BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/11/2009

GoPro (Headquarters)

Find a Location

(888) 600-4659View Additional Phone Numbers3000 Clearview Way Bldg E, San MateoCA 94402-3710View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

GoPro offers several lines of wearable digital cameras for a broad range of activities.

GoPro is an activity image capture company. We help people capture and share their lives' most meaningful experiences with others by making versatile cameras for the marketplace.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/11/2009

BBB has determined that GoPro meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised GoPro's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 169 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

169 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 108 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues61
Billing / Collection Issues8
Delivery Issues12
Guarantee / Warranty Issues17
Problems with Product / Service71
Total Closed Complaints 169

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on GoPro

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 5 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (169)BBB Closure Definitions
02/09/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Gorpo camera/accessories are advertised falsely.
I received my GoPro hero 3+ camera as a gift on 10/2/14. Excited as I was to use my camera right away, I was quickly disappointed when I found that a SD card was needed; This was not represented on the packaging.

I then purchased a LCD touch bacpac. I spent hours trying to figure out why the housing case didn't fit on the camera. After doing some research, I found that in order for the bacpac to fit, I needed the housing for the hero 3 camera.
I became really irritated and angry because of the false advertising and misleading product.
How does it make sense that I paid $80 for the bacpac custom for the Hero 3+ only to find out that I need to go and buy a $50 housing case for an older model camera?
What the GoPro company is doing is basically scamming their customers.
Nowhere is there specific information indicating that a specific housing case is needed for the bacpac.
Everytime I purchase another gadget or accessory for my GoPro camera, I have the same issue, (you need this in order to use that)...I've spent hundreds of dollars on this pyramid scheme product, and I always ask myself...is this even worth it?
Now GoPro is an amazing camera and I'm glad I have one, but its like putting together a puzzle. There needs to be more specific information provided for customers on what exactly they need in order to use additional pieces on their GoPro and get 100% satisfaction out of it.
Now the camera itself was about $300
the Bacpac $80
the wireless remote $80
the selfie pole $40
and now the additional housing case that I was not informed about ..$50
so thats a grand total of about $550, it's like an ongoing investment. And every time I get excited to use my GoPro it comes along with a disappointment because I need another item in order to use what I have.
Now, I am not very wise when it comes to technology and electronics, and people all over the world are buying these GoPros, and not everyone knows how to use/work them, so in order to be a successful business and receive positive feedback,, it is your job and duty to provide customers with a clear understanding on what they need and what they need to do in order to effectively use their device.
I would say I have been let down, misleaded, ripped off, and scammed by this company and I am not satisfied.
Thank you.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for the LCD bacpac or case that I had to purchase or some GoPro accessories that would balance out the amount of money and time and aggravation that I put in to this camera.
Thank you.

Business Response
Hi ******,

We're sorry to hear about your frustrating start with your GoPro and want to do our best to help out.

Our Customer Support line is always available to help answer any and all questions about our products and accessories and to provide assistance out of the box. Additionally we do our best to let customers know about the needed SD card and what is included in the box via the "whats included" panel on the side of our cameras packaging.

A Supervisor in Customer Support has been notified of this case and will reach out promptly to see what we can do to assist.

Many thanks,

GoPro Support

01/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hero 4 Silver purchased online black Friday for a Christmas Gift. When gift was opened and set up the Camera was not functioning, we then contacted support which informed us the SD Card we had was the problem(although it was brand new), after driving 71.2 miles round trip to return/purchase a new SD card(which GoPro recommended) we had the same results. Then I had to take a picture of the receipt(which they had my credit card on file)/make a video of the camera proving that it wasn't functional. Support then verified that our camera wasn't functional and followed through with sending us a shipping label so we could ship the non functional camera back(In a box we had to supply)upon its arrival we were told we would receive a "functional camera". We then had to drop the box off to a FedEx team member at a Ship Center which was another 71.2 mile round trip. I then Emailed support on Jan.5th asking for a managers phone # (with no results) on Jan.6th I received a reply "I would be happy to pass along your concerns to my supervisor if you would like to let me know what they are in a return email." On Jan.7th I replied with my reasoning on why I wanted to speak with a manager, and on the same day received a reply stating "I have gone ahead and escalated this case to a manager and they will contact you and help you in any way that they can."(still no results). I have also tried to call support asking for a manager only to be informed there was no manager on staff and they would call me back when a manager was in.(still no results)After spending so much on a camera to preserve once in a life time memories like Christmas/holidays it was very disappointing not being able to capture them. We've not been "totally Psyched" nor "100% Satisfied" (as GoPro's guarantee implies) with its product, and time we've had to wait for responses from support. Overall the experience of our purchase has been unpleasant and the lack of management and their customer service is unprofessional. GodSpeed

Desired Settlement
I would like all charges on C.C. to be reversed . And any compensation for the disappointment, time, and distance traveled to troubleshoot/send back non functional camera would be appreciated.

Business Response
Hi ******,

We're sincerely sorry to hear about the issues you are experiencing with your HERO4 Silver camera. Please do keep in mind that our Support Representatives are making their best effort to help in any way possible.

In your case the best option was via warranty and this is why we moved towards a warranty RMA. WIth that said, if you would rather part ways with your camera entirely we can process a 30 Day Refund for you as well.

Regardless, you will be required to send the camera in so a warranty RMA may be the better route. We'll have a Supervisor reach out to you shortly to ensure everything is handled from here on out.

Thank you for your continued patience and understanding.

Regards,

GoPro Support

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
GoPro Support reached out to us and I'm happy to report that they settled our dispute in our favor, thank you so much GoPro.

Sincerely,
****** And ****** ********

01/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Keeps freezing. Never works.
I got the Go-Pro Hero 3+ Black edition in February 2014 as a gift. It kept freezing from the day one. Contacted Go-Pro Customer Service about the Freezing issue - got sent links to updates, which did not fixed anything. Went to a store to let them do the update, they could not figure this out for an hour. Finally would work for a few minutes. Got home ,,happy,, that is working. But then a few months later, the same thing (right before the Holidays).I would to get a working camera or my money back. Paid $399.00 for something that would never work.

Desired Settlement
I would like to get a Full Refund of $399.00 or a Replacement right away.

Business Response
Hi *******,

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We apologize for any frustration with your GoPro camera and want to make sure we get you back up and running.

We could not find a previous case based on the contact information provided to BBB, but a Supervisor has been made aware of the issue and will reaching out to you promptly.

If the previous troubleshooting that we provided did not work, we are always happy to continue the case and work with you towards getting your camera replaced.

Our apologies for any inconvenience caused, a Supervisor will be reaching out to your shortly.

Many thanks,

GoPro Support

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Hello,

I have received the GoPro as a Gift from my husband I do have case numbers (those cases are under his name) : on 9/1/2014 case #XXXXXXX and on 12/23/2014 case # XXXXXXXX . We have try a few times to do the updates, purchased extra batteries and the recommended SD cards and nothing happened. We have also wen to Best Buy to let them do the update, it took them almost an hour how to do the update. They have charged us for the update as well $37.00. The camera worked for a little bit and then the freezing came back (the next time we've try to use it). We have purchased multiple accessories as well (the touch screen, all kind of mountings etc). In the case # XXXXXXXX we have attached the picture of the receipt as well as the camera in the freeze mode. I would like to get a replacement to the GoPro Hero3 + Black Edition or upgraded model. Thank you ******* & *****

Final Business Response
Hi,

Thank you for the update. The customer is currently being assisted in a new Support Case started by a Supervisor in Customer Support.

The customer has been assisted in starting the process to have the camera replaced under warranty. As of the last update to the case on January 7th, RMA instructions were sent out on how to return the camera to us for a replacement.

At this time the case is currently underway towards an accepted resolution.

We hope to have a working camera in the customers hands as quickly as possible.

Many thanks,

GoPro Support

Final Consumer Response
Received a new camera from GoPro. So far is working good. Would like to close the case. Happy with the final outcome. Thank you

01/26/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered a GoPro camera with accessories but I only received the accessories. The Camera was delivered to a wrong person or wrong address

On Dec 14th I ordered GoPro Hero 4 camera + 5 accessories for a tot. 615,19$ ord. NAXXXXXXXX.
The Order did not go trough because a credit card issue. A new order was made on Dec
17th, ord. SX-XXXXXXX but got split in two shipping: One package with accessories properly received on Dec 19th. The second one with the camera, delivered on Dec 22nd(as per FedEx).
I personally never received the 2nd package. As per tracking nr.XXXXXXXXXXXX, a person named A.Vega signed for this package. I don't know the person who signed for this package.
I contacted FedEx and opened a case with them(NR. XXXXXXXXXX); the FedEx driver who delivered the package is nowhere to be found. FedEx ask me to take the complaint with GoPro which I did(case NR. XXXXXXXX)
GoPro is saying that the package was delivered and will try to find out what happened.
I've been calling between FedEx and GoPro for 8 days, every day.
I've been telling the same story to a different person every day with no result.

ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: FedEx

Desired Settlement
At this point I have to ask for a refund since It was a Christmas present for a friend. It looks like It will take forever for this camera to arrive at the final destination and It's already too late.
Thank you so much for your time, I hope to get your answer ASAP.

Business Response
Hi ********,

We apologize for the inconvenience regarding your order. We currently have a Support Supervisor looking into the case, and they will be contacting you shortly. It looks like the order was delivered to the correct address and we are working with Fedex to try and figure out what happened. We appreciate your patience, and look forward to working with you to resolve the issue.

Many thanks,
GoPro Support

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for the quick response but It was not what I was waiting for.
'til today I still don't have the camera that I paid for and let me repeat that the person who sign for it 'A.VEGA' does not exist at this address which proves me once again that the camera was not delivered at the correct address.
'til today FedEx cannot find the driver to confirm that was delivered to the correct address. I'm very disappointed with the company that I've chosen for a Christmas present which 11 days after I'm still not able to present it.

Regards
********

Final Business Response
******** has been refunded the full amount of her order, as per her desired resolution. The order was sent to the correct address, a place of business and not a residence, where it was signed for by an unknown party. Our policy is to refund customers for lost packages pending an investigation by FedEx, at which point they can chose to place another order with us online or purchase locally. In this case, we made an exception at the request of ********, and processed the refund for the missing order before the investigation was completed by FedEx. GoPro is not privy to the details of FedEx's investigation. Should ******** want this information, FedEx will need to be contacted.

A Support Supervisor will be contacting ******** via the existing case for follow-up. At this time, GoPro has refunded ******** for the missing order as requested in the desired resolution.

01/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have contacted Go Pro on three occasions for my refund and has not been credited the amount. Customer Service Representative have very poor service.
I have ordered an item on 12/03/2014. I did not received my item and was emailed that my item was being returned to shipper/sender. The package was then returned and received by sender on 12/15/2014. Between that date and today, I have contact Go Pro on three occasions to make sure that the item was received and that I will be getting my refund. Today, 01/02/2015, I contact Go Pro, chatted with a ****** and was not given good service or was not helped properly. I will continue to contact Go-Pro regarding my refund however my issue is not being resolved for over 15 days or the 7-10 business days as promised to get credited/refund.

Below are the information of the purchase:

tracking #: 1Z05R2WXXXXXXXXXXX
order #: SO-XXXXXXX
date of purchase: 12/03/2014
payment method: Paypal
total amount: *******

The Customer Service Rep are not knowledgeable and are of no help. Please educate your employees to better your business.

Desired Settlement
Complete refund of my money. $428.49

Business Response
Hi ***

We are very sorry to hear about the delay in the refund showing to your PayPal account as well as a disappointing experience when contacting our Support Team.

We have worked with our Finance team to ensure the refund has been processed. Please see attached document showing refund has been transferred to your PayPal account.

A Supervisor will follow up in a support case to ensure you are satisfied.

Regards,
GoPro Support
www.gopro.com/support

Page 1 of 29
02/26/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unauthorized hold on funds for an un-necessarily long period AFTER order cancellation!
Placed an order with this company using a coupon posted in a popular social media website. For 7 days, there was absolute no correspondence. Later I receive an email stating that the order was cancelled and they even went to the extent of calling me a thief( quoted from email " This discount code was auctioned by an individual who illegally sold the generic code to a number of individuals on eBay; it was then fraudulently spread throughout the Internet on discount code websites and other social forums" ). This is not even the worst part, they stated in their email that they would be releasing the hold on my paypal funds in a "few" days( quoted from the email "Depending on the Credit Card Company or method of payment that was used, this pending charge will typically disappear and be reinstated within a few days." ). As of today 27 days later, they still have a hold on my funds. This makes me really suspicious of their sales practices ,methods and intentions. I never expected something like this from this company. This is by far the worst experience I have ever had with "ANY" organization I have ever dealt with.

Desired Settlement
Just give my money back!.

Business Response
Hi ******,

We apologize for the extreme delay in response.

We are sorry for any inconvenience caused by the cancellation of this order. Our order review team canceled this order as a result of unauthorized and potentially fraudulent use of a warranty discount code. The code used, is provided on a case by case basis. We provide this code to customers who have products that are out of warranty and we have made an exception to help with a discount on a replacement if we are unable to resolve their issue through troubleshooting. The code is distributed only through a support case and only provided once their product has been returned to us as agreed to by the customer through the support case, to avoid abuse and fraudulent claims

We also apologize for the delay in the authorization hold release showing to your PayPal account. We have worked with our Finance team to ensure the hold has been released, and received confirmation that this took place on 1/5/15. If this does not show on your end, please let us know through your existing GoPro Support case, as we would like to resolve this as quickly as possible.

A Suppor Supervisor will be reaching out to you via your existing case to make sure all issues have been resolved.

Regards,
GoPro Support

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Here we go again! "Our order review team canceled this order as a result of unauthorized and potentially fraudulent use of a warranty discount code". I used the discount code, so am I a fraud?. If you don't have the basic common sense to create a "one time use only discount code", which is what every other company in the world does in these type of situations, at least stop calling your customers frauds and thieves.

The paypal funds were returned 1 MONTH LATER not because you released it, it was because the authorization hold "expired". You did not take any action to return my money. In fact, to put it in your style of writing, "you fraudulently took my money( > $500 ) in an unauthorized fashion".

And by the way, I purchased another brand called SJCAM. The video quality is far superior compared to the gopro. And I can buy 4 of those cameras for the cost of buying one gopro.

You lost me as a customer and I'm guessing thousands of others the same way. Hope you grow up someday and try to admit your mistakes instead of blaming others.


02/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Display screen on front of GoPro cracked within protective housing unit.
I had bought a GoPro hero 4 black before Thanksgiving. Was using GoPro during airsoft game. The camera was in a blackout housing unit that was mounted on an NVG mount purchased through GoPro. After playing took the camera out of the housing unit to place in case and noticed display screen on front of camera was cracked but no damage to housing unit. The camera also never came loose from NVG mount. I have tried contacting costumer support two different ways. I first tried calling and was told it was not covered in warrenty. I then tried contacting through email because I thought I would be able to provide pictures to better depict the story. I was then told that I would recieve a 40% off coupon to buy another camera but would have to turn in the camera that was damaged before I could recieve coupon. This made so sense to me because I would of then spent well over $800 on a camera I am no currently happy with. I sent an email back stating that I would not accept that offer due to me having to spend anothyer $300 dollars on the camera. I told them I would like the camera replaced or my money back. I have not recieved any other emails from them since and it has been well over a week since last email. GoPro's customer service has been not helpful at all and I'm very disappointed in the camera which claims to be an adventure camera!

Desired Settlement
I would like to recieve another camera if at all possible, if not a new camera then would like my money back for the camera. Due to the fact that there was no deligence or neglect on my part. The camera was also in a protective housing unit and on a mount purchased through GoPro.

Business Response
Hello,

We are sorry to hear about the damage to your HERO4 front LCD screen. A Support Supervisor is looking into your issue, and will be contacting you shortly via your existing GoPro Support case. We look forward to reaching a resolution with you.

Many thanks,
GoPro Support

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They continue to offer me the same resolution of a 40% off coupon for a new coupon once I send my broken camera in. I continue to tell them I do not want any coupons. I would like a new camera at the very least. They also state there is damage to the housing unit after I have sent them two different pictures showing them there is no impact damage to the front LCD of the housing unit. Only the front LCD of the camera has damage.

Final Business Response
Hello,

The damaged caused to this camera can only result from use, as the front LCD screen glass will not crack as shown in the customer's attached photos without some type of external force being applied. This is not a manufacturing defect, as such it is not something our warranty covers. Damage to the housing indicates it has been impacted, whether or not the impact to the housing occurred directly over the camera's LCD is not important, as any shock to the camera is absorbed by the entire unit. The glass LCD screen can be damaged even when not directly impacted.

While this is not something covered by warranty, we have extended a discount offer to the customer to help ease the frustration of the situation, and the financial strain of replacing the unit. Should the customer like to take us up on this offer, they have all the details needed to do so in their current GoPro Support Case.

Many thanks,
GoPro Support

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They continue to just offer me 40% off coupons. I don't want to spend 300 bucks on a camera that is just going to break again.

01/03/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased camera from Gopro website. 3 days later order was cancelled because they stated they made error.
On Dec 7, 2014, I purchased a new GoPro4 Silver off the gopro.com website. My credit card was charged and I received a confirmation email. My confirmation number was NAXXXXXXXX. The email also said the order was waiting shipment.

Dec 9, 2014 I received another email from their customer service. It stated, "The discount code entered into this order was not intended for general public use, it was discontinued intentionally and any orders placed with it have been cancelled."

However, what they say is untrue. Other members of the general public used the same discount code and were able to purchase accessories (but not the camera itself). These items have already shipped and GoPro has also announced that if they return those items, there will be a shipping fee.

The fact that GoPro only canceled some of these orders while shipping others based on the type of order shows that their words are false. Gopro has chosen to trick customers into using the code, but then only mails out the orders Gopro deems gives their company enough profit.

Desired Settlement
I would like a new GoPro4 Silver I purchased at the price agreed to on the website ($240).

Business Response
Hi *****,

We are sorry for any inconvenience caused by the cancellation of this order. Our order review team canceled this order as a result of unauthorized and potentially fraudulent use of a warranty discount code. The code used, is provided on a case by case basis. We provide this code to customers who have products that are out of warranty and we have made an exception to help with a discount on a replacement, if we are unable to resolve their issue through troubleshooting. The code is distributed only through a support case and only provided once their product has been returned to us to avoid abuse and fraudulent claims.

This order had a discount code applied to the online shopping cart reducing the total cost of the order by 40%. Once an order is placed with this code, the order is then held and reviewed by a supervisor to ensure it is used by a customer who received the code directly from us, and was used on items agreed upon in the support case. This customer did not receive the code from the GoPro Support team, and therefore it is an unauthorized use of the code. Accordingly the order was cancelled.

A customer sold this code on eBay, and it was then distributed throughout the Internet. It was then fraudulently spread throughout the Internet on discount code websites, such as "sickdeals.com" and "retailemenot.com". To prevent additional unauthorized uses, the code has been deactivated.

We absolutely understand most of the customers who tried to apply the discount code were not intentionally attempting to defraud anyone, they were however inadvertently using an stolen code. We were acting on our moral responsibility to prevent theft (intentional or unintentional) by simply canceling the order and releasing any pending authorizations on their credit cards. No funds were collected in any of these orders, as they were cancelled prior to shipping and accordingly the pending authorizations on the customer's credit cards have been released. The release of the authorization can take between 3-7 business days, depending on the bank and payment method.

Once again, we are very sorry for any troubles this may have caused you, and we appreciate your understanding in this matter. This is simply not something we can honor for the reasons outlined above. If the customer received this code through a support case, we would ask the customer to provide the case number, which should match the email address or name in this BBB case.

Regards,
GoPro Support
www.gopro.com/support

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If this was a "stolen code," GoPro would not have accepted the thousands of orders it received for outdated models and accessories and shipped them. Instead, GoPro chose to allow customers who allegedly were not intended to use this code to purchase high profit items from GoPro with the "stolen code." GoPro also prejudiciously chose to cancel orders that used the code only if they ordered the GoPro4. GoPro's selection of who could use this "stolen code" was based not on the who received the code, but instead, on which items were purchased.

And so, this company falsely advertised and chose to renege on contracts with customers based solely on profit margin for the company.

Final Business Response
Hi *****,

We were trying to review many orders as quickly as possible. Due to the massive influx of orders placed with this code after it was widespread on the internet, some of these were not able to be reviewed before the shipping cut off time. We are allowing customers to keep any orders that did ship out, as we did collect payment. If you would like to return these orders, please reach out to us in a support case and we would be happy to send a FedEx label to cover return shipping costs.

We offer this discount to customers who have products that are out of warranty and we have made an exception to help with a discount on a replacement if we are unable to resolve their issue through troubleshooting.

Once again, we are very sorry for any troubles this may have caused you, and we appreciate your understanding in this matter. This is simply not something we can honor for the reasons outlined above.

Regards,
GoPro Support
www.gopro.com/support

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
False advertising and selective shipping based on product. In other words, GoPro was glad to advertise and honor their 40% off coupon for low demand items GoPro was trying to get rid of. But for a high demand item, GoPro would not honor said coupon. These bait and switch tactics that only benefit GoPro and seem illegal and deceitful should be cause for a class action law suit.

01/03/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I used a coupon code deal sites and my order went through with 40% product discount. Now my order was cancelled saying I am not eligible for it.
Dear GoPro Customer,

We thank you for your most recent GoPro Order NAXXXXXXXX. Unfortunately, we have encountered an issue with the order and have cancelled the order.

The discount code entered into this order was not intended for general public use, it was discontinued intentionally and any orders placed with it have been cancelled. If you received the code directly from GoPro support please reply to your original support case through which a discount code was provided, or give us a call and reference your case number, so we can get a new order going for you.

We apologize for the cancellation of your order and we understand you wish to receive your order in a timely manner.

Thank you,
GoPro Customer Support

Contact GoPro Customer Support
Web: gopro.com/support
Email: ***********@gopro.com
U.S. Phone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
International Phone: +X-XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
Get the product for the same price for which the website order went through.

Thank you for your order.

If you have questions about your order, please follow the link. Monday -Friday 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. PST
Order Summary
Order Placed: Dec 7, 2014
Order Number: NAXXXXXXXX
Billing Address
******** ******
XXXXX ******** ***
***** ***** ** XXXXX
United States
Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Shipping To
******** ******
XXXXX ******** Cir
***** City, CA XXXXX
United States
UPS Ground Shipping Status: Not Shipped Payment Method
Credit Card
******** k ******
Amex / *************** / Exp. ******* Amount: $262.79
Product Quantity Price
NEW
HERO4 Silver
40% Off Select Products
1 $239.99

Subtotal $239.99
Shipping UPS Ground $0.00
Sales Tax $22.80
Order Total: $262.79

Business Response
Hi ********,

We are sorry for any inconvenience caused by the cancellation of this order. Our order review team canceled this order as a result of unauthorized and potentially fraudulent use of a warranty discount code. The code used, is provided on a case by case basis. We provide this code to customers who have products that are out of warranty and we have made an exception to help with a discount on a replacement, if we are unable to resolve their issue through troubleshooting. The code is distributed only through a support case and only provided once their product has been returned to us to avoid abuse and fraudulent claims.

This order had a discount code applied to the online shopping cart reducing the total cost of the order by 40%. Once an order is placed with this code, the order is then held and reviewed by a supervisor to ensure it is used by a customer who received the code directly from us, and was used on items agreed upon in the support case. This customer did not receive the code from the GoPro Support team, and therefore it is an unauthorized use of the code. Accordingly the order was cancelled.

A customer sold this code on eBay, and it was then distributed throughout the Internet. It was then fraudulently spread throughout the Internet on discount code websites, such as "sickdeals.com" and "retailemenot.com". To prevent additional unauthorized uses, the code has been deactivated.

We absolutely understand most of the customers who tried to apply the discount code were not intentionally attempting to defraud anyone, they were however inadvertently using an stolen code. We were acting on our moral responsibility to prevent theft (intentional or unintentional) by simply canceling the order and releasing any pending authorizations on their credit cards. No funds were collected in any of these orders, as they were cancelled prior to shipping and accordingly the pending authorizations on the customer's credit cards have been released. The release of the authorization can take between 3-7 business days, depending on the bank and payment method.
Once again, we are very sorry for any troubles this may have caused you, and we appreciate your understanding in this matter. This is simply not something we can honor for the reasons outlined above. If the customer received this code through a support case, we would ask the customer to provide the case number, which should match the email address or name in this BBB case.

Regards,
GoPro Support
www.gopro.com/support

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is not how this should work, if you are giving the code to specific people then your website should be able automatically deny it when someone not authorized trying to use that code. This is a lame way to treat someone ordering a product from your site, to take the orders through your site and manually review them. A simple verification can be another field on the website where it says 'promo code' and next to that a field called 'Email ID', or you allow the promo codes only when someone is logged in using there username and password. 40% discount is not a great deal for me, I have a buying power of 10 of those product on full price, the only concern here is you should be fulfilling whatever you promised through an electronic transaction.

12/31/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Not honoring discount and not returning money
I have placed order on dec 7th and order was canceled that coupon was not acceptable.so i have asked gopro to return my money.
One represented was so rude he just hang up call on me and not even provide the informtion.
although the company claims my refund was issued through PayPal, when I contacted PayPal no such refund has been issued.
I called on december 15, 2014 and asked why my account had not been credited and was told that a credit had been issued was now with PayPal (I purchased the item through PayPal). I contacted PayPal and asked about the refund at which time I was told GoPro has/had not issued a refund to my account. Then Go pro told it would take 30 days to retrun money even though my product was never delivered.

Desired Settlement
either need to replace the order or have to get my money from paypal

Business Response
Hi ******,

We are sorry for any inconvenience caused by the cancellation of this order. Our order review team canceled this order as a result of unauthorized and potentially fraudulent use of a warranty discount code. The code used, is provided on a case by case basis. We provide this code to customers who have products that are out of warranty and we have made an exception to help with a discount on a replacement, if we are unable to resolve their issue through troubleshooting. The code is distributed only through a support case and only provided once their product has been returned to us to avoid abuse and fraudulent claims.

This order had a discount code applied to the online shopping cart reducing the total cost of the order by 40%. Once an order is placed with this code, the order is then held and reviewed by a supervisor to ensure it is used by a customer who received the code directly from us, and was used on items agreed upon in the support case. This customer did not receive the code from the GoPro Support team, and therefore it is an unauthorized use of the code. Accordingly the order was cancelled.

A customer sold this code on eBay, and it was then distributed throughout the Internet. It was then fraudulently spread throughout the Internet on discount code websites, such as "sickdeals.com" and "retailemenot.com". To prevent additional unauthorized uses, the code has been deactivated.

We absolutely understand most of the customers who tried to apply the discount code were not intentionally attempting to defraud anyone, they were however inadvertently using an stolen code. We were acting on our moral responsibility to prevent theft (intentional or unintentional) by simply canceling the order and releasing any pending authorizations on their credit cards. No funds were collected in any of these orders, as they were cancelled prior to shipping and accordingly the pending authorizations on the customer's credit cards have been released. The release of the authorization can take between 3-7 business days, depending on the bank and payment method.

Once again, we are very sorry for any troubles this may have caused you, and we appreciate your understanding in this matter. This is simply not something we can honor for the reasons outlined above. If the customer received this code through a support case, we would ask the customer to provide the case number, which should match the email address or name in this BBB case.

Regards,
GoPro Support
www.gopro.com/support

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If something wrong,you should deposit my money bank ASAP.its not happened and very bad resposne from representitive

Final Business Response
Hi ******,

I have spoken to our finance team and both PayPal refunds have been issued December 17th, 2014. Please see attached screenshots. If you speak with PayPal, please reference the unique transactions ID's for confirmation.

Once again, we are very sorry for any troubles this may have caused you, and we appreciate your understanding in this matter.

Regards,
GoPro Support
www.gopro.com/support

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Gopro should adrdess properly and simple canceling order is not correct solution. Finally i have got my money from Paypal after 15 days. this is not accepatable

Page 1 of 6

Industry Comparison| Chart

Photographic Equipment & Supplies - Retail, Sporting Goods - Retail, Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment, Photographic Equipment & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/04/2009Business started: 09/19/1995
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2004, CA

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Sharon Pettigrew (Director of Customer Support)
Contact Information
Mr. Paul Crandell (VP, Brand Marketing)Mr. Jonathan Harris (VP, Sales)Mr. Nicholas Woodman (CEO)
Number of Employees

400

Business Category

Photographic Equipment & Supplies - Retail, Sporting Goods - Retail, Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment, Photographic Equipment & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturing

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

GoPro Refund/Exchange/Warranty policy details are available at this link: http://gopro.com/support/warranty-information/

Service Area

This company services nationwide, as well as internationally.

Alternate Business Names
Go Pro, Go-Pro, Woodman Labs, Inc., Cineform

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for GoPro

3000 Clearview Way Bldg E

San Mateo, CA 94402-3710

To | From

LocationsX

5 Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2111 Eastridge Ave 

    Riverside, CA 92507-0778

  • 3000 Clearview Way Bldg E 

    San Mateo, CA 94402-3710

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15651 Sheridan Street 

    Southwest Ranches, FL 33331-3497

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P. O. Box 12921
    4631 N. May Ave. 

    Okla. City, OK 73157

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15 N. Robinson, 8th Floor 

    Oklahoma City, OK 73102

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*GoPro is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (650) 980-0252
  • (415) 738-2480
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Photographic Equipment & Supplies - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.