This business is not BBB accredited.

Kani Kosen

Phone: (650) 355-1281 588 Crespi Dr Unit 5A, Pacifica, CA 94044

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This restaurant offers japanese seafood cuisine.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kani Kosen
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 04, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1993 Business started locally: 01/01/1993
Business Management
Ms. K. Noguchi, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. K. Noguchi, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category


Additional Locations


    588 Crespi Dr Unit 5A

    Pacifica, CA 94044 (650) 355-1281


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was delivered an entree that was not what I ordered, the resolution raised food safety concerns and they refused to take the item off my check. Date: 02/01/2014 Time: 20:11;52 Merchant ID: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Terminal ID: XXXXXXXX Transaction ID: XXXXXXXXXXXX Transaction Amount: $50.03 Menu of described item: We have been to this restaurant at least twice a year for as long as we can remember, I always order the same thing, Ribeye Beef Ginger which is described on the menu as thin slices of beef with ginger soy sauce. Immediately when we were seated, it was clear there were issues with staffing and determining who was waiting our table. We had three separate women take our order for tea. When the time came to have our entree order taken, I ordered the Ribeye Beef Ginger, when the waitress asked how I wanted the meat cooked, I requested it well done, no pink. After over an hour (a length of time that two other tables were ordered, served and checked out), our entrees were delivered. My entree was a huge slab of beef. When I questioned the waitress, she told me that was exactly what I ordered. I requested a menu to clarify that the beef was supposed to be thinly sliced, a woman came over who was presumably the owner and loudly told me that I ordered what was delivered to me, so loud that all the tables in this small restaurant were staring at me. I again repeated that I ordered the Ribeye Beef Ginger that was supposed to come thinly sliced. 10 minutes later, they brought the same plate back out (I had accidentally spilled a drop of tempura sauce on the meat) this time thickly sliced (about 1/2 inch slices) and the meat was so rare that it was dark red and barely brown on the outside. I again questioned that what I was delivered wasn't how it was described on the menu and that the meat was raw. After waiting close to 75 minutes for my entree to be delivered as it was ordered, I requested that the $24.95 item be taken off our check. 10 minutes later, they delivered the same piece of meat for the third time, sliced in 1/4" and cooked all the way through. When I told the waitress that I requested it be taken off our check, she humiliated me. She loudly scolded me, saying that I was being difficult and that all she was doing was delivering me what I ordered. She took no responsibility for the previous two tries, ignored my request to take an item that had been exposed three times to the elements of the kitchen, handled at least three times by the chef, and placed the blame on me for being a difficult person. It was an utterly humiliating experience, having all the customers staring at me, whispering about me when all I was requesting was an item that I've had many, many times before. I was simply requesting the item as it was described on the menu, that was prepared following the basics of food safety standards. I managed my temper, was kind and patient, and literally left the restaurant in tears. My husband stayed behind to manage the check. It shouldn't 90 minutes to be served an entree. It shouldn't take 3 tries and still not be delivering an item as it's been served in the past and currently described on the menu. Customers shouldn't have to feel humiliated, especially for mistakes that aren't their own. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: san mateo county health department

Desired Settlement: After the humiliation, tears and insensitivity of this business, I think it is fair to be refunded the entire transaction amount of $50.03.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/27) */ Dear *****, First of all, I'd like to deeply apologize for your experience at our restaurant. We take pride in ensuring our customer's satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not. We failed. After going over the situation over and over with my husband, I realized the menu description was wrong. The horror I felt was just unbearable. My stomach was in knots. I am truly sorry. I'd be more than happy to refund the amount. You and your guest deserve the very best, and I'd like to invite you and your guest to our restaurant. I know the wound is still fresh and I'm praying that you'll forgive us. Please call me at XXX XXX XXXX. Once again our sincere apologies. I hope our paths cross soon. Sincerely, ***** ******* ***** *******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kani Kosen
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)