BBB Accredited Business since

Discount Camera

Phone: (415) 392-1100 Fax: (415) 392-1108 33 Kearny St, San Francisco, CA 94108 http://www.discountcamera.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers retail sales of photographic equipment and supplies.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Discount Camera meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Discount Camera include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Discount Camera
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1962 Business started locally: 01/01/1962
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Steve Franco, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Franco, Owner
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Photographic Equipment & Supplies - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Rancorf, Inc. San Francisco Discount Cameras

Additional Locations

  • 33 Kearny St

    San Francisco, CA 94108 (415) 392-1100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This store advertises discount prices to lure customers in and instead has products that are inferior or unknown brands and are 3 times overpriced. I made a purchase at this business on 12/05/2014 at 12:23 PM. I purchased a 32.0 GB memory card for $76.11. Upon researching this item, a similar memory card is sold for $26. Further, the brand of the item I purchased, "Ultra Supreme" was not found anywhere when searching for it online. In addition, the salesman avoided disclosing the price upfront when asked. It appears this store is a bait and switch business that price gouges. Numerous reviewers on Yelp.com have also complained of similar experiences. Their store name and window advertisement are misleading and a form of fraud.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for this purchase.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/23) */ In reference to Ms **** complaint, The card she purchased is a far superior product then the item she is comparing it to for $26.00 I am sorry she is unhappy with her purchase. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/01/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I remain unsatisfied with the producthow it was intentionally overpriced and is a "no name" brand with no information available it and its features. There is no way to prove its superiority to other, known, reliable brands. Further, I am still unsatisfied with the store's misleading advertising and deceptive sales practices that were used during my product inquiry and purchase. I do not believe the business has done its best to resolve this issue. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/01/13) */ I'm sorry that the customer was unsatisfied with the transaction based on something they saw online. Household names like Sandisk and Lexar, combined with internet customer's drive to find the absolute lowest possible price (and disregard every other detail), have opened up an entire industry of counterfeit products online. Below I have attached a screen shot from Sandisk's website, a "known" and "reliable" brand. They sell a similar card for $77.99. The bottom half of the picture shows a screen shot from a counterfeit company out of China. They are advertising what APPEARS to be the same card for $24.99. Although both cards have the same sticker on the front, they are not the same. Approximately one third of all Sandisk cards that are circulating online and in people's cameras are counterfeit. Here is a link to an article which quotes a SanDisk engineer supporting that fact: http://petapixel.com/2011/05/20/one-third-of-the-sandisk-memory-cards-on-earth-are-counterfeit/ Another problem that complicates the issue is online retailer's willingness to "commingle" products. Some retailers will buy genuine products directly from a manufacturer and mix them in with counterfeit products to lower the overall price. When a customer orders a product, one is pulled form the mixed bin, and the customer/retailer doesn't know if what they are selling is a genuine. Even Amazon, a "known" and "reliable" online retailer is guilty of such practices. Here is an article originally posted on the Wall Street Journal that describes Amazon's commingling: http://consumerist.com/2014/05/12/does-amazons-inventory-commingling-help-fake-products-fly-under-the-radar/ All that glitters on the internet is not gold, and with counterfeit items and commingling being so rampant online, comparing an actual product that was purchased in a store, from a retailer that has been in business for over 5 decades, to a product that's posted online from a nameless, faceless vendor is not comparing apples to apples. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2015/01/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The online product I produced was simply for an example (whether legitimate or counterfeit). The reality is, I can walk into another physical camera store, like Samy's for example, and have the option of buying a variety of memory cards, (not only the big name brands), that tell you the basic features of the product. Further, it would be for a reasonable price and the salesperson would be upfront when asked basic questions. Good customer service with honest, straightforward answers from a salesman is even more important than where the product ultimately came from, yet it was not the case in my experience at Discount Camera. The product I purchased from Discount Camera does not provide basic feature information such as the data speed or how many MG/s it can process. When I paid nearly $80 I expect to at least figure out what I really bought. For all I know, I could have purchased one with a slow data speed, which in fact seems to be the case. I understand markups for local businesses compared to online retailers, but not to this extent when I can buy a comparable item in a physical store in the same area for a fair price. The industry of counterfeit products online is unfortunately not limited to online shopping, but also to physical stores that may purchase these products and then sell them to customers at a much higher cost. Unfortunately, most consumers are unable to tell which is real and which is counterfeit and have to trust the business is being honest with their products and practices, but I am not here to debate the counterfeit/online retailer industry. I am especially unsatisfied with the deceptive sales practices I experienced and one can look to the majority of Yelp.com reviews on Discount Camera to see many others have experienced similar or worse buying experiences, and in some cases for the same product. It appears to be an ongoing problem, yet there is no comment reaching out directly to customers from the business owner offering to address these complaints. http://www.yelp.com/biz/discount-camera-san-francisco?start=160 I was presented with only two options: The first one was a memory card packaged in a small brown manila envelope and had nearly zero markings on it. It looked very unprofessional and surprisingly enough, "counterfeit". The other memory card was packaged in plastic with a "brand" and looked like typical ones you see. When asked what the difference was and the prices for each, the salesmen failed to answer and all he said was there is no price difference and one just has a case. Again, he did not want to tell me the price or go into detail of product and its features. I chose the memory card with the case that was packaged more legitimately, as most people would. I was presented with two options, when in actuality, there was only one logical one. Even at the register, the salesmen did not say how much the item cost. After seeing the receipt, I completed the purchase, trusting a business that has been there for years would not "cheat" their customers. Upon further research and using this product, it did not meet up to the basic standards of this type of product. In general, to similar products found in other stores, not online retailers, it is indeed significantly overpriced. What I paid for a 32GB, I could have purchased a 64GB elsewhere for less or at least the same price depending on the data speed. It was my hope that a middle ground could be met, but I see that as unlikely as there was no mention of it as well as no comment to the sales practices I experienced. It is clear that customer satisfaction is not number one and that deceptive sales practices are valued. I believe Discount Camera's services and product failed to meet my expectations, which is of an average consumer. Again, I am not the first person to have had this buying experience and wish I had known prior to walking into Discount Camera.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Discount Camera
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)