not accredited and they would not be able to give her a certification. The contract specifically states they have 90 days to place you in externship. After calling several times I was given one in Vallejo (78 mi from my home) which is beyond the miles stated in the contract. After declining the position I have never been given another despite numerous calls to ***** ******** at BR in Napa. I told him I found out about the lack of accreditation and he offered me a refund but I said I would prefer the accreditation be corrected and I be allowed to apply for my state certification. I have not been employed for over a year and was depending on this retraining to enable me to re-enter the workforce. My unemployment has run out and I am desperate at this point. He has continued to put me off and finally after one year offered me an externship this month. However, I had acquired a part-time job and asked him to extend the start time to Sept. when the job is over. I was forced to do this because of the extreme financial situation in which I find myself. I have paid the tuition and asked for a refund but also want my class time to count with an accredited site or the externship will be for nothing since the State will still not certify me with the proper accreditation documentation. It is for this reason I am writing you as I don't know where to go at this point. He will not return my phone calls and I am helpless and on the verge of being homeless. All of this through no fault of my own. All I ask is for him to get the school site accredited, give me an externship, and I can take it from there.

Desired Settlement: Due to the length of time evolved without my being given an externship (in complete violation of the contract) and the fact that this violation has cost me any chance of a successful completion of the Phlebotomy Course without a certification (also a violation of contract), I am asking for a full and complete refund IN ADDITION to an acknowledgement of my course completion from an accredited school site and an externship that will result in my being able to take the State Exam and be certified as a Phlebotomist.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/09/26) */ Received business response via email on 9/26/13: I am the Student Services Manager for Boston Reed. We received a copy of the above-mentioned complaint on August 28, 2013. Ms. ********* complaint concerns externship placement and certification attainment. As an initial matter, I wish to apologize for our late response. As you will see from the information below, we have been working diligently with this student to resolve her externship issues and we believed that we could reach a complete resolution before our response was due. We have issued the student a full refund, placed the student in an approved training program and scheduled her for an externship rotation that she has accepted. Who We Are Boston Reed is an educational institution, operating under the authority of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (''BPPE''), a division of the California Department of Consumer Affairs.We provide low-cost training programs in the growing career fields of allied healthcare to underserved student populations. Although we have a main location in Napa, the bulk of our instruction occurs at approximately 100 community colleges, adult schools and other training facilities across the state. Our mission is to bring career training to the students and to assist our partner schools in their efforts to build allied healthcare educational opportunities in our local communities. Ms. ********* Concerns Ms. ******* enrolled in Boston Reed's Phlebotomy Technician program. This program involves classroom and practical training. While Ms. ***** completed the didactic portion of the course she was still awaiting an externship placement. While Boston Reed does make every effort to place students into an externship rotation within the 90 day window there are some instances when approved phlebotomy host sites are not immediately available. Boston Reed has been working closely with Ms. ******* to resolve her complaint and have since facilitated an externship rotation that Ms. ******* has accepted and also issued the student a full refund. Ms. ******* has expressed that the situation has been resolved to her satisfaction. We appreciate the opportunity to provide a response to Ms. ********* complaint. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me directly. ***** ******** Externship & Student Services Manager Boston Reed ************

8/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BR failed to register their externship sites with the State. I cannot get licensed as a result. I am requesting a full refund. License when registered I Payed Boston Reed $3,100 for the Phlebotomy Program so that I may obtain my Phlebotomy license. I completed the 8 week course, 2 week externship at Vibra Hospital, took my National Exam and passed, and completed CPR classes, TB tests and immunizations, background checks, purchased scrubs, etc. all totaling over $4,000.00 and missed two weeks of work during my externship as well as Saturdays during the classroom portion for 8 weeks. After submitting all documents to the State, I received a letter stating my externship site was not an approved site. I was sent to Vibra Hospital for my externship by Boston Reed. After 2 months of phone calls to Boston Reed and the State I got through to the State. They informed me that Boston Reed did not register my externship site with the State and has a history of these poor business practices. The State tells me they misinform their students, take their money, and the students are unable to obtain licenses after completing the programs. I finally got though to Boston Reed with this information and they admitted they did not register the externship site with the state. They blame this on a past employee who did not submit the paperwork. Boston Reed is trying to offer me a $150 refund (rediculous) and have me redo my externship at an out of town site (for which I would need to commute and miss more work. I am demanding a full refund for all monies spent and a guarantee that this matter with the State will be cleared up and the State will issue me my license when Boston Reed does its due diligence. This could take a very long time and I will most likely have no need for my license by the time I actually receive it. However, I did earn it though months of hard work. I have also been informed that Boston Reed is continuing to send students to unapproved externship sites and not informing them. I have been informing the student through contacts of mine at Vibra Hospital of Northern California, that they too will not obtain their license. Boston Reed is taking students $ and time while students are left without the ability to get employment when the program is finished. This is illegal. I am requesting a full refund of all money spent on this program and towards me obtaining my license. I am still entitled to my license as well although I have already lost months of employment opportunity and the situation could take a long time to resolve by which time I will be in an RN program.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for a settlement of $4,000.00. This does not pay me back for any of the work hours lost or time away from my family and hardship on my children. This only refunds me the money spent on the program and all other applicable fees spent. I am also requesting that my license be granted to me when my externship site is approved by the state. I am asking that Boston Reed due its due diligence and and notify the State themselves to make sure myself and other students obtain their license. Because of the very long delay, and the fact that I myself was completing the phlebotomy program as a stepping stone to Nursing, I will have already lost my ability to use my certification to gain experience in the medical field. I planned to work as a phlebotomist for 1 year before entering the RN program. It is now too late for that. I turned my licensing paperwork into the State in March and it is almost August and still no license.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (450, 10, 2013/08/22) */ I am writing to inform you that my issue with Boston Reed School has been resolved. They sent me a full refund for the cost of my schooling including related costs. My license was also issued to me by the State as Boston Reeds legal department completed their paperwork. ************* Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 8, 2013/08/14) */ My dispute with Boston Reed should be resolved by the 1st part of next week. I am awaiting my refund check which I am told has been printed. I will notify the BBB as soon as I receive the refund check.

7/17/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Boston Reed College breached contracts w/students by providing Didactic Training at un-certified CA approved sites,making their certificates not valid Aug. 2012- Oct. 2012 I, *************** took Didactic training @the Satellite Campus Location: Lodi Adult School Room: A38 ***********************, (209)331-7605. Feb. 2013- Feb. 2013 I, *************** did my practical training @ Bio Data Medical Laboratory**************************************, (916)977-0400 April 12, 2013 I took the NCCT Phlebotomy Tech Certification Exam & pass w/ 77. User ID:****** National Center for Competency Testing: ***************** ***************** ****************** ****** April 15th - April 29th 2013 I contacted Boston Reed repeatedly about the Lodi Didactic Training site as it did not apprear on the main roster of schools for the CPT1 Application. I was transferred over to speak to ************** voice mail every time. I never hear back from her after leaving daily voice mails about the issue. I proceeded to submit my CPT1 application using the closest site listed to my Didactic training site, which is the San Joaquin Delta College, which i attend, and am a work in progress to attain my BSN. April 29, 2013 I submitted my completed application to become a CA Certified Phlebotomy Tech to the Lab Field Services in Richmond Ca. Phlebotomy Program CDPH - Laboratory Field Services **************************************************************** June 4 -June 5, 2013 I touched bases w/ ****************** via email about the status of my application. I had a contemporary job offer thru Quest Diagnostics. They recently bought out Dignity Health Care Labs in my central valley area and have a huge demand to higher and train new phlebotomist. So I was agar to have my license number before my second interview, later that week. She said she had my application and if all was in order she would have it all processed by the end of the week. *****************: Dept. of Public Health, Lab Field Services, Personnel Licensing & Certification. Email: *************************** P: ************ F: ************ June 7, 2013 I was contacted on the phone by ***** from the Lab Field Services letting me know she was unable to process my application due to the fact that the Lodi Didactic site was not on the main roster of Ca certified and approved locations therefore making my Boston Reed College Certificate of Completion not vaild. June 7, 2013 Ca Department of Health sent out a letter explaining the certification issue. Since June 7th I have been trying to get in contact with someone at Boston Reed who can fix the problem via phone and email. I have been transferred to the voice mail of ************* the Vice President of Boston Reed. He returned my call once and I spoke directly with him but he was not very helpful on giving me good insight about what is being done about the issue. I feel like nothing is truely being done about this issue and am seeking help. Boston Reed is an accredited school, their negligent actions are affecting my job standing, licensing, and causing physical and mental stress. I am feeling helpless and decided my next step would be to contact you, the Better Business Bureau.I paid $2950.00 plus intrest on my loan for CPT1 training. I feel Boston Reed had breached a contract with me, as well as all the other students facing this same problem. Boston Reed received a payment in full for a service they technically did not provide us.

Desired Settlement: I ask for their license to be striped. I would like new didactic training so that I can become Ca licensed as well as my tuition reimbursement. I wish for awareness as well so that other students do not have to deal with this tedious issue.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (450, 9, 2013/07/17) */ We have resolved this issue.Thanks, Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 8, 2013/07/15) */ Boston Reed has been in direct contact with me. However, the issue has not been resolved. Please do not cancel my complaint.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Boston Reed College
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)