BBB Accredited Business since

Jalson Co., Inc.

Phone: (415) 391-1313 Fax: (415) 391-1895 201 Filbert St Ste 700, San Francisco, CA 94133 http://www.gersonbakar.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial property management services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jalson Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Jalson Co., Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jalson Co., Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 21, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1955 Business started locally: 01/01/1955
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kathleen McCormick, Co-Owner Ms. Cynthia Wong, Executive Assistant Ms. Linda Zeller, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kathleen McCormick, Co-Owner
Number of Employees

32

Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
GB & A Gerson Bakar & Associates

Additional Locations

  • 201 Filbert St Ste 700

    San Francisco, CA 94133 (415) 391-1313

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged or 10 days of rent or an unoccupied unit when I gave over 30 days notice to vacate. I gave notice to vacate The ***** Apartment at XXXXX ** ****** Street ***** ********* ** on ********** I had a security deposit of $1177.50 due to me minus utilities and carpet cleaning totaling $147.57, which should resulted in a refund of $1029.93. It took me until 6/13 to receive a refund of $557.84. I spoke to ****** at the corporate office and tried to speak to **** the apartment manager several times to get resolved. No one has returned my emails, or calls. By law any security deposits should be refunded to me with in 30 days, and I am owed a detailed explanation of what I was charged for. I had to call the office and have an assistance send me a detail of charges, and that is when I discovered being charge for 10 days of rent for $437.09 after giving proper notice.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund of the 10 days rent totaling 437.09 as the apartment manager charged me for time not in the apartment, and my Lease ended 5/1/2014. I feel that the manager is retaliating because of my moving and the loss of business the complex is experiencing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/08/29) */ When the residents moved into apartment XXXXX at The *****, they signed a one-year lease with a lease term beginning May 11, 2013 and ending May 10, 2014. The lease stated that the prorated rent for the first month was due on May 11, 2013 and further stated, "Thereafter, you must pay rent on or before the 1st day of each month. I hope this clarifies the former resident's question regarding monthly payment of rent. In signing this lease, the resident agreed to pay rent on by first of the month through the end of the lease term, May 10, 2014. The staff at The ***** explained the resident's responsibility to pay rent through the end of the lease term on several occasions, at least as early as April 3, 2014 when the notice to vacate was received. Following the receipt of the notice to vacate the staff at The ***** would have taken steps to market the unit for occupancy soon after the vacate date. At the time the notice was received there were numerous units available in that floor plan, which made that process more difficult. In good faith, the refund check in the amount of $557.84 was prepared on May 27, 2014 and mailed the following day. The check was mailed to the resident's former address at The *****, but as the resident states, "I do have forwarded mail coming all the time," so that should not have prevented the check from reaching the resident. I've attached a copy of this check to this response. The manager at The ***** did not charge rent through May 10, 2013 as a retaliatory gesture. Our corporate office didn't know of the resident's complaint regarding the 10 days rent until after the first check was mailed. The second check, sent in response to the resident's call, was received by the resident and was for the same amount as the first check. The manager charged the disputed ten days of rent as an obligation to enforce the terms of the lease. I can furnish additional documents for the resident to document the dates mentioned above. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (4200, 17, 2014/09/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response from the business is only a statement of what was already communicated. There is no resolution proposed for me to agree to. The only resolution I am open to is a refund.I agreed to split the difference with them over the matter.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Jalson Co., Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)