BBB Accredited Business since

Sequoia Equities

Phone: (925) 945-0900 1777 Botelho Dr Ste 300, Walnut Creek, CA 94596 http://www.experiencesequoia.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers property management and apartment living.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sequoia Equities meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sequoia Equities include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sequoia Equities
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 02, 1994 Business started: 10/01/1973 Business started locally: 10/01/1973 Business incorporated 10/01/1973 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Melinda Pedersen, Director of Finance
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Melinda Pedersen, Director of Finance
Number of Employees

280

Business Category

Property Management

Service Area
This business service area covers California.

Additional Locations

  • 1777 Botelho Dr Ste 300

    Walnut Creek, CA 94596 (925) 945-0900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This prospective landlord failed to return the portion of a security deposit I paid them. This apartment rental firm accepted a $ 100 deposit as part of a lease application I submitted. After I was provisionally approved to lease the apartment I was asked to contact them to receive instructions and to iron out details to move further in occupying the property. I called them three times in order to do that and none of my calls were answered or returned despite leaving voice mail messages with a callback number. When I finally got an answer to an additional call they asked if I had received a message outlining their financial proposal to consummate the lease. I in fact received NOTHING from them. They claim that I did not respond within three days when in fact they did not respond to me within that period ... and they kept my money. Unprofessional and unfair.

Desired Settlement: Return of $ 100 to my bank account.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2015/09/03) */ This case has been resolved. I received a 100 $ refund check yesterday. Thank you for your assistance. Sincerely, **** I **** U.S. Foreign Service (r)

8/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been living at ********** apartments, managed by SequiaEquities. Other several annoing issues, my family member has been watched, stalked by, verbally harassed and asked by a maintenance person.This and the companies complete inability to address and resolve the issue, made our live and the atmosphere poisoned.The company served us with a few unfulfilled promises. Their communication is awful, they don't keep track on written information. Do not put their arguments in writing, and always change their verbal promises.Earlier this year I already made a BBB complaint against them, as always no reply, no action taken.The apt complex has got a very bad reputation among previous tenants that they forfeit full security deposits.That is what they are doing to me. As I did not get any help from them, finally I managed to find another place, I could move to to get out of the environment. The maintenance man in concern still kept "shadowing" my family member until last days. The apartment complex intends to keep my whole deposit, 2500 dollars! Their action is unjust and unlawful, because we had to move to avoid further harrassment. They are responsible for having improper stuff/ there is other written public evidence he has done this before to someone else/ and also threatens elderly tenants verbally. I am not responsible in any ways for my actions taken as a result of their professional fault. Product_Or_Service: apartment rental

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want my security deposit back, with only justified damage deduction witheld. I want the company to waive the 30 day notice punishment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 19, 2015/07/24) */ BBB Case # XXXXXXXX ********** Apartments / Sequoia Equities Complaint Response We appreciate Ms. ***** comments and her taking the time to voice concerns regarding her experience throughout her residency at ********** Apartments and following her move out. We take all reviews, comments and suggestions from our residents very seriously and in an effort to gather information to effectively respond to Ms. ***** grievances, we have reviewed the final inspection report from our Service Team as well as pictures and the invoices from our vendors (see attached) for the apartment turn charges in question. In addition to her comments regarding her final account charges, I have submitted Ms. ***** accusations regarding alleged inappropriate behavior from members of our staff to our Human Resources Department and we have launched an internal investigation. Relating to Ms. ***** remark about an unresolved BBB complaint earlier this year, our office have not received this however we are happy to address the additional complaint upon receipt. Ms. ***** has reached out to our office on several occasions informing us of her dissatisfaction regarding her residency at ********** after incidents that involve various lease violations were brought to her attention which include holding ballet classes for profit out of our fitness center as well as housing unauthorized residents in her apartment. Each occasion has been internally documented and as such, we have offered for her and her daughter, since March of 2015 to move without penalty as a Customer Service gesture. When she and her daughter were ready to make this decision, we requested a 30 day notice from her in writing outlining her move out date which also offers her the chance to schedule a pre-move out inspection with a member of our Service Team as well as review of estimated final utilities, etc. The requirement of giving 30 days' notice is listed both in her lease and has been communicated to Ms. ***** several times over the course of working with her regarding aforementioned lease violations and in review of her overall concerns. This being said, Ms. ***** informed us on 6/1/2015 that she has found a new home and would be moving out of her apartment by 6/5/2015. Once she surrendered keys to our office, we moved her out of our system and charged her account the remainder of the 30 days which was her financial obligation. After several conversations following her move out, we decided that as an additional Customer Service Gesture, we would waive this fee and as you can see from the most recent Final Account Statement attached, that financial obligation was removed. The rent that remains totals the 5 days that Ms. ***** had possession of the home and was moving out. The additional final account charges encompass *** cost to replace the apartment's carpet and vinyl which is discounted by $354.51 as well as the costs for extra heavy cleaning and a full interior paint (also discounted by 25% given the amount of time Ms. ***** was a resident at **********). Unfortunately the damage done to the carpet and vinyl (which was installed brand new at the time of her residency) was irreversible which warranted a full replacement. Full apartment paint was also necessary both from damages and odor from pet urine. These invoices are also attached for your reference. That being said, we want all of our residents to have a positive experience at move-in, during their residency with us, and at the point of move out. As a Customer Service Gesture, we have removed the financial obligation of the remaining 25 days totaling a $1,284.00 making the overall discount to her Final Account Statement including the carpet discount: $1638.51. (Please see attached updated Final Account Statement). We hope that the assurance of an internal investigation regarding our the alleged employee behavior as well as the Customer Service Gesture allotting an overall savings to Ms. ***** provides her with her desired resolution. Thank you, Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 21, 2015/07/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response is based on several completely malicious and false allegations, what is not surprising, and does not address the fact what we have complained about several times. There is not a single word mentioned about the maintenance staff, **************, who was "shadowing" my daughter. Several times we mentioned it to the management, they always denied it, their so called "internal" investigation did not bring any result. The environment was poisonous. The maintanance person did have exact knowledge about my daughter's daily routine, and several times he approached asking questions, whispering into her ear at the pool etc. Others also noticed his strange behavior. Of course these approaches mainly happened when my daughter was alone. Next! Holding balett classes for profit: The lease agreement does not hold anything in writing about the use of the squash room first of all. My daughter is an academically trained classical balett artist of international level. She had a few students coming in where she held not classes, but rehearsals for a Hungarian Connection Gala, and the surprising thing is that it was free! This did not bother the management until a young MALE balett dancer arrived and they were in the squash room together excercising. Soon after this they started to make bogus claims that no balett and dance can be done there. Others were allowed to do other excercises of course. The so called "illegal" resident as being referred very discriminatively is a young MALE balett dancer of color! After the chain of the events, it became clear that before the arrival of a MALE guest, having young girls practising there was no problem for several weeks! After the arrival of a young man, in a couple of days the management complained about the use of the squash room, however when I read the lease agreement I haven't found a word limiting the use of the squash room and based on our previous experiences in other apartment complexes the use of excercise facilities were used by professional trainersm coaches to hold lessons without any problem. I insist that the decision of the MANGEMENT was deeply personal, discriminative , fabricated against us. And also we have to assume that the maintenance man who saw a young man around my daughter was behind it! Very soon they conducted an inspection, during that "inspection" the maintenance man rushed into the apartment, did not care about the fire place what was not working, did not care about not not properly functioning sinks in the bathroom. He almost ran to the beedroom door, opened it..... no man found, than proceeded to the master bedroom, where my daughter was still sleeping, and did not want him to enter! He did not leave until he could not go in! Again no man found!!!! His behavior was almost frightening, after this inspection nothing was fixed, however I presume the purpose of inspections is fixing malfunctioning things. But his one and only purpose was to look around to find out if we had a MALE guest! Many residents have and had guests for extendedperiods, naver a question, but my daughter apparently could not have a male visitor, not even for a short time! I also reported many hygenie problems in public areas, dog poop , dirty sauna, extremly filthy cushons at the pool, etc.... They implemented dog poop DNA inspection, did write some rules about proper sauna use etc... Fixed the slippery pool side! This expressis verbis prooves that my allegations were true and well founded! Obviously this costed lots of money to them. Now they are taking revenge in every possible way. This malicious discriminative, unfriendly manner, and the shadowing creepy behavior was teh major reason we escaped from there. ACCORDING TO CALIFORNIA LAW: stalking is one of the reasons what makes an exception as far as the thirty day NOTICE is concerned. According to that STIPULATION, if a tenent is stalked by another tenant or by management or staff is NOT REQUIRED to give thirty day notice. This is absolutely logical that someone is not forced to stay longer than necessary under circumstances of that nature. Also , when I mentioned that there have been several attempts of entering our apartment / for the last two month/ we slept with abig table pushed at the door/ they said oh call police.... unfortunately there is crime! Also we saw people lurking under our balcony, there have been several police actions taking place directly under our balcony, was quite frightening for two women. There is some more to the story, if we can not come to an amicable solution, I will have to take this to small claims court, or other court involving the borderline criminal element of teh maintenance staff, and discrimination and hate against us on behalf of management! Regarding the damages: My dog never peed on the carpet, was taken down regularly what everybody knows, and the remark regarding the wall is ridiculous! All previous tenants complain about the same, that they rip everybody off with carpet and wall. Also the last day when we were heavily cleaning, and we have pictures taken, Sherry one of the managers on site said she would come up to do an inspection!!!! I WAITED FOR HER HALF AN HOUR LONGER, but we had to leave as we were exhausted and still had to drive to another city, when I stopped by the office to return the key, ******, tha manager was in the office, pleasantly laughing and chit chatting with a bunch of friends! She simply did not want to come to do the inspection in our presence. Thats another tiny detail about their approach, and still not everything. I hold a few more facts for the court! SUMMA: Their allegations are unacceptible, I have to take this issue to court!

1/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Final account statement wrong, it does not define charge details correctly. My account was removed from online, no access to pay or backtrack history. Sandpiper Village apartments *** ******** rd apt 36, ********* ca XXXXX. Moved out in October and received final statement to pay final charges. Looked at the statement and it indicates water usage of 183.43 dollars for past 2 months, I assume they meant full utility charges but charge details are not clarified and this is not correct. I need my final statement with charge details, 90 dollars a month of water usage is not correct. I attempted to log in to my account online to pay and backtrack history to corroborate such charges but I no longer have access to my account online, which also blocks my view of historical statements if I wish to check. I had to dig through my paperwork to find paper copies, my water charges a month are at the highest $6.66. They are not declaring correctly what they are charging me for and my water usage could not have been $183.43 for 2 months. They are giving me 15 days to pay this but they also removed my form of payment so I can't make this payment. They purposely removed my access to my account with historical statements and my method to pay them. The final statement has no contact information for the preparer ***** ******* or other form to make this payment. It is just a printout with my detailed move out charges which was done correctly by Sandpiper village staff, but Sequoia equities is practicing a very shady charging procedure. I request the water charges to be corrected or to detail the charges for the utilities as I assume is what they are charging me in an official statement and access to my account to pay and remain open for a minimum of 5 years in case I require to present documentation to the IRS or other governmental agency. And to extend the pay date past the 15 days as they haven't given me a form to make this payment and I will refuse to pay past due charges because of their failure.

Desired Settlement: I request the water charges to be corrected or to detail the charges for the utilities (sewer, trash) as I assume is what they are charging me in an official statement and access to my account to pay and remain open for a minimum of 5 years in case I require to present documentation to the IRS or other governmental agency. And to extend the pay date past the 15 days as they haven't given me a form or way to make this payment and I will refuse to pay past due charges because of their failure.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/07) */ Hello, We are in receipt of the letter from **** *********, previous resident of the Sandpiper Village Apartments. Regarding the utility charges for Mr. *********, we have researched all utility charges from the time of move-in, and found there to be no discrepancies. All utility charges (water, sewer and trash) are billed in arrears, approximately 1-2 months behind the current date. This is to allow the utility companies enough time to properly collect the metered usage. However, I have identified that the resident ledger and Final Statement states these charges as "water" charges; this statement is used for our internal office use only and represents the charges for all three (3) utility bills (water, sewer, trash). The specific charges for utilities are broken down on the statements that are mailed to the residents each month. Our records indicate Mr. ********* moved into Sandpiper Village on 11/6/2013. His first utility statement arrived on the 1/1/14 billing invoice, in which indicated billing for 11/6/13 - 11/20/13, in the amount of $41.65. From this date, the utility charges for his account through the end of his residency were billed as follows: 11/20/13 - 12/20/13 - $87.11 (billed on 2/1/14) 12/20/13 - 1/20/14 - $87.26 (billed on 3/1/14) 1/20/14 - 2/20/14 - $86.26 (billed on 4/1/14) 2/20/14 - 3/20/14 - $87.11 (billed on 5/1/14) 3/20/14 - 4/20/14 - $87.99 (billed on 6/1/14) 4/20/14 - 5/20/14 - $87.92 (billed on 7/1/14) 5/20/14 - 6/20/14 - $89.75 (billed on 8/1/14) 6/20/14 - 7/20/14 - $89.82 (billed on 9/1/14) 7/20/14 - 8/20/14 - $90.50 (billed on 10/1/14) 8/20/14 - 9/20/14 - $90.26 (billed on move out statement on 10/22) 9/21/14 - 10/22/14 - $93.17 (billed on move out statement on 10/22) With the aforementioned billing records, it seems the charges are consistent. Additionally, I have attached a copy of each billing statement that was mailed to Mr. ********* during his residency. Regarding the resident portal, this feature allows rental payments to be made online; in addition to submitting service requests, etc. The access is strictly for current residents. It is not uncommon for this access to be revoked shortly after a resident moves out. This happens by an automated system, and not directly from the management team. However, although the online access is no longer granted, the community keeps all hard copy records of all previous resident account documents. We are required to do so by law for at least 5 years after the date of move out. Additionally, it seems an online payment in the amount of $78.43 was made on 10/28/14, bringing the balance to $0.00. For reference I have attached the rental ledger for the duration of Mr. *********'s residency, the monthly resident statements, as well as the revised Final Account Statement to reflect the most recent payment made to the account. With the information we have collected, we do not feel any changes to the account are necessary. Thank you, Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I think they just admitted fault for all my points, the amount was not in dispute but the way the charges are archived incorrectly. The charges are not for water use although they say it's an internal office code this is wrong and misleading and should not be recorded in such manner. The main cause of frustration was receiving a final statement with a charge I was unable to pay because they removed my access to the resident portal that contains the payment form. I had to talk to sandpiper management directly to gain access again not Sequoia equities, that is the only reason I was able to pay the final statement. No other form or option is offered to pay this final statement and they clearly ask for this to be promptly paid within 15 days which is impossible when they remove the payment option and have other form or way to pay. Their system should be updated to allow payments to be processed even after someone is no longer a resident, and record charges properly to reflect correct usages of utilities to report properly. Not just by current or past residents but the company doesn't seem to be reporting their charges correctly for either tax purposes or other. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/21) */ We will take Mr. **********s' suggestions into consideration and we appreciate him taking the time to voice his concerns. The monthly statement that is sent to each resident itemizes the charges for each individual utility charge and is specifically outlined as Water, Sewer or Garbage. It is only our internal document that notates these charges all in one sum as "water". If a change can be made within the internal operating system we currently use, we will certainly look into this option. Additionally, the Final Statement clearly includes the address of the community, in which payments can be mailed to. Payments can include check, money order or cashier's check. We believe these are viable options for payments on outstanding balances. Payment details are also clearly marked within the contents of the lease agreement. Thank you, Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/11/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was not mailed a final statement until much later, I was however mailed a computer print out requesting for money within 15 business to avoid future collection efforts. My account online was cancelled which did not allow me to pay immediately or with ease, and if I would have waited I would not have caught this in time to complain and have this corrected. Mailing a check or money order without knowing that I'd have to allow enough time to do this is not fair to any customer. I can scan and submit what I received on my end, it doesn't outline any of these payment options and there is no reason to assume that I can just blindly mail a check to the address once outside of the lease agreements as this payment isn't for rent. A detachable stub is needed for me to keep as a receipt this was not the case with what I received.

12/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Management failed to provide a professional and courteous solution to a minor detail. I rented an apartment at *** ******* **** Dr. APT 5 at The ****** at ********* in **** ****** from April, 2013 until June 2014. Towards the end of my lease, ***** *********** contacted me on the phone and we discussed my lease. I informed ***** *********** that I would need to say until the end of May and would be vacating on June 1st. ***** *********** ran the numbers to see if it was more economical to lock into a short term lease, or switch to month to month. We had agreed that month to month would be the best option for me. During the week of May 25th I began moving out. I had casually talked to a couple of the office personnel as they were walking by my apartment, showing prospective tenants the property, and offered the courtesy of the "sorry to see you go" chit chat. I thoroughly cleaned my apartment, dropped off the keys at the office. I was told to come see ***** *********** the next day to see when my final inspection would be. The next day I went into the office to speak with ***** *********** in person and do a final inspection to make sure everything was properly taken care of. To my surprise, ***** *********** informed me that I would be responsible for the month of June because I had failed to give a "written" notice. I was never told that I was required to give a "written" notice. They claim that they mailed a renewal letter, which I never received, I only received the bill for the extra months that I stayed. She informed me because I did not give a "written" notice that they would not do a final inspection with me present. I received a bill for carpet cleaning, general apartment cleaning and for painting the apartment. I emailed ***** *********** about the charges, which eventually were all dropped, after 2 months of correspondence with both ***** *********** & ******** ******* I needed to stop speaking with ***** ************ due to her lying to me about how the case was handled. She told me she didn't refuse an inspection, when in fact she did. During my stay there was a water leak in my storage closet. When I discovered the water damage I walked into the office and reported it to the office. They never came and investigated the water damage and mold covering the walls and ceiling. ***** *********** first denied that there was any mold or water damage, until I provided pictures that I had taken before I moved out. I asked for a copy of the mold test, and was denied. I have rented apartments for over 20 years, never have I been treated with such unprofessionalism. I am sure if I look at my previous leases they all would indicate that I was required to give a "written notice". Common sense tells me that if it was that big of issue, during our discussion about the extended stay, I would have been offered the courtesy of informing me that I would also need to put it in writing. My attempt to discuss this with ******** ****** was futile as I was told "this is not a negotiation" when I offered to cover the 3 days the apartment was vacant and not out of service due to normal maintenance and weekends.

Desired Settlement: A refund of my $500 less the 3 days the unit was unoccupied.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@sequoiaequities.com Hello, We have reviewed the details of the Final Statement for ******** ******. In researching ********'s account, we found there are two (2) written statements in which reference the resident's requirement in regards to vacating the community. These statements are located in the Lease Agreement, page 1, paragraph 5. As well as the renewal offer letter that was delivered to ******** on February 20th, 2014. Both statements read a "Written 30-day Notice is required" by the resident, should they wish to vacate the community. Our records indicate that the renewal offer letter was viewed by ******** on February 20, 2014, via the on-line resident portal. As well as, the Lease Agreement was signed by ******** in March, 2013. Additionally, as a customer service gesture for the resident, the charges for damages to the unit were waived by the Management team. These charges totaled $262.50. ******** was charged based on the rent responsibility of the apartment per his lease agreement. However, the 30-day rent responsibility was revised to reflect only 18 days, due to the apartment being re-rented prior to the close of the 30 days. We do not feel a negotiation of the rent responsibility is warranted at this time. We are very sorry for this situation, and wish there was more we could do. However, it is crucial that we hold all of our residents to the same standards as outlined in the Lease Agreement they sign. Please find attached the following documents: 1. Lease Agreement 2. Renewal Offer Letter 3. Invoices for initial damages in the unit 4. Final Account Statement Thank you, Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is unacceptable. I informed management I was moving. Acknowledgement was given at the time of the phone call. This is sufficient notice. I was NEVER given a "renewal" letter nor did I view any "renewal" letter online. There were no "damages" to my apartment to warrant extra charges. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/05) */ Hello, The management team at the ****** posted the renewal letter to the door of Mr. ******'s apartment on 2/20/14, as well as mailed a copy to him via the US Postal Service on 2/20/14. Additionally, we have records that indicated Mr. ****** logged into his online account (using his unique username and password) for The ****** at Overlook and viewed the renewal that was offered to him as well. With this information, we feel we properly notified Mr. ****** of the aforementioned renewal letter, indicating his responsibilities as a vacating resident. As a customer service gesture we are happy to coordinate a payment arrangement for ********'s balance with the community. Please let us know what works best for ********'s financial calendar and we will accommodate as best as possible. Thank you, Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There was never a renewal letter on my door, nor was there one that I received in the mail nor did I view a renewal online at The ******. I informed ***** on the phone that I would be vacating at the end of May. You have my security deposit, which I see I won't be able to recover. You will not be receiving any more money from me. You will, in addition to a negative feedback/complaint on the BBB, be receiving negative reviews on Yelp, Facebook, Google +, Apartments.com, Rent.com, Instagram, Twitter and anywhere else I can freely voice my opinion about how your company has lied and cheated me out of my security deposit. If you like, I can forward my reviews of your property to you directly. Have a nice day :)

12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I came in to see apartment I was shown a different one. I was not given a move in check off list.. Had to put up with noise for 1 year . I am writing to formerly complain about Sterling Heights Apartments in ******** I moved to *** ****** way, ******* ********** on October 2013. The day I was to be shown APT 17 the manager stated she could not show it because it was being painted & having renovations done to it, so she showed me a different apartment. When I moved into apartment 17 the manager failed to do a move-in tour nor was I given check off list regarding the condition of the apartment. Within days of having just moved in l found out that the apartment had fleas. I communicated the flea infestation to the manager and Jason, the maintenance man. I remember Jason stating "we just fumigated that apartment". The fumigator was sent to my apartment a few days later. Also I reported to management that the person living above me walked all night long, 7-8 hours straight. Management dismissed me when I expressed to them my complaint or they would state " I would talk to them", but I received no solution to the late night noise that came from the apartment. This went on for a whole year, I kept telling management about the noise disruption coming from the apartment upstairs and I never received a resolution. After a year I had had it with the noise so I had to move out. The day of the apartment inspection ***** ( who was not present at the time of the original tour) came over and started pulling the dryer, washer, stove and refrigerator out. He checked the insulation on the door of the refrigerator and lifted the top of the range, no one ever even showed me that the range opened! He proceeded to tell me that they had to clean the apartment and charge me for that. I have pictures and video of how I left the apartment, and as I stated at the beginning, I was not given the opportunity to inspect APR 17 with management. I did not know nor I was informed that I had to pull out big appliances to check for dirt behind them or to check the insulation of the refrigerator door. THIS IMPORTANT PIECE OF INFORMATION MUST BE INCLUDED IN THE TOURS AS PART OF GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE. I also know that APT 17 had no such cleaning done to it before I moved in because it was flea infested, but now they start pulling the appliances away from the walls and checking the cracks on the insulation because I cleaned the apartment so well, left it move in ready, they're not able to find any dirt anywhere, so management/maintenance have to resort to such tactics. During my stay I did receive a survey to rate the condition of the apartment and apartment complex. I clearly expressed my dissatisfaction but it did not make a difference! Recently I received a bill for $125, management claimed that it takes 3 months for them to set up the water bill. I do not know what kind of process they use but other apartment complexes do not take 3 MONTHS to set up a water bill. So, inconclusion, I had to put up with a whole year of late night noise disturbances, forced to move because the noise never stopped, and on top of that my deposit was kept and I am being charged $125. Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.

Desired Settlement: I'm requesting my deposit back and for the $125 to be removed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/08) */ Hello, We are I receipt of the letter from ****** ******** . ****** reached out to our corporate office on 11/16/2014, in which we have been in communication with her regarding the same inquires and requests she has stated in her Better Business Bureau complaint. Attached you will find the communication that has occurred between our corporate office and ******. The final communication sent to ****** on 12/2/2014 stated that we were happy to revise the cleaning charges and deduct 50% of the fee as a customer service gesture. This has brought her balance down to $57.28. Additionally, as it was not mentioned in her original communication to our corporate office, we would like to respond to her inquiry regarding the water billing set-up. To confirm, the water utility companies set up the resident accounts for service. As the water company will need the appropriate amount of time to collect the metered usage for the new account, it is quite common for a resident's water billing statement to be 1-3 months behind the current date, as the water billing statements are billed in arrears each month. We apologize if ****** experienced any sort of overdue delay in this process, it is unfortunately not a process we have control over. We are hopeful ****** will be satisfied with the customer service gesture we have offered and are available for further inquiries if needed. Thank you, Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2014/12/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

7/8/2014 Delivery Issues
2/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sublet an apartment from ********** in ****** **********, 'as is.' It was not even possible to have the carpets cleaned. The place was dirty, and not well kept. As I moved in, I spent a whole weekend working hard to clean the apartment to a livable condition. The pre-move in form, filled out by the previous resident from whom I sublet the apartment, listed the carpets as stained, had many spots and were not clean. The paint was listed as touched up with spots still visible. In the form to describe the condition of the apartment the word stain appears 4 times, dirty 3 times, scratches 3 times, and the words damaged, broken, missing, not new, and many spots. This apartment was not clean or well-taken care of. I cleaned the apartment to a much better condition before moving out and when I moved out, the apartment office employee got my new address to send me the deposit check. However, few weeks later, I shockingly received a letter from them stating not only my deposit would not be returned, but I should also pay over $300 for cleaning charges including: Carpet Cleaning: $85, Cleaning: $210, Painting: $216. Regardless that the apartment was in much better condition than when I moved in. These charges seemed unreal and the situation looked like a fraud as the letter was prepared within few hours after I moved out. I moved out around noon on Saturday Aug. 31 (when the letter is dated) and their office closes at 6pm. It means their cleaning crew was waiting for me and immediately after I moved out they cleaned the two bedroom apartment, cleaned the carpet, painted the apartment, sent the cleaning cost report to the office, and the office prepared the letter to send it to me. All of these were done in 5.5 hours on Aug. 31, when A LOT OF residents move out as the fixed-date annual contracts are ended. Then they waited 12 days to mail the letter to me (as it is postmarked on Sep 12, 2013)

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I have hired an attorney who has contacted them twice by mail and once by phone. Copies of the corresponding letters are available upon request. They have failed to respond. I have also filed a formal complaint with the ********** Department of Consumer Affairs. I would like for them to be an accountable, responsible business and respond to my attorney. I would also request they respond directly instead of submitting my name to various collections agencies

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/01/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* **** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@sequoiaequities.com Hello, We are in receipt of the consumer letter regarding the Tanglewood Apartment Community, apartment ****** We are very sorry to hear of the dissatisfaction with the final billing for ***** ******* and hope that we can clarify the charges applied against the security deposit. As previously stated, ***** had gained possession of apartment B219 on an ''as is'' condition. Any pre-existing and unsatisfactory condition of the apartment upon *******'s move-in should have been addressed with the resident he took possession from, as the original security deposit Tanglewood collected stayed on hand until possession of the home was returned to us. We cannot be held responsible for any transactions which occurred privately between the occupants. The charges applied to the security deposit were prorated to reflect pre-existing conditions based on the initial start of the Lease Agreement, on 9/4/2012, as well as reflect deductions for normal wear and tear during the entire lease term. Please find attached Lease Agreement signed by *****. It is the lease holders responsibility to return the apartment to the condition as left to the residents on 9/4/2012; limited to pre-existing conditions (prior to 9/4/2012) and normal wear and tear. In reference to the charges pertaining to the carpet cleaning - the invoice reflected a total of $100.00 for cleaning the carpet in the apartment in order to bring the condition of the carpet back to the original condition. However, due to pre-existing stains on the carpet previously reported, the charge applied to the account reflected a reduced charge of $85. Pertaining to the paint needed in the apartment, this too was prorated based on the 12 month length of the residency in the home. The original invoiced amount reflected $289, however the resident was charged 75% of this invoice to allow for the normal wear and tear, which totaled $216.75. The charges for the apartment cleaning were invoiced at a total of $230. However, this charge was also revised to reflect $175 due to pre-existing conditions. Moreover, in regards to the date of the invoices, as seen in the attached documents, the resident vacated the premises on 8/31/2013; the invoices for all charges were dated for between 9/2/2013 and 9/3/2013. Lastly, the Community Manager was first contacted by the Attorney for ***** ******* on December 5th, 2013, in which they have exchanged letters and phone calls dating back from December 17th, 2013 to current. After further review of the account, we feel there are some adjustments that can be made as a customer service gesture. We would be willing to omit the painting charges in the amount of $216.75 as well as reduce the cleaning charges to $115; leaving the final balance due $0.00. After the revisions are made to the account, we will consider this matter closed, and no further collection efforts will be made.

1/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Disregard of all emergency maintenance service needs I was residing in a second story apartment owned and managed by this company. The kitchen ceiling lamp filled with water from mis direction of an air conditioner overflow. Then causing the fluorescent ceiling light to fall and water to pour through in a rush flooding the cook top, stove and kitchen floor. The lamp hit my father in the shoulder and we were standing in a lake of water with electrical wires popping around us. The fire department was called and they too were unable to get a response from this property management company. I was forced to stay in a hotel unable to feel safe in my residence.

Desired Settlement: Refund all moving expenses from April through September 2013.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* **** Contact Phone: (***) ***-**** Contact Email: *****@***************.com Hello, We are happy to review the concern referenced by ******** ******. However, we will need a bit more detail in order to come to an amicable solution for this concern. Would it be possible to gain the following information from the consumer? 1. Which Sequoia Apartment Community did the resident reside in? 2. Which apartment number did the resident reside in? 3. What was the date of the event she is referring to? (involving the ceiling light and flood in the apartment) 4. Are there any documents she can provide in relation to the compensation and reimbursement request? Thank you, we look forward to resolving this matter. Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2013/12/17) */ Hello, I have been under medical care and not able to reply instantly to the requests. I wish this case to remain open as I have a tremendous amount of expense associated with this complaint as well as emotional impact. The case # ******** (ref 24-*****) Thank you ******** ****** Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/01/06) */ Hello, We are happy to review this concern. However, we would still require the following information in order to fully understand the details and come to an amlicable solution: 1. Which Apartment community did the resident reside in? 2. Which Apartment number did the resident reside in? 3. What was the date of the event being referred to in the original complaint? 4. Are there any documents that can be provided in relation to the compensation and reimbursement request? Thank you, we look forward to resolving this concern.

10/23/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sequoia & the Alize at the Alize Aliso Viejo Mgmt Co. does not enforce or oversee its very own pet policies and procedures which lead to an attack. I am a resident of the Alize Apartments in Aliso Viejo and I chose to take residence here based almost solely on the fact that they were a "pet friendly" complex, with a ''restricted breeds'' list for dogs. This list of restricted k-9 breeds is followed by most apartment complexes as the dogs listed are considered too dangerous to have in close approximation to residence and pets and is only way to ensure the safety and well being of their tenants. To begin my dog and I were attacked by a Bloodhound aka Rhodesian Ridgeback on April 13th, 2013. After my attack I reached out to my Apartment manager to try and locate the dog owner and to ensure no other residences, including children and pets, were allowed to come in contact with this dog as the attack on my dog and I was totally unprovoked. Rather than show concern, or offer information, I received no help from the Alize management. They never asked if my dog or I was okay but just wanted to argue that they had no liability or responsibility in the matter. I then filed, on my own accord, a report with the Animal Authority of Mission Viejo. The Animal Authority took the incident report on the attack of my dog and I (I can provide a copy) and determined that the dog that attack my dog was an African Bloodhound aka Rhodesian Ridgeback. According to the Alize's own website and lease agreement blood hounds are not allowed to take residence in my complex, whether mixed breed or not. After my original meeting I went back to the Alize manager to inform her that the dog that attacked me and my dog was a breed listed on their restricted list. She informed me she had been contacted by the animal authority and the owner of the dog had just been served with a 30-day eviction notice, as the dog that attacked me and my dog was in fact on the restricted breed's list. However, 30 days has now long since come and gone and the owner and the dog that attacked my dog and I are still living and walking in the Alize Apartments. I have seen them walking as early as yesterday; same sidewalks where I walk my dog and same place where we were attacked. It is in my opinion that the Apartment management has decided that public and pet safety are not their primary concerns but that profits and renting units are far more important. I feel the attack on my dog and I was a direct result of the Alize Management Co. not enforcing its' own policies and procedures set forth by them and the lack of oversight by Sequoia Equities, LLC to ensure those policies and procedures were being adhered to by the management company of their property. If the Rhodesian Ridgeback that attacked me and severely injured my dog had just went through the procedures laid out in the Pet Policy via the Alize website, then the vicious and almost deadly attack on my dog would never have occurred as that dog would never have been allowed to take residence. Moreover, why is the Rhodesian Ridgeback still allowed to continue living in this complex when it is clearly on the restricted breeds list? I have not obtained legal representation regarding this matter but will do so if this complaint is not resolved to my satisfaction. I am requesting immediately that Alize Apartment's enforce the policies laid out in their own company advertisements and lease agreements.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that they reimburse me for my dog's emergency medical care and for all my time, like having to file this report, and other efforts to try and get them to take full financial responsibility for the attack; and to immediately begin enforcement of their own policies.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/12) */ Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/09/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am very confused. I am receiving what they are proposing is an INDEPENDENT investigation. What did they investigate? Moreover, how does the insurance company who would be liable in this matter be allowed to determine its' own liability? This is not the fox guarding the hen house but the fox investigating where did the chickens go? Of course the company that would have to pay in these matters would find that they are not liable and of course the apartment management and owners would agree with the insurance company findings, as they would be paying higher premiums if they actually had to pay out a claim. I feel ridiculous just in having to respond to their totally biased and false claims in these matters. So I am supposed to pretend this matter did not occur because somebody writes a letter with an official business header? The Better Business Bureau would be smart in not accepting this ridiculous dog and pony show as a legitimate and independently investigated matter. Nobody has even identified the "two witnesses" claimed in the insurance company's version of the attack on myself and my dog. While I have written statements from an INDEPENDENT tenant who witnessed the entire attack, including before and after, that contradicts their witness's self-serving and false statements. There were only four witnesses to the event. One was myself, the other was a nearby tenant and the final two would be the owner of the dog who lied on his application when he applied to my apartment complex and his 4-year old son. The same owner who was dragging his child by the arm telling to "keep walking", as he fled the area where my dog was left yelping, bloody and near death. This information is included in the written statement by the INDEPENDENT witness, as she described what happened immediately following the attack. In conclusion, the aforementioned are facts that are not in dispute and can be testified to. This includes the fact that my dog was on a leash at the time she was attacked and that the leash only came off after she was violently shaken, as the 80 pound attacking Rhodesian Ridgeback was attempting to kill her. If I had not risked my own life by grabbing that the dog, then my dog would never have survived. My own emergency veterinarian said that given the deep bites in my dog's rear section, head and neck, that given the violent nature of that breed of dog, that nine out of ten dogs in similar circumstance would either have be killed or have to be put down. Does this sound like we have a resolution? NO we do not. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/09/26) */

9/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am being charged for a letter that was overnighted from my former apartment complexes law office to me. I am being charged for a letter that was overnighted from my former apartment complex (*******) law office (*******LLP) to me that I had nothing to do with. It was dated March 17, 2013.In the letter the Law Offices sent stated I could stay at the apartments and ******Village not offering me the opportunity to sign a new lease was done in error. I was told on March 1, 2013 that I would not be able to sign a new lease from ******. I contacted the leasing office and they told me the letter was sent to me in error from their law firm. I talked to the manager ******* at ******. I should not have to pay for legal services that my former complex uses for legal reasons when I did not hire the law office. Furthermore; the letter was sent in error and the complex would not honor the legal services that were overnighted to me.

Desired Settlement: I was sent a balance of $180 for a final account statement due on July 25, 2013. I was sent a revised account statement on Aug. 12, 2013 for 319.27. I am being charged $138.58 for a letter and overnighting fee's from the complexes law offices. I would like to pay the original amount of $180.69 but not the added charge of 138.58 for something that I did not ask for and was sent in error to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** Contact Phone: ******* Contact Email: ******* Hello, The aforementioned concerns have been reviewed and we agree the charges can be adjusted to comply with this request. The credit on ******account in the amount of $138.58 has been applied and I have attached revised the Final Account Statement to reflect a new balance of $180.69. At this time we would like to request the resulting balance be paid immediately to avoid further collection efforts.

8/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Carpet with what appears to be mold, and patched carpet with different colors. Orders coming from carpet. I have reached out to the Property manager on June 6th, 2013 describing that the maintenance manager discovered urine smells in my carpet while working on it. I requested for the carpet to be replaced due to the carpet orders, and dirtiness after being cleaned professionally three times within 45 days. The carpet is now patched with different colors, and has been tested by an Eco Company in their lag to show heavy abundant mold in the carpet. The results were sent to the Property Manager, and CEO Mr. **** ******* Still no new carpet being installed.. I have three children in this apartment ages 2 1/2, 4, and 5 years of age. I am requesting rent be refunded from June and July in full with the deposit of $500 be refunded in full upon move out within 21 days. My family and I have agreed to move out for our health and welfare. The management has agreed to no penalties to be charged for a 42 day early move out from the lease ending. The building hasn't replied to a refund, or replace the carpet completely with padding. The carpet is dirty, orders, appearance of three types of abundant mold. The Washer isn't working and hasn't been worked on in two days since the maintenance request.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting for June and July rent to refunded in full in the amount of $1855 x 2. Also the full deposit be refunded in the amount of $500. In regards to contacting the Resident Manager onsite at Alize Apartments in ***** ***** was contacted via email on June 6th, 2013 without any resolution only to have the carpet become ripped due to the repairs. I will be moving out without any penalties on July 29th, 2013.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/07) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** ** ********* *** Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: *****************@kts-law.com Sequoia Equities respectfully denies the basis for Mr. ******'s complaint. Mr. ****** resided at a Sequoia Equities property in Southern California for approximately two (2) years before terminating his lease early in July of 2013. Mr. ****** first notified Management of a carpet issue in late May of 2013. Specifically, Mr. ****** requested that Management stretch his carpet. Management responded immediately and stretched the carpet per Mr. ******'s request. Mr. ****** then advised Management that the carpet issue had been resolved to his satisfaction. Thereafter, in June of 2013, Mr. ****** complained of an odor emanating from his carpet. This was the first time Mr. ****** mentioned a carpet odor issue to Sequoia Equities. Management promptly arranged for his carpet to be cleaned. Mr. ****** then terminated his tenancy and vacated the unit in July of 2013. Sequoia Equities is a professional real estate management company, which employees professionally trained individuals who specialize in property management. Sequoia respectfully denies Mr. ******'s claims, and maintains that they have at all times acted swiftly and diligently to address any and all maintenance issues in Mr. ******'s apartment. Notwithstanding the foregoing, Sequoia Equities is prepared to offer Mr. ****** an appropriate rental credit in an effort to amicably resolve this matter. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/08/15) */ Dear Ms. ******, I request that the complaint against Sequoia Properties Complaint Case # XXXXXXXX be closed immediately. Both parties have agreed to terms and conditions. Can you please respond that this email will be sufficient to close this complaint, and that you have received my email? Thank you, **** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sequoia Equities
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)