This business is not BBB accredited.

Kappel & Kappel, Inc.

Phone: (707) 451-6741 Fax: (707) 451-6746 412 Main St, Vacaville, CA 95688 http://www.kappels.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general real estate brokerage services and property management.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kappel & Kappel, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kappel & Kappel, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 15, 2008 Business started: 10/01/1972 Business started locally: 10/01/1972
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Real Estate
1515 Clay St Ste 702, Oakland CA 94612
http://www2.dre.ca.gov/PublicASP/pplinfo.asp?License_id=
Phone Number: (510) 622-2552

Business Management
Mr. Steven Kappel, President Sue Kappel, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Kappel, President
Customer Contact: Sue Kappel, Manager
Number of Employees

13

Business Category

Real Estate


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    412 Main St

    Vacaville, CA 95688 (707) 451-6741

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have requested an accounting of fees taken from rent proceeds by the property manager, but have not gotten any response to phone or e-mail I entered into heated discussions with *** ****** after the lease with a renter was broken ahead of the expiration date. As a result of new tenants moving in, the property manager determined that painting was necessary. The property manager chose a painter, and the painting was not a good job, and all agreed that the painter would not be paid for the work. There were other tasks undertaken to repair a door knob in the entry from the garage, and new carpet in the family room. I asked for an accounting for funds that were deducted from rent proceeds by e-mail and have not received any documentation of who did the work, what their qualifications to do the work, and an itemization of the work done. As recent at today, I checked my account and noted that a deposit of $1023.00 was credited to my checking account. (Monthly rent is $2100.00 less the fee for the property manager of 7%.)I am not pleased with the customer care, having been a client for over ten years. There has been a very clear deterioration of customer care over the past two to three years, and even worse over the past six months. I am not averse to finding someone else to perform my property management services, and if ****** and ******'s behavior of late is intended to drive me away, I am happy to do so. My concern is that as a consumer, I want to register my dissatisfaction so that others can consider my experience. I have asked for an accounting for fees assessed and taken from September and October rent proceeds, and have not received any information to justify the reduced rental proceeds for two consecutive months. Since the current renter of my property has health issues that will not allow painting to occur, a representative of ****** and ****** indicated that there was a plan to do so. I have requested details of this plan, but have not received any indication of what the plan is to paint my home. In reviewing complaints lodged against ****** and ****** one that I noted was of the firm charging exorbitant fees for contracted maintenance on rental properties.

Desired Settlement: I would like to document the lack of irregularities associated with the fees taken from rental proceeds to pay for work by a contractor hired by Kappel and Kappel. I cant imagine that there aren't rules and regulations that prevent a property manager from disbursing funds to whomever they deem appropriate without consent from the property owner. If that is the case I would like acknowledgment of that provision.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/22) */ Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/11/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Ms. Singleton-- Thank you for the opportunity to reply to the latest statement by ****** and ******. Regarding the current tenants, I have no desire to get into their personal issues, and have never hinted that I wanted to. The only way that I knew of the tenant's issues was a notification from ****** and ****** that one tenant moving. I asked that representative in a subsequent correspondence if the tenant remaining in the house had served notice that she was moving, and I was assured that there was no such notification. If the current tenant has to served notice that she intends to move, why would there be a need to "find new tenants"? One glaring fact that Ms. ****** glosses over again and again is that the painting of my home was arranged by her employee. I did not request nor approve the painting that was eventually deemed to be unacceptable. I have asked for funds to be set aside to paint my home at such time that it can be accomplished without inconveniencing the tenant. The painting of my home that created this situation was ordered by ****** and ****** agents. I Gooogled "Kapppel and ****** Complaints" this evening, and there is an ever increasing number of complaints that are eerily similar to my experience. If you have any concerns regarding the veracity of my complaints, just take a moment to see what others think about this company's behavior and treatment of property management responsibilities or lack thereof. I have been wrestling with this company for over three months so far to resolve this. There is something terribly amiss in this company's approach to customer service. If you need additional information regarding this case, please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience. ******* ** ***** Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/11/12) */


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kappel & Kappel, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)