BBB Accredited Business since

Heise's Plumbing, Inc.

Phone: (415) 333-0704 260 Ocean Ave, San Francisco, CA 94112 http://www.heisesplumbing.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial remodels, repiping and repairs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Heise's Plumbing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Heise's Plumbing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Heise's Plumbing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1950 Business started locally: 01/01/1950 Business incorporated 01/02/2007 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Costello, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Costello, Owner
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Garbage Disposals - Household Fire Protection Consultants Fire Protection Contractor Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Pipe Inspection

Service Area
Area Business Services: San Francisco Bay Area.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Heise's Plumbing, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 260 Ocean Ave

    San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 333-0704

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a leak in my ceiling. Called this plumber to assess where the leak was coming from. The leak was below where the upstairs bathroom is. The owner of the company sent somebody from his company to determine the cause of the problem. The person who is listed on the bill as a "mechanic", spent 15 minutes here, looked at the ceiling, checked the bathtub drain and waste overflow, shook the toilet and looked at some tiles around the bathtub, and said that the leak may possibly be due to "bad tile and grout". Did not offer to fix the problem or give a definitive recommendation as to rectify the problem. Then sent a bill for $142. This company advertises in the local Yellow Pages "Free Estimates" and when I called did not indicate that he charges a fee for having somebody come out to determine the cause of the problem. I sent him a good faith check for $50 even though he neither gave me an estimate, found the cause of the problem or even recommended anyone who could determine the cause of the problem.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want the company to refund the money that I gave them and I want them to be required to remove the "Free Estimate" ad in the local Yellow Pages and anywhere else where they advertise it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/02/10) */ We were called out to the customers home to check for a leak through the ceiling. There was evidence of an old leak. We checked tub drain and waste and overflow. The plumber determined it was possibly a leak through the grout or tile. We were never requested to give an estimate. We were requested to repair a problem. We charge a minimum fee of $142.00 and we gave the customer a bill for only a half hour of service as we did not make any repairs. The bill is for $71.00 and the customer made a payment of $50.00. We are willing to waive the additional $21.00 balance. Our ad states all repair work is charged on a time and material basis. And free estimates are given upon request. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/02/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the response from the business because they fail to admit that their ad is ambiguous and deceptive so they can charge for an initial visit without actually telling the customer. I have called 5 plumbing business in San Francisco yellow pages that had ads for free estimates and they all said that they do not charge to come to your house to determine the cause of a plumbing problem. And as with any other contractor I have used in the past with a yellow pages ad that said "free estimates", not a single one has charged for their assessment whether or not they went on to do the work. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2016/02/18) */ When our plumber went out to the job he did all the testing he could without opening the ceiling. He could not see an apparent leak. He told the customer that the leak could possibly be from the tile and/or grout. We do not repair tile or grout problems. Any further evaluation would have had to had the ceiling opened. We were never asked for an estimate. If we had been asked for an estimate we would have stated that the ceiling would have to opened to correctly gauge the problem. Our ad does state free estimates. It also states repair jobs done by the hour. We billed the client for 1 hour minimum. He called and complained and we reissued a bill for 1/2 hour charge although our minimum is 1 hour. If the client had called and said he wanted the ceiling opened we would have gone back out and taken care of it.

12/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 11/3/14-Called Heise's Plumbing and was given a quote, by Dave, for a 40Gal Water Heater for $800. Billing Received 11/6/14 was for $1200. On Nov 3, 2014 (Monday at 8:00am) telephoned Heise's Plumbing (phone XXX-XXX-XXXX) for a new water heater. I asked for a 30Gal but Dave advised a 40Gal because it is much cheaper. 40Gal plus installation will be $800. **** arrived @ 9:00am to install water heater. On Nov 6 received billing statement for $1200. Quote was for $800. Had daughter send e:mail (Nov X XXXX) requesting a detailed billing to explain "why" the billing sent was over the original $800 quote. Have yet to receive reply.

Desired Settlement: That Heise's Plumbing abide by the original quote given of $800.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/20) */ When the client call she was quoted $1200.00 to provide and install a 40 gallon water heater. It was explained to her that a 30 gallon water heater would cost $1250.00 to install. The cost of JUST THE WATER HEATER WITHOUT installation is $800.00. The client called and we explained the misunderstanding and gave her a $100.00 credit for the misunderstanding. I received an email from one of her children on 11/7 requesting a break down of the bill and an explanation. This was immediately sent out. We have had no other communication from the client.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Heise's Plumbing, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart