BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers information on rent to own opportunities nationwide.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Irenttoown.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Irenttoown.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 41 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

41 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 20
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 16
Total Closed Complaints 41

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Irenttoown.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 16, 2011 Business started: 10/01/2007 Business started locally: 10/01/2007 Business incorporated 08/18/2006 in CA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Andrew Coleman, Co-CEO Mr. Joon Shin, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andrew Coleman, Co-CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Joon Shin, Manager
Number of Employees

40

Business Category

Real Estate - Rent to Own

Service Area

Area Business Services: United States

Alternate Business Names
Housing List, LLC HousingList.com LeadQual LLC T&R*Renttoown

Additional Locations

  • 1400 65th St STE 250

    Emeryville, CA 94608

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
3/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/4/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Renttoown offered a trial membership for $1.00 and I accepted entering my credit card information. I checked my credit card statement (VISA) and noticed a $49.60 charge for the renttoown website. I immediately asked for a refund and was told to fill out a refund application which I am going to mail today. This charge was not authorized by me and I want this money refunded immediately.I have a feeling I will never see this refund. I thought that if a URL had a .org extension they were safe sites. I was wrong again.Thank you for having this site available for us.Sincerely,****** Product_Or_Service: rental units available Account_Number: 10/07/XXXXXX/07/2015

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Billing Adjustment a refund to my VISA card that was charged w/o my authorization

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/12/01) */ Received business response via email on 12/1/15: As I mentioned, this is not our company. That website is owned by a company called Lead Qual. This is their contact info: (XXX) XXX-XXXX (Monday - Friday 6AM - 6PM PST, Saturday - Sunday 9AM - 5PM PST). You can also contact us at XXXX XXth St. Ste. 250 Emeryville, CA XXXXX. Best, ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 22, 2016/01/19) */ This company "renttoown.org" has charged me AGAIN! They left me a voice mail stating they would refund me yet again. I am going to contact my credit card co. to advise them to block this site from charging my card, if that is possible. Final Business Response /* (4000, 24, 2016/01/26) */ Hello, Thank you for bringing Customer S's complaint to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused. Before we allow our customers to submit personal information (e.g. name, address, phone number, email, and credit card number), we require them to check a box agreeing to our Terms of Use. Additionally, our website clearly displays our billing protocol on our registration page. The billing protocol states that the customer agrees to be enrolled in a 7-day trial for $1.00 charge. After the 7 days, the customer agrees to be billed $49.60/month until the customer cancels. Lastly, our business sends a confirmation email clarifying the trial period's billing protocol. According to our logs, Customer S signed up on 8/27/2015 for a 7-day trial. Our logs show that Customer S was charged after the 7-day trial on 9/3/2015 for monthly membership, and again on 10/4/2015. Customer S first contacted our customer service department on 10/8/2015, stating their concern. Our customer service department cancelled Customer S's account, and gave her a refund of $99.20 in 2 separate $49.60 installments (due to two different monthly charges). Our logs show that no further billing occurred after 10/8/2016. On 1/21/2016, our customer service manager called Customer S to discuss their concern, but was unable to reach Customer S. A voice message was left explaining the two refund installments, as well as that no further charges were made after 10/4/2015. Our customer service manager also welcomed Customer S to speak directly to our manager if Customer S calls back to discuss the matter. With the account cancellation and refund of the two monthly fees, the issue with this customer has been resolved. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 26, 2016/01/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This company charged me another 49.99 - I did receive a voice mail from them saying this would be refunded but as of today it has not been refunded. The voice mail was rude as well.

11/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: TRrenttoown charged me 49.60 without my authorization. It was a scam. I want all my money refund. On october 13 they tried to charge $49.60 but myy Bank blocked my account. When i call to unlock it, the charge went through. I was doing business with ren to own .org. Not with them because i called and they told me they do not charge clients. And we i went online i was not the first person complaining. I cannot even find the number of the company. Is a scam. I want my money back.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back because it was a scam

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/09) */ Hello, Thank you for bringing Customer R's complaint to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused. Before we allow our customers to submit personal information (e.g. name, address, phone number, email, and credit card number), we require them to check a box agreeing to our Terms of Use. Additionally, our website clearly displays our billing protocol on our registration page. The billing protocol states that the customer agrees to be enrolled in a 7-day trial for $1.00 charge. After the 7 days, the customer agrees to be billed $49.60/month until the customer cancels. Lastly, our business sends a confirmation email clarifying the trial period's billing protocol. According to our logs, Customer R signed up on 10/1/2015 for a 7-day trial. The customer attempted to call us on 10/25/2015, but called one of our different brand that is not RTO. We had no other contact with the customer other than her calling a different brand. Customer R cancelled her account on 11/4/2015 and was refunded the monthly charge of $49.60 and the $0.99 charge for Foreclosure Listings. Our customer service department emailed Customer R to inform her that she had been fully refunded. With the cancellation and refund of the monthly fee, the issue with this customer has been resolved. Final Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/11/12) */ Hello, Thank you for bringing Customer R's complaint to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused. Before we allow our customers to submit personal information (e.g. name, address, phone number, email, and credit card number), we require them to check a box agreeing to our Terms of Use. Additionally, our website clearly displays our billing protocol on our registration page. The billing protocol states that the customer agrees to be enrolled in a 7-day trial for $1.00 charge. After the 7 days, the customer agrees to be billed $49.60/month until the customer cancels. Lastly, our business sends a welcome email confirming the trial period's billing protocol. According to our logs, Customer R signed up on 10/1/2015 for a 7-day trial. There was no correspondence from Customer R until we received this notice from BBB. We cancelled her account on 11/4/2015, and although her account was billed correctly we provided a full refund to Customer R. Our customer service department emailed Customer R to inform her that she had been fully refunded. We also attempted to reach her via telephone, but had to leave a voice message. With the cancellation of the account, and refund of the monthly fee, the issue with this customer has been resolved.

11/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: T & r rent to own stole $50.60 off my debit card on 10-26-2015. I did not authorize this, don't even know who these people are!

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want my money back

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/09) */ Hello, Thank you for bringing Customer S's complaint to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused. Before we allow our customers to submit personal information (e.g. name, address, phone number, email, and credit card number), we require them to check a box agreeing to our Terms of Use. Additionally, our website clearly displays our billing protocol on our registration page. The billing protocol states that the customer agrees to be enrolled in a 7-day trial for $1.00 charge. After the 7 days, the customer agrees to be billed $49.60/month until the customer cancels. Lastly, our business sends a confirmation email clarifying the trial period's billing protocol. According to our logs, Customer S signed up on 9/28/2015 for a 7-day trial. Our records show that her account viewed a home as well. Customer S first contacted our customer service department on 10/26/2015. Our call logs show that Customer S hung up on our customer service representative. When our representative called Customer S back, Customer S hung up on the representative again. Customer S on 10/26/2015 then requested a refund via email. Our representative voided the charge that same day. With the cancellation and refund of the monthly fee, the issue with this customer has been resolved. Final Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/11/12) */ Hello, Thank you for bringing Customer S's complaint to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused. Before we allow our customers to submit personal information (e.g. name, address, phone number, email, and credit card number), we require them to check a box agreeing to our Terms of Use. Additionally, our website clearly displays our billing protocol on our registration page. The billing protocol states that the customer agrees to be enrolled in a 7-day trial for $1.00 charge. After the 7 days, the customer agrees to be billed $49.60/month until the customer cancels the account. Lastly, our business sends a welcome email confirming the trial period along with the monthly billing protocol. According to our logs, Customer S signed up on 9/28/2015 for a 7-day trial. Our call logs show that Customer S first contacted our customer service department via email on 10/26/2015, which was after the trial period had expired, requesting the account be refunded. Our representative cancelled and voided the account so the funds would not be collected. A follow up email was sent to Customer S confirming the cancellation date, cancellation number and voided amount. Although the account was billed correctly, we have also refunded the trial membership fee. A phone call was made out to the customer on 11/10/15 to summarize what occurred on her account, but we were not able to reach her. An email was also sent on 11/10/15 to summarize what occurred on the account. With the cancellation of the account and the voided monthly fee along with the refunded trial membership fee, the issue with this customer has been resolved.

11/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company T&R*Renttoown has charged me $49.60 twice. Once in Sept and the second time in Oct.I am disabled and 72 years old,and not in good health.I don't know who they are,something with rental properties.I own my home,so don't need to rent anything.I did speak to some one there. They said they may send me back $25.00,but will have to send in a form from them, eather by mail,are fax.Then they said they will look into it.Thank you for your time. **** *****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund All I want is my money returned.They took $99.20 from me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/04) */ Hello, Thank you for bringing Customer R's complaint to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused. Before we allow our customers to submit personal information (e.g. name, address, phone number, email, and credit card number), we require them to check a box agreeing to our Terms of Use. Additionally, our website clearly displays our billing protocol on our registration page. The billing protocol states that the customer agrees to be enrolled in a 7-day trial for $1.00 charge. After the 7 days, the customer agrees to be billed $49.60/month until the customer cancels. Additionally, our business sends a confirmation email clarifying the trial period's billing protocol. According to our logs, Customer R signed up for our full services on 8/16/2015 and emailed our customer service department that same day expressing interest in a specific property found on our website. Our department responded accordingly on 8/17/2015, but never heard back from Customer R until 10/16/2015, when Customer R called to cancel the account. The account was cancelled at that time, and no further billing took place. An email was sent to Customer R that confirmed account cancellation, provided the cancellation number, and restated the terms of use that were agreed upon when Customer R signed up. Additionally, the account had been refunded in full. With the cancellation and refund of the monthly fee, the issue with this customer has been resolved.

10/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged $50.00 on my card and dont know how to cancel subscribtion. I was very angry when I seen it and would like the subscribtion cancelled. On Monday the 5th, my visa card was charged a total of$49.60. I dont recall registering for the subscribtion. It would be greatly appreciated if you would be able to cancel it, I cant afford $50.00 a month on something I dont use, considering Im 4 months pregnant.

Desired Settlement: For my subscribtion to be canceled. Thank you

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/09) */ Hello, Thank you for bringing Customer M's complaint to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused. Before we allow our customers to submit personal information (e.g. name, address, phone number, email, and credit card number), we require them to check a box agreeing to our Terms of Use. Additionally, our website clearly displays our billing protocol on our registration page. The billing protocol states that the customer agrees to be enrolled in a 7-day trial for $1.00 charge. After the 7 days, the customer agrees to be billed $49.60/month until the customer cancels. Additionally, our business sends a confirmation email clarifying the trial period's billing protocol. According to our logs, Customer M started their trial on 9/16/2015, and was billed for monthly membership on 9/23/2015. Our logs show that Customer M never corresponded with our customer support center, but that the account was cancelled on 10/9/2015 and that the membership fee had been refunded. A cancellation email had been sent to confirm the cancellation and the refund. With the cancellation and refund of the monthly fee, the issue with this customer has been resolved.

10/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I retired two years ago I was searching for homes to buy or rent-to-buy. I accessed this site and read the terms of use before registering. It mentioned no cost. Evidently they prey on retirees and at some point there must have been some mention of a trial. I'm afraid to search again to see at what point it mentions a seven day trial and subsequent cost. It's been a tough year with falling trees severely damaging my home, heart surgery and car repair costs. When I had a financial advisor look at my accounts it was brought to my attention that I'd been billed almost fifty dollars($49.60) for the last two years. I'd bought a home two years ago and not through their service!!! They refuse to refund any of the money. Will you please investigate their practices and let me know if what they're doing is legal?

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like them to refund all monies billed and change their website so that their costs are up front and not hidden in the process. If there is a trial period then a warning email would have been most helpful. If they track searches they would know that I barely accessed their site.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/15) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* COO Contact Email: ********@apartmentlist.com Hi ****, I am sorry to hear about your challenges. I would like to clear a few things up. 1) Apartment List does not and has never charged for access to Apartment List. Our service is free to consumers. 2) I believe you are referring to having a membership to access Rent To Own real estate. That website is owned by LeadQual and they have mistakenly listed our address as their contact info. Their address is **** ********** St, Ste **** *********** ********** XXXXX. Their phone number is X -(XXX) XXX-XXXX. They will be able to assist you resolving the charge for your Rent to Own membership. If you need more help, please feel free to contact me. Best, ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As you can tell my complaint was redirected to another 'parent' company and was given a new address and contact number. Will you please let me know if I now need to submit a separate complaint? Makes you wonder why they gave a faulty address for complaints. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/09/28) */ Hello, Thank you for bringing Customer H's complaints to our attention. Despite a valid contract we authorized Customer H a full refund and a confirmation email was sent out. Before we allow our customers to submit any personal information (such as name, address, phone number, email, and credit card number) we require them to check a box agreeing to our Terms of Use. Additionally we very clearly display our billing protocol on our registration page. The billing protocol specifically states the customer agrees to be enrolled in a 7-day trial for a $1.00 charge, and that the customer agrees to be billed $49.60 per month after the trial expires until the customer cancels. After registration, we also send a confirmation email clarifying the trial period's billing protocol. Customer H signed up on July 18th 2013, and then 2 years later the customer called to cancel her service on July 23rd 2015. The cancellation was done by a customer service rep. Another rep tried contacting Customer via telephone to discuss concerns and requested a call back but no response was made by the Customer. A full refund was provided on September 28th 2015 and a refund confirmation was emailed out, so we believe this issue to be resolved. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2015/10/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: company has a misleading website large writing lure's customer into site for 1 dollar yet customer doesn't know the he or she will be charged an additional 50 dollars within 30 days for a website that just show rented houses...... this is a scam, small box and small writing should be enlarged other than that this company will take your money without you knowing SCAM

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund CHANGE MISLEADING WEBSITE.....REFUND

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/18) */ Thank you for bringing Customer *** complaints to our attention. Before we allow our customers to submit any personal information (such as name, address, phone number, email, and credit card number) we require them to check a box agreeing to our Terms of Use. Additionally we very clearly display our billing protocol on our registration page. The billing protocol specifically states the customer agrees to be enrolled in a 7-day trial for a $1.00 charge, and that the customer agrees to be billed $49.60 per month after the trial expires until the customer cancels. After registration, we also send a confirmation email clarifying the trial period's billing protocol. According to our customer database logs, Customer** signed up on 7/13/2015 and was charged the first monthly membership fee on 7/20/2015. We received a call from Customer * on 8/6/2015 asking for a refund. The refund was granted during the phone call and a confirmation email for the account cancellation and refund was sent that same day. With the full refund, we believe the the issue to be resolved.

8/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged over $50.00 even though I never agreed to join anything. I was on this company's website but left as soon as I realized that they would be charging me (I had already put my info. in). Now they have charged me over $50 for nothing. I called them and the message says "your wait time is 3 minutes" after 10 minutes they tell you they are too busy, leave a message. Of course no one calls back. They say you can cancel online but no way to do that unless you login which I cannot do as I never had an account. It is a clever scam that seems to be designed to defraud consumers. This company cheated me!

Desired Settlement: For them to return my money immediately and tell me why they charged me?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/11) */ Hello, Thank you for bringing Customer A's complaints to our attention. We'd like to offer our apologies to Customer A for any inconvenience we may have caused. Before we allow our customers to submit any personal information (such as name, address, phone number, email, and credit card number) we require them to check a box agreeing to our Terms of Use. Additionally we very clearly display our billing protocol on our registration page. The billing protocol specifically states the customer agrees to be enrolled in a 7-day trial for a $1.00 charge, and that the customer agrees to be billed $49.60 per month after the trial expires until the customer cancels. After registration, we also send a confirmation email clarifying the trial period's billing protocol. According to our logs, Customer A started the trial on 7/29/2015, and after the trial period his account was charged on 8/5/2015. Customer A called our customer support center on 8/7/2015 to cancel. Even though the customer hung up before our service reps could get to him, we emailed the member back that day stating the account had been cancelled, providing the cancellation number, and refunding the monthly membership fee. The customer's bank contacted our customer support center on 8/7/2015, and we let them know the refund had already been made back to the customer. We apologize for the long hold time, but we responded very quickly through email once he hung up. With the full refund of the monthly fee, the issue with this customer has been fully resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/08/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged a monthly membership fee after cancelling during trial period. I purchased a 7 day trial membership on irenttoown.com. Agreement stated if membership was cancelled during the trial period, there would be no further charges. If membership was kept or not cancelled during the 7 day trial, then I would be charged the normal monthly fee of $49.60. I cancelled membership at day 5 1/2, but I was still charged $49.60. I would like to also add that the site advertises it has rent to own properties like the title of the site suggests, but when you search and find 3 rent to owns out of 1000 properties that are just for rent is deceving.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $49.60 refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/09) */ Dear Customer L, Thank you for the email. According to our records, Customer L signed up for a 7 day trial on 6/26/15 at 8:29AM and was billed $1. By 7/3/15 at 9:03AM when the 7 day trial ended, the customer was billed the monthly membership fee of $49.60. The customer cancelled membership via Web on 7/3/15 at 2:51PM which is after the 7 day trial expired. On 7/6/16 at 11:59AM the customer called a customer service rep and was given a refund; an email was sent to the customer containing a cancellation number and confirming the full refund of $49.60. On 7/8/15 a customer service manager attempted to contact via telephone to confirm resolution, but was unable to reach Customer L. We believe that this issue to be resolved successfully.

7/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: problem with website registration. i went to renttoown.org to look at some homes i found one i was interested in and it ask me to register. i in put my card number and gave my email and password *** i was able to get it the info i was looking for. after logging off i tried to log back in the next day and it said im not registered. i check my account and it shows debt for 1.00 and .99. i this the site is a scam. every time i try to log in it tells me to register. i dont understand its suppose to be a 7day trail im wasting my days with logging in issues.

Desired Settlement: i just want my 7 day trail extended and someone to walk(help) me through how rent to own works.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/07/07) */ Hello, We checked all our customer logs, but it appears that there is no record of Customer A having an account with iRentToOwn.com. Our customer service manager attempted to contact Customer A at the day phone number given to us, but we were unable to reach him. Given that there is no record of this customer and that the customer has not reciprocated our attempts to contact him, we believe the issue to be resolved.

5/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been billed for a service I never signed up for. I have been charged by this company for a service I never signed up for. I believe a roommate had signed up and used for credit card to sign up but I am not totally sure. I didn't notice the charges for a few months. I thought the charge was for furniture I purchased but after I paid off the furniture I kept getting billed. I started checking into it and called the company. I have not contacted the company twice to tell them not to bill me for this and I have still received a bill for 49.60 in March. I am going to be filing a dispute with Capitol One my credit card company as well. They have charged me 49.60 starting November 2013 to March 2015.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking reimbursement for the 49.60 I have been charged since November 2013 to March 2015. The total amount is 2,460.16.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/05/05) */ Received response via email: Thank you for notifying us of Customer S's experience. We apologize for any misunderstand and would like to clarify what happened in this instance. According to our records, Customer S registered for a trial account on 9/11/2013 and agreed to be billed $1 for a 7-Day trial period and then $49.60 per month after. We clearly display our billing protocol on our registration page and require all customers to check a box agreeing to our Terms of Use before submitting personal information including name, address, phone number, email, and credit card information. On 2/14/2015 our customer service center received a phone call from Customer S requesting an account cancellation. That same day an email confirming the cancellation number was sent to Customer S and no further billing took place. Our records indicate Customer S's last billing data was 2/8/2015 so she was not billed after the 2/14/2015 cancellation date. We received another email from Customer S requesting cancellation confirmation and another refund on 3/25/2015; on 3/26/2015 our Customer Service Supervisor emailed Customer S with the requested items. On 4/17/2015 Customer S reached out to our customer service again requesting further refund, and on 4/30/2015 a full refund was granted to the customer. Additionally, a detailed email and a voice mail was sent by our Customer Service Supervisor outlining the confirmation and refund amounts. Customer S requested refund amounts totaling $2,460.16 in the complaints, but that was not the correct amount; Customer S was only billed a total of $651.70 which was refunded. We have completely addressed the customer's concern and have granted a full refund, so we believe this issue is resolved. Thank You.

4/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company used deceitful practice to charge my card. I would not knowingly authorize any company to debit this restricted purpose card. I did not knowingly authorize this or any other company to debit this restricted purpose card. I would not contract with any company to pay $49.60 per month automatic debit for any house list service to provide a service which sells otherwise free and public information. This company obtained my information through a venue that did not indicate it was debiting my restricted purpose debit card. If it had, this repetitive debiting transaction would not have occurred.

Desired Settlement: All charges made from May 2014 to September 2014 shall be reimbursed to my restricted purpose debit card.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/11/18) */ Thank you for notifying us of Customer K's experience. We do apologize for any misunderstanding, and would like verify what occurred with Customer K's account. According to our records, Customer K registered for an account on 5/1/2014 and agreed to be billed $1 for a 7-day trial and $49.60 each month thereafter until canceled. We display our billing protocol on our registration page and require all customers to provide personal information including name, address, phone number, email, & complete credit card information. We also require all customers' check a box stating they have read and agree with our Terms of Use. We did not receive any correspondence or cancellation requests from Customer K until 10/7/2014 when Customer K called our customer service department to inquire about charges. In this phone call we explained our billing protocol, explained the date the account was registered, and issued a refund for two most recent months. Later that same day, Customer K emailed our customer service department stating she was unsatisfied with the refund issued. We then processed refunds for the two remaining charges. Upon receiving this complaint we attempted to contact Customer K on11/18/14 to confirm the previously issued had resolved the issue but were unsuccessful in speaking with Customer K. While we invite Customer K to call our customer service department to confirm, we are confident our previous issued refunds have fully resolved the customer's concerns. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/11/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again, I never knowingly registered with this company. So I stand by my statements. The company used deceit to charge my restricted purpose card over $250 over the course of months. NO EMAIL was ever sent by me stating whether I was satisfied with this company's actions pertaining to any or the subsequent full refund that later appeared on my restricted purpose card. I strongly advise consumers not to do business with this so-called company.

1/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing this complaint because they owe me a refund which they took out of my account without my permission.they owe me 48.00dollars. And i would like it put back in my account i called them and they said they sent it back to the bank on the 2nd of september.I TALK TO THE BANK AND THEY SAID IT WASNT THERE.i want my money back. please check into this matter.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like my money back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/11/13) */ Received response via email: Thank you for notifying us of Customer R's experience. We do apologize for any misunderstanding, and would like verify what occurred with Customer R's account. According to our records, Customer R registered for an account on 8/19/2014 and agreed to be billed $1 for a 7-day trial and $49.60 each month thereafter until canceled. We display our billing protocol on our registration page and require all customers to provide personal information including name, address, phone number, email, & complete credit card information. We also require all customers' check a box stating they have read and agree with our Terms of Use. We did not receive any correspondence or cancellation requests from Customer R until 8/29/2014 when Customer R called our customer service department to inquire about charges. In this phone call we explained our billing protocol, explained the date the account was registered, and voided the monthly charge confirming we would not collect the pending amount. Upon receiving this complaint we attempted to contact Customer R on 11/12/14 to confirm the voided charge had been returned to her. Customer R did confirm her complaint was resolved.

11/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Irenttoown had misleading information regarding its cost,on web, and continues to bill after client cancellation. Irenttoown appears to cost $1. I registered in summer of 2013 to look at homes in my area. I cancelled after we purchased a home in July of 2013. At no time did I realize the real monthly cost for this service. It is not apparent. Monthly payments of $49.60 are still being deducted out of my checking account. I have used the web and phone to try and contact them and cancel again. No luck yet getting deductions to stop. I have gotten another cancelation number from them on Sept. 20, 2014. # XXXXXXX Yet, another deduction occurred from my account on Sept. 26, 2014. I have now contacted my bank and ask that this be treated as fraud. I want to be reimbursed for charges from August 2013 to October 2014. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: US Bank

Desired Settlement: Requesting a refund of charges from August 2013 to present.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/21) */ Thank you for notifying us of Customer T's experience. We regret any misunderstanding, and would like clarify what happened with Customer T's account. Customer T registered for an account on 06/27/2013 and agreed to be billed $1 for a 7-day trial, and $49.60 each month thereafter until canceled. Our billing terms of service are clearly displayed when a consumer registers for our website service, and we also require the consumer to check a box on our registration page which states the consumer agrees with the billing terms and conditions of registering with our website. We do disagree that our terms of use are misleading as Customer T stated in her complaint. The language on our site states "By clicking Sign Up Now, you agree to be enrolled in the 7 day trial for $1.00, and your account will be activated immediately. After the trial expires, you agree that you will be charged only $49.60 per month until you cancel. You may cancel the membership at any time to stop all monthly billing. Cancelling is easy and guaranteed, either online or via our toll-free telephone line at (XXX) XXX-XXXX". Our website is secure and a customer account cannot be registered nor charged any amount until the customer submits their agreement with the terms by checking the box. We had not received any communication via email or phone call to our customer service department from Customer T at any point prior to this complaint. We do show a cancelation occurring on 9/20/2014 via our automated phone system but show no record of complaint or request for refund. According to our records, Customer T filed a dispute with her bank or credit card organization without contacting our customer service department. When a dispute is filed, the credit card company reverses payment to us while they investigate. When this happens, it is no longer accessible for us to issue a refund to the customer and per fraud investigation procedures; we were required to wait for their final outcome. We can confirm we have not billed Customer T anything after her cancellation date. If Customer T is seeing charges occurring after 9/20/2014; those would be the disputed transactions being re-applied by her bank or credit card organization. Upon receiving this complaint, we attempted to contact Customer T on 9/20/2014 at the number on file but were unsuccessful. In efforts to resolve this dispute, we have refunded 4 monthly charges totaling $198.40 to the customer's card on file. We are confident this will fully resolve their concerns.

11/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Visited their site & completed a basic information form, no payment was made for service. Since then I am getting twice daily unsolicited phone calls. Approximately one week ago I began receiving twice daily telephone calls from XXXXXXXXXX. There is no message, just a connection with hang-up 3 to 4 seconds later. This calls are quite annoying and frustrating as I know of no way to eliminate them. I do not wish to do business with a company like this, but haven't figured out how to tell them to leave me alone. Any help you can give me would be appreciated.

Desired Settlement: Stop all future calls & attempts at making contact with me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/09/29) */ Received business response via email on 9/28/14: Thanks for contacting us. We have ensured that Mr. **** has been added to the "Do-Not-Call" list and blocked from any outreach from our company. If Mr. **** believes he is being contacted by anybody affiliated with our business, he can go to www.renttoown.org/unsubscribe to remove himself from any contact of any sort (email or phone). We did not see any requests by Mr. Yost to be removed from the contact list until this complaint came in, and we acted on this immediately to ensure that he no longer receives any outreach. We encourage Mr. **** to contact our customer service at any time if he is not satisfied with our products or offerings. Please feel free to reach out if there are any further questions.

10/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Renttoown.com states you can pay $1 for a 7 day free trial. Within 3 days I was charged 46.90 on the debit card I shared the information for the $1. I shared my bank information with this company to use their website for 7 days to decide if it was something I was interested in . Within 3 days I was charged 46.90 from my debit card when I had only authorized a purchase price of $1. The 7 day trial isn't even over and I've been charged an amount that is NOWHERE to be found on the website. The 888 number runs you through many options but I was never able to speak to anyone.

Desired Settlement: I never authorized the amount charged and I want it returned.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/09/30) */ Response received via email 09/30/2014: Thank you for notifying us of Customer R's experience. We do apologize for any misunderstanding, and would like verify what occurred with Customer R's account. According to our records, Customer R registered for an account on 8/14/2014 and agreed to be billed $1 for a 7-day trial and $49.60 each month thereafter until canceled. We display our billing protocol on our registration page and require all customers to provide personal information including name, address, phone number, email, & complete credit card information. We also require all customers' check a box stating they have read and agree with our Terms of Use, however we believe Customer R may be unclear as to the account was registered. This account was set up on 8/14/2014 and we did not receive any communication from Customer R until 8/22/014 which was after the 7 day trial period had expired. We did not bill Customer R after three days or at any point prior to the trial period ending. We did not receive any correspondence or cancellation requests from Customer R until 8/22/2014 when Customer R emailed our customer service department to inquire about charges. We received the email and called Customer R back the same day. In this phone call we explained our billing protocol, explained the date the account was registered, and issued a refund for the requested amount. Upon receiving this complaint we attempted to contact Customer R on 9/29/14 to confirm the previously issued had resolved the issue but were unsuccessful in speaking with Customer R. While we invite Customer R to call our customer service department to confirm, we are confident our previous issued refunds have fully resolved the customer's concerns. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2014/10/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I was given a refund , still does not change my position on their shady billing .

9/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company scammed my credit card for now a total of $148.80. Without my permission & with no services rendered! I never requested or received services through this company. Yet I realized on 8/26/2014 that they started charging my cc on 4/22/2014 the amount of $49.60 each month Total charges $248.00. I claimed fraud through my bank. Visa was only able to refund 2 months instead of 3 because I was 3 days late of noticing these charges on my bank statement. I have received a refund for 2 of the 5 months = $98.00 leaving $148.80 that this company took from my cc in which I never received any services for. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: Visa

Desired Settlement: I want my money back that they took without my permission in the amount of $148.80. I also would like to see this companies practices be be required to changed so other victims get their moneys back & nobody else gets taken advantage of. Far too many people are being scammed by this particular company.

9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they are charging my debit card DAILY.my acount is now minus 70.00! I paid 1.00 for a housing list to rent to own. Since then my bank account has been charged DAILY by housing list .com. Now my account is MINUS 70.00 and i had to cancel my debit card which now i will need to call to make all my scheduled bill pays with a new card that i wont get for another two weeks. I would like my money back but i have gotten no response back from these people .they are a rip off

Desired Settlement: I am now minus 70.00 in my bank account i want them to refund me this money as its causing me great distress

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/08/11) */ Received business respince via email on 8/11/14. "Thank you for notifying us of Customer**'s experience. We do apologize for any misunderstanding, and would like verify what occurred with Customer **** account. According to our records, Customer** registered for an account on 6/23/2014 and agreed to be billed $1 for a 7-day trial and $49.60 each month thereafter until canceled. We display our billing protocol on our registration page and require all customers to provide personal information including name, address, phone number, email, & complete credit card information. We also require all customers' check a box stating they have read and agree with our Terms of Use, however we believe Customer** may be unclear as to our terms of use. We do not charge daily as Customer** states in the complaint. If Customer** wished to avoid any future billing, we simply asked for her to cancel her service as outlined in our Terms of Use. We did not receive any correspondence or cancellation requests from Customer** until 7/2/2014 when Customer** emailed our customer service department to inquire about charges. Customer** also left us a voicemail on 7/2/2014 and we called her back later that same day. In this phone call we explained our billing protocol, cancelled Customer**'s account and issued refunds for the requested amounts. Upon receiving this complaint we attempted to contact Customer** on 8/8/14 in efforts to resolve this complaint. We are confident our previous has fully resolved her concerns." Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2014/08/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They DID refund the money they took. However, they never should have taken it to begin with. I read everything carefully and agreed to pay only 1.00 for a housing list. Because they charged MUCH more, I ended up paying almost 90.00 in bank fees when my automatic weekly bill payments started bouncing. So they were leaving me voicemessages to ask why i put a complaint in BBB and my answer is they did BAD business by charging me money that i did NOT agree to pay. How many people have they done this to?

8/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There is no phone number or email address to request cancellation of services. I did not know they charged my account. I tried to log into their website on May 24, 2014. I got as far as giving them my information and they wanted to charge a $1.00 for a 7 day viewing of their listed homes. I kept putting in my email address but it came back as unidentified and would not let me enter the website. I noticed on 5/27/14 that they charged my account the $1.00 (even though I never used the website). I cannot find a phone number or email address to cancel the services. They will charge $50.00 every month and I cannot cancel. I noticed they had SEVERAL complaints the same as mine. I can't believe they are still operating!

Desired Settlement: Refund and cancel order ASAP!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/07/01) */ Received business response via email: Thank you for notifying us of Mrs. ********'s experience. We regret any misunderstanding, and would like to understand what happened with Mrs. ********'s account. In her complaint, Mrs. ******** states that we do not have contact information on our website, but we do list phone number and email contact on our website as well as provide a cancellation option directly through the website. We also list our phone number next to our charge on Mrs. ********'s billing statement. We would have simply asked that Mrs. ******** contacted our customer service department for assistance or to request a cancellation which she could have done directly through our customer service department. Upon receiving this complaint, we attempted to contact Mrs. ******** on 06/30/2013 to resolve the complaint. In this phone call we were able to get more facts regarding this situation. We show that Mrs. ******** was able to cancel her account through our website. Mrs. ******** also confirmed that the $1.00 charged was expected as it was part of our trial offer. In our conversation with Mrs. ******** on 6/30, we agreed to refund the $1.00 charged to Mrs. ******** and confirmed cancellation of her account. Mrs. ******** did confirm this resolves her concerns. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/07/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I had no problem with the rent to own .org web site as stated by the company; however, it was their other website that I was referring to. At this point I do not want to pursue it any farther but still feel they have been deceptive.

7/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I don't remember signing up for this service, and am not sure what this company does or how I signed up to be charged monthly. I have been charged around $50 per month for several months, without notice. I don't recall signing up with this company, and don't know how to reach them to cancel whatever I may have signed up for. It looks like it began in 2013 and I really need to get the charges to stop immediately. In a perfect world I would be refunded as I have been charged several hundred dollars for something I don't remember signing up for. Please help.

Desired Settlement: Since I don't remember how this started, or why, I am asking for a refund of the money I have been charged. I checked my records and from what I can see it's nearly $300 or more. I need to get the charges stopped immediately and I don't know how to contact them as I don't recognize the name of the company as being anyone I've done business with.

7/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THIS IS SUPPOSELY A RENT TO OWN FOR HOMES, CALLED REALTOR NOTHING, SENT EMAILS NOTHING, CALLED TO CANCEL MY ACCOUNT THEY SAID I DONT HAVE AN ACCOUNT, BUT THEY KEEP CHARGING MY CARD, I TRIED TO LOGIN IN STILL THE SAME..I WANT THIS COMPANY TO GIVE ME MY MONEY BACK Product_Or_Service: service for rent to own homes

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund $50.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/07/15) */ Received business response via email: Thank you for notifying us of Customer R's experience. We regret any misunderstanding, and would like clarify what happened with Customer R's account. On 6/01/2014, Customer R registered on the website, irenttoown.com and agreed to be billed $1 for a 7-day trial and $49.60 each month thereafter until canceled. iRentToOwn.com has not received any communication via email or phone call from Customer R at any point prior. Upon receiving this complaint, we contacted Customer R on 7/07/2014 at the number provided in the complaint to resolve this issue but were unsuccessful. We were able to locate Customer R's account with iRentToOwn.com and canceled the account. We also issued a refund of the requested charge as a courtesy. We are confident this will fully resolve Customer R's concerns. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2014/07/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I would recomend no contact or give this company money it is a scam...

6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The sales practice is dishonest by hiding monthly term fees in "Terms of Use". Any charges should be clearly stated in checkout process. I mistakenly signed up for this service not knowing that i'd be charged a monthly fee of $49.60. Why are businesses hiding costs of service in the "Terms of Use" documents when they should clearly be stated on the Signup, Checkout, or Shopping Cart. I feel like renttoown.org is intentionally deceptive in their sales practices by hiding this information. All details should be clearly stated up front and can be done with one sentence on the same page credit card information is entered. ex. "When the trial expires you will be charged $49.60 monthly until you cancel the membership" I am from the Philippines and i'm not familiar enough with these sort of dishonest business practices. When I buy something, I should know exactly what i'm buying "UP FRONT". Why do companies implement dishonest practices like this where they automatically charge people for their services while being deceptive about the charges. Why not block the user from logging in after 7-days and then let them purchase a membership because they really find the service useful.

Desired Settlement: I'd like to be refunded 2-months of charges in the amount of $99.20. I used the website once and it did not meet my expectations. I had the understanding that the trial would last 7-days and then I would not be able to log in after that. I did not realize i'd be charged $49.60 per month.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/06) */ Thank you for notifying us of Ms. **************** 's experience. We do apologize for any misunderstanding, and would like verify what occurred with Ms. **************** 's account. According to our records, Ms. **************** registered for an account on 1/30/2014 and agreed to be billed $1 for a 7-day trial and $49.60 each month thereafter until canceled. As a point of clarification, we display our billing protocol on our registration page and require all customers to provide personal information including name, address, phone number, email, & complete credit card information. We also require all customers' check a box stating they have read and agree with our Terms of Use. In her complaint, Ms. **************** states "All details should be clearly stated up front and can be done with one sentence on the same page credit card information is entered. ex. "When the trial expires you will be charged $49.60 monthly until you cancel the membership"" We agree and feel as though registration page provided precisely this type of information; we currently display "By clicking Sign Up Now, you agree to be enrolled in the 7 day trial for $1.00, and after the trial expires, you agree that you will be charged only $49.60 per month until you cancel." We did not receive any correspondence or cancellation requests from Ms. **************** until 5/9/2014 when Ms. **************** emailed our customer service department to inquire about charges. We called Ms. **************** later that same day to explained our billing protocol and despite our terms of use stating that all billing was non-refundable, we also agreed to issue refunds for all monthly charges. While we were unable to speak to Ms. **************** on 5/9/2014, we did leave her a voicemail message information her of the refund. Upon receiving this complaint we attempted to contact Ms. **************** on 6/5/14 in efforts to resolve this complaint but were unsuccessful. We are unsure as to the reason for the complaint as we have requested amount on 5/9/2014 in efforts to resolve Ms. **************** 's concerns.

5/16/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed for a membership then when i went to log back in using my new password it was invalid. So i tired to log back in with the old password still w without success

Desired Settlement: refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/04/30) */ Received business response via email on 4/29/14: Thank you for notifying us of Ms. *****'s experience. We do apologize for any misunderstanding, and would like verify what occurred with Ms. *****'s account. According to our records, Ms. ***** registered for an account on 3/30/2014 and agreed to be billed $1 for a 7-day trial and $49.60 each month thereafter until canceled. We require all customers provide their name, address, email, phone number, and complete credit card number in order to register. If Ms. ***** was having any trouble accessing the service we would have simply requested she call our customer service department for assistance. We did not receive any cancel requests until 4/06/2014 when Ms. ***** cancelled the service via our customer service department. In this phone call, Ms. ***** requested a refund of the monthly fee, we explained the billing protocol and despite the Terms of Use agreed to at registration, offered a courtesy refund of $49.60 in this call. We were confused as to the reason for the complaint as the desire refund had already been processed. Upon receipt of this complaint, we attempted to call Ms. ***** at the number listed on her account but were unsuccessful. We invite Ms. ***** to call our customer service department to confirm resolution of complaint as the requested resolution has already been processed.

4/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had no reason to pay for rent to own information I am looking to buy and have a local agent. I am looling for a full refund. I do not recall entering my card information to look for any rent to own properties. I have a local agent and I am looking to purchase. I do frequent the web looking for properties that I might be interested in making a trip to look at in person but not to rent/lease to own. I have cancelled "my service" using their phone number but I am afraid they are not going to refund the $49.60. I am careful with my funds, I am a single mom of a mentally challenged son and can not afford to waste money on such services.

Desired Settlement: The billing amount of $49.60

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/19) */ Thank you for notifying us of Mrs. ******'s experience. We regret any misunderstanding, and would like clarify what happened with Mrs. ******'s account. On 2/03/2014, Mrs. ****** registered on our website and agreed to be billed $1 for a 7-day trial and $49.60 each month thereafter until canceled. We had not received any communication via email or phone call from Mrs. ****** at any point prior to 3/15/2014. On 3/15/2014, we received an email from Mrs. ****** stating she did not remember registering. We immediately cancelled Mrs. ******'s account and responded to her email explaining the terms of use. We received this complaint later that same week and attempted to contact Mrs. ****** on 3/19/2014 at the number provided in the complaint to resolve this issue. We were unable to speak with Mrs. ****** at this time but have decided to provide the desired resolution in efforts to resolve the complaint. We hope this will fully resolve Mrs. ******'s concerns.

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company fraudulently listed my name and contact information on a property for sale that I do not own. I have received several calls regarding property for sale in ********** *** I do not own this property or any other property in ********** I asked the individuals calling how they received my contact information. They stated it was listed on the Housinglist.com website for a property at **** E. ********** ********* *** At 2:50 PM on 1/20/14, I called Housinglist.com at XXX-XXX-XXXX and requested this listing be removed from the internet because it was fraudulent. I was told it was being removed as we spoke. I asked the salesman to check for other listings referencing my name and contact information and he said he was unable to do this. Five hours later, the listing is still on the website. After contacting Housinglist.com, I was then able to locate the owner of the property via the county assessor's office and spoke with the owner over the phone. He did not list his property on the Housinglist.com website and was unaware of my personal information being attached to any listing associated with his property. He was also going to contact Housinglist.com to have the property removed from their listing. Again - this has not been done. I do not know where this company is getting their information, but it is not accurate and their sales people are not ethical. As a result of this happening, I was forced to review my credit reports and have spent the better part of the weekend trying to identify if I have been a victim of identity theft and if there are additional steps I need to take to protect my identity.

Desired Settlement: Have my contact information and this property listing removed from the Housinglist.com website.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/03/17) */ Received business response via email on 3/14/14: Thank you for notifying us of Ms. *******'s concern. We apologize for any inconvenience. We have looked into the situation and confirmed that both Ms. *******'s contact information and the entire property listing were previously removed from our website, soon after she initially reported it to us on 1/20/14. We have also re-confirmed this information is not present in our database and we have implemented software filters to avoid showing her contact information in the future. We also investigated the reason causing this situation and have taken corrective actions. We believe we have already acted to deliver Ms. *******'s desired resolution.

3/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My account was debited twice for a service I never signed up for. When I contacted them with my bank on the line they stated it was used 1 day. Apparently, someone used my information to set up recurring charges with this company during the holidays. I never used the service and don't know who they are they are refusing to refund the fraudulent charges. I asked when did I allegedly use this, they said it was used on the day it was activated and never again. Then he stated something about an ip address within 2 blocks of my house which still does not tell me that I signed up for this. I never even used this site. I am not looking to rent I have over a year and a half on my current lease

Desired Settlement: I want all the charges refunded to me ASAP.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/05) */ Thank you for notifying us of Mrs. ****'s experience. We do apologize for any misunderstanding, and would like verify what occurred with Mrs. ****'s account. On 12/13/2013, an account was registered on our website under the name of ******** ****. For all registrations, the customer must agree to be billed $1 for a 7-day trial and $49.60 each month thereafter until canceled. We display our billing protocol on our registration page and require all customers to provide personal information including name, address, phone number, email, & complete credit card information. We also require all customers' check a box stating they have read and agree with our Terms of Use. We did not receive any correspondence or cancellation requests until 2/14/2014 when Mrs. **** called our customer service department to inquire about charges. We immediately canceled this account and explained how registration occurs. We also verified all of the information provided to us at the time of registration. In this initial call Mrs. **** confirmed the name, phone number, mailing address and email address entered into our website as her own. Despite these facts, we agreed to issue a courtesy refund for the most recent charge. Mrs. ****, as well as a representative of Mrs. ****'s financial institution, indicated this would resolve the situation. Upon receiving this complaint, we attempted to contact Mrs. **** on 2/19/2014 at the number listed on the complaint but were unsuccessful. In efforts to resolve this complaint, we have refunded the requested amount of $99.20, bringing the total amount refunded to $148.80. We are confident this will resolve the customer's complaint.

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 6 day promotion was not honored. Could not login to cancel my account. Only wanted local houses, but was forced national. I am due $49.60 Signed onto account on 2/18 to look at local rent to own homes. We tried to login and cancel the account on 2/20/14 due to another property purchase. On 2/25/14, I noticed $49.60 was removed from my bank account for "National" rent to own home opportunities.

Desired Settlement: $49.60

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/05) */ Thank you for notifying us of Mr. ********'s experience. We regret any misunderstanding, and would like clarify what happened with Mr. ********'s account. On 2/10/2014, Mr. ******** registered on our website and agreed to be billed $1 for a 7-day trial and $49.60 each month thereafter until canceled. The national coverage is all that we have offered at the time of sign-up. If Mr. ******** had any questions regarding the service or cancellation, we would have simply requested he contact our customer service department to discuss. We had not received any communication via email or phone call to our customer service department from Mr. ******** at any point prior to this complaint, alerting us that he had any issues with our service. We would have been happy to provide Mr. ******** with log-on information for the website or simply assist in the cancellation process directly through our member services department. Upon receiving this complaint, we attempted to contact Mr. ******** on 3/5/2014 at the number provided on the complaint to resolve this issue. We were un-able to speak with Mr. ******** at this time but wish to resolve Mr. ********'s complaint. Despite the terms that were agreed to at the time of registration, we have agreed to refund the disputed amount of $49.60. We hope this will fully resolve Mr. ********'s concerns.

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My house is listed for rent/own on their site.I did not sign up with them. The house was sold 11/13 and I have tried to get it removed from site. My house is listed on the irenttoown.com site. I received a call about 2 1/2 weeks ago from someone wanting to rent it. I said it was sold. We sold the house mid November last year. We did FSBO. We did not sign up with this company. We used forsalebyowner.com. We never had it listed as a rent to own house. IT was always a for sale only house. I have left three emails for them to take this down and have heard nothing. I tried calling twice and cannot get through. I leave my phone number and get nowhere. My address is XXXX Xth *** ******** ** XXXXX

Desired Settlement: Take the house off the website.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/05) */ Thank you for notifying us of Ms. ****'s concern. We apologize for any inconvenience. We have looked into the situation and confirmed that Ms. ****'s property information have been removed from our website, soon after she initially reported it to us on 2/24/14. We have also re-confirmed this information is not present in our database and we have implemented software filters to avoid showing her property information in the future. We also investigated the reason causing this situation and have taken corrective actions. We believe we have already acted to deliver Ms. ****'s desired resolution. Please consider the following additional information. The property information shown on our website is sourced through agreements with over one hundred different real estate data providers. We regularly process updates to nearly 2 million individual property records, while enforcing quality control in data processing and formatting. The great majority of the data we receive is accurate. It is possible, in rare cases, that raw data provided to us is not fully accurate. Unfortunately, this situation is not necessarily uncommon across the real estate industry because listings can be subject to sale, removal, change, or contain an error by the source. We recognize this situation and welcome feedback in cases when an inaccuracy is indentified by a third party, such as Ms. ****. Our Customer Service department can provide assistance if an error is identified. There are several different ways to reach Customer Service, seven days per week, with a toll-free telephone number, or by sending us an email or using a feedback form on our website. In cases where a listing inaccuracy is reported to us, we will take action to analyze the listing and data in question and either correct or remove such data promptly. We will also provide feedback to any data providers involved, so they may also take corrective actions as necessary. In Ms. ****'s case, our Customer Service records show we received her initial call reporting the issue on 1/20/14. Our Customer Service Representative in turn reported the issue to our data operations group and requested the property be researched for editing or removal. Both the property listing and Ms. ****'s contact information were removed from our website by the following business day. Analysis of the cause of this inaccuracy showed a software matching process incorrectly assigned Ms. ****'s name and contact information from an unrelated real estate listing to the address she found on our website. We regret that this inaccurate data was supplied to us and was presented. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The irenttoown website only supposed to charge a 1.00 a few days later they end of charging my account 49.99 I would like that refunded to my account. Im not sure bout the date I just know its in the month of February....

Desired Settlement: 49.99

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/05) */ Thank you for notifying us of Mrs. *******'s experience. We regret any misunderstanding, and would like clarify what happened with Mrs. *******'s account. On 2/10/2014, Mrs. ******* registered on our website and agreed to be billed $1 for a 7-day trial and $49.60 each month thereafter until canceled. If Mrs. ******* had any questions regarding the service or the billing, we would have simply requested he contact our customer service department to discuss. We had not received any communication via email or phone call from Mrs. ******* at any point prior to this complaint, alerting us that she was having any issues with our service. Upon receiving this complaint, we attempted to contact Mrs. ******* on 3/5/2014 at the number provided in the complaint to resolve this issue. We were un-able to speak with Mrs. ******* at this time but wish to resolve Mrs. *******'s complaint. Despite the terms that were agreed to at the time of registration, we have agreed to refund the disputed amount of $49.60 and cancelled the account. We hope this will fully resolve Mrs. *******'s concerns. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Won't allow me to log in to cancel before being billed. Purchased a membership from this company. Attempted to cancel on day 6, they keep telling me that I can't log in/ invalid password, making it impossible to log in, even though I saved the password to 2 computers to automatically remember. I have emailed 7 times requesting a new password and nothing. They are forcing me to be billed. I am attempting to cancel, there is no way to log in to do so.

Desired Settlement: Refund money that you are FORCING me to pay. I am trying to cancel today, you won't let me!

1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had to contact the customer service department because I was being charged from this company and never signed up for the services. I talked to a customer service representitive and they only refunded me two months of service. I told the customer service rep that I expected to be refunded all the service charges from may through december. She only refunded two months, and emailed me a form to fill out to try to be refunded all the expenses incured. I also emailed the customer service department and never recieved a response back. My phone was stolen in may, and I never signed up for the services. I am not being helped in anyway from this company. They did tell me they are canceling the membership, which is fine, but i also told her I expect to be refunded all since the membership was not created on my part. Also to proof I never signed up for this membership, I would like it looked into how many times was this account signed into. When I recieved the phone number to this company from my credit union I didnt even know what it was. I would like to be reimbursed all the months of service charged and an apology letter for being wrongfully charged and having to take all this time, and different steps to get back my money I work hard for everyday. Also to help my case, the phone records from my conversation from the customer service rep should suffice in supporting me that I never made this membership in the first place. I feel there is fraud going on with this company. Product_Or_Service: no service purchased

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like all the months of service refunded, and an apology letter for having to fight to get back the money I work hard for everyday.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/08) */ Thank you for notifying us of Mrs. ******'s experience. We do apologize for any misunderstanding, and would like verify what occurred with Mrs. ******'s account. On 3/24/2013, an account was registered on our website under the name of ******** *****. For all registrations, the customer must agree to be billed $1 for a 7-day trial and $49.60 each month thereafter until canceled. We display our billing protocol on our registration page and require all customers to provide personal information including name, address, phone number, email, & complete credit card information. We also require all customers' check a box stating they have read and agree with our Terms of Use. We did not receive any correspondence or cancellation requests until 12/30/2013 when Mrs. ****** called our customer service department to inquire about charges. We immediately canceled this account and explained how registration occurs. We also verified all of the information provided to us at the time of registration. In this initial call Mrs. ****** confirmed the name, phone number, mailing address and email address entered into our website as her own. Despite these facts, we agreed to issue a courtesy refund for the two most recent charges. Upon receiving this complaint, we attempted to contact Mrs. ****** on 1/08/2014 at the number listed on the complaint but were unsuccessful. In efforts to resolve this complaint, we have refunded the requested amount of $298.60, bringing the total amount refunded to $397.80. This represents 100% of all funds collected by our company. We are confident this will resolve the customer's complaint.

1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company listed my home as a rent to own on their website without my approval. I received several calls from people asking to rent or lease my home. I kept thinking they were telemarketers who had seen my listing on zillow. Until December 30, 2013 when one of the people who contacted me sent me a copy of my listing on the irenttoown.com website. I contacted them to explain I had never requested this nor approved it. They explained they get their listings from public sources. I explained that I kept getting calls about my home which was for sale as part of a divorce and could not be rented so because they posted this without knowing the personal issues behind it, they have caused me a great deal of inconvenience. If a licensed agent did this, it would be considered fraud. There are reasons real estate agents are licensed and this kind of behavior is illegal. I asked that my listing be removed and I explained it was my intention to file a complaint against their company. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: Federal Trade Commission

Desired Settlement: I would like these businesses to be put out of business. What they are doing is not legal as they are not licensed agents and if they are then they are committing a crime because they are posting without listing agreements.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2014/01/22) */ They have called me and told me that they removed the home listing from the website, but that doesn't excuse the fact that it was done and the way they do business will allow them to do this again to someone else. You probably have similar complaints against this company already. There are laws associated with selling real estate and they break them.

12/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They have stolen over $50 from my bank account. They REFUSE to give me their business license number or let me speak with a supervisor. I am not even sure how they were able to just take money from my account without authorization. My fiance and I have been looking for homes to rent. We were not looking to get our money stolen.

Desired Settlement: Refund the money they stole.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/12/11) */ Thank you for notifying us of Mrs. *****' experience. We do apologize for any misunderstanding, and would like verify what occurred with Mrs. *****' account. According to our records, Mrs. ***** registered for an account on 11/02/2013 and agreed to be billed $1 for a 7-day trial and $49.60 each month thereafter until canceled. We did not receive any correspondence or cancellation requests from Mrs. ***** until 11/10/2013 when she emailed our customer service department to inquire about charges. Mrs. ***** stated she had not authorized the charge and was requesting a refund for charges that occurred. We immediately cancelled the account and explained we had only billed the monthly service fee once and had not charged more that the authorized amount. Due to the date of the charge, being in such close proximity to the cancellation request, we agreed to issue a courtesy refund and emailed and called Mrs. ***** to inform her the very next day. Our customer service representative explained our billing protocol and invited Mrs. ***** to visit the website herself to view the terms of use for herself. Upon receiving this complaint we attempted to contact Mrs. ***** on 12/10/13 in efforts to resolve this complaint but were unsuccessful. We were unsure as to the reason for the complaint since the requested resolution was already issued on 11/11/13. We have refunded the disputed amount charged by our organization in efforts to resolve Mrs. *****' concerns.

11/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Blind billing:the offer was $1 w/out a limitation on change of charge for service. No announcement, no update its just charged. It was done in 3 days. ID: # ********** If the $1 charge was an introductory it was not clearly stated. There is also no consumer quality that the site works except to put you in contact with a Realtor that you can contact without using the site. It is not helpful. It is misleading and does not assist the renting of homes. At this time, I have a pending charge ($49.60) when nothing has been beneficial. Not the Realtor, nor the lender we have attempted to work with have been helpful. Furthermore the realtor insisted that an out-right purchase is better. Well they checked our credit and appear no longer interested in helping us. What am I getting? This was all due to using a website that has not benefited me with its purchase/ subscription. It's only a judgment on what I already knew but they are charging me and they have done no work! They have given a helpful appearance which is not realty. It's a scam. Provide your billing information for $1 but we will blindly bill you for more.

Desired Settlement: Refund of money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/29) */ Thank you for notifying us of Mrs. ************** experience. We do apologize for any misunderstanding, and would like verify what occurred with Mrs. ************** account. Mrs. ************ registered for an account on 10/17/2013 and agreed to be billed $1 for a 7-day trial and $49.60 each month thereafter until canceled. As a point of clarification, we display our billing protocol on our registration page and require all customers to provide personal information including name, address, phone number, email, & complete credit card information. We also require all customers' check a box stating they have read and agree with our Terms of Use. We absolutely display our billing protocol on our registration page and invite Mrs. ************ to visit our registration page to confirm this for herself. We also do not state we can assist in either the buying or loan approval process. Our service simply provides listings and information, we do not assign a realtor or a lender to assist but rather provide listing information on available properties. We did not receive any correspondence or cancellation requests from anyone until 10/25/2013 when Mrs. ************ emailed our customer service department to inquire about charges. We immediately canceled her account and despite the terms of use agreed to at registration, we agreed to void the pending transaction of $49.60. Also on 10/25/13, we attempted to call Mrs. ************ to resolve the issue but were unsuccessful and sent an email to Mrs. ************ alerting her, the funds would be returned. Upon receiving this complaint, we attempted to contact Mrs. ************ on 10/29/2013 at the number listed on the complaint, but were unsuccessful. We are curious as to the reason for the complaint since the proposed resolution was provided on 10/25/13, 3 days before the complaint was filed. We have already voided the requested amount and invite Mrs. ************ to contact our customer service department to confirm. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The claim for the BBB was filed the same day as my complaint and cancellation. I do accept the refund but do not accept the excuse of their contact attempts or their billing practice. After reviewing the 800 numbers to my home, they called once. That was after I called the number to verify. Why would the caller ID not list the company name? Either way, thank you for the refund.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Irenttoown.com
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)