BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/15/2010

24/7 Rooter And Plumbing, Inc.

Phone: (415) 586-6851Fax: (415) 680-1532View Additional Phone NumbersSan FranciscoCA 94102

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers plumbing services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/15/2010

BBB has determined that 24/7 Rooter And Plumbing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered 24/7 Rooter And Plumbing, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised 24/7 Rooter And Plumbing, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
03/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Breech of contract, code violations, lack of permits, overcharging customer, refusing to provide itemized invoice.
On Jan. 7th I called 24/7 Rooter to replace a water heater in an emergency situation. When they arrived turned off all water and heat and promptly left the property without my authorization to either turn off the water and heat or to leave it turned off.

When I finally got a hold of the plumber he said he was going to pick up a new water heater and would be back in an hour. (7) hours later he still did not show up. When he finally arrived he worked for two hours and provided me with a $2,100 bill. No water or heat in house for the entire (7) hours he was gone. Efforts to contact the office or the plumber during this time were unsuccessful.

Upon doing some research I discovered that 24/7 Plumber had never pulled a permit for the water heater even though they invoiced me $400 for said permit. When I asked to see a copy of the (non-existent) permit the owner finally pulled one on Jan 14 more than a week after the install was completed.

When I went to have the work inspected it turns out the plumber had done the job according to code. There were many code violations and even worse the sub standard work created a fire hazard in my home. 24/7 Rooter and Plumbing refuses to rectify this situation and get the work up to code despite a one year warranty on service. I need to now pay another plumber to come out and fix the mess they made to avoid code violations in my home.

I have been in written contact with the company and besides offering me a $300 discount on the service they have done nothing to apologize or to rectify the situation.

They refuse to fix the code violations they have caused and refuse to provide me with an itemized invoice breaking down the cost of parts and labor.

After a threat to place a lien on my home I sent a check to them for $1,800 which was the owners discounted offer to me. Although I have paid in full, I continue to protest the invoice for the issues above. Namely that they did not do the work according to code, they did not pull a permit before work started, and they refuse to provide a detailed itemized invoice.

I also believe they breached the oral contract with me when the plumber told me he was giving this job top priority and would be back in an hour. I later discovered the plumber went to another job (2) hours away and did not return until he was finished with that job over (7) hours later.

Initial Business Response
Dear Customer,
Let me start by apologizing for our busy scheduled on January 07, 2014.
You called our company and said that you had a water heater leaking and needed service.
I notice that you were a repeat customer and was in need of a fast response to make sure the water heater didn't cause any further damage. ****** was busy on another job but I pulled him out because I wanted to make sure that the water heater wasn't causing any damage to your house. He went to your house and did An Emergency shutdown to prevent any damage to your property. Turn off gas, water and drain if necessary. Our goal is to make sure that the water heater is safe after our emergency shutdown. According to your letter he didn't get a price approval to do this and for this I apologize. He knew you were a repeat customer and he probably assumed you wanted the emergency shut down before he get on the phone and get a price approval. I apologize for ****** not calling you before he started the shutdown. We do a lot of work for property managers in San Francisco and we always want to make sure to stabilize the situation before we get on the phone with property managers to prevent further damage. I assume ****** took this call the same way, so I apologize. I will make sure to note your account to never do any work regardless the nature of the call until they get on the phone and get approval from you first.

In your letter you are concerned of the quality of work based on us taking too long to get to your house to install the water heater. Please rest assure our quality of work is guaranteed, Furthermore you will get a copy of the Plumbing permit signed by the building inspector with a final Saying everything is up to code.
The way it works we meet the inspector to get a final if there is a correction notice we take care of the correction and then he signs the permit with a final.

24/7 Rooter does not charge by the hour we charge by the job.

****** gave you an estimate of $2163.00 and you approved the price. I don't understand why you
Are disputing the charges of the water heater installation after the job was complete.

24/7 Rooter works with Price guides, so our plumbers can get prices.

$1889.69 Value Rate Rheem Shorty 40 gallon Prog38s-36 NG Short LO NOX Parts and Labor
$375.75 Value Rate Difficult Access
$277.56 Permit from city of Berkeley permit # XX-XXXX
$200 Permit Inspection with Inspector for Final
$0.00 Installed new water shut off (Included in the water heater installation)
$0.00 installed new Gas Valve and supply hose( included in the water heater
Included.)
$0.00 Installed new flute pipe included in the water heater installation.
$0.00 installed new Smitty Water heater Pan( incl in the water heater install)
$2743.12 Total price
($580) Repeat customer Discount
$2163.12 Customers Price Please Pay this Price


************ we did not charge for the Emergency shut down as you can see on this bill

Please call our office, so we can set up an inspection date to get permit signed off.


If you have any further questions you can reach me at 1(***)********



Thank you,
*** ********


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Does not explain why they did not pull permit before starting work? Please explain why the permit was not pulled until a week after the job was finished and only after I requested to see a copy.

Does not explain why they are charging for both a price guide for parts and labor in addition to all the other various charges that one would assume came with the price guide. Sounds like double billing to rip off the customer. They also charged 3 hours of labor on my original invoice when the price guide already had labor included.

As they note the price was approved based on them treating it as an emergency situation. They broke the agreement by not treating it as such.

Code violations are still outstanding and have not been fixed.

Final Business Response
As stated in our initial response, please give me a call, so that I can address your concerns 1(***)********.

*** ********

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/07/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation did not disclose complete pricing information

Complaint: They quoted $185 to determine the reason and location of a sewer back up. They asked for $150 to disclose the location if I wouldn't hire them.
We experienced a slight sewer back up in our single family home.
I called 24/7 Rooter $ Plumbing, Lic.#******, located at ************************************** on 10/08/2013.
I informed him that this was the second back up in a two month period. The line was snaked the first time but the problem came back.
I wanted to know what and where the problem originated and how we could solve it.
The technician who came (very nice and competent and clearly not happy with the outcome) recommended to use a video camera to find out what and where the problem was. He informed me that just snaking the line wouldn't do any good.
I agreed and he called his boss and came back with a quote of $185.
Again, I asked him if that would help us to find the reason and the location of the problem.
He inserted the camera and found the obstruction. An off set of two pipes. I observed him being outside with an hand held device which emitted sounds. I know understand that this is a tracer used to find the tip of the video camera under ground such determining the location of the obstruction.
After he showed me the video screened offset I asked him to show and mark the location of the problem. He said that he needed to make a call. He came back and told me that they would tell me the location if I would authorize them to do the repair. If not, they would charge me an additional $150! I called the owner and told him that the agreement was that he would find the cause AND the location for the agreed upon amount. He said that they didn't know the location, would need to do another test with an instrument which cost $10,000. I informed him that his technician told me that he knew the location and inquired how he would be able to provide me with an estimate ( which was offered to me upon request) if he indeed didn't know the location.
I had another plumber come out yesterday. He charged me $100 for the video and I saw the same hand held tracer used to pin point the location. Which is by the way outside our property line and the repair is the City's responsibility.
I

Initial Business Response
Hello ****** ******,
We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We take pride in our service. I am sure there was some kind of misunderstanding because our camera inspection does not usually include our locater. The locator is a different machine . That being said . 24/7 Rooter and Plumbing takes pride in customer satisfaction , if you were not 100% satisfied with our service, 24/7 Rooter and Plumbing will give you a full refund . Please call our office at 1(***)******** Again sorry for the misunderstanding and I hope you are willing to use our services in the future.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Sewer Pipe, Engineering Contractors - General, Sewer Inspection, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/14/2010Business started: 01/21/2010
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Dr
Sacramento, CA95827-1703
(800) 321-2752
http://www.cslb.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 954813 for this company.

Type: Contractor's License Board

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Reynaldo J. Zambrano (Owner)
Number of Employees

11

Business Category

Plumbers, Sewer Pipe, Engineering Contractors - General, Sewer Inspection, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Service Area

This business service area covers the bay area.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for 24/7 Rooter And Plumbing, Inc.

San Francisco, CA 94102

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*24/7 Rooter And Plumbing, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (510) 965-1958
  • (650) 276-3484
  • (415) 586-6851
  • (650) 754-5036
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.