BBB Accredited Business since

In & Out Plumbing

Phone: (415) 440-2810 Fax: (650) 240-1828 View Additional Phone Numbers   http://www.inandoutplumbing.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial plumbing services including drain and sewer cleaning.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that In & Out Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for In & Out Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on In & Out Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 09, 2006 Business started: 05/22/2006 Business started locally: 05/22/2006 Business incorporated 02/01/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 878184.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Atef Abbas, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Atef Abbas, Owner
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Water Heaters - Repairing Bathroom Remodeling Leak Detection Kitchen Remodeling Pipe Inspection

Service Area
This business service area covers: San Mateo and San Francisco County.
Alternate Business Names
In & Out Drain Cleaning, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

In & Out Plumbing has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misrepresented work activities, and grossly and flagrantly overcharged for service performed. We called In and Out plumbing on 12/20/15 to service a leaking flushtometer in an apartment. They came 12/21/15. They claimed that, despite being professional plumbers, they did not know how to turn the building water off to perform the service, and not they, but a 'certified building engineer' had to do it, and it would entail a $971.00 charge! Needless to say, our manager said no, and that she would handle the water shut off needs. The plumber went to the supply store to get parts and our building manager, under the guidance of our own building engineer, with his time being billed to us, turned off the water supply. This comprised no more than turning off the power to the boiler and pump, going to the garage, and identifying the right valve to shut the water off. It was a less than five minute operation. The plumber upon returning from the supply store, with our building manager's help, then briefly drained the water lines. The plumber then repaired the flushtometer in 30 to 45 minutes. The plumber then told our building manager to sign the work paper. The next day she realized they charge for work not performed, that is turning off the building water which not they, but she, did, and that they both grossly flagrantly overcharged for the work perfumed. Let it be known that this is a common type repair in the building which other plumbers have done. A search of our records demonstrated that the maximum we have paid for such a repair, including the plumbers themselves turning off the water and draining the lines without any help from us, is $300. It is generally less. Our building manager then called In and Out multiple times over multiple days starting the day after she signed the paper she was told to by the plumber, to speak to them to resolve the miss-billing. It is understood from In & Out that that person is Anthony. On her last call a Jenifer told her she was having him call her. He never did. We then received an In and Out bill for the work for the amount of $975. On January 12, 2015, I emailed and sent a USPS letter copy to Anthony and In & Out, explaining the situation in detail and the attempts to have this addressed. The letter included letting them know that it was wrongly billed, and requested them to promptly send a corrected bill, which in any measure of reasonableness, does not exceed $300, and in a majority of cases will be less than $300 even when the plumber turns off the building water himself (which In and Out's plumber did not do). Despite our multiple times and methods of reaching out to In and Out to have the wrong billing corrected we have received no reply or communication.

Desired Settlement: We called In and Out plumbing on 12/20/15 to service a leaking flushtometer in an apartment. They came 12/21/15. They claimed that, despite being professional plumbers, they did not know how to turn the building water off to perform the service, and not they, but a 'certified building engineer' had to do it, and it would entail a $971.00 charge! Needless to say, our manager said no, and that she would handle the water shut off needs. The plumber went to the supply store to get parts and our building manager, under the guidance of our own building engineer, with his time being billed to us, turned off the water supply. This comprised no more than turning off the power to the boiler and pump, going to the garage, and identifying the right valve to shut the water off. It was a less than five minute operation. The plumber upon returning from the supply store, with our building manager's help, then briefly drained the water lines. The plumber then repaired the flushtometer in 30 to 45 minutes. The plumber then told our building manager to sign the work paper. The next day she realized they charge for work not performed, that is turning off the building water which not they, but she, did, and that they both grossly flagrantly overcharged for the work perfumed. Let it be known that this is a common type repair in the building which other plumbers have done. A search of our records demonstrated that the maximum we have paid for such a repair, including the plumbers themselves turning off the water and draining the lines without any help from us, is $300. It is generally less. Our building manager then called In and Out multiple times over multiple days starting the day after she signed the paper she was told to by the plumber, to speak to them to resolve the miss-billing. It is understood from In & Out that that person is Anthony. On her last call a Jenifer told her she was having him call her. He never did. We then received an In and Out bill for the work for the amount of $975. On January 12, 2015, I emailed and sent a USPS letter copy to Anthony and In & Out, explaining the situation in detail and the attempts to have this addressed. The letter included letting them know that it was wrongly billed, and requested them to promptly send a corrected bill, which in any measure of reasonableness, does not exceed $300, and in a majority of cases will be less than $300 even when the plumber turns off the building water himself (which In and Out's plumber did not do). Despite our multiple times and methods of reaching out to In and Out to have the wrong billing corrected we have received no reply or communication.

2/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Incomplete work and damage to my home then the employee lied to cover for himself and tech. We had a leak underneath our half bath toilet which was causing damage to the soffit and a gas line in our garage. We had ****** come out and diagnose the issue and agree to the repair. One the repairs began, large orange-brown hand prints appeared on the walls the first day of the job. My wife and I noticed this but figured the tech would clean this up the next day at the completion of the job. Well the next day, the job was finished and I was called to pay the bill since I was not home. I returned home to inspect the work before paying. Good thing! The job was not complete and the hand prints were all over the walls still. Additionally the tile floor that had been just fine before the repairs, now sounded like you were walking on broken egg shells. During the removal of the toilet, they had somehow managed to loosen the tiles from the subfloor. The grout was cracked but thankfully no tile were. Of course I contact the company to come out and finish the job and clean up the mess. In addition I let them know they had damaged the home. When they arrive the supervisor - ****** - says there is no way they could have caused the hand prints. He says they could have come from the contractors working in a separate section of the home when they came to use the bathroom. I have a hard time believe this SINCE THE BATHROOM DIDN'T HAVE A TOILET FOR THE 2 DAYS!! I also have a video showing the toilet removed and the hand prints on the wall from the first day of the repair. So I show ****** the pictures and video I have and he maintains there is no way he caused this damage. ****** sticks to his lie. Now I ask him about the tiles that sound like broken eggs shells and he says it was like that before the repair and is from the leak. He says that there is no way they could have broken the grout or loosened it from the subfloor in their repairs. ****** claims to have pointed this out to my wife on the first day - my wife said the only thing she talked to ****** about was where to get started and confirmed the end time the following day. There was no communication about additional work or possible additional repairs required. Which is really interested because ****** was the person who did the initial quote. So either he is inept or lying again. The last thing was they had not even resealed the toilet back to the floor. ****** admitted he never actually checked the room before leaving the site and calling for payment. At this point ****** just continues to lie and lie some more to my face about how none of this was his fault. I tell him to finish the seal to the floor and get out of my house. ****** finished the seal and ask for payment and I gave him a check. He asked if I wanted to talk to the owner and I said yes. ****** called him on the spot. The owner, *******, picked up and ****** proceed to tell him the scenario and accuse me of being abusive. After approx a 5 minute conversation ****** asked if ******* would like to speak with me - well ******* was too busy to talk with me and hung up. It has now been a full business day and I haven't heard from *******. I called the main office to speak with ******* and I was told he was busy and out of the office. Pretty clear In & Out Plumbing isn't really interested in quality or customer satisfaction as long as they get their money.

Desired Settlement: I am looking to hear an apology from ******* for the behavior of his employee. Additionally I would like to find a resolution on how they are going to fix the tiles in my bathroom.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/11/20) */ In response to the complaint listed below, the customer was doing some renovation to his house himself. He hired us (see attached invoices for the work we performed). The customer is claiming we damaged his tile and the tile became loose throughout the bathroom. The tiles in the bathroom were poorly installed by the customer himself. According to him, he was doing the majority of the work himself. In regards to the hand prints on the wall, I spoke to him personally, and I visited the site. I did not observe and hand or fingerprints on the walls. When I asked the customer where are the finger/hand prints on the wall, I was told he already cleaned it up. I asked the customer how long it took him to clean it and told him I would compensate him for his time as a courtesy. Even though I did not observe any prints. He was given a $100 credit towards his invoice. He was happy with that. I am surprised and shocked to see this complaint. I do believe he wanted more money to be credited towards the actual job and believe that is why he filed a complaint. He was trying to take advantage of my kindness. Please call me with any questions. Thank you for your time. **** ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/11/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response from the company is almost completely fictitious. Let me set the record straight: - The company credited me $100 on my invoice for the time I spent cleaning my house - after I showed them the video and pictures of the finger/hand prints all over my walls. - I told the company I had already filed the BBB complaint as they stood in my bathroom agruing with me - so if I wanted more money off, I would have asked for it in the original complaint. - I did not install any of the tile in my house, it was install well before I bought the house only last year. In fact part of the company's defense to me was that it was old......interesting. - I have several contractors doing my remodel, this was just one. I am not completing any of the work myself. All the work until now has been professionally done and people have cleaned up after themselves and respected my house. This company most certainly did not. I finish by saying that the response from the company paints me as a liar and greedy. However, the real facts would seem to point out that In & Out Plumbing consistently lies to cover for themselves and lack of quality workmanship. I asked for them to fix my floor and an apology. I got $100 and the accusations and lies in response. Do not use this company under any circumstances.

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with inandoutplumbing in Feb. 2013 to repair sewer line. They said they guaranteed their repair for 5 years on invoice. Now July 2014 I again have clog in sewer line at same area as their repair. They offered to come out redo area but warned me that I may be charged again. Having no faith in them I called another plumbing company to find and do the repair. Their findings showed clog at spot of old repair. The new plumber made repairs and also put in clean outs which the inandoutplumber should have done as good plumbing practices.I have extensive damage in my basement due to sewage over flow but at this time I am only asking for the refund of $2160 which I paid Inandoutplumbing.They advertised 10% discount to seniors. I feel that this is a sham because they refused to give it to me (I am 74yr old lady) until I made a big fuss. They said it was already figured in. They charged $600 over what new plumber charged. Inandoutplumbing says I do not get a refund because it worked well for 1-1/2 years but I am a single lady and don't have the use that a family or couple might have and nothing but toilet paper ever goes down the drain. I think toilet has been catching on their faulty repair cite and over time accumulated. Product_Or_Service: Feb. 2013 Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund of $2160

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/30) */ Tis is the email I sent Ms ******** **** Hello I offered you to come in and camera the line for free to look at the pipes underground and I called you the following day to let you know we can come in and take a look you brushed of the phone and hung up your sewer line has been working for almost 2 yrs we don't warranty back ups the warranty on the pipe it self if you decided to Hire anther company to do any work that's your choice . The back ups are not our responsibility .My offer still stand to come in and free camera inspection .If you choose to hire attorney thats your choice please have him contact me in writting I will give him the company attorney info. Have a good day and God bless Thanks ******* XXX-XXX-XXXX


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on In & Out Plumbing
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart