BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2003

TEMCO-Tower Electric Motor Company

(510) 490-2187View Additional Phone Numbers48621 Warm Springs Blvd, FremontCA 94539

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers rotary phase converters.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2003

BBB has determined that TEMCO-Tower Electric Motor Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised TEMCO-Tower Electric Motor Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on TEMCO-Tower Electric Motor Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
07/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In 5/14 we submitted to TEMCO our oven manual. They advised of a converter that would suit. Upon receipt it did not work. Sent it back. Will not ref
In May of 2014 we submitted to TEMCO the manual for our commercial oven. Upon review they advised of an electric converter they could build per the manuals specifications for the Zesto oven. It was sent to us. We did not open the electric converter right away as we had to hire a qualified electrician to install it. When we did have the electrician come to install he advised us that it would not work for our oven. We contacted TEMCO and asked them to have it shipped back. TEMCO made the arrangements for collection via R & L Carriers. R & L Carriers collected the unit however when the man put it on the truck he did not strap it down. My husband questioned this with an employee watching. Upon receipt back to TEMCO we were informed the unit was damaged during shipment and no refund would be given. They did not allow us to contact the carrier. They claimed they would work with R & L Carriers regarding an insurance claim and after waiting months to hear we were told that R & L Carriers would not pay out the claim. I am filing this complaint as 1) they sent a unit that was never appropriate even after having the oven specs provided and they are the experts and then 2) handled the details with a carrier that was not careful with the merchandise.

Desired Settlement
I would like the $789.53 that was paid out for this unit.

Business Response
This customer was instructed to ship the item back to us and then they would receive a credit for the item. They were informed that the original packaging was only designed for 1 way shipping and it it was their responsibility to package the item sufficiently to make it back to TEMCo in good condition to receive credit. Upon arrival, the unit had been damaged in freight. We contacted the *** **** to inform of the damage and provided photos and the signed BOL indicating damage upon arrival so they could proceed with a freight claim to get their reimbursement.

TEMCo offered to file the claim for them to help with their situation. Freight claims can take XX-XXX days on average to complete. As indicated by *** in her complaint we were informed by the freight company that the claim was denied because the packaging was insufficient and the customer was in possession of the product for too long prior to shipping back (5 months). We have attempted to continue to fight the decision on the customers behalf but to this point have not gotten them to to reverse their position.

While we are still trying to fight this with the freight carrier from our end, and even though we never received the unit back in good condition, TEMCo will meet the request of the customer for credit. In order to process a credit, we need the customer to verify the address which we can send a reimbursement check to. Thank you.





Best Regards,
**** *****
COO / Sales Manager


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Please send the check to ********************************************************** XXXXX

08/17/2015Problems with Product / Service
07/30/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/10/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
10/31/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Phase Converters, Industrial Manufacturers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/03/2003Business started: 06/01/1968
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Drew Lance (Sales Manager)Ms. Donna Leber (Controller)
Number of Employees

30

Business Category

Phase Converters, Industrial Manufacturers

Alternate Business Names
TEMCo Industrial Power, Tower Electric Motor Company

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

6 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for TEMCO-Tower Electric Motor Company

48621 Warm Springs Blvd

Fremont, CA 94539

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 48621 Warm Springs Blvd 

    Fremont, CA 94539

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*TEMCO-Tower Electric Motor Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 474-8209
  • (800) 613-2290
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Phase Converters

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.