BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/05/2012

i2c, Inc. (Headquarters)

Phone: (650) 593-5400Fax: (650) 593-5402

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
10/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a Readycard from the ******* Airport terminal so I could pay in cash for a few tickets I was buying. United Airlines won't take cash so they set up these convenient prepaid cards for those that want to purchse tickets with cash. I got one and had about $180 left on the one card. I went to make a purchase with it a week later and it was declined (amount declined was $70). I called the number on the back of the card and was told at that time that apparently someone made some purchases in ****** with my card (I was at work in ******** ** when the purchases were made). Obviously that was incorrect and that started an investigation. Readycard told me on 8/08/14 that their investigation was complete (I have the email from them) and that I would be given back a $161.21 credit to the card. I advised them that the card was deactivated because of the "theft" and a new one was suppose to be re-issued. I was told to call the number on the back of the card to get a new card (XXX-XXX-XXXX), but when you call that number, you can't get a live person until you have an ACTIVE card, which I do not because the card was deactivated. I told that to this person via email and someone by the name of "***" called me on my cell and told me a new card was on the way on 8/11/14. I believed "***", but as of today, I still do not have the card. I emailed this person again and did not hear back. I tried again and again to get a hold of someone to help me, but keep getting the run around that I need to call this 866 number on the back of the card which only works for ACTIVE cards and I do not have one. Only the deactivated card. I'm beginning to think that perhaps no one in ****** took this money and this Readycard is all a HUGE scam to take money from people since they cannot seem to send me the money that is RIGHTFULLY mine. I have emails and the affidavit that I signed when Readycard wanted to start their investigation on the stolen money. I need help getting this back.
Product_Or_Service: prepaid Visa card
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I just want the money that is mine that I put on this prepaid card. If they took the time to investigate and found that the charges against the account were fraudulent and credited this INACTIVE card, how hard can it be to just give me an ACTIVE card with this money on it? Doesn't seem hard, but I've been dealing with this since May 30th. I've given them the benefit of the doubt for too long.

Business Response
Issue related to **** ****** card not received was taken up with Ready Credit and a replacement card was sent out to the CH on desired address. As per the records, the card has been received by the CH and it is already in use. i2c made multiple attempts to contact the CH to ensure that she is not facing any issues with her new card and VMs were left for this purpose.

It seems that the CH was pressing the wrong option on IVR due to which she was unable to get connected with the live representative. Furthermore, the delay in card re-issuance was the fact that Ready Credit was waiting for more cards to become available at head quarters to send out a new card to the CH.

Consumer Response
Thank you for helping me with this. The company has been in contact with me and has finally provided a new debit card with the money that was supposed to be given to me a few months ago.

Thank you again for your assistance. It was most helpful!

Regards,
**** ******

08/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They have accessed my checking account to deposit small sums and have done so over a three day period. I have NEVER authorized this firm nor did I give them any information. Somehow they obtained my checking account number to access my account and placed seven amounts into it. They did not exceed $1.00 and two days later they did this again. On July 17th they removed $.58. By this time I have had to close my account and filed a fraud alert with Wells Fargo.I will be contacting the local District Attorney to see if they have any interest in an attempted banking fraud that crossed state lines. This needs to be addressed as it can happen to anyone. They did not have my debit card info, but they got my banking account number and routing info to access my account.
Product_Or_Service: None
Order_Number: na
Account_Number: na

Desired Settlement
Would appreciate knowing what information you can obtain about this firm. I ma located in ** so they are trying to obtain funds from a great distance.

Business Response
The complaint was filed against i2c, the card processor for Advent Financial's pre-paid debit card, the Get It Card.

The transactions were a result of a fraudulent attempt from a consumer who somehow obtained Mr. ****'s account information, not as a result of an action on i2c or Advent Financial's part. i2c is simply a processor for pre-paid card transactions.

Mr **** did the correct thing by closing his account immediately so that no fraudulent attempts were successful. There are a number of ways these fraudsters obtain a person's account number and routing number and the best way to stop this activity once it is caught is to close the account.

We have spoken to Mr **** and he has explained to us that he is having a fraud investigation conducted to try to determine who attempted to access his accounts. We will be glad to help as much as we are legally able to. Mr **** also explained to us that he feels he has resolution on his end since no money was actually taken and he is simply awaiting results of the investigation.

04/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I lost my "Platinum Signature Card", so on March 3, 2014, I called customer service so I could order a replacement card. The fee was $4.95, and it would take 7-10 business days to get to my residence.The 7th business day came and no card, so I called customer service back, just so I can ask for a tracking number. Their response to me was that I should just wait and if it doesn't come by the tenth business day then they will be happy to give me the tracking number. I found it a bit odd that I couldn't get the tracking number, but I just agreed. I checked the mail on Monday, March 17, 2014... still no card. I called customer service back that very same day, and explained to them the situation and also asked them for the tracking number. Every time a call is placed to them more then twice a month it's a fee of $2.95. So this was my third call, and I spoke with a female associate. She informed that the replacement card was denied and she would have to send an email to cooperate to see why it was denied. I immediately got frustrated, I asked her why after 2 weeks of waiting and calling, that they are now just informing me if this matter? Her answer was "I don't know, call back in 24 hours to see the response from corporate". Even though I really need my money, I said ok. I called back the next day and spoke with a man, he informed me that my card was not denied and I should wait another day. I explained what I had been through with them the last couple of days and that I needed a resolution, all he had to reply with was, I will waive the fee for the call. So I called back today Wednesday the 19th and the agent I spoke with told me I could get it reissued to me for a fee of $34.95, and it would get to me in 3-5 business days. I said no and asked to be connected to his supervisor, I was on hold for 40 minutes before I hung up and called back. Which was another charge.I was given cooperates number only after I threatened to report them to you guys. Still no card on the way and no straight answers.
Product_Or_Service: Replacement debit card

Desired Settlement
I want my the amount of money I started with back on my card, which was $1,533.30. I would like all the fees waived from the replacement card I ordered and the calls I made. I really just want my money, I want to discontinue my business with them. I'm a single mother that is already struggling, and I feel that they are holding my hard earned money hostage, and it doesn't matter to them. That's all I am asking for. I don't even know how long I'm going to have to wait to get a response from them.

Business Response
Fees have been returned to the card account so the cardholder can now access them.We appologize for any inconvenience Ms. ******* experienced dealing with Platinum Card support

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
My card was replaced shortly after, but I still had to pay the 34 dollar fee to have it shipped to me, even though it was their fault I didn't receive it in the mail when it was originally sent to me the first time threw the mail. So I would like that to be reimbursed, it's not about the money, but more about the customer service and the professionalism.

03/19/2013Problems with Product / Service
02/23/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
05/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I opened the Approved Card from **** *****. I want the account closed and I want to get my funds they are holding in the account and refund fees.
I opened Approved Card from **** ***** with the feature of doing transfers from bank a/c to the card. Soon after they cancelled this feature and I stopped using the card and I was notified they closed the account. I then received an email from them stating the bank transfer feature was restored. They verified my checking account with two deposits and I made a transfer of $50, which was used up with charges with no problem. I then made another transfer of $200 which has been "blocked due to fraud." I received no notification that the account was blocked due to fraud. I never reported any fraud and there was no fraud on the card. There is no contact link or contact information on the website for **** ***** Approved Card. Emails sent to ******************************* have not been acknowledged and no response received. They charged several maintenance fees in Feb. I called X XXX XXX XXXX and they refused to provide a street or mailing address for Approved Card from **** ****** The Approved Card from **** ***** is a disreputable card operation.

Desired Settlement
I want the Approved Card from Suze Orman account to be closed and I want to get back my funds in the account. I want them to send back the $200 transfer to my SunTrust checking account and to be refunded the four $3 maintenance fees charged in Feb. The card number XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX exp 1/17.

Business Response
Received business response via email on 3/26:

As per the conversation over the phone regarding complaint # 57282386 (Attached) we are responding to the notification sent to i2c from BBB.

Please find below the facts about the case.

- The cardholder, ***** ***** complaint about the temporary suspension of the her Approved Card Master Prepaid.
- Reason for the block was to perform additional verification for her Bank to Card Transfers.
- Verification was to be done with cardholder's bank during which as per our SOP the card was to remain on block untill the verification id done.
- On 02/09/14 Ms, ***** was notified via email (sent to **********@gmail.com) letting her know about the block and required additional verification.
- On 02/19/14 Cardholder called Customer Services to know why the card is blocked and CH was explained the ACH validation process and requested for fax verbally as well.
- On 02/20/14 Cardholder sent ********************@i2cinc.com requesting to close the account in response to which we instead tried to reach her via phone on the listed number
but could not get any hold of her.
- Verification was completed with her RDFI at our end and her card was unblocked on 02/28/2014. We again tried to notify her via phone about it, but could not get the hold of her.
- Meanwhile Ms. ***** had already filed complaint with BBB.
- Now we have seen activities on her card account that she has started using her card as there is a purchase on 03/02/2014 at Wal-Mart.
- Also tried to call her today and got the answering machine.

Let us know if any further assistance is required. Thank you!




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I WANT THIS ACCOUNT CLOSED. I WILL NOT PAY ANY MORE FEES AND WANT NOTHING MORE TO
DO WITH THIS COMPANY. THEY CHARGED MULTIPLE FEES IN ONE MONTH THAT WERE NOT AUTHORIZED. I AM REQUESTING REFUND OF UNAUTHORIZED FEE CHARGES AND ACCOUNT CLOSED.

THE ACCOUNT WAS UNBLOCKED AND I MADE ONE TRANSACTION TO USED UP ALL OF THE DOLLAR AMOUNT IN THE ACCOUNT. ONLY CENTS REMAINED IN THE ACCOUNT. THE COMPANY'S RESPONSE CONTAINED LIES. I W ANT THEM TO CLOSE THE ACCOUNT AND REFUND THE MULTIPLE FEES AND STOP THE DAILY EMAILS. I WANT NOTHING MORE TO DO WITH THIS CARD.

Final Business Response
Dear Ms *****,
You still have few dollars left on your card. After using the available balance, if you wish to close the card then please contact customer support and ask the representative to close out your card.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I want this account closed and the refunded fees sent to me in a check. I want nothing to do with this card. This is a request for the card to cease all emails, all telephone calls, and all text messages. I will not pay any monthly fees with the refusal to close this account. I am requesting the account closed now. I want nothing to do with this card.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Prepaid Debit/Credit Cards, Payment Processing Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.