This business is not BBB accredited.

Method Home

Phone: (866) 963-8463 637 Commercial St Fl 3, San Francisco, CA 94111 http://www.methodhome.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers home cleaning products.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Method Home include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Method Home
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 13, 2007 Business started: 07/01/2000 Business started locally: 07/01/2000 Business incorporated 09/30/2003 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Board of Equalization
121 Spear St Ste 460, San Francisco CA 94105
http://www.boe.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 356-6600
The number is 97802063.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Drew Fraser, CEO Bri Kapellas Ms. Angela Raiford, Consumer Response
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Drew Fraser, CEO
Customer Contact: Bri Kapellas
Number of Employees

99

Business Category

Product Sales - General

Alternate Business Names
Method Products, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    637 Commercial St Fl 3

    San Francisco, CA 94111 (866) 963-8463

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The laundry pods I bought are defective and customer service does not reply to emails and phone number has no human answering or voicemail. I bought several bags of laundry detergent pods that have consistently stopped working. I emailed on January 6, the 13th, and today, with no response. I have called the phone number and there is no human answering the phone, and the message promises a voicemail, but one never picks up. All customer service inquiries lead to an abyss. I would like my money back for all of the products that I have purchased that have been defective. It is a waste of my time, money, and water using these products.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for every defective method product.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/01/26) */ method regrets the unusually long time this consumer had to wait for us to respond to her inquiry about method smarty dish plus dishwasher pods (please note this complaint refers to laundry detergent pods, but the product is dishwasher pods - we do not make laundry detergent pods). Our offices shut down for 2 weeks over the holidays and the first inquiry we received from this consumer was on 1/4/16, the day we returned from break and began responding to inquiries in order of receipt from the previous two weeks. We did have an auto-respond message letting consumers who emailed know our small team was working through a large volume of emails and they would experience a longer wait time for a response. Further extending her wait time, our ticketing system for tracking and responding to consumer inquiries was configured to update a case with each new email and move it further ahead in the queue. When this consumer reached out again on 1/13/16 and 1/20/16, unfortunately, it moved her emails up in our system to those dates, so we did not see it as an older inquiry that needed immediate attention. We've since changed that configuration so the system is ordered by date created and not the date it was last updated with additional contact. The consumer made us aware of her issue on Facebook on 1/20/16 and within an hour of being notified by our social media team that this consumer was having an issue, the consumer response team had located her in our system and responded to her inquiry. We offered troubleshooting to try and fix the issue she was experiencing and sent several free product vouchers to the address she provided to compensate for the undissolved dish pods and the frustration she had experienced. As of today, 1/26/16, we have not received a response from the consumer. Please find our reply to her below: JAN 20TH, 2016 AT 1:51PM ( 6 DAYS AGO ) To: *************** From: "Support" Reply-to: support@method.desk-mail.com Hi ******* - Thanks for writing us + for your patience waiting for a response while we catch up from our holiday break. We understand your frustration and our small support team is doing our best to respond to inquiries as soon as possible. We're sorry for your experience with our smarty dish plus pods. Usually, issues with the pods dissolving is due to either the temperature of the dishwasher water not being hot enough (minimum of 130 °F) or the dispenser not popping open soon enough. If you feel like your dishwasher is definitely getting hot enough, you may get better results by tossing the smarty dish plus pod in the bottom of your dishwasher instead of using the dispenser. We're happy to send you a few free product vouchers to make up for the undissolved pods + the long wait for a response. We'll drop them in the mail today. Thanks again for your patience and please let us know if you continue to have issues with the smarty dish plus pods or if we can help with anything else. *** As we conveyed in our response, we are more than happy to work with the consumer to resolve the issue and apologize for the unusually long time it took us to address her issue.

11/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The purpose of this complaint is to notify BBB that Method's Cucumber All-Purpose Cleaner stained my black granite counter top. I used Method's Cucumber All-Purpose cleaner to clean my black granite countertop, which has been sealed and passes *** water test. The bottom of the cleaning bottle left several ring spots on the counter in the areas where the cleaning bottle was left overnight. I spoke to Method about this and they confirmed that this particular cleaner was ok to use on sealed granite, which mine is. In discussions with Method, it offered to provide me vouchers to purchase more of their product but this settlement is not suitable, as the product would only further damage my surfaces. I'm seeking payment to repair the damaged granite that Method's product caused.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that Method pay to have my granite repaired, either by hiring a contractor to come repair the stains or replace the granite countertops.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/17) */ *ethod Products, PBC supports the BBB and its dispute resolution system with consumers. **** *. and *ethod were already in communication with each other prior to *r. * filing his complaint with the BBB. *ethod received *r. *’s complaint on *ay 5th, 2013 and last communicated with the consumer on *ay 20, 2013. *ethod did not hear back from the consumer after the last communication. The packaging of the product at issue, *ethod’s Cucumber All-Purpose Cleaner, instructs consumers to spray, and then wipe. The product is suitable for most hard non-porous surfaces (including sealed stone) and the bottle also instructs consumers to test first in an inconspicuous place. Our product is not meant for use on a porous surface and we always recommend testing in a small area first, to make sure that the product is compatible with the surface. *r. * sent us photos of his countertop on *ay 13th, 2013. Based on the photos he provided, our scientists concluded that the surface was porous (unsealed stone) and an excess of liquid from the product was possibly left to dry on the porous surface contrary to the instructions on the product. While *r. * maintains that his granite has been sealed, *ethod’s all-purpose cleaner is a gentle formula and does not cause stains on sealed granite when used as instructed. It is possible that *r. *’s granite was not properly sealed or resealed recently with his knowing. *ethod does not believe that it is responsible for *r. *’s property damage as (1) the product was not used as instructed, (2) a test in an inconspicuous spot would have highlighted that the stone was not properly sealed, and (3) the product is safe on hard, non-porous surfaces when used as directed. We apologize that the consumer is not satisfied with our response but the *ethod product is not at fault. *ethod offered some tips to *r. * on *ay 20th, 2013 to help remove the stain, but we did not hear back from him again.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Method Home
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)