This business is not BBB accredited.


Additional Locations

Phone: (415) 781-2555 Pier Two Embarcadero St, San Francisco, CA 94111 ! There is an alert on Sinbad's !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers fine dining and banquet services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sinbad's
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 11, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1974 Business started locally: 01/01/1974
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Duane Stinson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Duane Stinson, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Sinbad's Seafood Restaurant

Additional Locations


    141 The Embarcadero

    San Francisco, CA 94111


    Pier Two Embarcadero St

    San Francisco, CA 94111 (415) 781-2555


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My experience at Sinbad's Seafood Restaurant was a totally negative experience in April 2014. This complaint is regarding Saturday, April 26, 2014 when I invited my family to dine at Sinbad's Seafood Restaurant as my guests in order to celebrate my graduation. I made reservations for 5:30 p.m. I called *** ******* (or ********* Sinbad's manager for a earlier reservation. We arrived around 4:30 p.m. After eating, I went to pay the check. I watched our waiter, ***** ********* add the bill using a calculator. He said I owed $340.43, which included a $45 in gratiuty. I was shocked! Nevertheless, I trusted that the restaurant was a reputable business and that the waiter was an honorable servant, so I gave *** three one hundred dollar bills, one twenty, one ten and the balance of $10.31 was debited from my card. I asked *** ******* for a receipt. He would not give me one. I didn't want to make a big scene since my family and I were celebrating a happy occasion. When I arrived back in *** ****** I called *** and asked him to review my bill, tell me the price of each item. While he was calculating the prices, I was writing down the list, adding up the figures too: $58.50 for two grilled scallop dinner for **** and I, $29.25 combo scallop/filet mignon and $9.50 drink - ******, $26.25 Cajun salmon - ******, $28.75 special order fried shrimp/scallop - ******** $27.50 Florentine salmon - ******** *** said the order came to $179.95, tax was $15.75, gratuity was $29.07, corrected total $224.77.*** said he would mail a cashier's check of a $115.17 refund.However on Tuesday, April 29, 2014, when I called, *** said he couldn't help me. He said he was "***** the host" and that I would have to speak to ***** ******* in accounting. I left my number for ***** to call me. No calls. Product_Or_Service: Food products

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to request a full refund of the $340.48 that I gave to Sinbad's Seafood Restaurant; which includes the $115.17 unscrupulous overcharge and the $224.77 for unpleasant, tasteless food items that were served to my family. We received, very greasy "grilled" scallops, stale re-fried French fries, twice boiled left over pilaf rice in which the brown grain looked like plump worms, bland salmon, old, tough filet mignon. It was extremely disgusting dinner and a highly distressful situation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/06) */ Dear BBB, We are really sorry about the experience of Ms. ******* on Apr 26th (Saturday) where the waiter made an honest mistake in computing the total bill resulting to an overcharge of $115.71 to her. When Ms. ******* called *** ******* to point out the mistake, *** sincerely apologized and promised to refund the money the soonest possible time. Ms. ******* agreed to it and gave *** her mailing address. On Monday, April 28th, Sinbad's immediately mailed a money order in the amount of $115.71 to the address provided by Ms. ******* (please see the attached receipt of the money order). When she called the following day (Tuesday), the manager on duty was not ***, it was ***** ******* who, in turn, wrote a note to ***** for a return call. ***** was not on duty until the evening of the following day, Wednesday. But with the assumption that the money order would have already been received by Wednesday, ***** did not make a call anymore. Please know that we put utmost care in using only the freshest and quality ingredients in our restaurant. We are sorry that the food did not come up to Ms.*******'s expectations. On the other hand, the waiter said that Ms. ******* and her group seemed to have a nice time and did not have any complaints about the food or anything at that time. We take pride in our almost 40 years in service and we do not want to lose any of our customers. I hope we can make up to Ms. ******* for whatever shortcomings we may have. Again, our sincere apologies. Thank you for giving us the chance to reply. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/05/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would like the balance of my refund of $224.77 immediately! I had chosen the restaurant for my April family celebration because I had a delicious scallop dinner from Sinbad in February 2014. However, I was extremely disappointed in April 2014. Our April 26th dinners were not up to the quality and freshness that I, nor my family deserved nor expected to receive. There are five addition adults who are in total agreement to that statement. If what we ate that evening was Sinbad's freshest quality food, they should no longer be in business and whom ever was in charge of chef duty that day should be fired instantly. I would like to receive the balance refund of $224.77 for the disgusting dinners served to my family and I. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2014/05/14) */ This email is in regards to Sinbad Seafood's final response to me which was mailed to my home. I do not accept their offer of an apology letter and a $50 gift certificate mailed to my home address on Tuesday May 13, 2014. I am mailing the original contents back to Sinbad this week as a certified, registered correspondence. I have no intention of EVER visiting their establishment for inferior food products or services. I acknowledged that they have refunded the first part of my request, however, I continue to hold my position in requesting a full refund of my $224.77 which is the second part of my initial complaint. Thank you for all of your assistance! I appreciate your help. Take it easy. ****** ******* # XXXXXXXX

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sinbad's
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)