This business is not BBB accredited.

American Roof Systems, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (650) 570-7663 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 8053, San Mateo, CA 94404 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.americanroofsystems.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial roof contracting, roof restoration, wood and tile restoration.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for American Roof Systems, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Roof Systems, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 16, 1992 Business started: 03/01/1992 Business started locally: 03/01/1992 Business incorporated 12/29/1994 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dennis Smith, President Ms. Ana Robinson, Customer Service
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dennis Smith, President
Number of Employees

60

Business Category

Roofing Contractors

Service Area
This business service area covers the south bay, San Mateo County and the bay area.
Alternate Business Names
American Roof Systems

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1160 Chess Dr Ste 12

    Foster City, CA 94404

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    149 South Blvd

    San Mateo, CA 94402 (408) 453-7663

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2641 N Main St

    Walnut Creek, CA 94597

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 8053

    San Mateo, CA 94404

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unable to contact this company to exercise repairs under terms of the warranty. I have a 12 year warranty on the work they did for me back in 2011. In 2011 I contracted with American Roof System to do a restoration on my shake roof. I paid them $5700 and received a 12 year Warranty. The warranty states the from completion of the job to year 6 American Roof Systems **** provide 100% of labor and material to repair leaks, aging or damage which may occur to the roof. I have a couple of areas on the roof that need attention and I am well within the time frame of the first 6 years. Problem is, none of the phone numbers I have work!!! What recourse do I have if they are out of business?? If they are out of business is there any way that they can be compelled to hire a roofer to honor the Warranty??? With the expected wet winter looming, I would like to somehow get the roof inspected and repaired before the rains start.

Desired Settlement: I would like the Warranty to be honored. I would like the former owners to contact me (since I cannot contact them)and discuss a resolution to this matter. If they closed the business then I hope there is some program in place to handle things like this. I have not been able to reach this company at any of their phone numbers.

6/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company provided a warranty on our roof and appears to no longer be in business. We have repairs that need to be made to our roof. This company refurbished our roof and provided an extended warranty. We now have repairs that need to be completed and they are not there to honor the warranty.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to honor the warranty and repair the problems with our roof.

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to get our roof inspected for the past year. We have multiple shingles that have and are falling off. We want our roof fixed corr Had the roof refinished in 2011, they came out to repair multiple time in 2012 and have since not see them

Desired Settlement: I would like our money back so we can have another company redo our roof correctly. We paid 5,695.00 to have a nice roof as was guaranteed by the company.

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called, 1/2014 and told that the business owner "just upped and left." The guarantee and warranty covers 12 years from 12/2011. Purchased Wood Shake Roof Restoration on 12/16/2011 The purchase included a 12 year warranty: completion date up to 6 years after: American Roof Systems Inc. will provide 100% of labor and material to repair leaks, aging, or damage which may occur to the roof. Called 11/2013 to schedule a roof inspection and repair; no response Called 1/2014 to schedule a roof visit: told company is closed and the owner "just upped and left."

Desired Settlement: Pro-rate the refund as of December 2013.

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: American Roof System reconditioned my roof in the summer of 2012. Part of the work is pealing off, and they are not correcting the defect In the summer of 2012, I contracted American Roof Systems to recondition my roof: the main part of the sales pitch was the durability of the work, backed by a 12 year warranty, and the BBB rating. Part of my roof is a flat surface. In the spring of this year I noticed that the overcoat applied on the flat part was blistering and pealing off. I contacted A. R. S multiple times and they eventually sent someone to evaluate in May. With no follow up, I called A.R.S. multiple times. Each time I was promised that "Operations would contact me back". Eventually on Sept 5, I received a call indicating that someone was going to come inspect my roof (again). Now 3 months later I have yet to have a follow through from A.R.S. and given the damage due to the poor workmanship, I am at risk with the rainy season.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the rework to be redone with proper care, as a last resort for the part of the work corresponding to the flat roof to be refunded (approx $4000)

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: American Roof Systems, Inc. was asked 1 mo. ago to fix a patch of the roof where wind blew the shakes off. They said: 1-5 business days but no show. The person answering the phone had promised a 1-5 business day response, initially. On subsequent calls, (6 biz days later), he then said that the situation was complex, he could not explain, but because I was "in line" I would probably be taken care of within the next week. And today their phones don't work.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to be responsible for the cost of the repair.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American Roof Systems, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)