BBB Accredited Business since

Magic Plumbing, Inc.

Phone: (415) 441-2255 View Additional Phone Numbers 2261 Market St Ste 120, San Francisco, CA 94114 http://www.magicplumbing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers plumbing, draining, remodeling and heating services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Magic Plumbing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Magic Plumbing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Magic Plumbing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 29, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated 01/05/1998 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Rowe, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Rowe, President
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Sewer Inspection Water Heaters - Repairing Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Heating Contractors


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Magic Plumbing, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2261 Market St Ste 120

    San Francisco, CA 94114 (415) 639-9042 (415) 441-2255

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired to fix leak, they told me to fix cracks in caulking, charged $200 for 'leak search' Later leak reoccured, another plumber fixed in 2 hours. May 12, 2015 I called the dispatcher and described the issue: when used dishwasher/kitchen sink, day water poured down from outside wall. I explained that I had old cast iron/galvanized steel drain pipes. They said they were equipped to fix the issue. The tech came and looked for source of leak inside the house, both in kitchen and above it in bathroom. Found that by splashing water in bath, could produce droplets of water in jacuzzi pump access niche. He said the problem was cracked grout around bathtub, charged $200 for "leak search" and left. I would fix the cracks of course, but I did not believe this would produce the abundant water flow I observed (I had dirt covering my garage door from backsplash). I pointed this out to the tech, who just shrugged. Too months later the leak was back and very severe. I spoke to owner, asking to refund the $200 or apply to really fixing the issue. He claims that this could very well be a different leak, so no, the best he could offer would be a much smaller discount on another repair which would be $600 or more, depending on amount of work. Grudgingly, I made an appointment, but later had to cancel. I finally had the problem fixed. Another company sent 2 guys, who immediately opened up the ceiling in garage and found corroded galvanized steel 2" pipe and leaking connection to cast iron knee. In 2 hours, after making 2 more openings in the walls, they replaced 2 sections of new pipe and 2 new knees. And my cost was $400 labor + $33 for parts. Since the 4-inch drain is hanging under garage ceiling, all connections to it are visible, so it's evident that there are no other drain pipes in this area of house, and this could not have been 'another leak'.

Desired Settlement: I would like $200 they charged for leak search to be refunded, because 1. I did not hire for leak search. 2. They did not find it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/09/16) */ This is the second time responding to this complaint as the customer also filed with Angie's List. For the record, I already sent a $20 check to the customer as a counter offer to his request for a refund. That is all Magic Plumbing is willing to offer refund. I will paste below the letter I submitted to Angie's List in response to this complaint, but first want to reiterate the most important aspect of this complaint that makes it unjustified, at least in the eyes of the service provider. Magic Plumbing was called out to inspect a leak, which we did, and did in fact find a plumbing leak. We charged for our time and left. 10 weeks later the customer calls back to say we never fixed the problem. This is the basis for our stance on the complaint. Why would it take 10 weeks for a customer to call us back about a leak we were looking for that wasn't found? It would seem a call for this leak would have happened shortly after our visit if this leak was still present. Instead, the call for a return trip is make almost 3 months later. Upon receiving the call from Mr. ******* it was simply stated that I make no promises of any warranty or refunding of money but would take into consideration monies already spent. However, before making any determinations a technician needed to see what was going on so we could move forward with a solution. Magic Plumbing was never afforded the opportunity. A more detailed account of the interaction between myself and the customer is detailed below in the letter I submitted to Angie's List. Please bear in mind this letter was written on 8/17/2015 and since then I have refunded $20 to the customer. In response to Mr. *******'s complaint, Magic Plumbing will not honor the request for a refund. The reasoning behind this decision is described in detail below. A leak search in itself is a billable service. It promises no resolution or repair, simply expertise and time spent looking for a leak source. In this instance, we were called out to investigate a leak from the dishwasher into the garage. We ran the dishwasher, and the kitchen sink, and the ice maker on the fridge, and all fixtures on both the 2nd and 3rd floors before finding a leak from a crack around the tub that needed to be caulked. We were not able to produce any other leaks so it was assumed our job was complete. We charged $200 which was paid by Mr. ******* without any complaint. This was on May 12th. On July 28th, well over two months from our initial visit, we receive a call from Mr. ******* who inquires as to our warranty. I tell him that a leak search is not a repair but a service and doesn't carry a warranty. He announces there is still a leak and we didn't fix the problem. I acknowledge that we didn't fix the problem because we didn't find a problem, other than the tub crack which he fixed himself. I offered to send another technician back to investigate further, he asked me if there would be another charge. I told him it all depended on how the visit unfolded but that I would be fair and of course would take into consideration the $200 he had already spent. Though sympathetic to the fact there had been money already invested, a leak we investigated ten weeks ago that seemingly has returned does not make us responsible for the leak. After a bit of back and forth trying to explain my position on the matter, Mr. ******* asked if we can open a wall and fix a leaking drain line because he seemed to have determined where the problem was. I said yes, of course. He asked how much it would cost. I told him there was no way for me to price a job without having a technician see it first. Mr. ******* insisted I provide a price so I said gave him my best guess of $600. Again, there is no logical way for me, the service manager-not even a technician, to price a job site unseen, but I did anyway against my better judgment. Insisting I credit back the original $200 of the repair, I agreed to discount the service $100. Admittedly, I backed off of that promise instead offering 10% discount, but again reiterated that I would be more than fair and just wanted to fix the issue. Mr. ******* agreed to have a technician stop by the following day. The next morning, before the schedule time, Mr. ******* cancelled the appointment. I later learned by reading his review he hired another company who completed the repair for less than I quoted. I'm certainly glad the problem was resolved though comparing the price to my site-unseen quote is a bit unfair and should not be an indictment on my company's integrity. In the end, it's unfortunate this situation escalated to the level it has. If Magic Plumbing was afforded the opportunity to return and further investigate the leak, I'm confident a resolution to Mr. *******'s satisfaction would have been reached. It is never our intent to leave customers dissatisfied and we go to great lengths to ensure this doesn't happen. As an Angie's List customer, there should have been a 5% discount applied to the service which was not. I will gladly mail a check for the difference to Mr. *******. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/09/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Angie's List advised me to contact BBB. The $20 was never offered and I am not accepting $20. Here is why: I hired them to fix the leak, not to detect it. I specifically asked the dispatcher if they were equipped to open up walls and deal with old cast iron pipes. 2. When their technician arrived in May he would not open up the wall and that's the crux of the matter - they did not do what they were asked to do. Instead the serviceman spent a long time looking for an alternative cause and unfortunately was able to find it - he blamed cracks in bathroom calking for the leak. Though I was doubtful, I had no proof that he was wrong, so I paid. Once I saw the pipe being replaced by another provider, it became clear to me that I paid Magic Plumbing $200 for nothing. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/10/09) */ After careful consideration, Magic Plumbing is standing by it's decision and will not be offering a refund. It is always in our best interest to fulfill our customer's expectations, and this instance was no different. If afforded the opportunity I'm confident Magic Plumbing would have resolved the issue to the customer's satisfaction, however that was not the case. It took nearly three months for the customer to advise Magic Plumbing the leak we were originally looking for was still present. After making an appointment to have our technician come back out the customer decided to cancel and chose to hire another company. We respect the customer's decision as sometimes its best to explore other options. I hope our decision can be respected as well. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2015/10/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Magic Plumbing have not offered any solution. They seem to try and subvert the BBB dispute resolution process with verbose vacuous statements.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Magic Plumbing, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart