BBB Accredited Business since

Nolo

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 728-3555 Fax: (800) 645-0895 950 Parker St, Berkeley, CA 94710 http://www.nolo.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company develops and publishes books, software, online applications, and downloadable legal & business forms. They serve as an attorney referral service and also license content.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Nolo meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Nolo include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Nolo
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 2001 Business started: 06/05/1971 Business started locally: 06/05/1971 Business incorporated 06/05/1981 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Maggie Wang, Support Service Manager Mr. Chris Braun, CEO Mr. Alex Reyes, PHR
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Maggie Wang, Support Service Manager
Number of Employees

130

Business Category

Publishers - Book Attorneys Referral Service Computer Software Publishers & Developers

Products & Services

This company offers


Additional Locations

  • 7031 Koll Center Pkwy STE 260

    Pleasanton, CA 94566

  • 950 Parker St

    Berkeley, CA 94710 (800) 728-3555

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nolo offers their Living Trust document online for $59.99 but ups the price when promotion code applied to $79.99, so that it nets out at $59.99 again I went online to purchase a Living Trust document. The cost was $59.99. There was the opportunity to apply a promotional code, so I looked online and found one for 30% off. It said the discount would be applied at checkout and that I did not have to use a code. I went back to the NOLO site and low and behold, the price was changed to $79.99 with a strikethrough and the net price changed to $59.99. I have pictures of both if needed to prove this deceptive sales practice.

Desired Settlement: I went ahead and paid the $59.99 because I needed to get my affairs in order. However, I want the 30% discount applied to the monies I paid, or a refund of $20.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/06/04) */ Please be informed that Nolo does not currently authorize any coupon or discount websites to post any coupon codes. As you have discovered, these websites often post incorrect, invalid, or misleading information so we do not recommend customers using these sites. If you can provide us the coupon code and website from which you obtained your incorrect information, we can address the issue with the site to take down their unauthorized information. However, at the time of your order, there were no promotions active to where any customer could get 30% off. That said, we will make a one-time exception and process a 30% refund off of the purchase price of $59.99, which equals $18.00. The funds should reflect in your credit card statement in a few business days. In the future, please be aware that, if a coupon from a non-Nolo site is used and does not work, we cannot honor incorrect representation of terms and discounts on a non-Nolo website.

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/24/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid Nolo.com for advertising services. They promised to provide the names of leads in two counties and promised that the leads would be limited to the people who were in legal need. Instead I received numerous leads who were from different counties and leads from people who were not the people in legal need. Although, Nolo promises to refund for these contacts, the system in order to request this refund takes more time then it was worth to me. Additionally, when I canceled my service back on September 11, 2014; they chose to continued to **** my account until they used up my deposit. I believe they breached the contract by failing to monitor the referrals that they would send me. The latest referral sent to me was from Elk, which is in neither of the two counties I requested. I had called several times to report that I continued to receive leads and no one advised me that they would not cancel my account. I did not realize they were continuing to **** my account until a service representative advised me on 12/29/2014. I called and complained and was told they would keep my entire deposit. After using this service for almost one year; I received no useful referrals. I do not recommend this service.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want a refund from the date I cancelled my service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2015/02/04) */ Received response via email: Nolo has not received any communication from ******* ******* since the start of his campaign on 4/19/2013 until the date of his cancellation request on 9/11/2014. Nolo does offer education for our clients to help them achieve the maximum ROI possible. Unfortunately, since Mr. ******* did not communicate further with us, we were not able to assist him in making this program more successful. Nolo's lead credit policy is designed for ease and efficiency for Nolo and its clients. All the client has to do is select a button on their dashboard and select from a drop down menu why the lead is not valid. It is immediately sent to our Ad Service Department and processed within five business days. Nolo shows no record of Mr. ******* using this tool (and his correspondence to the BBB seems to indicate the same), as we would have been happy to process any lead credits for leads that were not valid according to our lead credit policy. Since his cancellation, Nolo shows no record of Mr. ******* reaching out to Nolo regarding any additional issues, including requesting a refund for the remaining balance from the date of his cancellation request. As a result of receiving this request, Nolo has refunded the balance of $548 to his American Express card today. This amount was the total remaining as of the date of his cancellation request on 9/11/14. Sincerely, Nolo Customer Support/mw Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 17, 2015/02/11) */ Nolo Press contacted me today (2/6/15) and advised me that they would be issuing a refund on my credit card. Thank you for your assistance in this matter. ******* *******

2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They you fill in the blanks to have a legal form made for you.THEN they tell you to go download your document at a link they demand money. Deceptive They NEVER indicated anything would be charged. The tell you to fill out the free form by filling in the blanks and they will send you a link to download it. THEN they tell you you have to pay for it and ask for your credit card. I have been getting emails from them every day asking me to download and pay. I have demanded they stop sending me these emails. I never even created an account.

Desired Settlement: They need to be up front that everything on their site will eventually be billed even though they say it is free. They need to stop emailing me!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/01/05) */ The following is what the Nolo.com product webpages state (right next to the BUY NOW button so our customers won't miss it!) for our Digital Forms: "You can save and edit the form before you buyjust create a Nolo.com account. It's easy, free, and there's no obligation to buy anything. If you purchase the form, you'll be able to print, send, or download it." We are sorry this was not explicit enough for you. Nolo can also easily remove your email from our email list, if you can provide your email address. Please contact Nolo's Customer Support at XXX-XXX-XXXX or email us at ***************@nolo.com. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2015/01/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) You are intentionally deceptive. End of story. There is NO BUY NOW BUTTON until after you do the form. Just wanted people to be aware and not spend a lot of valuable time doing these documents only to realize after the fact you have to but it. Deceptive business practice. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/01/22) */ Nolo left voicemail for customer 1/21/15 @ 4:30pm P.T. to call with more details on the form(s) she was looking at and to provide her email so we can confirm removal from all email lists. Attached is a typical Nolo form product page, before one starts to fill out the form. Customer left voicemail 1/22/XX X:XXAM P.T. confirming she is no longer getting emails but instructed Nolo not to call anymore, so we cannot get anymore clarification on what form(s) had the issue. However, we will forward her general feedback to our Marketing Dept that more alerts should be added to our forms' product pages.

10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Request for unauthorised transaction in my credit card. I was using online free trial credit score. I was canceled the account before trial period is over.i didn't get any confirmation number, until i got charged $29.95, then i send them an email about the charge. After that i received an email stating that my account is cancelled. Well i called the bank about the issue but, neither the bank or credit score merchant wants to refund me. I also called the bank to cancel my credit card before i got charged but they don't cancel or block my credit card account. Now the bank wants me to pay full balance, and the credit score won't refund me.

Desired Settlement: I either need refund from, the merchant or wave the balance from the bank.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/16) */ Nolo does not offer nor are we affiliated with any kind of credit score service, so customer has named the wrong vendor. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Never mind.thanks Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/26) */ Nolo called customer @ 3:35pm 9/26/14 to reiterate our response that we are not providers nor affiliated with any free trial credit score service. ****** stated he has already resolved it with his bank. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/09/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: requested refund as the software is not valid for ******* ******. Sent emails requesting refund immediately after noticing that the software is not valid for ******* ******. The company has completely ignored my requests for refund.

Desired Settlement: refund cost of software Billing Information: Payment Method: ********* ****** ******* T: XXX-XXX-XXXX Credit Card Type: Visa Credit Card Number: xxxx-**** Processed Amount: $42.99 Item Format Price Qty Subtotal Quicken WillMaker Plus 2014 Quicken WillMaker Plus 2014 Download Now Be sure to save your downloaded file to your hard drive Downloadable $42.99 1 $42.99 Subtotal $42.99 Grand Total $42.99

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/08) */ Nolo shows no record of any contact under this customer name or email address. However, the customer is correct that the software is not for Canada and, should we have gotten an inquiry from this customer, Nolo would have immediately refunded the customer. So...we have processed a full refund today for her order. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2014/09/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I've received the refund as requested.

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Very dissatisfied with the customer service from Telebrands wrong size with merchandise just want to return the product for money refund. My,mother placed an order for the ZipSox from TV $19.99 for the first pair and add on special offer $9.99 for the second pair the compression socks were ordered in X-Large and we received Medium. It took several weeks for the order to come. When she received them she notice that the order size was wrong .I called the customer service number (XXXX-XXX-XXXX) I did not get the 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed. I was continuously put on hold for over an hour and was told that I was given the right order. I am dissatisfied with the merchandise from Telebrands. I was told over and over that I had the right order. When I tried to explain to him and read my order # XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX I was told I received the right item. I tried several attempts to explain my invoice has X-large and I am holding medium he then informed me that they do not have that size X-large he put on hold again. I asked to speak to a manager and it was him again. I asked for a refund and I would simply return the product purchase. My mother is a diabetic and has swelling in her leg. Please help her get the money back from this company.

Desired Settlement: I just want to return their product and receive a money refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/21) */ Customer filed complaint against wrong vendor. Nolo is a publisher of books and software. See our website at http://www.nolo.com We are not related in any way to Telebrands nor do we sell ZipSox.

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ucc extented warranty on car had new tranny put in now bolt on tanny are leaking will not fix car i have already paid for this its been les then a mon ucc on extended warranty on car had it back less then a month and leaking from tanny bolts they will not fix

Desired Settlement: carr fixed

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/21) */ Customer filed complaint against wrong vendor. Nolo is a publisher of books and software. See our website at http://www.nolo.com We are not related in any way to any car repair services or warranty services.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Nolo
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)