BBB Accredited Business since

Solano Dermatology Associates

Phone: (707) 643-5785 View Additional Phone Numbers 2290 Sacramento St, Vallejo, CA 94590 http://www.solderm.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general dermatology services including pediatric dermatology, mohs micrographic surgery, laser surgery, and cosmetic services. This company offers complete diagnosis, treatment and follow up for all aspects of skin, nails and hair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Solano Dermatology Associates meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Solano Dermatology Associates include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Solano Dermatology Associates
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 03, 2003 Business started: 09/01/1978 Business started locally: 09/01/1978 Business incorporated 09/14/1978 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board of Barbering & Cosmetology
2420 Del Paso Rd Suite 100, Sacramento CA 95834
https://www.breeze.ca.gov/datamart/selSearchTypeCADCA.do?from=loginPage
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
barbercosmo@dca.ca.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. John Geisse, President
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. John Geisse, President
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

Physicians & Surgeons - Dermatology Skin Care Lasers Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D.


Additional Locations

  • 2290 Sacramento St

    Vallejo, CA 94590 (707) 643-5785 (707) 556-5991

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged me 8Xs more than what they quoted me,never told me what to do about the rash i had checked. On the 21st of August I went in to Solano Dermatology in Vallejo, Ca to have a mole removed. Dr ******* said she would like to biopsy a rash on my head as well. I told her I had no insurance & couldn't pay much. I paid the $200 which was the total including their lab fees for the rash biopsy but was later billed by ucsf lab $1,575. Their lab couldn't assess the biopsy so sent it to an outside lab @ ucsf w/o telling me & discussing w/ me that there would be extra charges. The day I received the bill f/ ucsf, I got a letter f/ Dr. ****** stating that my insurance would pay for any other bills f/ outside labs even though everyone knew I had no insurance. I called Dr ****** many times (he never called me personally). The lab gave me a discount of like 15% which is almost nothing when the bill is over $1,000 & I am poor. I never got any news on how to treat my rash but I do know what it is @ least. I thought I would complain because even though I have to pay this maybe I will save someone else's finances if I expose him for the shady guy he is.

Desired Settlement: I would love a refund of the full ucsf bill but I understand I probably won't receive one since it seems doctors get away w/ everything these days. Thank you for listening.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/05) */ I am sorry SB feels this way. As far as being charged 8x's what we quoted. We charged her the same amount she was quoted. Her excess charges that are being disputed are from a separate entity, UCSF Medical Center. We originally saw the patient at our office. We only charged about 1/2 of the normal fee schedule for our procedures and our lab fees given her hardship. SB had possibly a very serious, but inconclusive lab result. Out of medical necessity, our lab and her provider needed to escalate labs to UCSF for further testing. Patients, including SB, do sign a consent that states we have to submit for Pathology Services. It states that there will be separate fees. Sending to USCF is not common, but does come up in these scenarios. We have no control over what UCSF charges and we are not apart of UCSF. UCSF had to do a lot of additional testing and the bill from them was $1575 dollars. The patient called our billing office upset about UCSF's charges, wanting Dr. ****** to resolve the situation, event though he is not her provider. He owns the practice and is the director of the lab that originally reviewed her labwork. While we are not apart of UCSF and we can't control their billing, we wanted to help as much as possible. Dr. ****** immediately contacted UCSF and explained the patient's hardship. They reduced the bill, I believe by 20%. Her case is complex and we saw her again 09/19/2013. We did not charge her for the visit. The explanation of complexity of the diagnosis was given at that time in detail. At that time we also took pictures and sent them to UCSF physicians to see if they can assist with feedback for free on additional treatment possibilities. I do understand SB being frustrated with her fees at UCSF. In general $1575 is a lot of money for lab work. However, Dr. ****** and Solano Dermatlogy Associates are not apart of UCSF. We are not shady and we are not trying to scam people. In fact our visits were reduced significantly and several instances she was not charged at all because the hardship was noted. A full free visit was given to the patient to discuss her complex diagnosis. If she has any additional questions she can always contact her provider, ****** to discuss. Again we are sorry that the fees from UCSF were so high, they were medically necessary and their billing is out of our control. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2013/11/25) */ I was under the assumption that the bbb would be helping me w/ the case but it's just me arguing w/ the business, which I have done at length already & am very tired of it. I am not wanting to close the case but if the bbb doesn't actually help me w/ my case this is pointless. I'm not sure if I should close the case or not. Please advise. Thank you. -****** *****. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/11/11) */ I am sorry that we are still not able to provide the resolve that the patient desires. The provider and the owner feel very strongly that the patient was informed of the importance of the testing to provide her with the best possible medical care. The testing was not a mistake and we cannot lie to get the bill overturned. The work that UCSF did, while it was very costly, it was very important. We did the best that we could to get UCSF to reduce the bill.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Solano Dermatology Associates
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)