This business is not BBB accredited.

Rockridge University Press

Phone: (866) 744-2665 Fax: (510) 295-2484 918 Parker St STE A12, Berkeley, CA 94710 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.rockridgeuniversity.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers book publishing/sales.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rockridge University Press include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rockridge University Press
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 17, 2012 Business started: 07/27/2011 Business started locally: 07/27/2011 Business incorporated 07/27/2011 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Benjamin Wayne, President Anna McCurdy-Olvera, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Anna McCurdy-Olvera, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Benjamin Wayne, President
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Publishers - Book


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    918 Parker St STE A12

    Berkeley, CA 94710 (866) 744-2665

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered the paleo diet book on 5/9/2014 and it has been taken out of my checking account. I have not received this item yet and today is the 19th Just wondering where my product is?

Desired Settlement: Would like the item I ordered. It a present for a friend.Thank You.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/04) */ we are investigating and will revert upon completion. Thanx, **** ******* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/06/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Why is it taking so long to investigate? They have my money and I would like either the books I ordered or my money returned so I can order from another company.

7/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paleo diet info not what I thought I was ordering. Product recipes not accurate The site does not tell you the product is a download before you are charged. I thought I was getting the books. One of the first recipes I tried was way off in its measurements and had to throw away about $10 worth of ingredients. Very misleading site and purchase. Site guarantees 100% money back guarantee but does not give phone number or address to request refund. I want my $25 back pronto

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a full refund charged on my visa credit card within 90 days and confirmation the refund has been processed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/10) */ we are investigating and will revert shortly. Thanx, **** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There is nothing to accept. The business has not offered a resolution, only that they are investigating. I think a reasonable time to investigate would be 3-5 business days. It is now on 3. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/12) */ Ms. ******** has not contacted us with a request for refund. Please ask her to do so customer *******@rockridgeuniversitypress.com and provide transaction date, amount, last 4 digits of her credit card and expiration date on her credit card. Thank you, **** ******* Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/06/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The email address provided by the business keeps coming back as undevlierable. I've tried the email address with the space between customer service as noted in their response and I've tried it without the space and neither of them works. They need to provide me with a good email address.

7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered the Paleo Diet Cook Book, was charged two weeks ago, and have NOT received the book. I want a refund (29.16). Detail above is sufficient. The book was charged to my bank account. I don't care to post that number here.

Desired Settlement: I'm no longer interested in the book but would like a refund ($29.16) because I never received the book.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/29) */ We are investigating Ms. *******'s complaint and will revert shortly. Thanx, **** ******* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This was not a response of potential action at all! No additional info on my part should be necessary. I was charged for the Paleo Cook Book but didn't receive it. Now I would like a refund of the $29.16 charge; I'm no longer interested in the book because of the fact that I've waited so long after being charged May 11, 2014. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/06/02) */ We are investigating Ms. *******'s claim and will revert once we have completed that investigation. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/06/03) */ I can give more personal info (i.e. bank charge #) by phone. But I won't do it online.

7/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered the Paleo Solution Books and my credit card was charged before notification that these were not books but had to be downloaded. On 05/09/2014 I tried to order three Paleo Solution Diet Books. My credit card was charged before any notification that these were not books but had to be downloaded.When I tried to call their customer service departmaent to cancel the order their mailbox was not taking any messages. I would like a complete refund. It is clearly posted on their website that they offerr 100% satisfaction or full refund of $24.95. I do not have the order number as the page flashed off and I could not retrieve it.

Desired Settlement: refund of $24.95

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/05/30) */ We are investigating Ms. ********** transaction and will revert soonest. Thanx, **** ******* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/06/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would like confirmation that my card will be refunded immediately. And what does "revert soonest" mean exactly? Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/06/06) */ we are investigating Ms. ********'s complaint and will revert shortly. Thanx, **** ******* Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As I responded earlier, I am, expecting a full refund. I don't understand what the delay is.

6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WAS NOT WHAT I THOUGHT I WAS ORDERING I THOUGHT I WAS ORDERING THE HARD BACK COOKBOOKS THAT WERE SHOWN IN THE AD.INSTEAD, I GOT E BOOK DOWNLOADS. I IMEADIATELY TRIED TO CONTACT THE COMPANY BUT THEIR LINK FOR CUSTOMER SUPPORT DOES NOT WORK AND THEIR PHONE # SAY THE VOICE MAIL IS FULL. THIS WAS; THE PALEO DIET SOLUTION BY ROCKRIGE UNIVERSITY PRESS,BERKELY CALIF. PURCHASED BY CREDIT CARD ON 5/16/14, APPROX. 10:30AM

Desired Settlement: ALL I WANT IS A REFUND. I FEEL THIS WAS A BAIT AND SWITCH.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/19) */ We are investigating and will respond to Mr. ****** shortly. Thank you.

5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: request for refund not answered when i called the number supplied all i got was busy signal and email that was provided was fraudulant bought a book online wasnt notified it was an ebook until i purchased it and i dont have a computer jus use the one in our town library couldnt call or email to get refund

Desired Settlement: jus my 24.95 back is all i want

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/04/28) */ We are investigating Mr. ********* complaint and will revert shortly. Thank you and best,

1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: REFUND - Cannot reach anyone at the company for Refund 9/3/2013 I purchased the Paleo Diet Solution book from Rockridge Univeristy Press under the impression that is was a hard bound book. No where on the website did it identify that it was an eBook I was pruchsding. Upon receipving the email with instructions on how to download teh eBook, I immediately sent a message to customer service requesting a refund. No response. I have sent subsequest email requests for a refund on 9/05, 9/09, 9/12, and 9/17. No Response! I have called teh 800 # for ******** customer serve and for ******** ***** and wither the mailbox is full and can't leave a message or No Response! I have sent a letter to ******** ***** CEO pf ******** ***** asking for assisting with securing refund. No Response! I feel that the website was mis leading by not clearly stating the consumer is purchasing an eBook. In addition, it is false advertising in that it state all over the site 100% Money back guarantee. How can you get a refund if you can't reach customer service or anyone at the business for that fact. I WOULD LIKE MY $24.95 REFUNDED.

Desired Settlement: i WOULD LIKE MY $24.95 REFUNDED. PERSONALLY, I FEEL I SHOULD RECIEVE INTEREST ON MY MONEY AND PAYMENT FOR AGGRAVATION. HOWEVER, I WILL BE THRILLED TO JUST RECEIVE MY $24.95.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/18) */ We are investigating Ms. *********'s complaint and will revert as soon as possible. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Since I have had such difficulty getting in touch with this business, I would like them to committ to a reply by Friday, November 25, 2013. I have copies of each email that I sent and the letter that I sent to ******** *****, CEO of ******** ****** I have had to invest entirely too much of my time to secure a refund from Rockridge Univeristy Press. Sincerely, **** *********

10/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unable to speak to anyone. They don't take calls. Voice mail won't take anymore message for the last 10 days. I am trying to get a refund of $24.95 I went to purchase a Paleo diet book. I selected the book put in my home address info, credit and click the button to process the order. I was expecting to see what the total was with the shipping cost and all of a sudden the book downloaded to my computer. I didn't want an eBook. I was expecting a Hard copy book. It was meant to be given as a gift. I have call the seller/publishing company numerous times to no avail. I have tried to leave message but their voice mail box is fill and won't take anymore calls. I have left 2 messages on another extension for them and no one has called at all. The purchase date: 8/14/2013 The item: The Paleo diet solution Purchase amount: $24.95 I paid via Credit card.

Desired Settlement: I desire a refund. I have no need for an eBook. I need hard copy book. And me printing and vello bounding the copies is not an option.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/26) */ We are looking into *** ********* complaint and will revert once we have investigated. Thank you. **** ******* Office manager Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2013/09/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When I see the refund then I will consider this matter resolved. Any business that can not return a phone call or better yet empty there voice mail can not be trusted. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/09/19) */ We are investigating *** ********* complaint and will revert upon conclusion. Thank you and best, **** ******* Office manager

9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased their book on 07/25/2013 and after reading it I decided it wasn't for me. On their website it states 100% money back guarantee. I emailed them that same day and then called them twice along with another email on 07/26/2013. I had to leave messages and no one has bothered to return my email or call. I just want my full refund like they claimed. I am not happy with the product. Product_Or_Service: Paleo Diet Solution Book

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would just like this refunded back on to the card I used to purchase the book or send me a check in the mail for the full refund.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/30) */ We are investigating *****complaint and will revert once the process is complete. Thank you. ***** Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/07/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They contacted me by email on 7/30/2013 requested information to proceed with the refund. Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/08/08) */ I had closed this complaint because I received an email from Rockridge University Press asking for my info for a refund. Unfortunately that was almost a week and a half ago and I haven't heard anything else nor have I gotten a refund. I would like to reopen this case and get this resolved so I can get my money back. Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/08/09) */ We are working towards resolution for Ms. ********. It usually takes 30 days for us to process such requests. Please ask Ms. ******** to be a little more patient. Thank you, **** ******* Consumer Response /* (-5, 16, 2013/08/11) */ I would like to reopen this case because I have not heard from Rock Ridge University. They contacted me on July 26, 2013 asking for information which I then sent back to them. It is now Aug. 11, 2013 and I still have not heard anything from them. Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2013/08/15) */ I would like to reopen this case because I have not heard from Rock Ridge University. They contacted me on July 26, 2013 asking for information which I then sent back to them. It is now Aug. 11, 2013 and I still have not heard anything from them. Consumer Response /* (-5, 19, 2013/08/19) */ I want to continue with this complaint. I feel that this company has had sufficient time to refund my money and hasn't. I have never had to wait this long on a refund. Consumer Response /* (-5, 21, 2013/09/10) */ I have filed a complaint previously and I got back with you before the Aug. 22, 2013 date, but I never heard anything. Never received refund. I filed a complaint with you about this company back on July 26. 2013. The company responded to you to ask me to be patient with this refund. I excepted this but they failed to honor that. I added to that complaint and sent my response back to you before the Aug. 22, 2013 date but never heard anything back. I have since contacted the company about my refund but have not gotten a reply. This is very frustrating and while they may think that 24.95 is not a big deal; for so someone who doesn't work and is on a fixed income this does matter a great deal. I would just like this refunded back on to the card I used to purchase the book or send me a check in the mail for the full refund.

9/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 14, 2013 I bought an online version of the Paleo Diet. I was charged twice for this purchase. I want a refund of $24.95. On March 14, 2013 I bought an online version of the Paleo Diet through Rockridge Press. I was charged twice for the purchase. I want a refund of $24.95 sent to me in the mail. My home address is *** ***** ******, *********, AR *****. I have attempted to reach someone numerous times and have left a message all to no avail.

Desired Settlement: A check in the amount of $24.95 sent to the address above.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/30) */ We are investigating Ms. *******'s complaint and will revert once the process is complete. Thank you. **** ******* Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/08/27) */ This case was never resolved. They contacted me regarding my credit card information but never credited my account thhe $24.95 that they owe me. What do I do now? Please advise.

9/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: request for refund is not anwsered. no means of contact. email address given is fraudulant ***** Diet book

Desired Settlement: $25.00

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/30) */ We are investigating *****complaint and will revert once the process is complete. Thank you. ****** Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 13, 2013/08/27) */ i was contacted today by the company they stated they would be refunding my purchase. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 15, 2013/08/29) */ We have responded to ***** and refunded his money. Please ask him to contact me directly. ****** Thank you, ****** Office Manager

8/27/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I thought I was ordering a book on line The Paleo Diet with no mention on the web page about my having to download the book myself I ordered what I thought was to be a book and only after you paid for it do they tell you that you need to download it I E-Mailed them twice and tried to call twice to cancel no one answers their phone or E-mails I then called American Express and need to wait 48 hours to dispute the charge which will be tomorrow Friday August 9,2013 I have not downloaded their book they charged me $25.00 for a book I can buy for $12.00 on Amazan and have to print myself I do not own a printer Please Help Me ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: American Exprees

Desired Settlement: I want it refunded back to my American Express Card I also want them to let people know they are selling abook you need to download yourself

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/09) */ We are working towards resolution for***** . It usually takes 30 days for us to process such requests. Thank you, *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Rockridge University Press
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)